Marietta, GA 
Oregon Park Share
Uploaded By: AtlDuke Hole #2 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 196ft.   3 / 242ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Silver Basket


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

1    10/10/2017   10/10/2017
Review By: Albinorhino
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Very well maintained
2 tees and 2 baskets on every hole
Multiple lines on majority of holes.
Cons: Very crowded at times you wouldn't even expect.
Nothing that really blows you out of the water about this course.
Kind of repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This is a course I grew up playing and was the closest course to me for the longest time. It is fun and every hole gives you a shot at birdie. The funnest layouts for me are gold to silver and silver to gold. To me it's fun but nothing special.

A great course!

5+    8/4/2017   9/14/2017
Review By: Noco
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oregon Park (OP) is my home course. I learned to play disc on the old 9 hole course in the mid 00's and played here throughout the course's transformation to it's current layout. In it's current layout, I've played the course hundreds of times over the years, in all layouts, but mostly gold-to-gold.

- Variety of course layouts, with two teepads and two baskets for each hole.
- All holes have concrete tee-pads
- Maps at each hole with the terrain, basket location, and distance
- Free to play!
- Well maintained and any 'disruptions' in the course are taken care of quickly.
- Free parking
- Practice putting basket with putting distance markers at the start of the course
- Driving range for practicing drives offers something unique most courses won't offer (although distance markers into the field would be cool!)
- A good mix of open and wooded shots over varying distances.
- [Mostly] good use of terrain.
- Benches and rest areas are located throughout the entirety of the course.
- Good, helpful group of local active players that help maintain the course and play it often. There are doubles/singles on Tuesdays and Thursdays throughout the summer, and various events and tournaments hosted throughout the year.
- Not too many places to 'easily' lose a disc.
Cons: - Some areas of the course are not well marked and course navigation can be difficult for new players, particularly holes 2 to 3, 10 to 11, and 17 to 18. Take a picture of the course map before you start and don't be scared to ask someone for help/directions.
- Can get pretty crowded on weekends.
- A little bit of crossover on some holes on the course. Make sure to be heads up when throwing and always yell "fore" if unsure.
- Some holes could be improved, but I'll get to that below...
- Lack of 'close by' facilities. There is a port-o-potty by the course start and that's it. There are several bathrooms and water fountains in the baseball field area of OP, but not convenient to the disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: There are four layouts: Silver-to-Silver is the easier layout and ideal for beginners to the game. Experienced players can play all 18 with mids and putters, with most baskets being 200-250'. New players will like the relatively straightforward shots, but there are enough tricky shots to keep it from being boring. The next layout, and in my opinion the 2nd easiest is Gold-to-Silver. Again, seasoned players can probably get by most of the course with mids and putters, but may pull out a fairway or distance on a couple holes. This would be the best compromise layout to play if veterans are playing with new players. Then there is Silver-to-Gold, which I think is slightly more difficult than the alternative mixed layout. The gold baskets are generally farther out and/or in more difficult areas to reach, thus playing to gold baskets will offer greater difficulty. Veterans will utilize some distance drivers on this layout. Lastly, Gold-to-Gold is by far the most difficult/challenging layout on the course - I find it to be the most 'fun' of the four layouts for this reason.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Quality Course with lots of options

1    6/18/2017   6/18/2017
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Free parking
-Multiple tee and Pin locations that don't move
-Well kept
-Good mix of technical and distance holes
Cons: -Lots of traffic and worn grass = Georgia Red Mud after a rain
-Course layout crosses itself a few times
Other Thoughts: I see why this is a tournament course, the 4 different options make for lots of ways the course could be played. As well I get frustrated with multiple pins locations that move and change distance and par for the hole. Hole 2 at Wills park for example frustrates me because its a par 3 in position A and a Par 4 in position B and it just seems to depend on chance as to where the basket is when you play. This course having permanent locations of pins and 4 options of skill is a real plus. The signage was 95% there and relatively easy to navigate if you remembered to look at the tee sign of where the next tee was. I plan to come back and play this one again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course. Perfect for all Skill Levels.

