Grove City, PA 
Grove City Share
Uploaded By: jblough Hole #6 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Downpour Disc Golf

1    9/29/2017   9/29/2017
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 51  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 8.6 Years
Pros: Grove city is an 18 hole course split into two skill levels.

The front nine is a good place for beginners to play or learn the sport. Pretty open with little OB or changes in elevation.

The back 9 is meant for more seasoned players. It plays mostly through the dense woods of the park, and offers a more technical style.

Back 9 offers some fun holes through the woods. Hole 17 plays at over 700'.

Nice basic tee signs for every hole. Baskets catch very well.

Very good variety in terms of technicality and distance.

Pretty easy to navigate, just follow the tape on every basket. Parking is to the left of the big pavilion, near the pond.

Nice, friendly park setting without a whole lot of people.

Cons: There is only one set of tees, and they are natural. Hopefully there are plans to set a more permanent option, and to add another set of tees.

Pedestrians weren't an issue when I played, but maybe it was just the time I chose.

There are a couple long walks between holes. 9 to 10 is 600', 17 to 18 is 450', and 18 to the parking lot is probably around 400'.

While the back nine was more challenging, it's easy to score low here. Another set of tees for advanced players could help.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Grove City was a pretty fun course in the heart of town. Offers two different styles of play in one course, and I thought that was pretty cool!

Side Note: Right in the middle of my round, the skies decided to open up on me. Of course I finished, but I had to battle through downpour rains, strong wind, and occasional lightning. Definetly an exillerating experience when you nearly get hit by a falling branch after your drive :)

 Great course and will return again!

1    4/2/2017   4/3/2017
Review By: DGisGR8
Played: 75  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -New baskets at all 18 holes.
-Course is well maintained and clean.
-Tee signs at every basket with accurate information.

Cons: - Map on this site under links dated 2011 is inaccurate and made it a little confusing at hole 7. Figure it out eventually and was fine the rest of the way.
- Dirt tee pads but playable.
- See saws on hole 18 should be removed or relocated.
Other Thoughts: Overall great course! Was in the area for the first time and plan to be back several times. Looking forward to returning. Front 9 are fairly easy and straight forward which is good since I can envision a lot of people there in the spring and summer. Back 9 are more challenging and well designed. It appears the course was changed in 2015 so the newer reviews were more helpful.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Two different courses

1    11/5/2016   12/5/2015
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 43  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine is a great par 3 nine with many different shots. Very short, I didn't bring out my distance driver on the front. Alot of birdies and ace runs.
On the back nine it is more technical and advanced. Many technical shots and a big wide open par 5. There was nothing that wasn't doable for both beginners and the advanced players. Enough variety for straight shots, hyzers, anhyzers, rollers, thumbers, etc.
Cons: Only one tee pad per hole. This adds an easier hole for pros. . I'd suggest you practice putting on them before starting your round. There was playground equipment in the middle of some of the holes, and I imagine this could be a big problem during the summer.
Other Thoughts: I did enjoy playing the course. There is still some work to do but if you are in the area then play this and Hunter farm. Don't forget to eat local too. A great college community and I can't wait to get back! All baskets are now Innova Discatchers and at the right height, so that is a definite plus.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your time with this one!

1    11/1/2015   11/1/2015
Review By: Jags
Played: 29  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2016
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course in a nice park. Front nine are typical. Back nine more technical and laid out nicely. More signs installed makes navigating course more easier than before.
Cons: The front nine baskets have all been replaced and are at proper height now. Tee boxes were grass/mud. The front nine all you need is a mid & a putter.
Other Thoughts: I drove an hour and 15 minutes to get to this course and wasn't disappointed. Nice course worth a drive.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Poison Ivy Anyone

1    8/14/2015   8/15/2015
Review By: Yeti08
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice park that is easy to find and has plenty of parking.

Good mix of lawn and wooded holes

Challenging back nine and nice scenery

Cons: Poison ivy growing all over the fairway even on the wooded back nine. Makes you not even want to pick up your disc....

Some extremely tight holes that are almost ridiculously guarded.

Other Thoughts: I'd like to further understand the logic/thought process of having to have the front 9's baskets lower to the ground....why?!

