Arlington, VA 
Bluemont Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #3 (Taken 7/2016)
3 / 202ft.   3 / 261ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 155ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Not Enough Space

1    3/19/2020   3/19/2020
Review By: samxyx
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2020
Other Thoughts: This is a very compact 9 hole course. There are multiple tee pads and baskets for each hole that give you the option of playing several different ways for each. In theory you could play 21+ holes.

The main problem with this course is it's way too compact. Many holes cross over each other and fairways intertwine. As a result you are likely to be dodging errant discs, waiting for your turn, and putting at the same basket as another group for your entire round. I find it hard to enjoy disc golf in this manner.

The course itself plays in a lightly wooded area. There are 1 or 2 interesting shots up and down a hill and a difficult elevated basket, but apart from that it is not too special.


1    12/27/2019   12/31/2019
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 334  Reviewed: 271  Exp: 13.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very nice terrain with elevation changes and lots of mature trees
-great variety of shots: uphill, downhill, left, right, straight
-interesting greens that require touch to have an easy putt
-three sets of concrete tees and a dirt junior tee on each hole
-two permanent baskets on each hole (grey and blue)
-three different pin positions for all the original baskets (grey)
-the various tees and baskets offer drastically different shots and will challenge a wide range of skills, including advanced players
-two practice baskets
-benches throughout
-bathrooms on site (closed in the winter)
-tons of other amenities in this huge park
Cons: -safety disaster with tons of other park users and walking paths
-crossing fairways, teepads in the line of fire, and a general cramped feeling in the small area dedicated to disc golf
-the blue tees in particular throw through other fairways and are in danger themselves, take your time and keep your eyes peeled if you play the blues
-one of two reasonably close courses to DC so it looks like it's frequently packed, exacerbating the safety concerns
Other Thoughts: Bluemont Park is an old course that has been kept up really well and still offers a modern challenge. The price for that evolution is a lot of safety concerns and really tight quarters so you need to pay close attention and keep your eyes open here.

The great thing about Bluemont is that is can accommodate any skill level. There are four tees on every hole: concrete red, white, and blue tees as well as dirt Junior tees. There are three different positions for the original grey baskets and the newer blue baskets are the longest position. Very cool since it gives you permanent access to the longest layout but also gives the locals a constantly changing variety of holes.

The dark side of all these options is that the longer the layout you choose to play, the more careful you have to be if the course is busy. The blue tees are often in the line of fire of other holes and if you hit a tree on the tight wooded lines (likely) you can easily spray into another fairway. The day I played, there were 7 groups on the course and one particularly brilliant group was playing safari.

The holes are a lot of fun and they utilize the elevation and tight woods really well. There is also a creek in play, potentially two if you really blow it on hole 8. The fairways are fair but tough and offer a lot of different shots to throw.

Bluemont is tough to rate because it's fun and can challenge any player but it has a lot of potential for danger. I can see giving it a 3.5 or how others could rate it even higher but the cons are distinctly present. If you're trying to play blue to blue on a busy day, it could take you significantly longer to finish 9 holes. In the end though, it's really close to DC and fun to play so this is the one to hit if you are visiting and looking to throw.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun 9-hole track, but watch out for pedestrians

1    9/10/2019   9/11/2019
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 158  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 10.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bluemont is a fun 9-hole track and one of only a couple of disc golf options inside in the Beltway. Being the only option, the course designers and caretakers packed as much course as they could into a small, very busy, urban park.

+ Multiple layouts for each hole: a short and a long basket, and up to three tee pads. There's certainly something here for the beginner, intermediate, and even advanced player.

+ Nice mix of hole layouts and technical skills required: an uphill hole or two; hyzer, anhyzer, and straight layouts

+ Nice tees and baskets, and easy to follow the color-coding system on the tees, the hole layout signs at the short tees, and the blue vs. gray baskets for the long and short positions, respectively.
Cons: Bluemont is a fun little track, but there are some serious safety issues that lead me to mark it down. First of all, I'm usually a tougher grader on half tracks. This is no exception. So, my ceiling for this course is a little lower than some reviewers. And starting from there, adding major safety issues, leads me to a 2.0 rating:

- This park is very busy. There are walkers, bike riders, and kids playing everywhere. The course winds its way through paved trails and mixed use areas. Also, some of the holes are parallel or close together. Add this all together, and it's a park where you need to be very aware and cautious so as not to cause injury.

- If you were to transplant Bluemont to another (less dense) city with other disc golf course options, it wouldn't be a high-traffic track (I'm talking about the disc golf, not the rest of the park). Unfortunately, in a dense city like DC, disc golf courses are usually hard to find. That might explain some of the rating inflation (in my opinion) for this track. Don't get me wrong: it's a fun track. But it's only 9 holes and has these glaring concerns, yet still manages a 3.0+ rating.
Other Thoughts: I've now played, what I believe to be, the only two public courses inside the Beltway: Bluemont on the VA side and Calvert Road on the MD side. I have Calvert Road at 2.5. It's also 18 holes. If you have the option, I would pick playing a round there vs. Bluemont. However, if you are in Arlington and looking for a fun place to play, Bluemont is it! Just look before you throw!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great home course

5+    6/14/2019   6/25/2019
Review By: where'sfinn
Played: 29  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great elevation change from hole to hole.
Great variety of shots needed on each hole.
Course is completely in the woods, but the fairway is clear enough to be challenging but not tight enough to create "pin-ball" type golf.
Excellent signage.
Excellent direction from one hole to the next.
Really cool tight technical layout in limited space.
Between the 3 tees (4 if you are counting jr's) and the 2 rotating baskets, you will have plenty of ways to get variety at this course.
Benches on every hole.
Trash cans on a lot of holes.
Cons: Holes 1 and 9 cross, and a lot of other holes either run parallel or have the tees somewhat close to the fairway.
Can get somewhat crowded.
Can get swampy sometimes, especially on hole 8.
Other Thoughts: Seems like this course has a great community and is very well maintained.

