Arlington, VA 
Bluemont Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #9 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 273ft.   3 / 291ft.   3 / 318ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Green tees are marked with two paver bricks in the ground with corners painted green



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Fun little wooded gem

2-4    6/16/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: Moose33
Played: 57  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little neighborhood park with baseball and soccer fields, basketball courts picnic facilities and a cool little nine hole course.

There are multiple tees 2/3 on every hole and 2 baskets on almost all of them. The holes are tight but well thought out and the woods and creek, and just a touch of elevation keep this from being a nine hole pitch and putt. Good pads too, short but plenty long for this one.

Sure it's got plenty of ace runs, but the tree cover and tight lines can easily spoil those plans.

Good benches on most holes and pretty good signage(located on the short tees).

An elevated basket on three and some erosion control planks really show me someone is putting work and thought into this corse.

Almost forgot since I didn't use it, there is a good practice basket too.
Cons: The course isn't super easy to navigate, easpecially if your not playing the shorts, and there are often a few baskets in view that your not supposed to be throwing to.

The short pins have an arrow, but if your not looking to go to the short pad, it's. It super easy every time.

Also it's not super easy to find the first tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course that is well cared for and a lot of fun.

I played it through twice and would have gladly done it again if given the time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quick and fun

1    2/12/2017   2/12/2017
Review By: B The V
Played: 54  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple Pin locations as well as 4 tees per hole.
Very clean.
Bathrooms in the warmer months.
Great place to take beginners that is still challenging for more seasoned players.
Cons: Very tight fairways. (very close to other fairways)
Walking path near a few of the holes.
Most holes are fairly short. (This can also be a pro I suppose, depends on how you look at it)
Other Thoughts: I found this to be one for the best 9 hole courses I have played. I imagine this course gets very cramped in the warmer months which may cause a back up at certain holes. The holes themselves seem to be well thought out despite being cramped, using elevation and the trees to create the difficulty as opposed to distance. If you like fun woodsy courses that are fairly short give this course a shot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Technical but frustrating

5+    10/8/2011   10/12/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course encourages strong technical play with good control and intelligent approaches. It's a great place to develop the finer aspects of your game and spend a day working out the kinks in your short game.
Cons: I don't like the layout of the course with the interweaving fairways and multiple tees shooting towards the same baskets. The park is fairly crowded because of the population density in the area so you always have to be on the lookout for pedestrians and kids.
Other Thoughts: There are better courses in the area that make for better destination play, but if it's locally convenient, it's worth a throw.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful metro course

1    4/10/2016   4/13/2016
Review By: CGChase
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice choice of tee boxes and baskets. Good technical course. Steeps, some flats, always trees.
Cons: They truly packed in a nice course in a small area. Though the multiple baskets and tees can make this a 54 hole coarse, it was also confusing at times to figure out where you should be throwing form or to. The holes may have been a little too crowded. No long open shots for those who have a distance shot.
Other Thoughts: I am a novice and look for courses that give me a flavor of the region. I was not disappointed. The inner metro park was clean, friendly, and filled with nice DC families. Located in a lovely linear park by a stream the course made me think of a movie scene of central park. Hole 4 finished by a lovely creek. I took the Metro from Reagan played 9 holes and got back in time to catch my shuttle. Fairly easy to get there and back with metro transit.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good "city" course

5+    8/2/2015   8/2/2015
Review By: BAH618
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has multiple pin locations (with two pins always placed at each whole) and multiple tee boxes provide for good variation (allow the course to play like a 18 or 27 hole course even though it only has 9 holes. Good well defined fairways provide for clear paths to the pin (as long as you stay on the fairway). Reasonable rough if you get off the fairway "punish" bad shots but the rough is largely void of thorns. Course contains multiple "interesting shots" including one across a small valley and creek. Also provides good variation in distances and difficulty across the 9 holes.
Cons: Overly crowded with both disc golfers and park goers. A popular running/bike path travels next to the course and provides concern in throwing on both tee 7 and 8. The course also runs over itself frequently (making the blue tee location almost unplayable when crowded) The second pin location for hole 1 and 3 is the same pin and this pin is placed on a mound and the pin itself is taller than normal making for a difficult upward putt (an aspect that I do not like).
Other Thoughts: This course is very hard to rate, I have played it on a Sunday in the morning with the course nearly empty, in which case it plays like a 4, however, frequently I try to play on weekdays after work or in the afternoon on weekends and the course becomes almost unplayable with the people and discs flying all over the place.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bluemont Blues

