Churchville, MD 
Churchville 6 Share
Uploaded By: Natural Hole #4 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 141ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
A nice break from driving

1    2/6/2020   2/8/2020
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 41  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 2/10/2020
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As everyone has noted, the course is meant to be an introduction to the sport and a practice course for more advanced players.

With most real-deal courses, the warm-up offering is just a practice basket for putting. If you will ultimately play Mill Brook (on the same property), you can warm up drive, approach, and putt on this little course. Then drive around the corner to Mill Brook.

Also if you are driving down or up the 95 and need a break from the traffic, Churchville 6 makes a more intriguing rest stop than Maryland House or Chesapeake House. For a disc golfer anyway (smile).

I was actually looking for Mill Brook to play later and found Churchville. Both are not far off the 95, pretty easy to get to.

Starting out with unobstructed nos. 1 and 2 (tee of latter to the left of the 1 basket, near the creek), adding tree holes 3-5, then back in the open with 6 mimics a full-scale course that plays in and out of woods.

You can play each hole 3 times and make it an 18-hole round while walking it once. You can try a variety of discs to learn which is the best to drive on each tee.
Cons: The little creek crossover is swampy and slick.

The tee boxes (uneven gravel) are too small and in poor condition. Maybe really little kids would find them useful. Rest of us, no. Stand to the sides of them.
Other Thoughts: For what it's intended to be, I think it does that well. To grade it compared to full-scale courses, it'll always come up short (pun intended).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little 6'er

5+    9/15/2019   12/15/2019
Review By: garback
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Easily accessed. Good for practice, Ace runs, kids and beginners. A good spot to load your bag with mids and putters and let them fly
Cons: This is not a full course. It is only 6 holes. It doesn't have any long holes. It is missing challenging elements from a professional course.

 Good Beginner Course

5+    8/14/2018   8/14/2018
Review By: listentomorejazz
Played: 54  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has to be stated up front: this is only a six hole course, thus the rating is factored against other six hole courses.
- Baskets are all in good shape and the course is fairly well maintained.
- Decent elevation change and good mix of wooded vs open shots
- Course has tee boxes and markers for each hole
- There is shot shaping on a few of the holes
Cons: - Tee boxes are somewhat small and worn out gravel. It's fine for a standstill, but when I practiced here regularly, would typically throw from behind or the side
- Confusing walk from 1 to 2 and through the woods to 4 (two is down the hill and left from 1's basket)
- The walk from 3 to 4 (and back again from 5-6) is almost always messy.
- Again, six holes. Not necessarily rating it down because of it, but it's hard to go over 2.5 or 3 for a six hole course
Other Thoughts: Great for new players to have a space to improve where they don't get discouraged or feel looked down upon.

I used to live close by and would come to work on putter tosses and putting. The baskets really are in good shape.

The designers did do a good job of crafting fun 150'-220' foot holes. There's a nice tunnel shot and a few places with decent bunkers from the woods, plus elevation on 1 and 6.

I guess you could get to a 3 star course if the tee pads were concrete, but frankly that doesn't make any sense for the course. They did what I'd hope for out of a six hole beginner course.

Also, this is in a different parking lot from the new (as of this review) course next door. Still, can make for a nice warm up and helps for us course baggers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Take the Recs to Church

2-4    2/11/2017   2/11/2017
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 226  Reviewed: 197  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2018
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 6 boxed gravel tees with wood post tee marker signs and numbered Mach 2 baskets. Good variety playing across gently sloped elevated changes and decent mix of fairway challenge. It looks like they recently added some new tree saplings to the course providing a little tunnel off the tee off hole 2 and 6, and will eventually make hole 3 a tunnel taking away the RHBH anhyzer. Safe separation between holes.

Nice recreational and fitness center facilities with tennis and basketball courts, archery, dance and arts, and lots of ball fields.
Cons: Only a rec level course. Even for a course this short, the tee boxes are a bit short and they were a bit lumpy. It took me awhile to figure out where the tee for hole 1 and 2 were, but easy after that. A little muddy crossing the little creek between 3-4, and 5-6.
Other Thoughts: Churchville 6 is a pretty good course for it's intended purpose which is to introduce kids and new rec players to the game, but also hard to rate because it's only 6 holes and short and doesn't have mass appeal to all disc golfers. The course was entertaining enough that as a pro level player I stuck around to play a second round trying to get an ace and birdie every hole.

All you need here is your putter. Once you learn to control a disc here, then you are ready to test your mettle on a real nice 18 hole intermediate to advanced level course like Mill Brook on the other side of the park, or the hilly Scarboro Hills course not too far away.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Churchville 6

1    8/5/2015   10/17/2015
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 89  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It has simple wood signs which gives you the hole # and the distance. The first two holes are flat and open. The # 3 has a tree in the middle of the fairway. # 4 is a 141' tunnel shot while # 5 is a downhill tunnel . Then # 6 finished with a little short 174' uphill.
-The baskets have the numbers on them. Which is not necessary but still a nice touch
-There are signs leading you from 3 to 4, and 5 to 6
-Sports fields there, and its a good teaching place for kids at the recreation center
Cons: -Well, it's 6 holes
-Wet when it just rained
-Hard to find the 2nd and 3rd hole
Other Thoughts: Rating Breakdown (each category either 0 or 0.5):
TEE PADS: 0, no tee pads
SIGNAGE: 0.5, somewhat signage on the course
AMENITIES: 0, no benches, hooks, water fountains, etc.
PARK AMENITIES: 0.5, there is a recreation center right next to the course
TERRAIN: 0, kinda boring course, also 6 holes
ELEVATION: 0.5: there were uphill, downhill, and flat holes
HOLE LENGTH VARIETY: 0, every hole is a 200 footer
ALT TEES/BASKETS: 0, only 1 tee box and 1 basket per hole
SIGNATURE HOLE: 0, most holes are the same and boring
FUN FACTOR: 0, looking back, I probably had fun and I did hit my first Maryland course, but you can't get much fun with 6 holes