1    6/18/2017   6/18/2017
Review By: TaylorAF
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Versatility. This course is unique in that it has 2 tee pads as well as 2 baskets, creating 4 options for playing the course. I (a beginner) played the shortest option, while my husband played the longest option. This kept the competition fun and fair.
-Great for all skill levels. Like I mentioned above, there are 4 playing options. Because of this, you can pick your own level. As a beginner, I really appreciate this feature.
-Natural beauty. This course was absolutely stunning-- beautiful fields, nice bits of woody/shaded areas, etc. On top of just enjoying the course, it was nice to walk as well.
-Hole variance. The style changed from hole to hole. Sometimes the challenge was a narrow window to drive out of, other times it was a wide open drive going uphill, and other times it was finding a basket hidden in a patch of trees. This course was not boring; it provided a variety of challenges.
-Well kept. The lawns were freshly mowed and the tee pads were clean (other than some mud from a brief rain just an hour earlier, which can't be helped).
-Free parking. Free course.
Cons: -Signage. There were a few maps missing at tee pads. This wasn't a huge issue, as you could walk to the other tee pad of the same hole to see the map, but it was an inconvenience.
-Inefficiency. The course doubled over itself a couple of times. This isn't a big issue, but it can get confusing and cumbersome as you will see baskets that you're not looking for.
Other Thoughts: -This course is fairly long. It took my husband and I between an hour and a half and two hours to play this course.
-About half of this course is in the sun, so be prepared with sunscreen and water.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Surprise in the Burbs

2-4    5/10/2017   5/10/2017
Review By: adamwn9
Played: 36  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Different tee pads and baskets allow for 4 different holes, which is pretty cool for locals.
-Distance of holes varies a decent amount without having any holes that are ridiculously too long or too short
-There's a driving range for anybody who wants a little extra exercise
Cons: -Navigation and next tee signs - 2 to 3, 10 to 11, 17 to 18 can all be a bit confusing to first timers - any signage at all would be very helpful
-Not a huge fan of the 18th hole - I think that after such a cool round they could've ended on a better note
-It can get a little crowded and I've had to skip around on a few occasions because larger groups never let me play through
Other Thoughts: This course is one mile from my sister-in-law's place. I try to play it every time we visit. I have been impressed each time. The different lengths of tee pads also make it easier for me to talk my wife into joining me every once in a while.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun for the beginner/intermediate player!

1    2/13/2017   2/13/2017
Review By: Taylor510ce
Played: 15  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, nice rolling hills, easy enough to know what shot you should probably throw, and the two par 4's are real! Good locals out there, fun to get in a quick round.
Cons: Take a picture of the sign up front, or you will wonder how to get to hole 3...and others.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wish this were my home course

1    2/7/2017   2/12/2017
Review By: GoobyPls
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a pretty course in a multi-use park. The 18-hole layout provides a variety of shots that play both left and right off the tee. Rolling elevation changes are incorporated very well, yet without requiring a tiring climb up and down hills. With two pads and two baskets for every hole, there are four possible layouts to provide variety for repeat plays. There are also benches at every tee, as well as clear hole maps at the gold tees. There are some water hazards to deal with, but none of them appear to be disc eaters. Concrete tees and baskets are in good shape. Locals are friendly and helpful.
Cons: This is the most confusing layout I've ever seen, with very few "Next Tee" signs. Playing it alone, I got lost at least three times, and that was after getting help from the locals twice. There is a mostly-accurate sign at the front with a general layout; be sure to take a picture with your phone if possible. This course appears to be really popular with the locals and may be very busy on the weekends or during warm weather. Watch out for some hidden briar patches around hole 14.
Other Thoughts: It's best to park by the large metal building by the first tee instead of the main park entrance. The practice driving range is there as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

2-4    11/23/2016   11/25/2016
Review By: Thothga
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Multiple pads and baskets provide lots of challenges. Great mix of open space shots and tight tree holes. Great concrete tee pads, minimal to no water.
Cons: A little further drive from Roswell so I can't play it more frequently. Hole navigation needs some help...
Other Thoughts: Wish it was closer, I love this course!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

1    6/12/2016   6/13/2016
Review By: Joeker
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots

Multiple tees/baskets

All concrete tees

Well maintained

Difficult to lose discs
Cons: Hard to follow - could use more tee arrows/signs

Other Thoughts: Left side of tee signs show if you're on gold or silver tee - I didn't notice this at 1st, but it's useful if you're unsure

Great short to medium course with many options - I'll be back!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A very nice course! (Hole to Hole Directions in Other Thoughts)

2-4    7/8/2017   6/9/2016
Review By: jaredbrumbelow
Played: 15  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2017
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is probably one of the best courses I've played so far. It has a good mix of open play to wooded play. There was a few elevation changes but not to the point that it tires you out after a round (ex. Downhill shot from gold tee 11 & 17 and uphill from 15 & approaching 18).

