Canton, TX 
Cherry Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #10 (Taken 3/2018)
3 / 184ft.   3 / 229ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
very nice

1    6/19/2020   6/19/2020
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 162  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 20.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 sets of tees on every hole. nice variety of wooded holes and more open park holes. park is mostly flat but elevation is used a couple of times.Small creek runs through the wooded part of the course (it was dry today) and several pins take advantage of it. Restroom on site. nice tee signs although a couple were missing. Navigation is ok but I needed to look at the map a couple of times. The map is on DGCR
Cons: no concrete tees. the tee signs do not have the correct distances for the course layout I played. I saw some shorter pin placements not being used. I believe that the signs refer to the original shorter pins and when new pins were added no new signs were made. It's the same as the info on this site but it needs updating
Other Thoughts: I really like the layout here and I am a big fan of multiple tees so you have the option to play what suits your game. The 1st part of the course is in a multi use area so watch for other park users but the course layout does a good job of mostly avoiding throwing at areas where that could be a problem. the back 9 is in a more secluded wooded area. I understand that buying new signs could be expensive but it seems like they could at least update the hole info on DGCR to reflect the new pin positions. It's nice to know the distance instead of just guessing. All in all I definitely recommend this course if you are anywhere in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Play the back 9 twice

1    7/30/2019   7/31/2019
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 380  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great clean park. Multiple blue white red tee markings. The back 9 through the woods has elevation and trees and is pretty solid. Nice baskets nice signs.
Cons: No tee pads and the signs are VERY VERY wrong on distance. Way short. by 30-60 feet. The front 9 is a little flat and boring and flows odd around 7-8.
Other Thoughts: The back 9 is a huge upgrade from front. If no one is there just play the back twice!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great park and great course

1    3/12/2018   3/18/2018
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 164  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great park that is well maintained
Multiple teepads and multiple pin locations
Nice DisCather baskets
Course demands many different shots from your bag
Many different lines and angles can be taken
A few big risk/reward shots
Cons: Concrete teepads would be nice
Sign/markers for next teeboxes would be good
Busy park with many kids and walkers
Other Thoughts: Great course if your in the area. Must play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 While Your SO is at Trade Days, Take Refuge Here

1    1/22/2017   1/22/2017
Review By: 4th Rock
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well thought out 18 hole setup with three tee positions per hole. Each position offers unique flight paths and routes
- Clean and well maintained park area & wooded fairways.
- Course signage is good with a large course map located near the restrooms. Navigation was very easy
- Excellent use of terrain elevation and natural tree cover. No two holes were alike in my opinion.

-First 9 is a lightly-moderately wooded area bordered by the walking trail and a pavillion playground area. Its open enough to stretch your arm out, yet enough trees exist to mess up an otherwise perfect shot.

-The Back 9 is made up of well maintained fairways inside a thick and heavily timbered hardwood forest, with a healthy herbaceous layer ripe with thorns in places. Good shots are duly rewarded, while errant throws may ricochet into the brush.
Cons: -Dirt teepads; after playing on concrete dirt seems inadequate, although here the soil isn't ill-suited for dirt pads.
- I could see parking being a problem for a large group or if an event is going on, but this is a very minor nitpick.
-OB boundaries were fading in some areas, especially along the creek in hole. Easy fix with a rattlecan.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed this course in spite of my awful play and the 30 mph winds. There's very little chance to lose a disc, and even in areas with water in the creek a disc is easily retrievable.

Just about every hole can be aced, even from the blue tees with the proper power, and the perfect throw.

All in all this in an excellent course that is just south of the I20 corridor, and makes a great stop for either a warm up round on the way to your destination or a cool off round to cap off a day.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly supprised

1    8/9/2015   8/19/2015
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 993  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes with 3 tee's each. Red White and Blue
Bathrooms and map at the start of the course and the course loops around so #10 is there too.
Open holes, but tree's are used very well
some of the holes had multiple Pin placements
Cons: Dirt Tee boxes
Other Thoughts: Did not have time to play the 18 holes from the map, and it was 100+ the day I stopped by. I played the front 9 only.

I had heard there were new holes in the woods and I saw at least 2 of the new baskets (different brand that the original 18 yellow band baskets)

I will be back to finish the 18 and play the woods holes someday.