It is great that places all around the country are attempting to teach new people disc golf!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Feel Good Course

1    12/10/2014   4/23/2015
Review By: Mohawk Mack
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you're playing bad and in a rut or a beginner, this place is for you. It's short and all birdieable holes which is great if your playing badly.All that is needed is a putter and a mid-range. Easy to navigate with a few trees in play.
Cons: Nothing really other than it only being 6 holes and short but again, it's great for beginners and if you need a feel good round.
Other Thoughts: Where else can you rip off 6 birdies in a row?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent For Beginners!

1    7/14/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1493  Reviewed: 1438  Exp: 42.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I will always stick up for these type of small, short courses designed for the beginners/students. I firmly believe they have a niche in our sport and will always rate them generously, provided they're designed and built well.
This course built behind the Chruchville Recreation Center, is just that, just six holes because of space constraints, built for beginners and or students.
It has simple wood signs which gives you the hole # and the distance. Nothing more is needed here. The tee boxes could be slippery when wet. The first two holes are flat and open. The # 3 has a tree in the middle of the fairway. # 4 is a 141' tunnel shot while # 5 is a downhill tunnel . Then # 6 finished with a little short 174' uphill.

The baskets have the numbers on them. Why do these simple, little six hole wide open courses always have the numbers on the baskets? And when you play some impossible to navigate, ridiculously complicated 18 hole course in the woods, there's not a number to be found?
Cons: This is not the course for the advanced or even the average intermediate player. It's not designed with them in mind. If you're looking for more of a challenge, go play Scarboro Hills..
Other Thoughts: Nice design and terrain for the family/beginner player. Fun course to come and try to rack up another ACE. Perfect little course for the "Course Bagger" such as myself.

Another course which has hit it's target audience like that 400' shot thrown through a narrow gap in the trees which slams and sticks into the basket for that unbelievable "ACE."

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great for kids

1    6/1/2012   6/1/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 257  Reviewed: 227  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 2 beautifully designed holes at this course were the inspiration for my home course.
One of the best places in Maryland to introduce children to the sport, also a neat place for an ace race.
Cons: No long holes to air out your driver.
only 6 holes
Had a little trouble navigating the first time, but very simple after that, no need for a map or guide.
Other Thoughts: No need to bring anything but a putter, maybe a mid for players throwing less distance who still want to go for the ace.
This course is a 5 star course for what it was built for: 1) to be visible to hundreds of new people who visit the Churchville rec center
2. ) to provide a safe area to teach children disc golf. 3.) to give the locals an uncrowded practice area.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent for short game practice on my lunch break

5+    4/23/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: BrianCurlee
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's easily accessible, never busy, the tees are marked with the distance and the baskets are brand-spanking-new. It's an excellent course for beginners who could easily get discouraged by a lack of arm strength and too many obstacles to deal with.
Cons: 6 baskets is an awkward number. I wish they could've stretched it to 9. The crossover to holes 4 and 5 are swampy.
Other Thoughts: I've seen reviews that site a lack of variety, but for a beginner I disagree. You've got a short open field shot followed by a longer open field shot. Hole 3 introduces a tree or two, Hole 4 is the closest thing a beginner needs to a "tunnel shot," and Hole 5 is a short representation of a "typical DG layout" with no direct line, scattered trees and some thicket to the left. Then you finish it off back in the field with an OB to the right. Seems great to me. I hit this course about twice a week on my lunch break. I take my buzz and my soft banger and play it as a par 12.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/25/2011   1/3/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 87  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 17.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's clear that this course was intended for the first-timer. It provides a very nice introduction to the sport with nice baskets and nice tee markers.
Cons: Even as an introductory course, there are things lacking here. If the intent is introduce new players to the sport, there should at least be some sort of message board or signage to explain the basics and give some advice for where to find discs.

With just six holes, there's very little variety here. The trees provide a little bit of intrigue, but it's not enough to really make it interesting.

When wet, there are parts that are nearly unplayable. I played this course two days after a rainstorm and was very glad I had hiking shoes on. It was very muddy and with tennis shoes, my feet would've been soaked.

As a practice course, there are limited safari options. Because it's fairly open, and space is limited, it's hard for a more advanced player to get creative in making up new holes.
Other Thoughts: To really objectively review this course, I had to look at it from two very different perspectives. It's intended purpose vs it's overall appeal.

For it's intended purpose, it fits the bill pretty well. It's an easy, low stress way to introduce a first-timer to the sport. It would be great for school groups or families who might be here for another event but can spare a few minutes to try something new. However, even after one or two rounds, I can imagine a beginner getting bored very quickly.

To give this course a numeric rating, I have to look at how it compares to all other courses. With just six holes and a very small target audience, this course doesn't have much to offer over others. It has a couple nice things going for it (nice baskets, good tee posts) that elevate it above the very lowest level, but for any level player, I wouldn't recommend visiting this course unless you're already at the rec center for something else.

The best way I can think of to describe it, is that it's like comparing putt-putt to regular ball golf. While it has it's merits, and gives novices an opportunity to play, a putt-putt course doesn't even compare to a true ball golf course.

This would make a very nice adjunct to an existing course, but it doesn't stack up on it's own.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.