Parker, FL 
Under the Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ   (Taken 12/2011)
Park Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Will only play it once

1    5/15/2017   10/10/2017
Review By: jaredbrumbelow
Played: 15  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are concrete teepads for each hole. As the course mentions, you are mostly under trees which allows you to not worry about losing a disc to gusts of wind or water like at nearby FSU.
Cons: Main complaints with the course was that many of the holes interfere with or are near a walking path. I had to wait on three separate teepads to tee off (I'm not sure if this was normal crowd or more crowded than usual for a week day morning). Hole 1 plays near a chain link fence with a 4 lane highway just on the other side. My very first throw ricocheted off a tree into the median which led to me running out into the highway to retrieve it (I'll be damned if I lose a disc I can see). The signage was mostly terrible. It was missing completely on certain holes most specifically, hole 1, which made it hard to know where to start. The later holes are somewhat near the bay, but don't take advantage of the water. Finally, the course doesn't seem to be in the best neighborhood. I'm not a local, but there was one guy drinking near one of the teepads and another smoking weed near a basket which just made me a little uneasy since it was only 10am.
Other Thoughts: I likely wouldn't play this course again and only tried it out in the first place because I was craving a round on vacation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Longest hole distance average in PCB

1    7/16/2017   9/15/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 170  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.906 Rating) Really the only course in the Panama City Beach (PCB) area that you can let one fly without worry.
- HOLE LENGTH - The only course in the PCB area where the hole length averages over 300 feet. Sure the 400 footers are labeled par 4's, but that doesn't really bother me and will let most players bring out their driver.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This really is not a beginners course per say but beginners should enjoy it regardless due to the low disc losing possibilities. The fairway widths are moderately spaced and should challenge rec and intermediate players. Advanced and pros will come away less than challenged however and should play them all par 3's.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is near impossible. Misguided shots are generally not further punished within the lightly wooded layout.
- TEES - Adequate concrete tees. Nothing extra special, but they do the job.
- NAVIGATION - Despite not seeing a course map, missing holes signage and missing directional cues, I still had no trouble navigating this one. I download the course map to my phone and it very much helped me between holes. Next tees are generally in view of the prior basket for further aid.
- QUICK PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 9 in under 30 minutes. Groups of 4 should probably finish in under an hour.
- NIGHT GOLF - This is an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways, few trees, no overgrowth and no water hazards in play.
Cons: Under the Oaks doesn't scream excellence in any area.
- CHARACTER - Other than solid tees and baskets, this course is missing just about everything. No multi tees, no multi basket placements, no practice basket, etc. There are however a few picnic tables at the tees.
- UNIQUENESS - The hole variety here is very much sub-par. First off, not even 5 feet of elevation change along the entire layout, and water elements are absent. Tunnels shots are mostly non-existent. No pocketing baskets and basket guarding is loosely achieved. Hole distances vary a little (216 to 420) Only one blind basket (2). There are three listed par 4's but they could easily be re-listed as par 3's.
- NOT CHALLENGING - Even if reduced to par 27, this course is not that difficult. As stated, mostly open lines to the basket. players that can throw 400 feet should be able to deuce them all.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Of the four PCB courses I rate this one the lowest on the beauty scale, but it's still around the same level as FSU and Joe Moody Harris. Definitely not the most exotic piece of property out there, but yet also not awful either.
- SPACING - Slightly below average. If the course were full, there would be a few tees that could be reached by an errant throw because of little tree protection. A few fairways also feel partially shared.
- SAFETY HAZARDS - Five of nine holes have walking paths in play. Several walkers were already out for my 7 am round.
- SIGNAGE - Missing at more than half the holes.
Other Thoughts: Of the four PCB courses, I have this one rated third behind Bay Memorial and FSU. I would recommend Under the Oaks for players who prefer courses with 300 foot holes that are void of hazards. If I lived in the area, this one may be the one I'd play the most. 2 of the 4 PCB courses are too short (Joe Moody and FSU) and Bay memorial has too many unforgiving hazards.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

