Grand Rapids (Kentwood), MI 
Old Farm Park Share
Uploaded By: Greg Layton Hole #8
3 / 140ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Too short

5+    9/4/2017   9/4/2017
Review By: bhoppbop
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The wooded holes are fun and challenging.
Holes well marked and have nice maps on each tee
Cons: Not enough long holes. Only need my driver the whole round maybe 3 or 4 holes.
Lots of grass and grafitti.
Can often get overcrowded.
There are some boring holes with no obstacles or challenge.
Other Thoughts: Its a nice short course, that if not too crowded that could play multiple rounds in one visit

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Total Recreational Course But It's A Fun Throw!

1    8/20/2017   8/20/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Old Farm Park is nice enough little city park. It has a few things going for it such as basketball courts, a nice little lake, picnic areas, tennis courts, wide open spaces and presenting the star attraction of the park, four brand new pickleball courts. They're awesome!

The disc golf course has a nice flow to it with the # 18 basket just a few feet from # 1's tee pad. The course is just a nice recreational course. Today, on a Sunday afternoon, there was quite a crowd here, and almost all of them had one thing in common, they were rec players whose longest drive was about 200' and they weren't sure where it was going, although usually a shady hyser to it. This is a perfect course for the clientele playing here today.

The course has decent concrete pads. The baskets are Discatchers with the yellow band and numbers. The tee signs are the same wooden ones that the Jaycee Park course has. They are a large wooden pole with a round piece on top telling you the hole number. Each pole had many signatures of those Aceing the holes. I'll cut them a little slack as an Ace on any hole is a major accomplishment for these guys. Another reviewer had commented that there was disgusting vulgar images written on some poles. I'm sorry I missed those as I'm totally into disgusting vulgar, bathroom images!

The course has a nice variety of wooded versus open holes and little short Ace runs versus long boring open field shots. I preferred the short, wooded Ace runs, no matter how short they are. Holes 3 through 6 definitely fit into the short Ace run category. They range from 99 to 176'. Two other holes are just short of 200' and ten others play between 200 and 300 feet. Only 9 and 10 stretch beyond 300'.

There are some little lines to try and hit in some of the wooded holes and trees to avoid. # 13 has a wet area behind and left of the basket. You would really to avoid it during any wet times. # 15 is cool, little downhill Ace toss of 200' but the pond is on the left side and apparently gobbles up many discs. Some dude was in the pond today with waders hunting for sunken discs or maybe sunken treasure boats. He did have a couple of discs in his hand but no treasure.
Cons: Once you accept this course for what it is, it has very few flaws.

The throws throws across the field (9-10-11) were wide open but probably provide players the op to work on their distance.

The preferred route on hole 12 would be throwing right up the walking path. Make sure it's free of pedestrians.

A pet peeve of mine and most likely a minor point, some tree pads were poured with the lay of the land, thereby slanting slightly upward or downward. I much prefer level.
Other Thoughts: There must be a market for the used disc business here, what with the aforementioned disc diving guy and another older gentleman who sitting in the shade by the first tee pad selling and trading discs. He was doing a thriving business. I guess all these rec players with the uncontrolled 200' drives are looking for that perfect disc. I can assure them, it's not the disc guys!

This is a solid rec course which fills a niche in the disc golf world. There must be a reason it was getting all this play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    1/30/2016   2/5/2016
Review By: TimSyl
Played: 96  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent Discatchers. A couple cool basket placements (holes 10 and 18). Some other decent short, technical holes.
Cons: Tees too close to baskets in many spots. Tees without concrete are rutted messes (but concrete coming this Spring).
Other Thoughts: Good beginner course. A couple of the mandos are silly, trying to make up for poor design. Not sure if they weren't allowed, but I would have used the pond more for a couple holes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Putter Heaven

5+    5/24/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: Reniger
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Great Putting Practice*
Both a pro and con. Most holes are around 200' or less. Great for working accurate mids and placing putters.
*Well Maintained Baskets*
DISCatchers in good shape don't spit TOO many out.
*Good Layout*
Easy to follow course layout (mainly because it's so small) Begins and ends at parking lot.
*Variety*
Decent variety of wooded, open, water holes, L/R and R/L. Some elevation change, but, not much. This slight variety is a life-saver on such a small plot of land.
*Restrooms*
True, concrete restrooms with stalls and sinks. Not to be underappreciated!
Cons: *Painfully Short*
Great for putting practice, but, don't expect to drive more than a midrange disc more than twice.
*Graffiti*
Lots of crude graffiti all over signage and benches.
*Crowded*
While they did a great job placing 18 baskets in such a small plot of land (and not having much overlap/risk from other players) it still backs up quickly as you have groups trying to push through a course that totals only around 4000'.
*Community*
I hate to say it, but, the community is rough. Lots of kids who will try to steal discs or hassles you throughout the round to trade something they found for your premium plastic - Lots of groups of 6-10 who rarely let people play through and respond negatively when asked - Little respect.
Other Thoughts: While they did a good job fitting 18 holes into a small park, it is very, very short. The equipment is well maintained and the dirt pads are decent, but, the people who frequent the park are less than optimal.

