Broomfield, CO 
East Interlocken Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #9 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

" />
Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 East Interlocken

5+    4/16/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: tacsmurf
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained. The grass is always well kept and maintenance is done daily. The space available is not extensive but the holes are well thought out and challenging for the distance. The course has nine additional tee pads that add very different looks at each basket.
Cons: Short holes. When water is in e creek there is little chance to retrieve it due to the fast moving water. All of the water and marshy areas boast an extremely distasteful smell so try to avoid them as much as possible.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disc down fun

5+    10/15/2011   10/15/2011
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 69  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 20.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well designed, maintained and clean course
- Friendly local regulars
- Great baskets
- Good signage
- Concrete tee's for every hole - even the alternates.
- Great for beginners to mid level players, fun for all levels of play
- Easy access, plenty of close parking and brick and mortar bathrooms
- Lots of near by shopping and food
- Alternate tee's on #3, #6 - 9 are great holes for all skill levels imo
- practice basket(s) ---** see below comments
- large soccer field allows for driving practice
- water fountain
- if you keep your disc dry, you don't need to be "geared up" to play. Really, 4-5 discs are all you need. I usually don't bring my bag, and you can leave your "get dirty clothes" at home.
- perfect for a quick game (can play all 18 in hour 15-30) or a tune up before Johnny Roberts/Birds Nest
Cons: - can be busy during peak hours, mainly due to smallish course.
- canal can be a mixed bag. Some days, dry. Others, fiercely flowing run off can hijack your disc (looks like it could be fun to tube on during days like that!). Then, there's the in between days where it's just plain stagnant mucky water.
- Tall weeds and marsh on 6. If your disc is submerged, it's pretty much gone for good.
- Lake on 7, if your disc goes in good luck getting it back.
- only 9 holes
- most holes are on the short side, nothing terribly technical here
- park is mostly open. If you're looking for a quiet peaceful day away from everything, this isn't it.
- needs more garbage cans
- like all courses near the foothills, course is subjected to some heavy winds at times
Other Thoughts: I'm here at least 3 times a week and it still provides a challenge, esp from the alt tee's.

I think holes 1/a and 2/a could have their tee's repositioned to elongate and add difficulty

The best improvement would come on hole 6, drain that marsh or some how facilitate easier disc retrieval. Maybe even have someone clean it once a month and return the discs for a $5 fee (those with names)? I have seen this at other courses.

***Others have said the practice basket is too close to #2's basket. Thats true if the course is busy, but when it's not, it allows you to use #2 as another practice basket, allowing you to shoot at one from the other (about 25-30 ft apart). This gives you more practice throws and less time spending setting up for them :) I consider this a plus.

This is essentially my home course, as I live 5 minutes away. As such, please clean up after yourself!!! The park is usually quite clean and I like it that way.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Loud Noises

1    9/30/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 112  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little course that sits in a very nice park setting. The park itself is well maintained though there does appear to be a lack of trash cans. Multiple tees for each hole make the course quite interesting. The regular tee pads are all quite nice and the basket are all quality as well. There is a nice practice basket, just don't get it confused with #2's basket. The course starts right next to the parking lot and ends right on the other side of the parking lot. There are some interesting shots. Signs are descent. All the alternate tees are painted and on cement. There is more challenge to this course that you might think so don't sleep on this course.
Cons: There was some difficulty finding tees, in particular the alternate tees. With just a few people on the course it can feel crowded. Alternate tees contribute to that problem as you cannot always see players on the alternate tees from the regular tees. The tee signs are only good for the regular tees and give you little to no clue about the alternate tees. Not all the alternate tees are in place to provide enough space for throwing the shots that you want, in particular hole 7. There were several occasions when I thought to myself, man that highway right there is rather distracting. The water is nasty in places. I watched one guy loose his disc on hole 2 in a canal that you would think not that difficult to find a disc but the water was not that clear and moving fast so who knows where the disc is now. The lake hole from the alternate tees is not as good as it could be as the water oddly does not really come into play. There is a path that goes through the park which comes into play on a couple of holes. Most of the water holes are not that threatening.
Other Thoughts: I had a wonderful time playing this course with some friends and new friends. It was one of the better 9 hole courses though it still fails with only one or two holes long enough to throw max distance drivers on. Despite holes that look difficult, most of them are still fairly easy holes. I did not see many signs to the park as the directions on this site indicate. Basically you get off of 36 at Wadsworth 121/128, follow 128 and then make a right at the next light and follow that to the park sign. The course is really close to the Flatiorns Mall with lots of good food and shopping nearby. This was a good experience, but the length of the course on the hole kind of takes away from how good this course could be. There really just needs to be more land in this place for the course to get better.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive Interlocken

