Seattle, WA 
Ralph Williamson Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: Nic_Farley83 Hole #7 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Fun course, definitely worth playing

1    3/14/2022   3/14/2022
Review By: play4fun
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 46.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Good tee signage, but could be more helpful.
* Green--grass everywhere, picturesque.
* Decent concrete tee pads with benches at most of them.
* Fun obstacles, elevations, doglegs, trees.
Cons: * No indication of pin positions, leaving one to guess where to drive to hidden baskets.
* No flagging of baskets, leaving grey baskets sometimes difficult to see or find in the grey, overcast climate.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course, a lot of fun. Low down is, there are lots of elevation shots, wooded areas but no tunnel shots, nice signage, clear paths, benches, and beautiful scenery. Not beginner friendly. Yes, can be cart friendly, but there are some places where you will be pulling up a steep incline.

Now for the deets...

You will need UDisc to navigate this course or play with a local. The signage at each tee is nice, but does not tell you which pin position the basket's in. Many of the baskets are not visible from the tee, so you end up guessing where to drive. It would be nice if the signage showed the pin position. On most baskets, there are directional arrows pointing you to the next tee. And on some of the signage, it also show what direction to take for the next tee. That said, on many tees, you could spend some time looking for them. Use UDisc.

I played in a drizzle and hardly anyone was in the park, so I can't comment on safety or how busy the park is. However, the baskets are DGA Mach 5 baskets, so 24 strands of lighter heavy duty links. These baskets have no colored band and so are grey. In a grey, overcast Seattle drizzle. Good thing it isn't very overcast here many days. [sarc] Therefore, it is difficult to see the basket. Pink, red streamers hanging from the basket would help immensely. On a few baskets, putting a fiberglass pole with a red triangle flag would be helpful as you cannot see the basket at all from the tee due to elevation, or a hill in the way.

This is not for beginners, at least if they do not want to become frustrated. It seemed like most of the throws are long due to the elevations. For example, #9 is "only" 251' but you are driving up a 40'-50' hill. Many throws are like that. There are a couple, like #10, I think, that throws you off because even though there was only slight wind, there are clearings in through some trees where you have a head wind, and of course, sends your disc upward. This happened twice.

This is a very clean park. There was no trash of any kind that I saw. A very pleasant outing in a picturesque park setting. There is a playground with minimal playground equipment. There is also a neat bike/tricycle track for little kids at the park. Brick restrooms are open in the spring and summer, port-a-potties otherwise. Benches behind most of the tees.

I would give 4.5 disc rating if they would improve visibility of the baskets and indicate pin positions. There is supposed to be a pro shop on site, but I have no clue where that is.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

What I look for in a course!

5+    8/27/2021   1/13/2022
Review By: PHDParrot
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is what I look for in a course! Very good pads and pins. Great variety in length, openness/woodedness, one true water hole and a couple fun bonus holes. Good parking, chainbangers at the course, good practice hole area, good facilities. Loads of fun!
Cons: Not much to nitpick, each hole offers something fun. Don't like the walk from 13 to 14 that goes through hole 10 though.
Other Thoughts: Lots of buildings around, try not to lose one over a fence!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great in town course.

1    7/25/2021   7/26/2021
Review By: fredolele
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my first time in Seattle and my first time in the PNW. I'm in town for work from Atlanta and brought my bag. I'm bouncing around the west coast for a week and decided to try to play every day.

Very fun layout playing the 27 hole Ace run course. Udisc is 100% mandatory. Without it I would have been lost. I was lucky to talk to some locals after the pond on hole one and they let me know which layout to follow. If this hadn't happened I would have been hosed. Playing 27th holes, all of which are aceable is a lot of fun.
Cons: Playing this course without Udisc and knowing what the layout was would have been completely impossible. Fortunately, it seems like there are a lot of locals out at any point in time and they are more than willing to help you out.
Other Thoughts: Playing this time of year (mid July) where I'm from in the south is always brutal. Even when starting in the late afternoon. Here locals were complaining about the heat, but to me, low 80's and low humidity felt GREAT. Locals were super welcoming and more than happy to point the way or burn you down. Highly recommend.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful Course!

1    11/24/2019   11/24/2019
Review By: SamWestover
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the prettiest courses I've ever played- lots of rolling hills, with some steep climbs and a pond to play over. Open enough to really open up on distance drives, but plenty of trees scattered around to keep it challenging.

There was a great map at the beginning, but no signage after that, so I recommend taking a picture with your phone and referring to it as you go. There was also a pro shop, with a big selection of discs.

