Arlington, VA 
Bluemont Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #6 (Taken 3/2002)
3 / 237ft.   3 / 282ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Small, challenging course

2-4    10/13/2018   11/17/2018
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 0.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2019
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to get to and part of a county park with other activities.

Off the park walking/biking path, so you can do other things in the same day.

Pretty, wooded park.

Built on tilted, wooded plains basically. Footing is not all over the place.

Alot of variety (tees and baskets) but can be confusing for the first-timer.

No. 1 approach is between branches of a large tree with splayed branches.

No. 9 is a fine Hyzer, mostly-open closing hole.
Cons: Very little, non-obvious parking off Carlin Springs. Jan. 2019, I found the main parking lot (lots of parking available) off Manchester from Rte. 50. Drive to its end and then turn right into the park.

Really tiny track. Tight.

Alot of variety (tees and baskets) but can be confusing for the first-timer.

Wooded and narrow fairways on half the holes. Some very wooded and uphill or wooded and downhill. I will like it better with experience and appreciate the challenges better then too.

Too many short holes maybe...

A bit busy on a weekend day.
Other Thoughts: I'll like it better in time; indeed, already becoming true. It is a tiny space and feels rather cramped. But because it is tiny, it's very navigable.

Practice basket has a 9-spot putting game to it. Putting pads are in a circle around the basket. Playing the practice game is pretty good putting practice before or after your round. Some perches are further away than others. Not all are gimmes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

nice course, well maintained

5+    2/23/2018   3/11/2018
Review By: seayhorse
Played: 16  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 22.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 tee pad, concrete, per hole
multiple baskets on most holes
variety of looks, including some woods and more open holes
Cons: only 9 holes
poison ivy in the rough. be accurate!
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot.
the multiple tees make this a widely interesting course. some tees double the length of the hole.
There's a challenge for everyone here.
It's a public park, and the only course in highly populated area, so it can get crowded quickly- both by players and non players- especially during peak times like evenings in warm weather.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Watch for pedestrians

5+    8/11/2017   8/11/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 105  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Bluemont Park is a good, very ambitious course. 9 holes with multiple tees and baskets on most (all?) of them. Of course, I'd rather have 18 holes, but I think the idea is to be able to get more variety by playing different layouts. A great idea. In reality, it means you have multiple fairways basically stacked on top of each other.

This might be okay if it wasn't such a popular course. I've been there at 1pm on a Tuesday and seen multiple other groups playing, as well as a steady flow of pedestrians on the paths nearby. This can be a bit of a safety issue, so be careful. There is even one hole that plays directly at a basketball court.

That being said, it's not too bad if you are careful and patient enough to wait when you need to.

Great variety. Some wooded holes. A protected green with a stream and hazards. Ace runs. It's a great course and would be awesome to have in your backyard if it was in a less populated area. Wish it was 18 holes, but there isn't space. But it's a fun course, the only course in DC, and it's worth playing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun little wooded gem

2-4    6/16/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: Moose33
Played: 68  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little neighborhood park with baseball and soccer fields, basketball courts picnic facilities and a cool little nine hole course.

There are multiple tees 2/3 on every hole and 2 baskets on almost all of them. The holes are tight but well thought out and the woods and creek, and just a touch of elevation keep this from being a nine hole pitch and putt. Good pads too, short but plenty long for this one.

Sure it's got plenty of ace runs, but the tree cover and tight lines can easily spoil those plans.

Good benches on most holes and pretty good signage(located on the short tees).

An elevated basket on three and some erosion control planks really show me someone is putting work and thought into this corse.

Almost forgot since I didn't use it, there is a good practice basket too.
Cons: The course isn't super easy to navigate, easpecially if your not playing the shorts, and there are often a few baskets in view that your not supposed to be throwing to.

The short pins have an arrow, but if your not looking to go to the short pad, it's. It super easy every time.

Also it's not super easy to find the first tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course that is well cared for and a lot of fun.

