Superior, WI 
Mont du Lac - White Cedar Share
Uploaded By: discoholic Hole #9 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket (A Position)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
The definition of extreme

1    7/22/2017   7/25/2017
Review By: jeremyhilss
Played: 33  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees on every hole. Again, they're narrow like Eagle's Peak, but very serviceable

-Benches on most holes

-Good teesigns, with hole no. length, hole shape, and pin locations shown

-Chainstar baskets, with multiple pin locations

-Trash cans here and there

-Tight, technical wooded fairways on almost every hole - hit your line or you're in deep trouble (literally)

-PSYCHOTIC use of elevation. This course is the extreme of the extreme, at least in my experience. If you aren't very coordinated, I suggest not playing this course. The first hole is amazing, shooting down a widely mowed, very very steep slope 500'-700' (depending on pin position) to the baskets. Very dramatic and awe inspiring, but just child's play compared to what comes later. Hole 11 is what feels like the equivalent of throwing a disc from the very base of a skyscraper, to the top. You throw through a tight fairway, up an ungodly steep hill, which is pointed along the fairway, similar to a corner of a pyramid, and then hooks right into a steep valley. If you kick left, don't even bother. From my viewpoint, you would need professional climbing equipment to get down that hillside. Hole 13 is the most ridiculous(ly awesome) shot ever. Dead straight, downhill to the basket in a bowl type area, but I you must drop at least 150 feet in elevation, whereas the actual distance horizontally must be like only 100 feet. It may be a bit of an exaggeration, but it feels that way. Very sketchy descent, I was going pretty slow and still slipped and almost rolled. Hole 16 has a similar elevation change, but you are throwing flat across one of these crazy valleys. You must walk all the way down, then back up to get to the green. Don't miss left, or your disc is gone like mine was.

-Challenge - pretty much everything I stated above speaks for itself about the challenge

-Variety - there are ace runs, ups, downs, lefts and rights. A handful of holes would play as legit par 4/5's in the long pin positions

-Scenery - plenty of gorgeous views up and down wooded ravines and slopes, a beautiful creek that runs through much of the course, and cool looking trees that are all bendy and whatnot

-Intense workout - they're good for ya
Cons: -Chance for lost discs - that chances is high here. The undergrowth is incredibly thick, and the immense dropoffs make it a no go to even try to recover a disc.

-Treacherous navigation - once you enter the back nine, you will be ascending and descending some slopes that mill make your butt cheeks clench. You have to be very careful or you could slip and become seriously injured or worse. Some slopes border on mountain climbing level, and many do not have steps, and are slick and muddy. I would not play after a heavy rain.

-You have to walk the road about 200 feet up in elevation to get to hole 1. After that, and playing the course itself, you WILL be exhausted. Especially if you played Eagle's Peak beforehand.

-Some holes have multiple pin positions, and some don't - there is no real way of knowing which do on one particular day and which don't
Other Thoughts: The designer went all out on this. I imagined, he saw the steepest, most dumbfounding slopes and ridges, and put all the holes based on them. And it worked out. This course is just a whole other lever of crazy. Some of them seem to be pushed to the limit, as I can see one mis-step causing quite a fall. The only thing I think needs to be done is maybe dig some more steps into some of the slopes. As for losing discs off of the side of slopes, I say that's just the risk you take, don't be dumb and go beaning yourself off a cliff.

In terms of golf, I have a lot of respect for those who can shoot well in tournaments here, cause this course gave me whooping, both score wise and physically.

At this point in time, I do like Eagle's Peak just a tad more, but I will admit that may be because I played it first, and wasn't as tired and wiped out. Either way, this course is a monster, and its and epic disc golf journey that everyone should undertake.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

extreme disc golf

1    8/20/2015   9/9/2015
Review By: James McGirr
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 9/12/2015
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Recently played it memory not good.It had alot of natural scenery abrupt elevation changes truely unique.Fairways could be particularly tight in spots and pretty fair in others. the course is still playable.To play course a player needs to be an experianced disc golfer
Cons: As unique and extreme as it is it can be dangerous. If its wet the course is supposed to be closed and for good reason.I would also think a person sould be physicially fit to make the track.Also course is hard to find.I only found it after i played 7 holes on the eagle course and I thought I was walking to 8th hole when I saw it was 1st hole white cedar

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very unique course, challenging to traverse

