Broomfield, CO 
East Interlocken Park Share
Uploaded By: The Bard Hole #8 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 243ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Alt. Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

" />
Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Jekyll and Hyde

5+    9/7/2017   9/19/2017
Review By: ZachTuthill
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.4 Years
Pros: -Plays in a well manicured park. You could throw this course barefoot.

-Nice variety of shots for a 9 hole course, distance varies from 200-375 ft.

-Water in play on holes 2, 3, 4, 6 and 7. The only 9 hole course I've played with water possible on the majority of holes.

-Plays in a quick loop. You and a buddy could throw this course in 40 minutes on a good day.
Cons: -The Canal (See Below).

-Multi use park. This wouldn't be a problem but for questionable hole design on a couple. Hole #7's pin is 15 feet in front of a heavily used gazebo and requires a bomb to get there. The perfect line for #8 is basically throwing the sidewalk. Street is in play too.

-Practice basket is 20 feet from the pin of hole #2. Anyone using it is in play due to 2 being a downhill ace run.
Other Thoughts: Consider this part one of my two part "North Side Double-Down." For anyone in the metro area coming up here, it's a waste of your time not to play both this course and Superior/Rock Creek, located 3 minutes up the road behind the Nordstrom. Two totally different courses that can be played, including drive time, in an hour and a half. It makes for a very enjoyable 18 without spending more time than you would at an average 18 hole course. On to Interlocken.

There are two very distinct experiences you can have playing this course. On days when the canal is not in full flow, this is a simple Park style course with little opportunity of true danger. I usually feel relaxed on these days and mess around with my less used mid and putter shots. Days when the canal IS running full clip, however, require focus, strategy, and cardio if you shank one. I'll be clear: if your disc leaves the hand with even a remote chance of landing or rolling into the canal, RUN. Your best chance is to get in front of the disc landing, and set yourself up in the canal (which will be fast and thigh high) with arms down and legs spread hopefully blocking the disc when it hits you. This actually works most of the time.

Now, let me alleviate some fear. For the above to be applicable, the canal has to be running full. If it's running even half, you'll be able to see your disc in the water, and provided you can run it down, should have an easy retrieval. I would say in my experience it's been truly running about 20% of the time. In my opinion, it's worth playing even if you arrive to the canal going full speed. It creates an entirely different strategy for half the holes, and running full clip after your disc can be exhilarating. I realize that's only my opinion.

All in all this is probably my favorite metro 9-hole, and makes for a great play following a round at very nearby Superior, which I will review now.

 Short, Techy & Chill

2-4    4/8/2017   4/8/2017
Review By: FrolfnAce
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Chill, not crowded on a 75 and sunny Saturday
* Challenging, short but lots of tight lines and techy
Cons: * wish it were 18 baskets
* only one basket choice per pad, no variation
Other Thoughts: Sunny chill vibes..the group in front of us were super chill and it has a good energy vibe, doesn't disappoint

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great short course

1    4/7/2017   4/7/2017
Review By: sjroesinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of challenging shots
Good baskets
Tees marked well (mostly from sidewalk)
Wonderful view of Longs Peak from #6
Cons: Felt a bit tight in areas (could be hard if the park was busier)
Other Thoughts: Great little course in local business-area park
Would be fun to play during lunch hour

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Cool Course

5+    6/15/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, park grass, technical holes, challenging back 9- can play 18 in 1.5hrs
Cons: the back 9 are all alternate tees to the same baskets, if you throw a disc in the stream or the weeds it is probably gone- the stream is sometimes low enough to get them back out
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really great little neighborhood course. It's fun to play because of the nice grass. There aren't any long holes but it is still challenging enough not to loose discs

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Find

1    2/27/2014   2/27/2014
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 129  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 12.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Teepads 3
Baskets 4
Tee signs 3
Flow 4
Difficulty 3.5 (pending ob rules)
Alt tees 4
I really like this course good chance to refine midrange and putter but don't get me wrong i used drivers on some alt tee. The alt tees really changed the 9 holes i was super glad i played them
Cons: The course is short and packed in. Possible trouble with other park goers. Several tees are sidewalks and basket are right near sidewalks.
Other Thoughts: The course was green and lush. Very cute little park. I say go play it.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Dual tees make this course

1    7/30/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: Gumby23
Played: 109  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 22.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Dual tees make the course interesting and the "A" tees decently challenging. It is designed wisely, taking advantage of the terrain, water and trees. Easy to follow, quick rounds make for multiple tries. Nice tee boxes and signs. #7 throw across the water is awesome.
Cons: No "A" tee for #5, construction, fairly short.
Other Thoughts: Great redesign!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little hidden course