2-4    7/31/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: markjfun
Played: 94  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: East Interlocken DGC is nestled comfortably within a high-end business park in the foothills of Broomfield, Colorado. Private jets, helicopters and biplanes can be seen and heard passing overhead on outings to and from a small nearby hilltop airport. On weekends, the streets of the business park are scarcely traveled, providing a tranquil atmosphere. The course itself is designed with a certain level of competitive thought, but the main tee-off positions have no intention of stumping the seasoned disc golfer. Less advanced players will find the course an excellent practice ground for learning new shots, since the length and technical skill of each hole varies greatly. Major props to the designer for squeezing in just about every type of hole here: tight & tactical, between-the-trees, long bombs out in the open, a couple water hazards, elevation changes, and both right- and left-hand doglegs. Trees, light poles, a bog, a drainage ditch and a pond serve as excellent obstacles to stir up the game on seven of the fairways, while two of the holes are wide open shots. Alternate, but less obvious tees (see map) offer an entirely different approach to the pins, giving players with a little extra time a valid reason to play a second round to make a full 18. Trash cans, concrete tee pads, quality baskets and legible tee signs all play their part in making this a well-rounded course that earns its rank a few notches above many of its 9-hole counterparts.
Cons: There are a handful of places to lose precious plastic along this relatively short course. These include a cement waterway that often carries a hefty current capable of quickly eloping with your prized putter, a thin marshy stretch of head-high weeds that hide a carpet of thick black mud, and a stagnant pool of opaque disc-sucking mud-water. There are also a couple choice opportunities to toss onto the road, so mind the passing Mercedes, please. The droning highway noise of Route 36 is not the most audio pleasant backdrop to a well-groomed course, but it is tollerable.
Other Thoughts: When visiting East Interlocken Park, think upper-middle class in terms of short, free 9-holer courses. Visit these sub-Hollywood hills on a weekend morning to avoid the hustle and bustle of the Monday through Friday business park shuffle.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Beginner Course

5+    7/13/2011   8/1/2011
Review By: O1DMBFan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Paved path for half of the course
- Easily marked holes and signs
- Very well maintained
Cons: - Very short holes (Par 3 Course)
- Many wide open holes, non-technical holes where only drive distance matters
- Water Hazards can literally steal your discs due to fast flowing waters
Other Thoughts: Over all a very decent well traveled course. I will continue to throw this course as I live near it but it will get old fast as there are not many technical throws. This is an excellent course for beginners and I will recommend it to anyone who is new the sport.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course, alternate teepads make it better

5+    7/7/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: The Bard
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Alternate tee pad locations. Aside from Hole 8 and Hole 2, the alternate tee pads give you a totally different look at the basket.
-Nice tee signs and new tee pads
-Good course flow and easy to follow
-Some elevation change
-Can play through pretty quickly
-Some decent water hazards to navigate if that's your thing
-Well maintained park
-Good course to introduce someone to disc golf if the canal water is low and slow flowing
-Always parking available
-Can be a good confidence booster if you need it :)
Cons: -Many of the holes off the regular 9 tee pads are either short, wide open, or fairly non-technical.
-The alternate tee pads aren't really pads, but just spray painted on sidewalks. This makes them less "official" in my books.
-If your disc goes into the canal when it happens to have high, fast flowing water, there is a good chance your disc will be lost. It may not be worth trying to look for because it could be anywhere. Especially watch out on holes 2 and 4. One round my short putts hit the basket and then rolled into the canal. If you can, have someone stand between the canal and baskets when putting during times like this.
-Alternate tee pad on #7 can be pretty ridiculous for most people. Unless you are guaranteed to throw 325+, don't bother or you'll lose your disc.
-Practice basket is too close to basket 2 and the canal
Other Thoughts: Others:

[Context helps for reading any review: Ability: experienced intermediate player, Avg drive as of writing: 300', #times played this course: 5, #courses played as of review: 19]

Overall a decent course that I will play often since it's close to where I live. After I discovered the alternate tee pad locations the course went from a 2 to a 2 in my mind because of the variety of a 9 holer. I really do want to give it a 3. But since many of the regular 9 tee pad locations (most "official" ones of the course) are somewhat bland, I don't feel like I can do so. Plus I don't like that you aren't sure before going what the canal water will be like. In the end, compared to other courses it seems fairly average, hence the "Decent/Typical" DGCR rating. Still a decent course that you should check out.

---------

Just as an aside, since North Midway Park is so close (5 min drive) and also a 9 hole, it seems appropriate to compare the two if you are considering playing in the immediate area.

Midway better features:
-Longer holes
-Less disc golf crowds
-Less lost disc potential
-Additional challenge of getting par
-Better to take first time players

Interlocken better features:
-Less dangerous things to hit
-More of a "disc golf course" feel to it
-More hazards to navigate
-At least has a practice basket
-Multiple official tee pad locations adding levels of challenge
-Has some elevation change
-Less distance may be better for newer players

For me if it's between the two, 4/5 times I'll pick Interlocken.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole

5+    6/20/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: Usher
Played: 78  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice 9 hole course in a well maintained park. Tee pads & signs for every hole. There are alt. tee pads for most of the holes. It uses the parks features well and the overall layout provides for a nice flow and out of the way of other park users.

Favorite Hole: #4
Cons: The course follows a path that goes through the park and when I played the course last, there were some cyclist riding through and you couldn't see them til it was almost too late. The other con is that there is only 1 hole over 300'. If you use the "pro" tee pads it does add a little length and difficultly to the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, very nice park course. Well worth a 30 minute drive for me. MHDGC tags on Tuesday nights @ 5:30pm. Good course for 9 hole or 18 with the alt. tee pads.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.