Murrieta, CA 
Mountain Pride Park Share
Uploaded By: vondog Hole #2 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 326ft.   3 / --   3 / 259ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Must play course in SoCal

5+    1/5/2014   1/6/2014
Review By: discnme
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The Murrieta course is not your typical green fairways and wide open shots. The course presents refreshing obstacles between you and your par score.

For advanced players, the course offers multiple levels of difficulty that include blind shots, unpredictable wind conditions, long basket positions, and technical shots. If you have played the courses in socal the course seems to be a mix of Brengle Terrace and Huntington Beach. The local club has added multiple pin positions so if you play the course a few times a month you will play different layouts often.

The course has a few holes where you can let loose and bomb your discs (a couple 400+ft and an almost 500ft). You'll almost certainly find yourself using your technical skill to layup or get out of the rough--which there is a good amount of.

If you live in SoCal and play disc golf you should be able to say you played Mountain Pride. Even better if you finish under par.
Cons: While it's a fun course for both beginners and advanced players - beginners can get caught off guard if they try to play from the long tee pads. Highly suggest starting from the short pads and getting used to the course layout and basket positions.

For those who are older and want something more level, this course could be hard on you. The course provides a hiking-like experience and you will go up and down a few times.
Other Thoughts: There is a map near the baseball field posted on the board for people new to the course. The worst thing you can do is start at the wrong pad and start throwing. You will lose a disc or two. This is the only complaint I've heard about the course and typically it's from people who don't know which pad to throw from. The course is a challenging one and if you don't have the arm to throw then start from the short pads and have fun!

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 rough around the edges

1    1/3/2014   1/3/2014
Review By: adazm
Played: 33  Reviewed: 32
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: obviously the best course in the general "vicinity".
decent distance, excellent elevation change, and a sufficient amount of variety.
having short and long tees is extremely helpful!
speaking of tee pads, they were all in great shape!
Cons: the place is still real rough around the edges. over time the fairways figure to become more clearly defined.
without having a map or a guide it is super challenging to figure out the layout.
the course looks to be in a flood zone. i wouldnt want to be anywhere near there if things were wet.

Other Thoughts: part of the amazing elevation changes involves concrete sidings (a la flood walls) that are INCREDIBLY steep and terribly slippery. my 5 and 7 year old kids have played dozens of courses across the nation, but this was the first time they ever literally had to slide down on their butts to safely get down from a basket.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    12/18/2013   12/19/2013
Review By: Cathers128
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2014
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -No crowd
-Clean
-Alt tee pads on most hole
-New alt baskets
-Plenty of different kinds of shots
Cons: -Windy alot of the times up top but once down below winds not too bad
Other Thoughts: -Run by a great club with awesome members

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Pride

1    10/31/2013   11/2/2013
Review By: Spmurphy23
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very fun and challenging course! There are some straight forward baskets and some that are very difficult. Great variety of shots and I did not have to throw it overhand even once. Long and short, left and right. A lot of fun
Cons: There are some blind shots and you may end up in some serious bush. Easy to loose plastic. Use a spotter.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome course

2-4    8/1/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: iriekiwi
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great variation of hole locations. Great variety of hyzer an hyzer and straight shots, tees as well, not too overgrown. Great for all skill levels and the course is well maintained. I gotta give it to the rattlers, they are doing a wonderful job with this course. Many improvements since the last time I plated there, especially the additional 9 holes. Love the varied tee boxes makes for a very interesting rounds.
Cons: no signage with distance and hole location. A little more walking but no biggie. Tee boxes are a little rough but I've heard that they will get new ones sometime soon.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

1    7/5/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: Forego
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.9 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Good Amount of Elevation changes which makes for interesting shots
- Long & Short Tees cater to pros and ams
Cons: - No Tee Signs or Hole Lengths
- Somewhat overgrown in areas making Long Tees pretty blind in some cases
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course. The elevation changes made for some really interesting shots. In some cases I did my best to judge the exact distance of trees or bushes in relationship to the pins but ultimately was wrong. This made the course feel a lot more technical than it looks and made for a really fun round.

I especially enjoyed the back nine.

Favorite Hole - Hole 12, Great long Hyzer shot over the valley.

Least Favorite Hole - Hole 4, Good Hole but I really couldn't see a great line without throwing a Hammer.

I will definitely be back.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Mountain pride park

5+    5/24/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: Nuke bomb
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of fun holes with a couple of elevation shots, not to many long holes but some what technical course. Stay in the fairway and you'll have a fun day.
Cons: Tee pads are slippery in early morning play or in rainy weather. A couple of crossing holes that are dangerous to the average player with not much control of there discs. Hole 10 is a cool hole but just doesn't go with the flow of the course at all.
Other Thoughts: 3.9 is pretty high rating, I gave it a 3 just based on other courses with a 3.9 rating

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Exciting addition to the IE

2-4    2/21/2013   3/1/2013
Review By: whiskeybeard
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many holes offer difficultly shaped shots, the brush really grabs your disc and can lead to less than fortunate lies. The holes are good distances offering a few chances to air it out and pin locations require accurate shots to have a safe birdie attempt. Many blind holes on the first 9. Great use of elevation and land. I have been referring to it as the Brengle Terrace of the IE. Tee pads are carpet with a rubber strip on one side and can be slick.

Shorter tees provide an easier shot or shorter throwers while maintaining the difficulty of the hole. The locals were very friendly and helped guide us along. Very clean park with trashcans and benches in reach of most of the tees.
Cons: Difficult to follow for the first time with no tee signs. Because of the blind shots it would be really difficult to find the basket if it was your first time playing. Tee pads can be slick as the trees keep moisture down low, covering the carpeted tees. Back 9 has many crossing fairways, some that offer large potential of being dangerous.
Other Thoughts: We had a great time there. The club that runs it, Rattlers, have worked really hard to get this in and improve it to where it is now. Support them and the growth of difficult courses throughout the IE.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 100'/. better. unbelievable transformation.

2-4    1/30/2013   1/31/2013
Review By: adamtheviking5
Played: 80  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.9 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played this park once a few months ago and had no intention of ever returning. then i saw the new review and went down too check it out. This is not the same course. its not even in the same part of the park as it was before. Its one of my new favorites. Challenging and entertaining. Reminds me of Shady oaks in Sacramento where I used to play often. Lots of trees and blind shots. Excellent layout with 2 pads for each hole. And there are 2 new holes so it's a full 18 now. Great locals pointed me in the right direction. Great course!!! And it'd free!!!
Cons: There aren't any signs but the pads are marked with the hole # and an S or an L for short/long positions. Also each basket has one of of the bottom spokes painted orange and it points to the next tee. Very simple and effective method. There is some thick brush and I lost a new Z force in it. Actually I abandoned it cause i was running out of daylight and i wanted to play the whole course. It was worth it.
Other Thoughts: Its amazing how much better the new layout is. I would say its the best course the inland empire has to offer.I played by myself and still had a great time. I'll be back as often as I can get away with.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Super Fun

5+    1/19/2013   1/25/2013
Review By: hnandez
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun easy to follow layout, good variation between long and short holes, awesome baskets, cool atmosphere like you're in a river bed with alot of trees
Cons: Tee pads are super slippery with any amount of water (they are supposed to replace with cement soon)
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun park for the intermediate to experienced player. I took some friends that have never played before here and they were pretty frustrated by the end of the game.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.