Parma, OH 
Tri C West DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #13 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 298ft.   3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Long, Open College Courses Could Benefit From A Redesign!

1    7/21/2017   7/23/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1028  Reviewed: 976  Exp: 39.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The actual campus buildings at Cuyahoga Community College in Parma, Ohio are surrounded by 50 or 60 or 70 acres of lush, green grass. When you turn into the campus, it's like a 1/4 drive across these vast stretches of lawn before you reach any buildings. The budget for lawn maintenance surely exceeds that of all the professor's salaries combined.

The course starts over near the baseball field and the recreation building. There is no course sign but each tee is marked by a post with a blue # on top. Actually, navigation was pretty simple and straightforward. The course plays around the entire vast acreage in a clockwise direction. There are no tee pads just some worn spots in the grass. The baskets are DGA models with the hard to read red numbers. Easier to read signs on the baskets would have helped here. Someone wrote the useful Hole information on the posts with a sharpie. Thank you for that. It was most helpful.

There are scattered trees throughout the course. They are used as much as possible but there aren't enough to really make for interesting holes. Mostly, you are just throwing across the great expanses of grass.

The holes are fairly long in general with six stretching over 445' and they are mostly open with few trees.

# 5 was a little more interesting as it played around a bushy, wooded area with the basket placed at a 90 degree angle past these bushes. I did like # 3 with the basket kinda hidden in some pine trees. And my favorite hole was # 14. It's 280' with a low ceiling making it a fun roller hole.
Cons: Long open holes quickly become boring.

Some long walkouts between holes.

Natural pads would be a problem if this course received more play.

No informative tee signs.

# 16 is just a poorly designed hole. It's about 340' and plays back toward the buildings playing on a walking path. # 18 is another poor design. It's about 450' And the basket is next to a campus building. Many players will end up bouncing discs off the building here.

Does this course reach it's target audience? Being on a community college campus, I have to assume the course was placed here primarily for the student's use. If so, it badly missed that target audience. Many students will show up to play with one disc just to see what this all about. They don't need any 600' holes and they probably don't want to hike around the whole frigging campus just to get a round in.
Other Thoughts: If I was designing this course, I would make it 1/4 the current size and that would make it twice as enjoyable. As I was playing the course, I would think to myself, Why is this hole 500' away, wouldn't it be more fun tucked away behind that near tree or the next tee should be right here and instead it would be 50 yards away. Make this design a nice recreational level for the students with lots of holes in the 200' range, a couple of 300' holes and maybe one 450' hole.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

3rd Place in Parma

1    7/15/2017   7/15/2017
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tri-C sits on a massive, clean college campus in Parma.

There's a few fun holes here that utilize the scattered trees really well, #5 in particular.

Clean course on a nice campus.

Tall wood posts with a blue top and the hole number make it easier to find tees.

Baskets catch well.

Good variety in distance.
Cons: It was just a pretty basic course. While there were a few fun holes, a lot of them were just throwing long and straight through scattered trees.

It's fairly easy to find the tees, but finding baskets is another story. Hole maps would be fantastic.

Since there are no hole maps, it's tough to figure out where the basket is and how long the hole is.

I assume the campus is busier when school is in session, but I played during the summer.
Other Thoughts: Wasn't really a bad course, just not memorable. Special shoutout to whoever drew hole maps on every post, helped out a lot!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Long course, short in markers

1    5/19/2017   5/20/2017
Review By: Bigcountry54
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Lots of opportunity to "let'em fly"
2. Well kept grounds
3. Nice view
Cons: 1. NEEDS HOLE MAPS
2. Is not all that easy to find the next tee, including hole one from the parking lot!
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area and are looking or a long, not-so- technical course, stop by. I do not think I would want to play this course during the school year. There are several holes that would include people and car traffic. It was great the day I went.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tri-C Bombers