Three practice holes right at the beginning are great for warming up!
Cons: There are sign posts at all of the tees, but no signs on them. It'd be nice to have at least numbers, but hole maps would be even better.
Other Thoughts: Playing over a pond on hole #1! Warm up on those practice holes first, or risk a wet disc and wet feet. Unless you can bribe some of the ducks to retrieve your disc for you.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/17/2017   6/21/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 185  Reviewed: 183  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2018
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some really cool holes, baskets are nice. Some memorable shots. however see other thoughts stardoggy review pretty much is exactly what I would say to a tee about this place
Cons: The layout is hard to follow and there is no signage. Thankfully I played with a local or I would have thrown hole 1 wrong from the start. It's not the short one you see right away over pond. The course is nice but layout is impossible to follow without map
Other Thoughts: Love this course and everything about it. However playing without a local would be a nightmare. No navigation and playing without a local you can easily play some of the holes wrong or become lost. Once you learn the layout this course is amazing, put a couple signs in and my rating would immediately go up

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Little bit of everything

1    12/16/2017   12/16/2017
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 93  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I used every type of shot I know on this course, it is challenging on some holes, fairly easy on others, each hole is an entirely different challenge which makes this very fun to play. The rough is pretty forgiving. There is also a good amount of open space to get creative. Hole 1 is an awesome start hole over the water, builds you confidence with a small water gap. A few holes with space to let one loose, some holes need touch shots.
Cons: No signage at all, find some regulars and follow them. There is a great map at the start but after that it is hard to find your way.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

You take the good, you take the bad, you take them all and there you have....Lakewood Park.

1    4/1/2017   5/31/2017
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 805  Reviewed: 214  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2021
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 hole course fit snugly into Lakewood King park. The park also has other amenities, including baseball diamonds, tennis courts, etc.

Concrete tees for each hole, one per hole. They're sized up just fine and are grippy enough. Several of them are showing age, though.

DGA baskets, all mounted well enough and in good repair. One pin position per hole. Pin placement was pretty solid for most of the course, with several rollaway opportunities, along with tucked pins that force you to get creative on drives/upshots.

Nice use of elevation, which is on display through most of the park. This was probably the most pleasant surprise here, as most city park type courses don't generally support this feature. Lots of up, downs, and arounds.

While there aren't a TON of trees in your way, there are plenty to keep you honest. Definitely not a ton of what I'd call "tight lanes", but you're not going to be tossing hyzer after hyzer, either.

Nice distance variation, with holes ranging from 215-630'. You'll get opportunities to throw many different discs. The hole designs are solid and enjoyable for the most part.

The fellas at the onsite disc shop were a joy to talk to. You can tell they love their courses and were more than happy to help. Lost a disc in the pond because of the jerk tree on hole 1? No problem, they've got a great disc retriever to help out (trust me, you don't wanna go in that water). Some discs for sale, a lost and found, etc. Nice to have.
Cons: So I generally rate/review courses through the eye of a traveling player...and with that in mind, the navigation here is an f'ing nightmare. No signage. None. No distinguishing features on the tees. Zero. Zilch. Even with a map handy, traversing this course is close to impossible. I was fortunate enough to latch onto a local, or there is no possible way I would have figured this course out.

To add to the confusion of this navigational nightmare, many players play "tournament layouts" or "old layouts"...which basically means you've got people bopping in and out of the traditional design. There were times it felt like a college frat party at midnight, with all the kids bouncing around with no seeming intention other than sticking something in a hole. Oh Seattle, why do you hate signage so much?

Some definite safety hazards, with walking paths and baseball diamonds directly within throwing paths. While these would be great OB obstacles during a tournament, they're pretty treacherous during casual play on a busy weekend day...and this park is busy.

Other Thoughts: This is a very enjoyable course if you know your way around and play it early in the day. A good number of fun shots and scoring opportunities, especially once you get a handle on a few of the lines.

This can also be a very un-enjoyable course if you show up and have no clue of the flow (even with a map, it would be rough) and people are playing ten different layouts.

Put some navigational tools in this place, and it automatically bumps up .5 for me. Definitely worth a spin, just be prepared to be slightly frustrated.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Popular Neighborhood Park

1    4/27/2017   5/1/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 494  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 19.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:

- free course
- free ample parking, although basket one may be a little close to the lot
- friendly knowledgable pro shop on location with a great inventory, great course information hub
- lots of elevation variations throughout the course
- updated map on course scorecards located in pro shop
- big wide open fairways are well suited for all skill level
- tee pads are flush with the ground, easy to run up from any direction
- a few ace runs
- a few holes use extra distance to create difficulty
- benches/seating areas were quite accommodating.
Cons:

- no tee signs
- lacks multiple tees per hole
- poor directional signage between holes
- obstacle free fairways
- too many non disc golfing park enthusiasts walking throughout the course
- a couple pins were in close proximity to the paved pedestrian path, baseball fields
Other Thoughts:

Lakewood DGC of King County is a hilly public park that primarily uses changes in elevation and variations of distance to create most of it's difficulty. The forgiving obstacle free fairways are beginner friendly, but have enough distance to entice bigger arms. It's nice to play a course that can keep my interest and at the same have fairways forgiving enough to not chase my wife away. Initially, we had a hard time with navigation until we decide pop in to the pro shop. They did a great job squaring us away.