5+    8/8/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: BogeyPar Guy
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Like playing in an enchanted forest
-Many unique shots
-challenging greens
-wide variety of throws requiring shot placement and execution
-technical
-bar and restaurant in club house
Cons: -maybe too technical at times, feels like a luck fest throwing into trees hoping you dont hit one.
-sometimes there are no clear fairways to hit,
-not all t pads are concrete, and if they are they are often short and narrow
-poor signage, can be challenging to navigate for the first time
-very slippery when wet...almost unplayable and unsafe if it has recently rained.
-sometimes a very good shot can be punished severely
Other Thoughts: This is a crazy course that I would classify as "EXTREME" disc golf...they make you sign a waiver for a reason as there are some situations...climbs and descents that are probably not safe, especially when wet. Not a place to bring kiddos or anyone who has any issues with mobility. Bring lots of water and bug dope and be careful. You end the round near the top of the hill, so if you do not plan on playing the 36 hole loop you have a long walk back down the mtn.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    8/16/2015   8/16/2015
Review By: therabidlemur
Played: 116  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of shots
plenty of elevation changes
beautiful views
course is difficult but fair
Cons: doesn't have concrete tee pads on every hole
signage could be a little better
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend making a trip to play White Cedar. The course is beautiful and offers some fun challenges. Be prepared with water, and just be aware that you will be dealing with some steep hills throughout.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wow...

1    6/10/2015   6/11/2015
Review By: dethyr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course really challenges the players. You need a serious mix of shots and discs to play it effectively and you need to do it precisely or you will spend a lot of time looking for discs. The design is really awesome as well. The tee pads are great and the chalet has great staff and great food.
Cons: The terrain makes this course a real chore to play, it's absolutely NOT for people that don't feel like a challenging hike along with their disc golf experience. I am in medium shape and by the end of Eagle's peak and white cedar I was done with a capital D. The ticks and skeeters are absolutely relentless as well. Bathe in bug dope before coming.
Other Thoughts: This course is hard, there's really no other way to put it. If you are gonna play here WATCH YOUR DRIVES all the way to the ground because the rough eats up discs. Be ready for a hike, bring a gallon of bug dope and a gallon of water.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best course on the Property

5+    5/3/2015   5/18/2015
Review By: Skeeter3
Played: 100  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A challenging course that will test you in multiple ways. There are detailed tee signs at every tee box. There is a variety of shots throughout the whole course, every hole is something different. Lots of challenges throughout the course (Trees, Creeks, Wildlife). But awesome surroundings as the course winds through the old growth forest and up and down it's valleys. The view after finishing hole 18 over looks the eagles peak course/St. Louis River/Jay Cooke State Park. Mont du Lac is always making upgrades and grooming the course.
Cons: This course is physically challenging-But well worth it. It can be slick in spots after it rains. Some of the holes play blind, it's nice to play with someone who knows the layout.
Other Thoughts: One of Three courses on the property. There is also a bar and grill on site in the base lodge. Camping on site with scheduled updates for the summer of 2015. They are also building rustic cabin rentals during the summer of 2015. Make sure to pick up a scorecard and map in the base lodge if you've never played the course before. They have a system for picking up/dropping of discs in the base lodge that were lost/found of the courses there. They host leagues and tournaments (both PDGA and non- PDGA).

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 What they said

5+    9/19/2014   9/20/2014
Review By: artigasplaza
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All of the other recent reviews are accurate. Logger keeps adding new pins and new pads. He also keeps the course well-manicured.
Cons: Need to finish remodeling the tee pads. Long walk to parking from hole 18. That's all.
Other Thoughts: I have nothing to add to the most recent reviews. The course is as close to perfect as it get and keeps getting better. Just wear decent footwear. Cabins are currently being built that will enhance on-site lodging options.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Can not believe I have not played this course