This course offers two tee boxes for each hole and two baskets for each. Ultimately, this makes the course perfect for replaying many times and not feeing redundant. You can play silver tees to silver baskets (shortest), silver to gold, gold to silver, or gold to gold (longest).

Pretty good signage with a few exceptions. This was the first time I played it and found every tee mostly with ease. There are signs marking every tee with accurate maps of basket positions for both baskets and tees. There are a few signs that point the direction of the next tee and the only real lack in directions is getting from 2 to 3 and 10 to 11.

Each tee is nicely paved concrete with no cracks or issues. There are benches at every tee. Plenty of Parking right by the first tee, last basket, and a practice basket.
Cons: The course can be busy during peak times.

A couple of signs to the next tee could make this course even better, but like I said. I found every tee the first time around with just a little bit of searching. And the course will most likely have someone playing it when you go so you can likely just watch where the guys in front of you go or ask a local. I'll try to explain a few complicated parts below.
Other Thoughts: General Directions and Parking
***If you come from Dallas Hwy onto Old Hamilton Rd., park just before the park on the left. If you see the big sign and entrance for Oregon Park, you've gone to far and the best place to park is back up the road about 1/10 mile. There is a bulletin board on the left by the first tee with a map of the course. Take a picture if possible as it can be helpful.***

HOLE TO HOLE DIRECTIONS FOR ANY COMPLICATED AREAS

2 to 3 - After you finish hole 2 keep walking towards the back of the building and towards the woods. You'll pass basket 18 on your left and follow the little wooden fence into the woods. Pass hole 14 and you'll see another tee box off to the left at the edge of the woods. This is tee 3. Also note that there is a sign for the path to tee 18 for later.

3 to 4 - If you play the silver on three, keep following the field up to the gold 3 and go through the woods to the left for tee 4.

4 to 5 - After 4 walk around the edge of the woods to the right behind the gold basket. The silver tee for 5 is next to the pavilion and table and the gold tee is to the left of here at the edge of the woods near the rough.

5 to 6 - For Tee 6, turn around from basket 5 and walk back out to the field and to your right. The tee is on the edge of the tree line.

6 to 7 - 7's silver tee is easily spotted, but gold is up around the rough from gold basket 6. Walk to the left around the rough.

7 to 8 - Same for 8, easy to find the silver tee. Gold tee is in the woods by the gold basket for 7.

10 to 11 - ***For hole 11, walk through the woods by the silver basket for hole 10. Walk past the tennis courts on your right (baseball field on the left), towards a set of stairs down.

11 to 12 - Tee 12 is nestled in the woods back from basket 11. To the right of basket 11, you can walk up the hill for the silver tees or back to edge of the woods for gold.

13 to 14 - 14's silver is in plain sight, but gold tee is back in the woods directly behind the silver tee a ways. It's by the tee for hole 3.

14 to 15 - For 15, walk over he little wood bridge and to the right. The silver tee is the first you'll come to. Look to your right and the gold is in the woods (there's another little bridge for when the creek is too muddy to jump over).

17 to 18 - 18 is a little complicated but if you paid attention earlier, it's a piece of cake. Finish up at gold 17, and walk into the woods on the left near the gold 14 tee and the tees for 3. There is a little sign for the 18 path or just walk down the tree line in the woods. The silver is the first you come to and the gold is the second ***Be careful when you tee off!! There is a gold basket easily in sight on the hill to the right. I made the mistake of playing it when this is actually the gold basket for 2! The gold for 18 is on the same ridge but on the far left side near the tree line.

For a single, the course takes about an hour and 15 to an hour and a half to play 18 on a moderately busy day.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.