Bellevue, NE 
Aspen Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #9 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Beginner Course

5+    9/17/2018   9/20/2018
Review By: aphilso1
Played: 27  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2 Years
Pros: Great for beginners and for teaching kids. Typically very little use from other disc golfers and some of the holes have some real length -- that combo makes it a great practice course to unload on all of your distance drivers.
Cons: Not a lot of trees and absolutely no elevation changes. Makes for a dull round. Also, this summer the city started allowing soccer matches in the middle of hole 7 one evening per week.
Other Thoughts: Many holes feel like fieldwork that happen to have a basket at the end. For tha reason, this is my favorite course to go to when trying out new discs or trying to compare discs head-to-head for a slot in my bag. However, that also means the course is fairly boring if you're looking for a serious round. Course is not well marked, but it is well mapped on uDisc.

Terrible layout

1    2/26/2018   2/26/2018
Review By: Icky
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open holes great for beginners or just letting some drive rip.
Cons: Not a single marking or tee sign. I couldn't find hole one because most of the baskets aren't marked either. I found 1 teepad, threw to what I assumed was the correct target and then didn't know what to do after. There is no flow to to course, at least not one that I could figure out.
Other Thoughts: Go here with a local if you want any idea of how it's played and where to start.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/7/2017   9/11/2017
Review By: HEFTYLEFTYSH
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Great practice course. Not heavily used, so you can take your time.
Cons: mosquitos and bugs when wet or early evening.
Other Thoughts: Nice quiet location. A great course to bring younger kids to who are learning to play.

 Little Community Course Has Some Length!

1    8/9/2016   8/12/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1417  Reviewed: 1364  Exp: 41.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aspen Park (aka: Sun Valley Park) is hidden well back in this residential neighborhood. It's a decent sized city park that's totally flat with a smattering of mature trees.

The course begins by the pavilion. It has concrete tee pads an Discatchers with the yellow band and numbers. There aren't any signs but the course is pretty simple and instinctive to navigate. There is a nice variety of distances here varying from # 1's 190' ACE run to # 7 at over 600'. The trees don't provide a whole lot of obstacles as they're pretty easy to throw around.
Cons: Flatness of the park.

Not a whole lot of variety, many holes felt similar.

No "Wow" factor. No hole will get you amped up.

No signage.
Other Thoughts: I guess one of the pros here is the lack of players. I'm not sure if I consider that a pro or a con. There must be a reason players are flocking to Seymour Smith and generally ignoring old Aspen Park. There were a couple other players here. Both seemed to be working on their game by trying different discs and lines. This course is perfect for that kind of work.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course!

1    10/19/2015   10/19/2015
Review By: KingDonko
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Very nice concrete tees and nice baskets
- Great layout for the area they have available
- Fun beginner course. Wide open with few obstacles.
- Easy to find the next hole
- Well maintained
Cons: - Not challenging for advanced players
- The park is kind of hidden off the main road. You have to drive through a residential area to get to it.
- There are no signs, but they really aren't needed on this course. For me it wasn't an issue. Once you know where hole #1 is you are set.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1 is by the Gazebo next to the swimming pool. After that it is very easy to find the next tee box. Hole 9 ends on the opposite side of the swimming pool from #1 so it is an easy walk to 1 from the car and back to the car from 9.

I wish there were more little courses like this around. I really enjoyed this course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Its a course.

1    10/22/2014   1/26/2015
Review By: pchitti
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good tees, baskets are nice, holes are layer out well for the area and obstacles available.
Cons: Short, 9 holes in a very wet park, bring your off!
Other Thoughts: Mosquitos suck, fun little course for a quick 9 if you don't want to fight the one disc wonders at Seymour. I would suggest taking the drive to Hummel for a real round, or Plattsmouth for a quick 9.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not as Busy as Seymour

1    8/2/2014   8/16/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 378  Reviewed: 364  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice baskets and cement tees
+Nice park with ball field, pool, picnic areas, tennis courts, playground, etc.
+Large mature trees spread throughout the park
+I played on a saturday around 10 AM and there were only 3 other guys on the course
+Despite no signs, it is pretty easy to find your way around.
+One really long hole where you can air it out once or twice
+You shouldn't lose a disc here.
+Ace runs on most holes.
Cons: -You play too close to backyards.
-There was garbage everywhere
-Besides the one long hole, all the others felt very similar. Not enough variation of any kind.
-No elevation change
-Trees barely come into play. Very easy to hit your lines here.
Other Thoughts: +Seymour Smith was very, very busy on the Saturday that I played. I was ok with it as a visitor but I don't know if it would be fun for me to put up with that every weekend. Despite this course not being all that fun. I might use it here and there to get my disc golf fix instead of going to Seymour to wait at every tee.
+If you're a traveling player and have limited time, hit up Seymour and Hummel first and then leave courses like this for if you have extra time. This course is very close to Seymour so you might as well play it.
+Fun factor was low but it wasn't horrible. It did have the basics like good tees, baskets and it wasn't busy.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and relaxing

5+    6/25/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: ZMesenbrink
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 18.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete tees. It's never busy. Good parking. Some long open throws, great for working on drives.
Cons: I think the pads are a bit short. After a rain it is a marsh, beware. It's only a 9 hole course but play it twice and there you go.
Other Thoughts: You really can't go wrong playing Aspen. It's well maintained and you can really work on accuracy while driving and not be punished too hard.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Aspen DGC review

2-4    8/24/2011   4/5/2013
Review By: Burd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained park with concrete pads and nice baskets with good shade cover from large trees in the park. Wide-open throws for big drives. Nice to play to get away from the traffic atSeymour Smith park up the road.
Cons: Only a 9 hole course which am not a big fan of. Sometimes people at the park will picnic right on the pads for the holes because the course is so new and unused and they dont know apparently. Not much elevation change so course is a little dull but worth checking out.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great for the family

2-4    11/1/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All concrete tee pads and very open. Like said before you can never loose a disk here. Take the family and have fun with them playing this flat open course. Being nine holes long it will be just enough not to bore the little ones.
Cons: Very open and flat. It took a minute to get going the correct direction with no standard for marking. Some holes have the basket marked with the number and others have nothing. Three baskets where missing and only had a wooden stick for a target.
Other Thoughts: Nice open park to practice your throws and not busy at all, but I went during the week day. Larger and nicer course just 2 minute drive from this one will always keep this course empty.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.