Superior, WI 
Mont du Lac - White Cedar Share
Uploaded By: discoholic Hole #1 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 560ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
The definition of extreme

1    7/22/2017   7/25/2017
Review By: jeremyhilss
Played: 38  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees on every hole. Again, they're narrow like Eagle's Peak, but very serviceable

-Benches on most holes

-Good teesigns, with hole no. length, hole shape, and pin locations shown

-Chainstar baskets, with multiple pin locations

-Trash cans here and there

-Tight, technical wooded fairways on almost every hole - hit your line or you're in deep trouble (literally)

-PSYCHOTIC use of elevation. This course is the extreme of the extreme, at least in my experience. If you aren't very coordinated, I suggest not playing this course. The first hole is amazing, shooting down a widely mowed, very very steep slope 500'-700' (depending on pin position) to the baskets. Very dramatic and awe inspiring, but just child's play compared to what comes later. Hole 11 is what feels like the equivalent of throwing a disc from the very base of a skyscraper, to the top. You throw through a tight fairway, up an ungodly steep hill, which is pointed along the fairway, similar to a corner of a pyramid, and then hooks right into a steep valley. If you kick left, don't even bother. From my viewpoint, you would need professional climbing equipment to get down that hillside. Hole 13 is the most ridiculous(ly awesome) shot ever. Dead straight, downhill to the basket in a bowl type area, but I you must drop at least 150 feet in elevation, whereas the actual distance horizontally must be like only 100 feet. It may be a bit of an exaggeration, but it feels that way. Very sketchy descent, I was going pretty slow and still slipped and almost rolled. Hole 16 has a similar elevation change, but you are throwing flat across one of these crazy valleys. You must walk all the way down, then back up to get to the green. Don't miss left, or your disc is gone like mine was.

-Challenge - pretty much everything I stated above speaks for itself about the challenge

-Variety - there are ace runs, ups, downs, lefts and rights. A handful of holes would play as legit par 4/5's in the long pin positions

-Scenery - plenty of gorgeous views up and down wooded ravines and slopes, a beautiful creek that runs through much of the course, and cool looking trees that are all bendy and whatnot

-Intense workout - they're good for ya
Cons: -Chance for lost discs - that chances is high here. The undergrowth is incredibly thick, and the immense dropoffs make it a no go to even try to recover a disc.

-Treacherous navigation - once you enter the back nine, you will be ascending and descending some slopes that mill make your butt cheeks clench. You have to be very careful or you could slip and become seriously injured or worse. Some slopes border on mountain climbing level, and many do not have steps, and are slick and muddy. I would not play after a heavy rain.

-You have to walk the road about 200 feet up in elevation to get to hole 1. After that, and playing the course itself, you WILL be exhausted. Especially if you played Eagle's Peak beforehand.

-Some holes have multiple pin positions, and some don't - there is no real way of knowing which do on one particular day and which don't
Other Thoughts: The designer went all out on this. I imagined, he saw the steepest, most dumbfounding slopes and ridges, and put all the holes based on them. And it worked out. This course is just a whole other lever of crazy. Some of them seem to be pushed to the limit, as I can see one mis-step causing quite a fall. The only thing I think needs to be done is maybe dig some more steps into some of the slopes. As for losing discs off of the side of slopes, I say that's just the risk you take, don't be dumb and go beaning yourself off a cliff.

In terms of golf, I have a lot of respect for those who can shoot well in tournaments here, cause this course gave me whooping, both score wise and physically.

At this point in time, I do like Eagle's Peak just a tad more, but I will admit that may be because I played it first, and wasn't as tired and wiped out. Either way, this course is a monster, and its and epic disc golf journey that everyone should undertake.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wow...

1    6/10/2015   6/11/2015
Review By: dethyr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course really challenges the players. You need a serious mix of shots and discs to play it effectively and you need to do it precisely or you will spend a lot of time looking for discs. The design is really awesome as well. The tee pads are great and the chalet has great staff and great food.
Cons: The terrain makes this course a real chore to play, it's absolutely NOT for people that don't feel like a challenging hike along with their disc golf experience. I am in medium shape and by the end of Eagle's peak and white cedar I was done with a capital D. The ticks and skeeters are absolutely relentless as well. Bathe in bug dope before coming.
Other Thoughts: This course is hard, there's really no other way to put it. If you are gonna play here WATCH YOUR DRIVES all the way to the ground because the rough eats up discs. Be ready for a hike, bring a gallon of bug dope and a gallon of water.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/5/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great staff and service when we arrived and answered all questions (Road trip to play the course.)
- Very challenging.
- Extreme workout compared to courses I usually play at home.
- Gorgeous scenery and elevation changes.
- Campsites I believe were literally on the course, I believe.
- Very clean course, no trash on fairways and for the most part woods were kept nice as well.
- Lots of options to take breathers, we took plenty up and down.
Cons: - I slipped and fell and slide down some steep drop offs a few times, must sign a wavier before playing. So extreme terrain changes which can be dangerous so pay attention.
- Few holes are concrete pads, mostly were natural which makes sense being out on a mountain side.
- There was signage, but some were tough to follow along with.
- Lots of blind shots
- The climb was worth it, but if your looking for a causal round go else where.
Other Thoughts: I don't have a lot to add, the trip up to the course was worth it. I'm getting into a serous level of disc golf and this course whooped me. It was an extremely challenging course for me, but loved it. After walking 18 holes I'm glad we only did 18 I haven't hiked all year that was a great workout! If they had a little easier of walks up and down the mountain sides I would raise my vote but falling down a few of those bumped it down. Overall love this course will have to get back up here and try to beat the course instead of it beating me!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful and challenging

5+    5/16/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: Darkgreen
Played: 84  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of two great disc golf courses on site, three if you count the seven hole ace run/practice course. Eagle's Peak plays mostly on the ski hill while White Cedar plays on the scenically wooded ravines next to and behind the ski hill. You will love the way this course challenges you. This is the type of course that makes you feel proud when you hit the appropriate line and can make you pay when you do not. Still, this course is worth it for beginners to play because it forces you to think about your shot selection. There are a variety of shots that you will have to throw to get up and down.

I've played this course many times and it never gets old. I am still learning new routes and new strategies for many of the holes. You will want to re-play this course or make a return visit after you are done with your first 18.

A great course to play on windy days as many of the holes are somewhat protected by all of the trees.
Cons: There are a few holes that could use stairs. It can be a real adventure getting down some of the ravine slopes. Unfortunately for some holes I'm guessing this would take a major investment of manpower and time and with the floods from last June I can understand why the owners would think twice before adding improvements that could be washed away. However I think if done properly stairs or at least better trails could be added with a minimal risk of them getting washed out.

Some gaps are tight to the point where it might be asking a little much to hit. Some fairways have evenly spaced trees well down the fairway. Some fairways have skinny OB. All of this tips the scoring to random punishment at times.

The teepads are also on the skinny side.

More use could be gotten out of the disc golf section of the Mont du Lac website and it could be updated more often, but this a small thing and doesn't really affect the disc golf experience.

Other Thoughts: Make sure to pack appropriately for the season and the weather. You will be doing some hiking so make sure to bring plenty of water or even a sports beverage for the summer days. Good footwear is also recommended. It is a wooded course so bug spray is also a good idea for the warmer months.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.