1    4/5/2014   4/5/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 185  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 11 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes with 72 different ways to play! 3 concrete tees and two baskets on each hole with 4 pin positions, gray baskets move while the Blue Mach V's are always in the long position. There is a lot of course variety packed into the tiny park. The course features some nice sloping elevation to play up down and across, and a small creek. Mostly wooded fairways providing good challenge. Great course for beginners to advanced. Nice steps and erosion control built in. Warm up net to driving into, and practice basket.
Cons: Beware cramped and crowded park and course layout, overlapping fairways on a couple holes and some play close to each other and park trails and users.
Other Thoughts: Bluemont is a hard course to rate, it's got some old school feel and has been modified over the years to make it longer and more challenging. There is a lot of local love for the course and lots of work done. This is the closest course to downtown DC in the sprawling Arlington suburb, so land is fairly limited and expensive. Your experience of the course can vary greatly whether or not the course is crowded or not. It's a great course for what it is, it's not a destination course, but it's a decent fun course close to DC.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun when alone

1    3/16/2015   3/16/2015
Review By: Wildbuck
Played: 53  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple tee and pin placements make for a very fun and versatile course. Good use of elevation and trees.
Cons: Holy champ groove, it is a head injury waiting to happen. There are so many crossing fairways when throwing from the blue tees.
Other Thoughts: Fun course with lots of different shots and elevation changes. Glad I played on a Monday morning and had the course to myself

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This is my daily course

5+    11/11/2014   11/12/2014
Review By: Treplexity
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Versatile course. With two to three pin options (and pin placement updates every couple of months) and three tee pads per hole, you've got a lot of options-great stepping stone course for a new player to start short to short, then go mid to short, or short to long and improve their game.

Not only that, but when the course is empty you can try some really fun mix ups. For example: blue 8 to 1 short, or tee 3 to the pins on 7. Or even 1 blue to 7 long if you're up for a challenge ;)

Great course to play on your way from work if you travel west from DC into VA, it's right off route 50, and there's a 7/11 walking distance from tee 7.

When they're not in use, there is a baseball and soccer field in the same park as the course that is great to go out and practice in.
Cons: Not a course to play on a Saturday. Most the locals and myself play this course on weekdays to avoid traffic going to better courses that are a bit further away (like Giles, or Seneca). Great course for weekday play, and weeknights when the sun is out.

No practice basket - there isn't really much of a place for one, but I've seen some people using a basket as a practice basket that has disrupted other players going through the course.

Some tee pads have little metal rods poking out of the ground around the edges of the tee pads, specifically 6 white.
Other Thoughts: Park at hole 7 off Carlin Springs, if that lots full there's another directly across the street on the other side of Carlin Springs. Start at tee 7 and play until you finish 6, if you want to keep playing play to a different basket, or from a different tee, endless possibilities.

Hope I didn't forget anything! ;)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

2-4    11/6/2014   11/10/2014
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 101  Reviewed: 34
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Multiple pin placements are an added value to this 9 hole course that can be played as 27+ holes. Beginners to skilled players can be challenged on this course. Love the blue pin placement of hole #4 right next to the creek. I was able to wash my disc on that hole. Course is well marked.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but Cramped

2-4    10/24/2014   10/29/2014
Review By: bradharris
Played: 87  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun 9 holes on a busy multi-use park. With two pins and multiple tees, the course offers a bit more variety than a typical 9-hole course would.

The course seems to appeal to a wide variety of skill levels. We saw a lot of beginners on the course having a blast. The park-like setting, without treacherous rough, makes it friendly for those newer to the game. But there is also enough distance to keep more experienced players interested.
Cons: The course has a very small footprint and is set in a fairly busy park in a dense population center, so safety is a major concern. There is very little separation between holes, with mandos being used to try to keep discs from flying into groups on another hole. In fact, there is one tree that is a mando for two different holes! There is also a walking/jogging trail that can come into play on a number of holes.
Other Thoughts: Based just on the quality of golf, I would call this a very average course. It has everything you would expect from a decent course. The park setting isn't overly challenging, but it's also not an easy pitch-and-putt. Each shot is fun, but not exceptional. Because of the cramped quarters, and subsequent crowding from other players as well as other park users, I have to downgrade the course to just below average. The course is fun to play, but it's not fun to stand on the tee waiting for the area to be clear.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.