I played it through twice and would have gladly done it again if given the time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and fun

1    2/12/2017   2/12/2017
Review By: B The V
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple Pin locations as well as 4 tees per hole.
Very clean.
Bathrooms in the warmer months.
Great place to take beginners that is still challenging for more seasoned players.
Cons: Very tight fairways. (very close to other fairways)
Walking path near a few of the holes.
Most holes are fairly short. (This can also be a pro I suppose, depends on how you look at it)
Other Thoughts: I found this to be one for the best 9 hole courses I have played. I imagine this course gets very cramped in the warmer months which may cause a back up at certain holes. The holes themselves seem to be well thought out despite being cramped, using elevation and the trees to create the difficulty as opposed to distance. If you like fun woodsy courses that are fairly short give this course a shot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Technical but frustrating

5+    10/8/2011   10/12/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 14.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course encourages strong technical play with good control and intelligent approaches. It's a great place to develop the finer aspects of your game and spend a day working out the kinks in your short game.
Cons: I don't like the layout of the course with the interweaving fairways and multiple tees shooting towards the same baskets. The park is fairly crowded because of the population density in the area so you always have to be on the lookout for pedestrians and kids.
Other Thoughts: There are better courses in the area that make for better destination play, but if it's locally convenient, it's worth a throw.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful metro course

1    4/10/2016   4/13/2016
Review By: CGChase
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice choice of tee boxes and baskets. Good technical course. Steeps, some flats, always trees.
Cons: They truly packed in a nice course in a small area. Though the multiple baskets and tees can make this a 54 hole coarse, it was also confusing at times to figure out where you should be throwing form or to. The holes may have been a little too crowded. No long open shots for those who have a distance shot.
Other Thoughts: I am a novice and look for courses that give me a flavor of the region. I was not disappointed. The inner metro park was clean, friendly, and filled with nice DC families. Located in a lovely linear park by a stream the course made me think of a movie scene of central park. Hole 4 finished by a lovely creek. I took the Metro from Reagan played 9 holes and got back in time to catch my shuttle. Fairly easy to get there and back with metro transit.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good "city" course

5+    8/2/2015   8/2/2015
Review By: BAH618
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has multiple pin locations (with two pins always placed at each whole) and multiple tee boxes provide for good variation (allow the course to play like a 18 or 27 hole course even though it only has 9 holes. Good well defined fairways provide for clear paths to the pin (as long as you stay on the fairway). Reasonable rough if you get off the fairway "punish" bad shots but the rough is largely void of thorns. Course contains multiple "interesting shots" including one across a small valley and creek. Also provides good variation in distances and difficulty across the 9 holes.
Cons: Overly crowded with both disc golfers and park goers. A popular running/bike path travels next to the course and provides concern in throwing on both tee 7 and 8. The course also runs over itself frequently (making the blue tee location almost unplayable when crowded) The second pin location for hole 1 and 3 is the same pin and this pin is placed on a mound and the pin itself is taller than normal making for a difficult upward putt (an aspect that I do not like).
Other Thoughts: This course is very hard to rate, I have played it on a Sunday in the morning with the course nearly empty, in which case it plays like a 4, however, frequently I try to play on weekdays after work or in the afternoon on weekends and the course becomes almost unplayable with the people and discs flying all over the place.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bluemont Blues

1    4/5/2014   4/5/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 219  Reviewed: 196  Exp: 12.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes with 72 different ways to play! 3 concrete tees and two baskets on each hole with 4 pin positions, gray baskets move while the Blue Mach V's are always in the long position. There is a lot of course variety packed into the tiny park. The course features some nice sloping elevation to play up down and across, and a small creek. Mostly wooded fairways providing good challenge. Great course for beginners to advanced. Nice steps and erosion control built in. Warm up net to driving into, and practice basket.
Cons: Beware cramped and crowded park and course layout, overlapping fairways on a couple holes and some play close to each other and park trails and users.
Other Thoughts: Bluemont is a hard course to rate, it's got some old school feel and has been modified over the years to make it longer and more challenging. There is a lot of local love for the course and lots of work done. This is the closest course to downtown DC in the sprawling Arlington suburb, so land is fairly limited and expensive. Your experience of the course can vary greatly whether or not the course is crowded or not. It's a great course for what it is, it's not a destination course, but it's a decent fun course close to DC.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun when alone

1    3/16/2015   3/16/2015
Review By: Wildbuck
Played: 60  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple tee and pin placements make for a very fun and versatile course. Good use of elevation and trees.
Cons: Holy champ groove, it is a head injury waiting to happen. There are so many crossing fairways when throwing from the blue tees.
Other Thoughts: Fun course with lots of different shots and elevation changes. Glad I played on a Monday morning and had the course to myself

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.