Fruita, CO 
Fruita Riverside DGC Share
Uploaded By: Usher Hole #4 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 367ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Hot. Hot. Hot.

1    7/16/2017   7/17/2017
Review By: Sideshow775
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: Great course layout. Decent parking. Easy access from interstate. Lots of challenging shots. #3 (my fave) is a blind hole, throwing over a rise, and down into a valley. Basket is completely hidden in the valley. It's only 218', but you are kinda throwing on faith. 4 is another downhill and around a cliff. Very pretty hole. 12 has an island of trees right in the middle, basket 100' behind the island. It forces you to throw a curving line to one side of the island or the other. Makes for interesting upshots. Good mix of short and long holes. Great signage at all tee pads. Excellent, large map at the trailhead to 1. Benches every few holes.
Cons: No bathrooms that I saw in the parking area. I think I saw a port-o-let along the fenceline between 12 and 13, but not sure. More benches would be nice, but certainly not a deal breaker. The biggest drawback to this course is the lack of shade. I played in the afternoon, in the middle of July, and it was ungodly hot with minimal relief. Benches were metal, and you could fry an egg on them. In the future, a small, covered area over the benches would be amazing. Just a little shade to escape to and recharge would make a huge difference.
Other Thoughts: In the summer, this course is probably best played early in the morning, before the heat of the day. I suspect late fall to early spring are optimal times to play this course. If you're going to brave it in the summer, take LOTS of water, and possibly an umbrella to create a portable shady spot. But even with the heat, this course was amazing. I will definitely be back. If you get the chance, play this course. You won't be disappointed.

 Championship Caliber?

1    8/9/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 74  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a beautiful area and is quite wild, which adds to it's character. I loved being right up next to the river and appreciated that it wasn't a constant worry for the course.

The holes are long and most are open shots. I like this because I've got a decent arm and love to put a lot on it. It wasn't horribly technical but made up for it in distances, requiring you to place your mid shots well or you'd face a long putt.

The signature hole has to be hole 4, throwing off the cliff around the bend. It's also the only hole where the water hazard comes into play if you shank your drive.

Great signage and a course map right at the parking lot made navigating pretty easy.

The tee pads were all good and I always like a course with multiple pin placements.

Benches were located in good spots to rest, which is needed since it is a long course.

For it being a pack in/out (garbage) course, it was surprisingly clean. I can't recall seeing any garbage on it at all which is extremely impressive.
Cons: The biggest cons to me were the first and last two holes on the course. They are wide open long shots up on top. It starts out and ends the round with the least desirable holes. That's not a major con though, it is still a very good course. I also didn't really care for the hike back up to finish off the last two holes, it felt a little disjointed. It was probably unavoidable and is a little nitpicky of me, I know.

Some may consider the distances a con, especially if you face a stiff head wind like we did. It made parring a hole quite challenging or next to impossible at times.
Other Thoughts: This proved to be an interesting course with some nice scenery, though I'm not sure the description of championship quality is accurate. Don't get me wrong, it was very good and certainly deserves a solid 3.5 rating, but I just don't know if it's championship material. That being said it was worth the visit. Fruita is a nice town and with 3 courses (including the 10 holes at a Jr High, how cool is that?) you can tell that they love disc golf!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/26/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 135  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Great signage
-Good variety of shots
-Plays right along the Colorado river
Cons: The river isn't used in the course at all.
Could use some elevation change.
Other Thoughts: Quality challenging course. Could skip the first 2 shots and the last 2 shots though

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    8/26/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: goggletan970
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice course along the Colorado river. Multiple hole locations and good signage.
Cons: First off...bring bug spray!! Much of the terrain is similar looking so it is wise to have a spotter.(lost 4 discs) Not alot of shade and bring plenty of water.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.