2-4    6/14/2015   6/16/2015
Review By: kinger
Played: 49  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Manicured campus grounds, friendly setting.
~Imaginative layout, good use of natural & man made features.
~Nice long walk & easy to navigate.
~Ample parking, restrooms, and trash cans.
~Good course for airing out drives and long approaches.
Cons:
~No concrete tee pads which would be key for such a long course.
~Hole No. Posts are easily identifiable, but additional information such as layout and length would be great.
~Plays close to and crosses numerous drives and walkways, could be an issue during peak timing for the college.
Other Thoughts: 1st visit was for a two round 20-hole tournament played from the long tees with two temporary island holes added to the layout. A handful of the tee locations took advantage of existing pavement walkways, but most tees were natural. A course of this length would really benefit from nice concrete pads. Enjoyable layout with a good mix of holes. The hard surface paths create some out of bounds creativity. Good use of existing trees for adding some shot shaping to a relatively open and flat course. Big arms will thrive here, but anyone who can drive a disc 300' plus should have an enjoyable experience and a decent score. It's nice to have longer mid range approach shots required to really test your skill at leaving a good putt for par. The designers seemed to have maximized the layout based on the land provided, the course flows clockwise around the heart of campus. Overall the setting is peaceful and the grounds are well maintained. A great compliment to nearby Veterans Park providing long and open vs. wooded and technical. Great job Parma Disc Golf Club!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tri C: Fun Course in Parma

2-4    3/21/2015   3/23/2015
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really did enjoy Tri C. Tri C is a fun, well designed course that has a solid mix of hole distances. The course has multiple tees for different skill levels. Even though the course is on a college campus,there is plenty of space to throw. The course is maintained beautifully, and there are trash cans everywhere. Navigation is pretty simple, and there are posts marking the hole on every tee.
Cons: Since the course is still being worked on and seems to be constantly getting better, my main cons will probably disappear by the end of the year. There were a pretty decent amount of pedestrians/students on a Friday, so there was short periods of waiting involved. Even though many people have complained about navigation, I think it is pretty simple to follow. I just don't like the fact that there are many holes with long walks in between.
Other Thoughts: Tri-C is a solid course on a college campus. This course seems like it continues to get better each month, so I might have to visit again later this year and update my review. I recommend you check this course out if you are in the area.

Overall grade: 3.5/5 (Most likely would recommend)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Answer is Always 'Distance'

2-4    9/3/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: ZeroZilla
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: - Wide open fairways with reasonable options on every hole.
- Easily accessible
- Well kept grounds (it's a college, after all)
- Relaxing course design
Cons: - Serious length required on every hole.
- Motor vehicle traffic RIGHT NEXT TO fairway...
- Very straight-forward layout
- Natural dirt tees
- Hand-drawn hole maps on posts...
Other Thoughts: Tri-C West's is not a bad course, by any means, but, frankly, it's not that interesting. Yes, you'll have to rely on the hand-drawn maps. Often, the hole is not in view (or barely in view) from the tee. OTOH, those maps are pretty accurate...

This shouldn't indicate challenging 'leap of faith shots'. Each hole follows the same pattern: Here's the basket. Here is/are the one or two obstacles that prevent you from going straight at it. See what we did there? Rinse and repeat.

I just don't find that kind of obvious hole design compelling. Also, the distance on some of these holes is silly. Especially for the beginner.

 3-CPO

1    8/16/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 186  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 15.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Length, if you have a big arm
2) Some decent scenery on the back 9
3) No traffic on the course
4) Highlight hole: 16
Cons: 1) Signage is lacking/inadequate.
2) No concrete tees
3) Very few obstacles to get around
4) Length, if you don't have a big arm
5) Navigation
6) Design is boring on the front 9 especially
7) Hole 5
Other Thoughts: I so wanted to give this course a 2/5 when I was on the front 9. First off, I couldn't find the 1st tee even using the course map. When I finally did find it, it turned out that it was the long tee and I couldn't find the short tee. In fact, I didn't see a short tee for any hole; yet, the DGCR description swears that there are short tees here. Second, once I resigned myself to shooting from the long tees, the signs don't have any map or picture or distance on them....just a hole number. Yes, there are permanent marker maps on the sign posts, but come on.... Third, the land is flat, open and boring. Fourth, the hole design is boring (goes hand in hand with the land availability I suppose). Fifth, no concrete tees. Not a big deal on a dry sunny day, but I definitely wouldn't shoot here after a rain. Sixth, whoever thought of the design for hole 5 is out of their mind. I do not recommend shooting this from the long tee if you can find the short tee. I lost my disc on my upshot in a bunch of cabbage on the right and searched for an eternity.