I wish there was more room to make this an 18 hole course. There is an abandoned baseball field across the creek, and it seems like the perfect opportunity to create some shots across the water.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Small, challenging course

5+    11/28/2019   11/17/2018
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 37  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2019
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to get to and part of a county park with other activities.

Off the park walking/biking path, so you can do other things in the same day.

Pretty, wooded park.

Built on tilted, wooded plains basically. Footing is not all over the place.

Alot of variety (tees and baskets) but can be confusing for the first-timer.

For basket location A or B, the No. 1 approach is between branches of a large tree with splayed branches.

No. 9 is a fine slightly uphill, mostly-open closing hole.
Cons: Very little, non-obvious parking off Carlin Springs. Jan. 2019, I found the main parking lot (lots of parking available) off Manchester from Rte. 50. Drive to its end and then turn right into the park.

Really tiny track. Tight.

Alot of variety (tees and baskets) but can be confusing for the first-timer.

Wooded and narrow fairways on half the holes. Some very wooded and uphill or wooded and downhill. I do like it better with experience and appreciate the challenges better than I did as a true beginner.

Too many short holes maybe...

A bit busy on a weekend day or holiday.
Other Thoughts: It is a tiny space and feels rather cramped. But because it is tiny, it's very navigable. I went around twice on 3/30/19 for a full 18 holes, That felt complete. I think it would be tough to get away with throwing two discs and walking once. It does get crowded here.

Practice basket has a 9-spot putting game to it. Putting pads are in a circle around the basket. Playing the practice game is pretty good putting practice before or after your round. Some perches are further away than others. Not all are gimmes. There is a second practice basket near the no. 8 tee pads, I believe.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 nice course, well maintained

5+    2/23/2018   3/11/2018
Review By: seayhorse
Played: 20  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 24 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 tee pad, concrete, per hole
multiple baskets on most holes
variety of looks, including some woods and more open holes
Cons: only 9 holes
poison ivy in the rough. be accurate!
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot.
the multiple tees make this a widely interesting course. some tees double the length of the hole.
There's a challenge for everyone here.
It's a public park, and the only course in highly populated area, so it can get crowded quickly- both by players and non players- especially during peak times like evenings in warm weather.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little wooded gem

2-4    6/16/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: Moose33
Played: 75  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little neighborhood park with baseball and soccer fields, basketball courts picnic facilities and a cool little nine hole course.

There are multiple tees 2/3 on every hole and 2 baskets on almost all of them. The holes are tight but well thought out and the woods and creek, and just a touch of elevation keep this from being a nine hole pitch and putt. Good pads too, short but plenty long for this one.

Sure it's got plenty of ace runs, but the tree cover and tight lines can easily spoil those plans.

Good benches on most holes and pretty good signage(located on the short tees).

An elevated basket on three and some erosion control planks really show me someone is putting work and thought into this corse.

Almost forgot since I didn't use it, there is a good practice basket too.
Cons: The course isn't super easy to navigate, easpecially if your not playing the shorts, and there are often a few baskets in view that your not supposed to be throwing to.

The short pins have an arrow, but if your not looking to go to the short pad, it's. It super easy every time.

Also it's not super easy to find the first tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course that is well cared for and a lot of fun.

I played it through twice and would have gladly done it again if given the time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and fun

1    2/12/2017   2/12/2017
Review By: B The V
Played: 73  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple Pin locations as well as 4 tees per hole.
Very clean.
Bathrooms in the warmer months.
Great place to take beginners that is still challenging for more seasoned players.
Cons: Very tight fairways. (very close to other fairways)
Walking path near a few of the holes.
Most holes are fairly short. (This can also be a pro I suppose, depends on how you look at it)
Other Thoughts: I found this to be one for the best 9 hole courses I have played. I imagine this course gets very cramped in the warmer months which may cause a back up at certain holes. The holes themselves seem to be well thought out despite being cramped, using elevation and the trees to create the difficulty as opposed to distance. If you like fun woodsy courses that are fairly short give this course a shot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Technical but frustrating

5+    10/8/2011   10/12/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 16 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course encourages strong technical play with good control and intelligent approaches. It's a great place to develop the finer aspects of your game and spend a day working out the kinks in your short game.
Cons: I don't like the layout of the course with the interweaving fairways and multiple tees shooting towards the same baskets. The park is fairly crowded because of the population density in the area so you always have to be on the lookout for pedestrians and kids.
Other Thoughts: There are better courses in the area that make for better destination play, but if it's locally convenient, it's worth a throw.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful metro course

1    4/10/2016   4/13/2016
Review By: CGChase
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice choice of tee boxes and baskets. Good technical course. Steeps, some flats, always trees.
Cons: They truly packed in a nice course in a small area. Though the multiple baskets and tees can make this a 54 hole coarse, it was also confusing at times to figure out where you should be throwing form or to. The holes may have been a little too crowded. No long open shots for those who have a distance shot.
Other Thoughts: I am a novice and look for courses that give me a flavor of the region. I was not disappointed. The inner metro park was clean, friendly, and filled with nice DC families. Located in a lovely linear park by a stream the course made me think of a movie scene of central park. Hole 4 finished by a lovely creek. I took the Metro from Reagan played 9 holes and got back in time to catch my shuttle. Fairly easy to get there and back with metro transit.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.