Seattle, WA 
Lakewood King County Park Share
Uploaded By: Nic_Farley83 Hole #20 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 630ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
You take the good, you take the bad, you take them all and there you have....Lakewood Park.

1    4/1/2017   5/31/2017
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 337  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 hole course fit snugly into Lakewood King park. The park also has other amenities, including baseball diamonds, tennis courts, etc.

Concrete tees for each hole, on per hole. They're sized up just fine and are grippy enough. Several of them are showing age, though.

DGA baskets, all mounted well enough and in good repair. One pin position per hole. Pin placement was pretty solid for most of the course, with several rollaway opportunities, along with tucked pins that force you to get creative on drives/upshots.

Nice use of elevation, which is on display through most of the park. This was probably the most pleasant surprise here, as most city park type courses don't generally support this feature. Lots of up, downs, and arounds.

While there isn't a TON of trees in your way, there are plenty to keep you honest. Definitely not a ton of what I'd call "tight lanes", but you're not going to be tossing hyzer after hyzer, either.

Nice distance variation, with holes ranging from 215-630'. You'll get opportunities to throw many different discs. The hole designs are solid and enjoyable for the most part.

The fellas at the onsite disc shop were a joy to talk to. You can tell they love their courses and were more than happy to help. Lost a disc in the pond because of the jerk tree on hole 1? No problem, they've got a great disc retriever to help out (trust me, you don't wanna go in that water). Some discs for sale, a lost and found, etc. Nice to have.
Cons: So I generally rate/review courses through the eye of a traveling player...and with that in mind, the navigation here is an f'ing nightmare. No signage. None. No distinguishing featurues on the tees. Zero. Zilch. Even with a map handy, traversing this course is close to impossible. I was fortunate enough to latch onto a local, or there is no possible way I would have figured this course out.

To add to the confusion of this navigational nightmare, many players play "tournament layouts" or "old layouts"...which basically means you've got people bopping in and out of the traditional design. There were times it felt like a college frat party at midnight, with all the kids bouncing around with no seeming intention other than sticking something in a hole. Oh Seattle, why do you hate signage so much?

Some definite safety hazards, with walking paths and baseball diamonds directly within throwing paths. While these would be great OB obstacles during a tournament, they're pretty treacherous during casual play on a busy weekend day...and this park is busy.

Other Thoughts: This is a very enjoyable course if you know your way around and play it early in the day. A good number of fun shots and scoring opportunities, especially once you get a handle on a few of the lines.

This can also be a very un-enjoyable course if you show up and have no clue of the flow (even with a map, it would be rough) and people are playing ten different layouts.

Put some navigational tools in this place, and it automatically bumps up .5 for me. Definitely worth a spin, just be prepared to be slightly frustrated.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Popular Neighborhood Park

1    4/27/2017   5/1/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 139  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 14.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- free course
- free ample parking, although basket one may be a little close to the lot
- friendly knowledgable pro shop on location with a great inventory, great course information hub
- lots of elevation variations throughout the course
- updated map on course scorecards located in pro shop
- big wide open fairways are well suited for all skill level
- tee pads are flush with the ground, easy to run up from any direction
- a few ace runs
- a few holes use extra distance to create difficulty
- benches/seating areas were quite accommodating.
Cons:

- no tee signs
- lacks multiple tees per hole
- poor directional signage between holes
- obstacle free fairways
- too many non disc golfing park enthusiasts walking throughout the course
- a couple pins were in close proximity to the paved pedestrian path, baseball fields
Other Thoughts:

Lakewood DGC of King County is a hilly public park that primarily uses changes in elevation and variations of distance to create most of it's difficulty. The forgiving obstacle free fairways are beginner friendly, but have enough distance to entice bigger arms. It's nice to play a course that can keep my interest and at the same have fairways forgiving enough to not chase my wife away. Initially, we had a hard time with navigation until we decide pop in to the pro shop. They did a great job squaring us away.

Being a public neighborhood park, it can get crowded with park patrons and players alike. Some holes bordered a paved walking path, other ran along the edges of two baseball fields. Neither are a great look from a safety standpoint. I had to navigate around moms pushing strollers on the first half, then canoodling teenagers on or around most of the second half of the course. This didn't exactly come as a surprise, when you show up at 3 on a week day. Still, it took a little enjoyment out of my round having to wait for people.

