Ashland, MO 
Ashland City Park Share
Uploaded By: Brokensaint Hole #1 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Small course = large mistake

1    7/3/2017   9/16/2017
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 109  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is "only" six holes. Thankfully.
Cons: From the unusual tee signs to the very short teepads to the ridiculous hole designs to the annoying basket locations to the menacing "No Trespassing" out-of-bounds fence, this course is a disaster.

The first hole offers a reasonable fairway - at least until nearing the basket - and is the only "decent" hole on the course. After that, the course design resembles something the Three Stooges would have created, complete with all the nonsensical hijinks.

Holes #2 through #6 overlap in their real estate usage as the five holes are shoehorned into an area unfit for more than two holes. Having multiple groups on the course concurrently would be unsafe.

Holes #2 through #4 feature a ludicrously located fenced-off area on the right side of the fairway that includes a No Trespassing sign. No baskets should be placed so near this obstacle.

Despite their short distance, the baskets for holes #2, #4 and #5 are difficult (or impossible) to see from the teepad due their maddening placement just a few feet behind a large tree or densely wooded area.

The tee signs include the distance in yards, a la golf style.
Other Thoughts: A disc golf course should never have been installed here. The space is inadequate and the design is awful. Small-town parks sometimes specialize in offering fun courses for novices, but this course is neither fun nor appropriate for novices.

Don't waste your time here. If you're seeking to bag courses, bring a couple discs you don't like and race through the preposterous course.

Of the more than 100 courses I've been blessed to play, this course is definitely the worst. A rating of 0.0 would be more accurate, but unfortunately, the course doesn't fall under the "unplayable" descriptor, so it receives a 0.5 rating.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Needs a makeover

1    9/12/2017   9/12/2017
Review By: Sskamui
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Connected to a nice small-town park. Concrete tee pads if you can find them. Short holes good for beginners.
Cons: Poor direction, hidden holes, park traffic, surrounded by utility structures.
Other Thoughts: Clearly unfinished and poorly planned.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown Course

5+    3/9/2016   3/12/2016
Review By: Spursfan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short course, so it isn't very hard to traverse. Also, this allows for multiple rounds to be played.
Good for getting throws in or for beginners.
The park in which the course is located is very quaint and pretty, especially in the fall.
Cons: Lots of places you can lose discs. Some trash, and some of the tee signs are vandalized.
Hole 5 is extremely muddy when the course is wet.
Tee 4 is under water whenever it rains.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing here in my free time. I live in Ashland and so this is the most accessible course for me. If you are ever in the area and need some friendly competition hit me up.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Small Town Sixer

1    11/10/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: Gflap
Played: 360  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a nice community park less than 1 mile off major hwy (US 63 15 miles south of Columbia). Discatcher baskets. Concrete teepads. Metal tee signs with distances measured in yards. Trees, small creek and small pond utilized as obstacles.
Cons: Very small piece of land with only 6 holes crammed in with some fairways interfering with other holes. Some hazardous lines where pedestrians are at risk of being hit by discs. Some of the teepads appear to be facing the wrong basket. Some vandalized tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Gotta give this course at least a 1.5 for just being here. Very busy park when I played on a beautiful fall saturday. I was the only park goer playing the course. Just not much land to place a course. Course number 280 on my list.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Simple in a nice park

1    10/14/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 260  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park
Concrete Tees, decent signs
Innova baskets
Of the land available, obstacles make best use possible
Good place to bring children
Park has nice amenities
Cons: 6 Holes
Very small field holds 5 of 6 baskets. More than 1 group playing= someone getting hit
Dull for most players
Lots of trash in the treeline behind bleachers

Other Thoughts: The boy scouts designed this course, using a very small bit of land to (relatively) pretty good use. I didn't hate playing it, as i was in the area to play Indian Hills and Oakland, but I will never need to play it again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.