My girlfriend loves the short course for practice (playing about 2-3 times a week) but for experienced players it grows boring quick and can be a hassle to grind through.

Lots of fun for competitive putter-only rounds.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  So many better options

5+    6/3/2014   7/18/2013
Review By: JamesEarl
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2014
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The only merit I see for this course is that it's a good place to bring buddies that are inexperienced or just not very good. I guess I could say that there are a few fun holes but not much else to write home about.
Cons: I find this course to be a total bore. Each hole is either too short, unimaginative, or just sloppy with no real line to the pin. I've also ran into some thuggish characters in the park and in the way non diskers. It would also seem that if you believe the post graffiti there's some amazing diskers that have aced every hole. smh.
Other Thoughts: I truly hate to give the park such a low rating. I'm sure there's people that enjoy its casual lack of difficulty.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Okay for putting practice

5+    7/15/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: michaeldarkrph@gmail
Played: 51  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good variety of open, wooded, water, and hilly holes. Short course great for kids or girlfriends/wives that don't play much.
Cons: Painfully short. Good for moderate players who want to have fun. Better players will find it's like approach/putting practice.
Other Thoughts: Good place for picnics.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 after the wet time

1    4/25/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: mcnugget
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: the change of course was amazing you get every thing here
Cons: it get very low and when there has been alot of rain between 45 its unpassable and very muddy across alot of the course
Other Thoughts: my wife and I are new to the sport and this was the first course we play together we had an awesome time here it was verry beautiful but soggy new shoe needed now :(

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing Special

5+    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: dandther
Played: 45  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 42.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *I like some of the longer holes. The elevated basket surrounded by boulders on number 10 is especially creative. The 15th along the pond is really well done as well.
Cons: *Ugly and vulgar graffiti on the tee markers. It makes it look like most of the people who use this course are 13 years old.
*Most of the holes on the front nine are too short.
*Most of the holes that go through the woods lack any legitimate line. It's more luck than skill.
*Many of the longer holes simply go back and forth across a relatively flat open field.
*Dirt tee areas are muddy and potentially dangerous due to roots.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course many times, because my mother in law's back yard touches the park. This is the only reason I would have played more than once. This is one of my least favorite courses in the area.

As of March, 2013, the tee sign for number 18 is missing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Local reviewer

5+    9/5/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: That1AndyGuy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ COURSE FLOW: Begins and ends at the parking lot.

+ MAPS: Every hole has a nice map indicating the pin.

+ VARIETY: Play through the woods, several long open shots in the middle, water near the end.

Cons:
- TEES: Natural tees. As always, these are a pain... roots, mud, etc.

- TINKLE: No restrooms. Plenty of woods though.

- CREEK: The creek that runs through the woods is shallow at best, often bone dry.

- FRONT 9: All short shots. Take this time to practice midrange. These are easy ones to get a few early birdies.

- DIRTY: Trash all over, graffiti on maps. C'mon people... Don't be a dbag and bring a trash bag...
Other Thoughts:
* LOCAL TIPS:
~ Hole 12 can be extended by following the path deeper into the woods and throwing from the concrete drainage tunnel (warning: newbies play the normal pad)

~Hole 18 becomes a bomber by throwing from the roof of the building to the left of the 17 pin.

~Later in the day = more discers at play

~Old Farm is far from perfect, but it provides a solid round of throwing plastic.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Watch your step.

1    9/2/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: jonesydesign
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -starts and begins at the parking lot
-good short and mid practice
-good signage
Cons: -dirt tees are really uneven and full of roots
-middle of course very unimaginative
-other golfers and park goers tend to get in the way of the tightly placed holes
Other Thoughts: This was a short course without a lot of distance or variety. The middle of the course seemed like they just ran out of ideas (3 or 4 holes are just back and forth in a wide-open obstacle-free grassy area). The other golfers and park goers tend to get in the way of the tightly placed holes. It could have just been the day I was there but it doesn't seem like there's much respect for disc golf etiquette. My biggest problem with it would be the tee pads. They're dirt which isn't normally a big deal to me but these were so uneven and often had tree roots that became quite the tripping hazards. I wouldn't go too far out of your way to play this course but if it's close by it could be a good course to work on your mid and short range games.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.