All I can say is thank God for the back 9. What looked like a complete disaster had a little turn around on the second half. A few more trees. Some cool holes up by the building. Hole 16 is sweet. Good design and great view. Also, there were a few holes on the back that you could actually reach to get within birdie range which is nice. I didn't get even 1 birdie, but at least I had a couple of opportunities (albeit long ones) on the back 9.

By the time I got through hole 18 my feelings changed about this course. I would give it a 2.75/5, but there's no quarter points so I'll give it a 2.5 I guess. If they get concrete tees in, better signage, and get the short tees marked, I would give it a 3. I would not recommend traveling just to play this course as I did. If you travel to play it, combine it with another course...maybe Parma DGC. I hear good things about that one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One long throw after the next

1    1/20/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: crazyeyes1052
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Awesome course for just airing it out... if your arm can handle it.
-Well kept course on a college campus
Cons: -Playing during a thaw period and it was difficult to actually make it from hole to hole trekking through the mud
-While fun to air it out, there was not a whole lot of variety
-I think the biggest flaw with this course is that I had no idea where to start and where to go once I eventually found the first hole. I'm sure that this isn't an issue if you've played the course a couple times, but frustrating as someone who travels and only gets to play a course once.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good, Getting Better

5+    5/16/2013   5/17/2013
Review By: erocker
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are benches near many of the holes. Unless you are playing holes 4-10 there are numerous bathrooms located just a throw away in the Tri-C building. One thing which Tri-C just installed on holes 1 and 10 which I think is awesome is boxes with a course map/scorecard in them. While this course is by no means hard to navigate, the map does help in a few spots, especially in the walk from the front nine to the back nine. Another great feature of this course is that it loops all the way around the building and back to where you began. There is a nice practise basket located just behind the first hole by the parking lot. The baskets themselves are in great shape and easy to spot. This is important since several of these holes are 500+ feet in length. The long tees are marked with very nice wooden posts, with blue paint and white numbers at the top of each.
Cons: This course gets rather muddy from February through early May, which does make it a challenge to play without boots. Also depending on what time you are playing you will need to look out for students, as several holes cross over walkways. (#1,2,14,15,16,17,18) Since Tri-C west and this course is very open, you will often have to deal with a lot of wind. Unfortunately most of the time I have noticed it is blowing across holes instead of with them. Hole #4 is precariously near to a school road, which is heavily traveled. Just beware, especially if you are throwing RHBH that your disc stays out of the busy road. Also the short tees positions are not marked, making it very difficult to play these. The new score cards, while they are very nice, do not yet have hole distances or even pars on them as of yet, which is very important. As well I would love if Tri-C installed concrete tee pads, hopefully this is coming in the near future!
Other Thoughts: Since I am a student at this school, I know that parking is now free thanks to the fact that they built in the parking fee to the school fees. As far as I know now this fee covers visitor parking too, which is nice for you disc golfers. Just beware that this is viable to change as well. If you want to double check, visit the parking meter at the front of every parking lot. If it is covered, then parking is free. Otherwise you may need to pay a dollar or so to ensure you don't get a ticket (which is only $10 as well). This course is gradually improving. It is still very open, which is great for all of you strong armed players and for people working on their drives. The pars are all generally tough, and holes #3 and #11, #14 are the only real ace runs. I have played here for the last two years and have personally watched the course get better. Look for it to continue to improve in the future!
Favorite holes are #3 and #15

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good use of Land..

1    9/18/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: AwesomeArtie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is alot of room to Throw, and practice your Distance Drivers! Alot of parking. Little wooded area/trees.
Cons: Alot of walking/distance between holes, not labelled well, alot of guessing involved.
Other Thoughts: Nice to Air Out your throws, would be alot better if they added better markers, and concrete tee's.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.