Being a public neighborhood park, it can get crowded with park patrons and players alike. Some holes bordered a paved walking path, other ran along the edges of two baseball fields. Neither are a great look from a safety standpoint. I had to navigate around moms pushing strollers on the first half, then canoodling teenagers on or around most of the second half of the course. This didn't exactly come as a surprise, when you show up at 3 on a week day. Still, it took a little enjoyment out of my round having to wait for people.

Overall, I think this is a great beginner to intermediate course. Players can hone in their skills without fear of losing a disc or being batted down by branch filled fairways. The trade off is that the fairways are a little bland, even if there's ascending and descending fairways.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Every City Public Park Course Designer Should Play This Course

1    3/29/2017   4/1/2017
Review By: Treeplant
Played: 96  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Best-designed public park course I've ever played in terms of creating challenging holes while minimizing the impact/interference of other park goers. You'll still need to wait in spots when the park is busy no doubt, but really a masterful job of utilizing the space without bringing the public into danger. Still need to be careful, but so much better than a lot of city courses in parks.

- Surprisingly good distanced holes that offers the chance to open up on a few drives. Nice mix of forehand and backhand shots.

- Really liked the concrete tee pads, interesting design and long enough for a good run up, plus they brushed them for traction.

- Not a lot of places to lose discs on this course, other than in the water. Pretty open understory in the wooded areas.

- Decent bit of elevation to the course, makes for some enjoyable tee offs.

- Chainbangers has a disc golf shop in the park there, as an out-of-town visitor it's great having a local resource like the owner of chainbangers to chat with. Found a couple of good used discs there and got some good info about the Seattle DG scene and what courses to check out.
Cons: - Hole signage is pretty much non-existent. Take a picture of the course map at the beginning of the round.

- Even with the course map, can still get a little confusing on the back half of the course.

- It was pretty busy when we were there early (2pm) on a weekday afternoon. Shop owner said it's almost a problem for playing how busy the park is getting with disc golfers at times.

- As good of a job as they've done designing the course, it still is a fairly well utilized public course and there are spots where you need to be careful because of the length.
Other Thoughts: - Not a lot of easy ace runs. Rec/Novice players might find this course a little too challenging for them. Nice challenge for an Intermediate player, however. Not a cake walk by any stretch.

- This course wasn't on our original list, we were just trying to find the Chainbangers shop, but we're sure glad we found it. Anyone designing a city course in a public park should check out how the course designer here has utilized space. Kudos!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Take me back!

2-4    10/1/2016   10/2/2016
Review By: kidtree
Played: 27  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting, great variety of elevation shots, wide open fields and tight trees, left and right bends and straightaways, the perfect practice putting green, a pro shop with a great selection of discs and a pro behind the counter. A basket of lost-and-found discs, too.
Cons: While the baskets are all numbered, I think, none of the tee pads are, and the map under the "Links/Files" tab here is seriously outdated. There is an up-to-date map sign at the parking lot, though. If you have a smartphone, take a photo of that for reference. Today was my 3rd consecutive weekend playing there, and I still had to pull out the phone once to verify my next tee. Two fairways are tight up against baseball diamonds. It's embarrassing to drop a disc into the outfield during a game.
Other Thoughts: I live over an hour north of Seattle, but drove down three consecutive weekends to play here. I hope to be back next weekend. So many of the courses around here are mostly flat, but this one forces you to consider how throwing down or up will affect the curve of your flight. Even the practice putting green is on a slope, the 3 baskets forming a triangle, so you can practice those tricky upward and downward putts. (I bought 4 matching soft putters here to tune up that part of my game.)
NOTE ABOUT THE PARK NAME: While there is still at least one small, blue sign on SW 108th St, pointing down 10th Ave SW, toward "Lakewood Park," Google Maps and my Waze navigation app both call it "Lakewood Disc Golf Club." To add to the confusion, when you reach the park entrance, you'll find an official sign reading "Thurnau Memorial Park." You're not lost, this is the place.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.