More Dol-fun Than I Was Expecting

1    6/11/2017   6/13/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 137  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- free to play, free to park
- concrete tees
- numbered tee signs with distances
- forgiving fairways
- clean, well maintained course
- baskets in good condition, numbered
- slightly longer than an average 9 hole course
- multiple lines to the pin from most fairways
- intuitive clockwise layout, we had zero navigational issues
- beginner friendly
- map at hole 1
- the landscape is suitable for a second set of 9 safari holes
Cons:

- a pedestrian walking path surrounds much of the course
- some course flooding after a heavy rain
- no multiple pins or pads
- tee sign missing / vandalized on hole 1
- a little fairway overlap
- simple, kind of bland overall feel.
Other Thoughts:

This was the first course of my 3 course day trip to Panama City. My arrival was on the tale end of a thunderstorm, which meant the course was still a little soggy. Still, the concrete tees had adequate grip and the maintained fairways looked great. Water had settled in a few spots on the course, but it wasn't too much of an issue.

Tall oak trees are scattered throughout the course, they helped define otherwise open fairways. Some fairways had lower ceilings, but overall everything played pretty fair. There's very little chance of losing a disc here. RHBH hyzer lines with few skips shots added from time to time where are preferred route through most fairways. The longest hole on of the course was the only fairway that didn't really have a suggestible line to take, so I made do with a roller. The only holes I didn't throw 2's on were the ones that were that I couldn't quite reach from tee. I'm an average player, I shot a 21 with relative ease and didn't use a mid once, for what it's worth. Under the Oaks reminded me of Hitzman in Pensacola, with just slightly less variety.

Beginners to intermediate players will enjoy this course for its playability and forgiving fairways. There's a few holes around or over 400 ft to entice longer arms as well. Course baggers will enjoy this 9 hole course for it's reachable birdies, quiet atmosphere, and ease of play. I think the course designer did a great job designing this course with the land available. Hole 1 is near the entrance of the park from the main road. Oh yeah, and there's a possibility of spotting dolphins on the shore of the park grounds. Sadly, I did not see any in the water while visiting. I wouldn't necessarily go out of my way to play this course again, however, I enjoyed the course and would stop by if I happened to be in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

needs a lot of work

1    7/10/2016   7/10/2016
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 35  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: teepads
variety of possible throws to get to baskets
seven by the ocean
family park
Cons: terrible signs including the billboard
could not find hole one
very confusing which holes to throw to
park seemed rundown
Other Thoughts: Needs lots of work to make it a course I would play again.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/1/2016   3/1/2016
Review By: Bandit 01
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The only good thing i can say about UNDER THE OAKS DISC GOLF PARK is that the tee pads are in good condition.
5
Cons: WHERE TO START?
1.) 5 OF THE 9 HOLES ARE INTERFERED WITH BY TH WALKING PATH.
2.) THE BASKETS ARE SO HARD TO SEE THAT YOU HAVE TROUBLE FINDING THEM..
3.) THE BASKETS THEMSELVES NEED TO BE MARKED BETTER AND MADE OF BETTER QUALITY.
4.) THEY SEEM TO BE MADE OF POOR QUALITY. THE REASON I SAY THAT IS BECOUSE NO MATTER WHAT DISTANCEI THROW FROM OR HOW HARD I THROW THE DISC THE CHAINS DO NOT SECURE THE DISC.. I AM SAYING 94%-98% OF THE TIMW THW BASKETS SPIT THE DISCS OUT AND USUALLY THEY FO TOWARD MY PARTNER.
5.) THE HOLE SIGNS MUST BE REPLACED WITH BETER FRESTOM.

