Churchville, MD 
Churchville 6 Share
Uploaded By: Soup Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Take the Recs to Church

2-4    2/11/2017   2/11/2017
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 184  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 10.8 Years
Pros: 6 boxed gravel tees with wood post tee marker signs and numbered Mach 2 baskets. Good variety playing across gently sloped elevated changes and decent mix of fairway challenge. It looks like they recently added some new tree saplings to the course providing a little tunnel off the tee off hole 2 and 6, and will eventually make hole 3 a tunnel taking away the RHBH anhyzer. Safe separation between holes.

Nice recreational and fitness center facilities with tennis and basketball courts, archery, dance and arts, and lots of ball fields.
Cons: Only a rec level course. Even for a course this short, the tee boxes are a bit short and they were a bit lumpy. It took me awhile to figure out where the tee for hole 1 and 2 were, but easy after that. A little muddy crossing the little creek between 3-4, and 5-6.
Other Thoughts: Churchville 6 is a pretty good course for it's intended purpose which is to introduce kids and new rec players to the game, but also hard to rate because it's only 6 holes and short and doesn't have mass appeal to all disc golfers. The course was entertaining enough that as a pro level player I stuck around to play a second round trying to get an ace and birdie every hole.

All you need here is your putter. Once you learn to control a disc here, then you are ready to test your mettle on a real nice 18 hole intermediate to advanced level course like Scarboro Hills not too far away.

 Feel Good Course

1    12/10/2014   4/23/2015
Review By: Mohawk Mack
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you're playing bad and in a rut or a beginner, this place is for you. It's short and all birdieable holes which is great if your playing badly.All that is needed is a putter and a mid-range. Easy to navigate with a few trees in play.
Cons: Nothing really other than it only being 6 holes and short but again, it's great for beginners and if you need a feel good round.
Other Thoughts: Where else can you rip off 6 birdies in a row?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for kids

1    6/1/2012   6/1/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 243  Reviewed: 219  Exp: 10 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 2 beautifully designed holes at this course were the inspiration for my home course.
One of the best places in Maryland to introduce children to the sport, also a neat place for an ace race.
Cons: No long holes to air out your driver.
only 6 holes
Had a little trouble navigating the first time, but very simple after that, no need for a map or guide.
Other Thoughts: No need to bring anything but a putter, maybe a mid for players throwing less distance who still want to go for the ace.
This course is a 5 star course for what it was built for: 1) to be visible to hundreds of new people who visit the Churchville rec center
2. ) to provide a safe area to teach children disc golf. 3.) to give the locals an uncrowded practice area.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Course Record = 12?

1    8/19/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: Crooow
Played: 192  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 30.1 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets catch very well. Nice park with restroom facilities. Easy to find. If not busy, could make up safari holes that might have some challenge. Tee posts have distance marked.
Cons: Only 6 holes; very short; pretty much 6 baskets in open field. No tee pads but then again, not really needed. Crossover gets swampy.
Other Thoughts: I shot a round and scored a 13 - I hit the only tree on #3 and missed the long putt for my only 3 (and I'm not very good). I hit the basket on #4 which was my favorite of the holes. I'm sure someone has shot a 12 by now if not better. Playing #4 and #5 repeatedly is more fun than playing all 6. I know people are saying that it is good for its intended purpose; I see the elementary school across the road and think it would be great for that target audience. But a review here is to inform disc golfers whether it is worth playing this and I would say that if you are nearby (say cruising down I-95) - sure it's a pleasant 10 minutes. But I wouldn't go off the track to play it. And if the target audience is complete beginners than hole #6 should not play that close to a fenced off area - beginners will not appreciate losing their own disc.
I'm not saying that the course should be dismantled or anything - it is great for people just learning the game. I just want to warn experienced golfers that it is a toy course.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Good for what it is

5+    7/16/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: Natural
Played: 82  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun little course to play. Brand new baskets and tee posts with footage on them. Good use of limited area.
The course does a great job for what it was designed for, the beginner and to introduce people to the game. Great place to bring the kids. Rec Center building has bathrooms and vending machines.
Cons: Limited space only allows for 6 holes. Road runs along right side of hole 3, has pine trees to help prevent disc from entering roadway. But, it's still possible to get one there with a bad shot. Thick underbrush on left side of 5. Tends to get muddy in the wet season.
Other Thoughts: If you're an experienced player, I suggest playing with a Super Class disc. I threw my first round with a Super Class disc here. Have to say that was a lot of fun, a very different experience. Located right behind Churchville Rec, disc golf is in the view of a lot of fresh eyes, some of them with pull in the county. Lots of other activities to do while here, playground, tennis courts, horseshoe pits, baseball and soccer fields, grills, and a pavilion.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.