2-4    10/23/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: CBass
Played: 119  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees throughout with nice baskets. Signage on the regular tees can help the first timer make their way around and scout out the alternates along the way. Speaking of alternates tees, these are a nice addition and make the course much more fun for an experienced player. Lots of mature shade trees and shelter. A nice variety of shots on each set of tees. Sweet lake teeshot on #7(?) alternate. The trees, lake, marsh, hillsides, and creek will keep you on your toes. Seems like there are more than one route on most holes which more small courses lack. Short course but worth a trip out.
Cons: Alternate tees do not have distances marked, but they are not extremely long to make it a big deal. A couple drainage crossings can be tricky and may be slick so please be careful. Not too many cons really.
Other Thoughts: There is a message board with area info in it. Great course that the area needs and deserves. Keep up the good work guys!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Little Nine Holer W/Alternate Teepads!

1    7/18/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one pretty little course. It's set in the middle of a business park and the course is extremely well maintained. It's green with, lush grass, shade trees, lots of hills and some water hazards. Today our water hazard was the sprinklers. The course weaves it way through the buildings sometimes using sidewalks as the tee boxes. There are a alternate set of boxes allowing you to play this as a full 18. This plays as a fairly easy recreational level course thus making it a perfect venue for bringing that newbie/wife/youngster. There are a few ACE runs. # 7 is the longest hole on the course with water on the right side but it can easily be avoided by playing it more safely and staying left. You'll need to throw both hysers and anhysers here. The shade and the sprinklers both were welcome on this 95 degree July day.
Cons: Advanced/Pro players won't find a challenge here. But I think they'd enjoy a round here anyway. I understand the canal can become a torrent after rain. Today, it was a trickle.
Other Thoughts: Perfect course for me, 60 year old recreational player. Your tastes may differ. Proceed at your own pace.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 East Interlocken

5+    4/16/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: tacsmurf
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained. The grass is always well kept and maintenance is done daily. The space available is not extensive but the holes are well thought out and challenging for the distance. The course has nine additional tee pads that add very different looks at each basket.
Cons: Short holes. When water is in e creek there is little chance to retrieve it due to the fast moving water. All of the water and marshy areas boast an extremely distasteful smell so try to avoid them as much as possible.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disc down fun

5+    10/15/2011   10/15/2011
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 72  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 20.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well designed, maintained and clean course
- Friendly local regulars
- Great baskets
- Good signage
- Concrete tee's for every hole - even the alternates.
- Great for beginners to mid level players, fun for all levels of play
- Easy access, plenty of close parking and brick and mortar bathrooms
- Lots of near by shopping and food
- Alternate tee's on #3, #6 - 9 are great holes for all skill levels imo
- practice basket(s) ---** see below comments
- large soccer field allows for driving practice
- water fountain
- if you keep your disc dry, you don't need to be "geared up" to play. Really, 4-5 discs are all you need. I usually don't bring my bag, and you can leave your "get dirty clothes" at home.
- perfect for a quick game (can play all 18 in hour 15-30) or a tune up before Johnny Roberts/Birds Nest
Cons: - can be busy during peak hours, mainly due to smallish course.
- canal can be a mixed bag. Some days, dry. Others, fiercely flowing run off can hijack your disc (looks like it could be fun to tube on during days like that!). Then, there's the in between days where it's just plain stagnant mucky water.
- Tall weeds and marsh on 6. If your disc is submerged, it's pretty much gone for good.
- Lake on 7, if your disc goes in good luck getting it back.
- only 9 holes
- most holes are on the short side, nothing terribly technical here
- park is mostly open. If you're looking for a quiet peaceful day away from everything, this isn't it.
- needs more garbage cans
- like all courses near the foothills, course is subjected to some heavy winds at times
Other Thoughts: I'm here at least 3 times a week and it still provides a challenge, esp from the alt tee's.

I think holes 1/a and 2/a could have their tee's repositioned to elongate and add difficulty

The best improvement would come on hole 6, drain that marsh or some how facilitate easier disc retrieval. Maybe even have someone clean it once a month and return the discs for a $5 fee (those with names)? I have seen this at other courses.

***Others have said the practice basket is too close to #2's basket. Thats true if the course is busy, but when it's not, it allows you to use #2 as another practice basket, allowing you to shoot at one from the other (about 25-30 ft apart). This gives you more practice throws and less time spending setting up for them :) I consider this a plus.

This is essentially my home course, as I live 5 minutes away. As such, please clean up after yourself!!! The park is usually quite clean and I like it that way.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center