Other Thoughts: 6.) UPDATE SIGNA AND DIRRER TONIGB6LNIGHT/

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun 9 holes

5+    1/10/2016   1/17/2016
Review By: G8rman78
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is plenty of variety of shots and varying distances. Beautiful oaks and old pine trees provide shade in hit summer days. Hole 6 had a beautiful view, saw dolphins swimming there the other day. Take a moment to enjoy the view. It's challenging enough for advanced players to enjoy, but not too difficult for newer players. This course is just right for everyone, especially when it's freshly mowed. On the other side of the park there is a playground with a big castle area for kids to play on
Cons: The signs could be better and if you haven't played there before finding a couple of the pads could be challenging. The biggest problem is the walking path that good through most holes. We spend quite some time waiting to be able to make a safe throw when it's busy. Bugs can be rough in the summer, but this is Florida and a part of life. It's only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: I consider this my home course and love it. Some people I play with came up with some good alternate pads to make a back 9. This layout had some challenging lines and a couple places to throw bombs. I highly suggest this:
Par 3 unless otherwise noted
10. Right side of concrete to basket 1 par 4
11. Pad 4 basket 2
12. Pad 5 basket 3
13. Pad 2 basket 4
14. Pad 9 basket 5 par 4
15. Pad 6 basket 7 par 4
16. Concrete area near 8 pads to basket 6. The wood fence near losing lot is mando
17. Pad 7 basket 8
18. Concrete area between pad 8 & basket 8 to basket 9.

Have fun trying these!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/10/2015   1/10/2015
Review By: soft focus
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great lengths. Best 9 hole rice played.... Easy to follow...great scenery... Not a dinker course like others in the area...technical shots...lots of fun
Cons: Flat...walking trails....only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: For a 9 holder, we had fun....great park if you have young kids, as there is a big play area with an awesome wooden castle type play area...definitely worth the stop. Don't let the 9 holes fool you.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent 9-Hole Course!

1    12/28/2014   12/29/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 149  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The holes here vary in length, but really work well together. There is a sense of balance here with the 3 par 4's in the 400s really pushing this course above your usual pitch-n-putt 9 hole course.
-A map is definitely needed here, but pretty easy to follow with map.
-The course is definitely well-designed despite the small space. The lines and gaps are challenging, but not excessively so.
-Palm, Oaks, Pines, and sand. Just a pleasant disc golfing experience.
Cons: -This course is a little cramped with the walking path crossing through almost every hole and the small piece of property designated for disc golf. I really wish this course could have been expanded to include the wooded area surrounding the playground (without bringing the playground into play).
-Seriously, those walkers come out of nowhere. You end up having to do a lot of watching and waiting between throws.
-The bathroom located near the parking area is not the worst bathroom I have seen on a disc golf course, but it is far from the best.
Other Thoughts: Under the Oaks is lightly to moderately wooded and flat and is not your typical 9-hole course in a public park. The hole design really is fantastic. I wanted to rate it higher, but it really needs to be expanded to 18 holes and bring the water into play. It is sorely disappointing to have a course right on the water and not really taking advantage of it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 9-hole course

1    6/28/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: aclay
Played: 128  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 33.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Distances varry from mid 200s to lower 400s, so you have some control shots and some that let you air it out a little bit. There is a beautiful water view on No. 6.The chance of losing a disc is just about nil.
Cons: Signs are minimal. Some paper signs are lying near the tee pads, but some tee pads have just a number handwritten on a post, and some tee pads don't have that much. Some baskets are difficult to find. I threw at the No. 3 basket when I played No. 1, for example. You have to be careful to avoid people on the walking path that winds through the course.
Other Thoughts: Water that could have come into play on No. 6 wasn't brought into play. With some slight adjustments, water could come into play here and provide a signature hole for the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Walk On By

1    12/20/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 528  Reviewed: 369  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Tee areas - concrete, 5'x10', and signs with photo/distance information. Either the distances are a bit exaggerated, or my Leopard flies ~50' further in Florida! :-)

Water-view from basket-6.
Cons:
About half the holes play near/across a walking path frequented by a seemingly endless supply of retirees out for their morning constitutional.

Flat - even by Florida standards! :-O
Other Thoughts:
Course is set upon a flat, rectangular plot of sandy land, with a few groupings trees, in a small, public park. A map is a necessity for the first-time/infrequent visitor, as the most visible basket from tee-1 is #3, and from tee-7, #4. Course plays in a clockwise manner, except for #3, which double-backs upon fairway #2, and a bit of a double-back from basket-8 to tee-9.

While not wide open, most holes will only have a few trees to miss at the midpoint, and a tree or two near the basket. Throwing straight with a touch of left-fade will suffice on most holes, too, except #7, which is a sharp, mid-fairway lefty. Distance is what varies most between the holes, with four in the 200s, three in the 300s, and two in the 400s.

Worth a play if in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.