And for crying out loud do something about the poison ivy.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde

5+    5/29/2015   6/1/2015
Review By: SoupSizzle
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9--There are a lot of fun holes for both beginner and advanced. Short & Open but still has some challenging shots. Very fun and relaxing in a nice park. Landscaping & vegetation in park for this 9 is done well and course kept mowed.

Back 9---VERY technical & challenging course. Nice mix of short & long holes with lots of trees and some elevation.
Cons: Front 9- As this park is very busy, sometimes the baskets are removed for park events without notice and there are often people around near the course...just have to be patient

There probably should be signs directing the players from the basket of 9 to the tee of 10, as its a small walk. Hole 18's tee is slightly dangerous and it does not add any benefit to tee of directly over a road. Could move tee across the road and not affect the par at all.
Other Thoughts: For those coming who have never played, I would suggest you plan on parking near the pool, as you would have a more central location to start and end then parking by hole 1.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great little course grew up into a full 18

5+    1/1/2015   1/22/2015
Review By: Omnium
Played: 75  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 is a nice easy layout with a variety of shots. Nothing spectacular but its well laid out and is peaceful, just a relaxing good time.
Back 9 gets serious competitive challenging action, lots of more tightly wooded areas and few great driving zones.
Also this was the first place I played glow, and it has only gotten better. This is a great course to play at night.
Cons: No actual tee pads, and the front 9 baskets are those wonky Lightning DB5's and theyre incredibly low to the ground as per Grove City ordinance. Local events sometimes interfere with play.
Other Thoughts: Great shorter course with enough action to please both the beginner and the seasoned pro.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short course worth your time

5+    7/8/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: yokozunapete
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 22.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well marked
-Very, very few places to lose a disc
-Easy to walk
-Great for beginners
-Designed around city park facilities (restrooms, picnic, playground, etc.)
Cons: -Tees have eroded to dirt/mud
-Baskets are set oddly low to the ground
-Many holes are very near active roads and walkways
Other Thoughts: The course is in the process of being expanded to 18 holes which is exciting.

If you are in the area, you should play the course. It is a good opportunity to work on your shorter game.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Get a quick 9 in if you're in the area

2-4    6/13/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 146  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautifully maintained town park, no tall grass which is great for this time of the year
-Easy to find successive holes
-Bathrooms
-Designers did a great job using the park layout to set up this course. Couldn't have been designed much better considering what they had to work with
-Plenty of parking
-I was pleasantly surprised to see about ten other people playing throughout the course of time that I was there. That's a good number for a park and an area like this.
-I liked the use of the hill for holes 8 and 9.
Cons: -While there weren't many people using the park later than 7 p.m. (when I was there), I can see foot traffic being a big issue. Course plays near the road on most of the holes.
-Pins were low to the ground, which threw me off at first. While one could argue that this adds variety to your game, I enjoy when pins and tees are "standard". Which leads me to:
-Tees were woodchips but pretty beaten up so were almost dirt tees. They were a little muddy because of the rain that day, and weren't perfectly even
-Can't say too much about the shot selection. While the designers did a good job placing the pins, most of the shots are open, often using a mid. A few obstacles here and there come into play, however.
Other Thoughts: Good to get through if you don't have a ton of time. So even though it isn't the most exciting course, it is worth playing if have a little extra time. Plus, you can hit up Slippery Rock and Moraine if you have time. Only about 15 from Moraine. I had a little tough time finding the first tee, but if you go to the course map kiosk, it will direct you to it.

1-Simple hyzer
2-Straight shot through some trees
3-Most challenging hole on the course. Tough anhyzer with a lot of pine trees into play. I threw over the tall pine trees, which works too.
4-Open, slight anhyzer
5-Same as 4 but pin is surrounded by some trees
6-Open, straight shot
7-Open, slight anyhyzer
8-Slight uphill hyzer, my favorite hole on the course
9-Another fun hole where trees come into play. Downhill



6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Small Course

2-4    8/18/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 141  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 18.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course layout using as much of the small park as they could without getting in the way of other park users. Good signs and a nice mix of long and short holes using trees and other obstacles make for an interesting course.
Cons: Very short course. First hole is a little hard to find. On a crowded day, the other people at the park could get in the way. It wasn't busy when I went so I can't say for sure.
Other Thoughts: Wouldn't go out of my way too much to play this course, but if you are in the Grove City area this is a solid quick 9.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center