1    9/20/2014   9/20/2014
Review By: timj5304
Played: 141  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In my 10+ years of playing I can not believe i have not played Mont Du Lac until today. With 2 courses on the property this makes it a destination with the new course being put in at spirit mountain in Duluth, sadly there was a large wedding today which I was unable to play there because of reservation. 18 solid wooded holes. Hole 1 is comparable to hyland ski final hole 720 ft downhill. We had a big tailwind and my heart said fairway driver but my dumb brain told me to throw that for a second shot, threw a distance driver, went near the camping area hyzer a couple hundred feet deep. Awesome not difficult layout to follow, great use of elevation to say the least. I list this as a pro but most will as a con, great exercise going through the walks from pad to pad. Good mix of straight holes and lefty and righty biased holes. This kind of course is what disc golf was meant to be, out in the woods with friends and having to actually control your discs.
Cons: Some would list the teepads as a negative but I would rather have none or a mat than some slick blacktop as are at acorn and bassett creek. A few mudslide holes on the back half, would like to see some more steps on a few of these if possible and maybe even railings someday but until then just walk carefully.
Other Thoughts: Had a fun round, started to play well after hole 6 and killed it after that but had a rough start. This is a great course for me to smash someone like my brother who can throw 425 all day and 475 max, he can kill me on Eagles peak but not a chance on white cedar.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/5/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 35  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great staff and service when we arrived and answered all questions (Road trip to play the course.)
- Very challenging.
- Extreme workout compared to courses I usually play at home.
- Gorgeous scenery and elevation changes.
- Campsites I believe were literally on the course, I believe.
- Very clean course, no trash on fairways and for the most part woods were kept nice as well.
- Lots of options to take breathers, we took plenty up and down.
Cons: - I slipped and fell and slide down some steep drop offs a few times, must sign a wavier before playing. So extreme terrain changes which can be dangerous so pay attention.
- Few holes are concrete pads, mostly were natural which makes sense being out on a mountain side.
- There was signage, but some were tough to follow along with.
- Lots of blind shots
- The climb was worth it, but if your looking for a causal round go else where.
Other Thoughts: I don't have a lot to add, the trip up to the course was worth it. I'm getting into a serous level of disc golf and this course whooped me. It was an extremely challenging course for me, but loved it. After walking 18 holes I'm glad we only did 18 I haven't hiked all year that was a great workout! If they had a little easier of walks up and down the mountain sides I would raise my vote but falling down a few of those bumped it down. Overall love this course will have to get back up here and try to beat the course instead of it beating me!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beast of a Course

5+    4/19/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: MountainGoat
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2015
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: <> Some of the best smelling, and most beautiful mid-summer scenery in the country
<> Difficult shots from start to finish
<> Lots of variety in the overall shape of the holes with a themed focus on tight shots. Sometimes the ceiling is really low, and sometimes you are teeing through a 15' gap 50' out.
<> Elevation change: The front 9 has some change but it is very minimal compared to the back 9 which is steadily uphill. The front 9 makes EXCELLENT use of the elevation changes that are present.
<> Trash cans everywhere so you don't have to see garbage all over and you don't have to carry 15 beer cans out of the woods.
<> Good quality baskets that don't spit much
<> Concrete boxes on 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 17.
<> Alternate baskets on many holes and Logger moves them around throughout the summer so replay value is awesome
<> Clearly marked signs show where the baskets are and at each alternate location with distances and direction.
<> The cardio workout you get from climbing a mountain is at no additional cost. And just a heads up, you climb it a few times in 18.
Cons: <> Tees not listed in Pros have "natural" boxes and they can be slick or muddy.
<> Lost discs can be nearly impossible to recover in some situations depending on what you are willing to climb... or descend into.
<> Going down 14 for the first time can be dangerous since the flood eroded the grass, stay far left where the ground has roots and deadfall still.
<> The signage at the completion of holes is not always clear as to where you should be headed for the next tee box.
<> It is not marked on the hole sign which location the basket is at, so if you did not catch Logger in the chalet, and you don't know the course, you will have to guess where to throw to or get out the binoculars and look for blaze orange. In many cases you cannot even see the far baskets from the teebox so you will have to walk the hole to find it.
<> Although there is a ton of variation in the design of the holes, there are not a lot of shot options due to both how tight the course is and how heavy the risk of going down a 200' ravine and O.B. weighs. This is only a minor disturbance though because the reward for hitting the narrow paths and going the distance requires a perfect throw, and a perfect throw always feels good.
Other Thoughts: This is a natural mountain made of mud, dirt, clay, trees, steep slopes, sheer cliffs, deep wet valleys... it is a perfect sanctuary for all of life but along with that comes the natural dangers of such an environment. If it is pouring rain, you can expect a VERY challenging climb through the back 9. Footing can be a challenge at any given time and careful consideration on each shot weights more heavily than average on this course. I have only played a season and from what I have heard and seen so far this course will continue to receive attention and improvements. I expect in time there will be more concrete, and better signage. The chalet is a a great place to hang out, get fresh water, burgers made to order, good craft beer on tap or for the bag, discs to restock your bag and people to pick up a round with if you wish. Oh, and leave your hyzer-bomb at home, you won't be needing it at all on this course save for 17 and possibly 16 if you are a lefty.

UPDATE: Many updates have already taken place this season... more concrete, tons of mowing, 2 completely new holes, more pin placements on some existing holes. Logger deserves a medal for the work he puts in, truly one of the best places to play disc golf in the country.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.