Take the wife to Trade Days, you head over and play DG.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A good combination of shots

1    5/23/2015   6/8/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 709  Reviewed: 214  Exp: 10.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is well maintained and has adequate signage and multiple tees.
There is a good mix of short, moderate, and longer length holes as well as dog legs L/R.
The flow is logical and there are multiple pin placements.
There are lines to be shaped on many of the holes and the back 9 is a good technical challenge. Also there are low ceiling shots.
Some holes have ace run potential.
There was a small amount of water threat as well.
There are other amenities like a playground, restrooms, etc.
The front 9 is a moderately wooded park style course and the back 9 is more technical.
Favorite holes here were 14 and 17.
Cons: The walking path can come into play(more so on the front 9) so be aware before you throw.
Some of the tees were rutted a bit.
Some of the low lying spots that play by the creek area can be soggy at times.
If you get off of the fairway on the back 9 the thorns are pretty thick in spots. Stay in the fairway and you will be ok.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course that will challenge your overall game. The front 9 is a bit more forgiving in that there is some room for error. You will still need to shape your shots in order to score well. The back 9 is going to test your shot shaping abilities.
There is a good balance on this course. The front 9 will appeal to those players that like a park style course and the back 9 will be a technical players dream. I think they did an excellent job combining the 2 and making for an excellent course. If you are in the area I highly recommend playing this course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

2-4    12/24/2014   12/26/2014
Review By: mark996
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets were all in tact and in good shape. White and Blue (Long and Medium) tee pads clearly marked. The flow of the course is quite nice, it loops you right back around to the parking lot. The foliage is pretty nice to look around and take in from time to time. Front 9 was very clean and maintained well. Easy access to at the time clean restrooms right near hole 1.
Tons of parking, playground on site as well.
Cons: Fairways on the front 9 are very compact and what I guess one could describe as "stacked". You go tee pad to basket to tee pad, which during peak hours I could imagine would be pretty interesting with larger groups, in conjunction with runners/joggers/walkers/children etc on the walking path. Seems the front 9 was a bit squished in to a pretty small area to make it fit.

The tee pad signs leave some to be desired I think when it comes to each hole, some were there, others were missing, some had been "tagged" and written on, and the red (short)tee pads were not marked, the ones that are were drawn in with a sharpie.
Back 9 was pretty trashy when I played there, it's more out of sight from the rest of the area so it obviously doesn't see as much traffic, or city crews for that matter.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice, closely stacked course. If you want to test your game against trees, the back 9 will do that for you.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  If I were closer, I would play it more often.

5+    10/26/2014   10/29/2014
Review By: Dulcet
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mix of open and wooded holes.

Multiple tee boxes and alternate basket locations. Every course should have these.

The park is well maintained. Fairways are nice and clear of brush and the holes are fairly well marked.
There isn't a spot on the course were I thought "they need a bridge here". Where one is needed, there is one.
Some cities install the course, forget about bridges and signs and have you climbing in and out of ditches and creeks just to get from the tee to the basket (the Canton parks department could teach the Fate parks department a few things).

Tons of parking.
Cons: Dirt tees. I have been spoiled by concrete pads.

Alternate baskets aren't marked on the signs. Not a big deal but it makes the distances listed on the signs wrong.

The front 9 feels a little like it was forced inside the walking path of the park. There is plenty of room for them but on a few holes you occasionally have to wait on joggers, bicyclists or other muggles. Even though I have played this course a few times I find myself walking to the wrong hole or throwing at the wrong baskets on the front 9.
Other Thoughts: We played a few holes of the second course that is being installed and it looks awesome.

I wouldn't recommend playing any of them yet. My legs suffered the wrath of many thorns and I lost a disc in the heavy brush. Then we got lost trying to find a hole, and wandered in the woods for a bit before finding the park again (and I used to think I had a good sense of direction).

That's what we get for being impatient and playing a course that is still a work in progress.
I can't wait till it is finished, If the few holes we played are any indication it will be fantastic.

The addition of a second great course to this one will make the hour drive to the park much more agreeable.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/23/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Circusgary
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Back 9 gonna keep you on your game. Can't wait to get back. Front nine clean and simple in the park.
Cons: A little confusing on tee placement. I have it now but took a couple times through. Don't write on the baskets!
Other Thoughts: Played another 45 holes out there today. Ran into a group of guys adding another 18 baskets with like 6000 feet. Long wooded fairways! Can't wait!
G$

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 surprisingly fun

2-4    3/1/2014   3/2/2014
Review By: jtmoney
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/30/2015
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some real fun holes- the red is great for kids- The back nine is fun and really difficult. It is heavily wooded but there are some great lines on many of these holes. The front nine is not easy and there are some trees here as well. The whites and the blues create different shots. The reds are perfect for kids or beginners. My twelve year old got some birdies on a few of the front nine from red and he was really excited.The playground is awesome here too for the little tykes. There is not a whole lot of traffic here and it feels really secluded. I got my first ace here and for someone more experienced I am sure would do great here. There are mutiple pin positions and three tees (blue, white and red) so you could play it several times and not get bored.
Cons: I don't mind the dirt tees but when I played there were some uneven tees, the back nine is in the woods- fire ants, poison ivy, mosquitos, be prepared.
Other Thoughts: This really is a must play for anyone in the area, it was a lot of fun , the back nine are great but the front nine are not bad either. Bring the family and have fun.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.