Overall, I think this is a great beginner to intermediate course. Players can hone in their skills without fear of losing a disc or being batted down by branch filled fairways. The trade off is that the fairways are a little bland, even if there's ascending and descending fairways.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Walk in the Park

1    8/7/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: Highway Bill
Played: 67  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I found Lakewood King here on this site and snuck in a late afternoon round while in Seattle recently. I was pleasantly surprised. The course runs through a moderately hilly city park with scattered walking paths and huge mature trees.
As a par 3 course, it obviously lacks any real multi-shot holes, however the diversity and variety of looks off the tee is quite good. The designer made great use of elevation change from the tee and took advantage of slope on many of the greens.
The tee pads and benches are outstanding here. It was a joy X stepping across these uniquely shaped, oversized concrete tee pads. The course builders also did a great job with the concrete covered high density foam benches, cut to resemble rock walls and arranged behind many of the tees. There were also some concrete stairs leading to a couple of the holes, constructed in the same fashion. These features really elevate both the course and the park that it lives in.
With great parking and amenities nearby, it's well worth a visit.
Cons: -This course is in a city park. Other park users can and will be oblivious to your intentions.
-Lacks any true multi-shot holes.
-Signs?
Other Thoughts: The local crew are a fine bunch. They are friendly, accommodating, and take great care of their course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good mix of holes in Seattle

2-4    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Jblevins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes, left to right and right to left. Pin positions nestled in trees create interesting approaches after open drives.
Cons: Like many park courses, can be repetitive with open grass lawn fairways. Hard to find much trouble off the tee. First tee 200' over water can be an intimidating start to a round.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great old course to play nearby the airport

1    3/21/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: DeafDiscGolfer
Played: 175  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 21.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good challenging layouts.
- Nice few holes that can be birdied if thrown correctly.
- Nice elevations and water hazard.
- Liked one hole that requires you to bomb far and good but must stay on left side of walkway or be OBed.
- Liked the cement benches at tees.
Cons: - Bit confusing layout for visiting players. Use the locals to help out.
- Some tees are good and some are not.
- Have to avoid baseball field when its in season.
- No clear tee signs to show where the baskets are and how many feet it is.
Other Thoughts: It was nice course to play when visiting Seattle. I was glad to able to play at local Double league hosted by Chainbangerz.

However, it was process of revising few holes. I was not able to have opportunity to play the "original" 18 holes.

I don't mind to play there again (after they are done revising the holes) when I visit Seattle again in the future.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Improvement... On my score at least.

1    6/13/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: b-mart
Played: 60  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new tee pads are incredible. They're easy to spot too, due to the new "rock" benches and the border of the same material around the pad. They're plenty long and grippy, and should be perfect for the winter. The baskets are all marked, although some would be difficult to locate if you'd never played the old layout. There's a nice variety in the holes as well, from the extremely narrow fairway on 3, to the water on 1 and 9, to the open "air it out" holes 8 &15. Having three practice baskets is a nice touch too.
Cons: The course doesn't flow like the old layout did, and it ends with a long hike back across multiple fairways (unless you follow the trail which doubles the distance). There isn't any signage either, or even tape on the baskets. Chainbangerz knows disc golf, but they clearly missed on this part. I'm guessing that will be remedied shortly though. The course had been open for three days when I played it. Hole 9 could be a pro or a con. I love the challenge and how it gets in your head, but when I played the wind was whipping from left to right and quickly buried both discs I threw in the lake. It's great if you have a cannon for an arm, but I don't. I can barely clear the water, but Lakewood has been super windy 50% of the times that I've been there, so unless you throw a Wahoo and want to wait for an hour or two for the current to bring it back, you might have to skip this hole. Luckily the 10 teepad is right by the 8 basket though.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course because I had the best front 8 I'd ever thrown. My best front 9 if you count hole 10 instead. That's saying something though. The new holes, with the exception of 9, are short and relatively easy. 3 was super narrow, but very gratifying to get out of without a trip into the rough. As I mentioned before, 9 was very hit or miss. They should consider a bonus hole like Lake Stevens has, so you can play as a 19 hole course if you are tough enough to try 9, but still get your score through 18 if the conditions aren't favorable or you don't have a disc you're willing to lose.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.