Shelby, MI 
Flip City Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: Bill at Flip Hole #5
3 / 134ft.   3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 215
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 ... 10 11 12 13 14 ... 21 22
 flip city

5+    8/16/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
19 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Absolutely beautiful scenery.
-Very well maintained. Mowed fairways, rock sculptures on most if not all holes. Broom on every tee pad.
-concrete tee pads for the pro tees.
-Great flow. You will never get lost or throw onto another hole's fairway.
-Amazing variety of long/short, up/downhill.
-The atmosphere feels really good. You are so far away from civilization that disc golf is all you care about.
-Just about every hole could be the signature hole at any other course.
Cons: -The signs at the tee pad have only the hole number on them. The score card has a map and the distance so it's not a huge deal. But I'm lazy and don't want to pull out the score card before I throw on every hole.
-Some of the rough is pretty nasty if you throw into it. Just don't throw into it and you'll be fine.
-Only the pro tees have concrete pads.
-some of the tee pads have rough spots and are uneven
-hole 2A is a very hard par 3, and 3A has absolutely no line to hit, just a bunch of trees. These holes back-to-back are frustrating.
-Lacks variety that I've seen on other courses. It has long/short and uphill/down hill; but not much left/right variety. everything is within 15degrees of "straight"
-No water hazards, which is a con for some. I am undecided on whether that is a con.
Other Thoughts: EDIT: the first time I played flip I rated it a 5. I live 10 miles away and have played it a bunch more since then and I decided to re-write my review and give it a 4.5. Is it "phenomenal?" yes. Is it the "best of the best?" no.

Flip is a phenomenal course and it is worth any amount of travel to play it. While in the area check out Whitehall Township DGC, Henderson Lake Nature Park, Branstrom Park, and all of the courses in Ludington, MI.

So I do this on all of my reviews:

favorite hole: #11. 344'. The rock sculptures are amazing on this hole. It was hard to pick a favorite but the rocks on this one convinced me to pick it.

least favorite: #3A. 306'. There are so many trees in the fairway that it is more "chuck and pray" than choose a shot.

19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Heaven

2-4    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: cassidymayne
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
5 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: The Best course ever period. Tee pads are amazing. Fairways are beautiful. Bill takes amazing care of his property. Great use of elevation and trees. The course doesn't favor one style of throwing over another. Perfect balance. I played the Farm Classic and did not want to leave.
Cons: I really cant think of any. The course is darn well near perfect.
Other Thoughts: If I died today I expect this to be what Heaven looks like!

5 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 IT'S ALL TRUE

1    8/10/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: bennyb
Played: 27  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 26.4 Years
7 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: FLIP CITY IS AMAZING. I can not put into words how amazing this course is. I couldn't even take picture to do it justice
Cons: Not closer to my house
Other Thoughts: Best course I have played besides the fact that it is groomed and beutiful it is a challenging course.

7 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 I just can't give a 5-star review

2-4    8/8/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: MGroothuis
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 27.4 Years
16 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Wow. What a great course. A fantastic adventure spanning all walks of the game of disc golf. Every challenge a disc golfer is looking for is absolutely found here. Dramatic elevation changes, long bombs, short precise approaches, hills, large valleys, tight tree-lined fairways, risk/reward, and heartbreaking roll-aways. Some of the holes are epic drives off the tee pad that exemplify the very reason we love to play disc golf. Hole 11 comes to mind with it's wide open valley 344ft drive, and hole 6A's basket placement with terrifying putts. Plan a day, plan a week, Flip City is hands-down the best course I've played.
Cons: I hate to nit-pick at the cons of such a great course, but a more standard par system sure would be nice. Hole 2A's 670ft par 3 is pretty crazy. A 3 feels great, but it's no easy task. Some of the holes push the limits of the upper 400s and mid-600s. The 3s for ease of score keeping is good, but a 4 on a 600+ foot hole shouldn't feel like a bogey.
Other Thoughts: Already said many times, but bring bug spray. The alternate holes in particular are a thriving metropolis for mosquitoes and deer flies.

16 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Still amazing

2-4    8/5/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 19.2 Years
8 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Beautifully maintained, amenities at every hole, shelters from the rain, place to camp, good tees and signs, nice fairways, challenging shots, and lots of hills to throw off or up. Still one of the top courses in the country.
Cons: Better be in shape, it's up and down hills the whole way. Nothing else is bad about it, except the occasional mosquito.
Other Thoughts: Still one of the best in the country. No need to write more, all the other reviews already have said it all. Just go play it.

8 of 22 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful

5+    7/31/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: jasono2009
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
6 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: Well groomed fairways, rough areas groomed, best course I've played. Beautiful area, great elevation changes, great course layout.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Can't say enough about this course, Bill has done a wonderful job creating perfection.

6 of 28 people found this review helpful.

  Exceeded Expectations

1    7/29/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: holdenr22
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: I decided to take the trip up to flip city after reading all the reviews on this site and seeing that it was ranked second best in the country. I was skeptical going into it but after playing the course I was absolutely amazed. This truly is the Augusta of Disc Golf. The scenery was amazing and every hole was unique. All the people I met out there were very helpful.
Cons: Cant think of one.
Other Thoughts: I came out with a group of 8 people from Holland, MI. We loved it so much we plan on going back weekly at least for the rest of the summer. If you havnt been there yet, take the time to do it.

5 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Can't wait to go back!

1    7/2/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: Nick
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.1 Years
9 Helpful / 25 Not
Pros: You have to see it to really appreciate the awesome scenery. Everywhere you look you see rolling hills with baskets on them. Very well worth the trip to the middle of nowhere.
Cons: Don't bother bringing your cell phone cause you won't get a signal. If you do get a signal it won't last. I can't imagine why you would want to be bothered playing this course anyway. Unless you were using it to call your buddies and tell them to come play.
Other Thoughts: You definetly get a good work out walking up and down the hills. My legs were burning by the time i finished. But it was well worth it.

9 of 34 people found this review helpful.

 Flip City

1    7/27/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 96  Reviewed: 30
17 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: -Easily the best course that I have every played on
-scorecards and pencils next to hole one so you can easily keep your score
-Alternate first six holes (thats how they get to the odd number of 24 holes)
-Amazing use of elevation makes every hole different and interesting
-The holes all differ in lenght and difficulty making the course challenging yet rewarding at the same time
-beautifiul course and it very well maintained even though it is privatly owned
- hard to explain, look at the pictures of the course and see for yourself
-broom and trashcan on every hole so that the course stays clean and trash free
Cons: -The only cement tee off pads were for the pro tees and the other tees were just marked by rocks in the grass
-It is out in the middle of no where (but worth the drive)
Other Thoughts: When you get there you can see how much the regulars love the course, all of them really appreciate what the owner does. This course is a must play for anyone that is really interested in frolf.

17 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 love it

2-4    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: bearat07
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 26 Not
Pros: well-maintained, variety of obstacles and elevation changes, good traffic flow, well-marked. the course is obviously a labor of love.
Cons: watch out for bugs.
Other Thoughts: this course makes me wish i owned enough land to put up my own.

5 of 31 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 10 11 12 13 14 ... 21 22

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.