Charlotte, NC 
Kilborne TPC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 354ft.   4 / 475ft.   3 / 459ft.   4 / 580ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Nice Course

1    5/19/2019   5/20/2019
Review By: Dice
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1. This course has a nice variety of holes.
2. The course was well maintained.
3. Plenty of benches and tables.
4. Good signage--holes were clearly marked.

This is a well-maintained but older course. Past reviews contain plenty of good information about Kilborne's history and standing in previous reviews. I enjoyed my trip to Charlotte and this course was a highlight of my experience due to its friendly atmosphere, layout, and types of holes. This course was fun, easy to figure out. I highly recommend it.
Cons: 1. At times the signage was a bit confusing, and the large crowds might be a con for some players.
2. The condition of some baskets and tee pads was a little worn but no more than would be expected for a course this age.
3. The restrooms are pretty far out of the way from the majority of the course and a little weird on the inside (not a lot of privacy)
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course had a nice mix of people and holes. I found it enjoyable to play due to the variety of shots. The slower rate of play due to overcrowding was improved by having lots of places to sit and chill. Folks on the course were plenty friendly and offered advice when asked.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Kilborne

5+    7/9/2018   7/11/2018
Review By: dndelli
Played: 53  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2019
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kilborne is one of the oldest disc golf courses in Charlotte. Despite many tweaks over the years, including a bunch within the past decade, it is still a blast to play - and retains the same Kilborne feel! Every hole is equipped with concrete tee pads, colorful tee signs, baskets (18 new Veteran Baskets by Dynamic Discs recently installed), benches, and garbage cans. Kilborne is a multipurpose park, with restrooms, water fountains, and plenty of parking.

There are multiple layouts at Kilborne, that allow for a wide array of golfers to play here and be adequately challenged. The hardest of which, Skillborne, will surely test even the most advanced golfers. Despite being carved out of the woods, like Reedy Creek the fairways are generally pretty forgiving (Skillborne not so much). However if you manage to take a bad skip or ricochet off into the woods, you may find yourself in dire straights. This course is still going to reward accurate, technical golf - and will require you to play multiple style of shots to score well. There are plenty of looks at Birdie though, as long as you have a good shot off the tee!

It is pretty astounding how secluded this course can feel at times, given it is located in a fairly busy section of the city. There are times when you are playing through the beautiful woods, that you might actually forget you are near the heart of the Queen City altogether.

After park construction forced the course to be tweaked, Kilborne has seen some revisions. I think the new Hole 1 is one of the best opening holes in the city! A long open shot that slightly hyzers into the woods, with a detention pond near the turn acting as OB. This also allows an old tee to be utilized as a drop zone, and no longer be just a weird remnant of a past course.

Many holes have two tee pads and/or two baskets, which offers an incredible amount of variety - with 4 different potential generic layouts. And the option for many combinations! This increases the replay value of this course dramatically if you live in the area.


I finally got the chance to play the resurrected version of Skillborne, and I fell in love with this course all over again. The distance is ramped up, there are some tight gaps to hit, and many holes require completely different tee shots. The fact that these tee shots exist, and there are multiple basket locations - the replay value here is immense.
Cons: Tee signage is constantly being updated, but isn't always kept uniform across every single tee sign on the course. The newest ones made for the 2019 Carolina Clash are some of the most detailed tee signs I have ever seen! Hopefully we get to see more made in this vein all across the city! (It looks like Hole 8 didn't get a new tee sign for the short pad.) Another pet peeve of mine is that not all of the long tees have tee signs, which wastes a lot of time when you have to walk up to the short pad and then back to the pad you're was throwing from.

Some of the holes with multiple basket locations will have their baskets pulled for various tournaments. This can be a little frustrating if they aren't promptly returned and you're not sure if you're throwing the right drive from the tee. Obviously it's understandable this has to happen for PDGA rules, but you can never be sure if/when the basket will be returned.

Kilborne Park is not located in the worst area of town, but it is also not the nicest either. This is not really unusual when you look at some of the nearby courses. However, Kilborne generally attracts more non-disc golfers to the course: loitering around the benches. I've never had any real problems with anyone here, some will even be interested in the game, but they can be a bit distracting from time to time.

There's not a lot of elevation within the park for the course to use. You might see some slight uphills/downhills, but nothing to write home about. The biggest elevation change in a hole occurs on Hole 15.
Other Thoughts: With all of the work that has been put into Kilborne over the past few years, including the most recent tee sign upgrade, as well as finally having played Skillborne, I feel completely comfortable giving my original rating a bit of a bump up to a solid 4.0! Partially because it seems like work is continuing to be done, and I think the course is still trending upward, but also because it's just good clean fun. I'd still love to see the tee signs be uniformed and at every tee. I also think the park could handle having multiple baskets on the holes with 2 locations. As of right now Holes 3, 6, 7, 10, & 12 have a second basket location - as long as the Club owns the baskets, this could be a great way to have four distinct generic layouts exist at once, and possibly speed up rounds on busy days as people would possibly be playing the shorter courses.

Favorite Kilborne Holes: 4, 12 (Long Basket), 15 (Middle Basket), 18
Favorite Skillborne Holes: 1, 2, 11, 12 (Long Basket), 16

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Charlotte course. Fun, pretty, challenging

1    9/27/2015   9/27/2015
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 71  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 10.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to start? This course is a prime example of Charlotte disc golf, and has no doubt been played and loved by tons of players.

The course is mostly wooded, and well worn in. The fairways are worn in and leave no doubt where you need to throw. You can really tell this course has been around quite some time. For good reason

The tee signs are almost all new and up to date (thanks to the recent Masters tournament I assume) and really help a first timer on the course navigate each fairway as some baskets are not in view from the tee pad.

Challenging design! Not one hole is the same and it's awesome. Each new hole is a new challenge, and the course as a whole requires all kinds of tee shots.
There are Hyzer and Anhyzer holes. Holes with multiple lines, and holes with long winding lines to the basket. Bring your A game as a off line tee shot can make for a difficult par save.

The park itself is quiet, and the course wanders through most of the available real estate, making for a nice walk through some beautiful woods. A great place for DG

Along with the great mix of hole layouts, there is also a nice mix of hole lengths. Even though most of the course plays in the woods, you can, and need to power a few drives down the fairway for some of the longer holes. Then the next may be a shorter, tighter under 300ft hole where a mid range may be all you need.

Mostly adequate signage leading from one basket to the next tee.
Cons: The older baskets don't seem to grab as well as the newer versions. Although not a major con as it adds to the challenge, but you'd better be dead center or not far off from it for it to stick.

There are several baskets near the turn that are all near each other. I don't remember the exact numbers of these baskets, but on a crowded day I can see this being a potential hazard, or distraction on those crucial putts!

Even though the tee signs have the direction from the basket to the next tee, and as mentioned in the Pros section most holes have some directional signage, there are still several holes with out any direction to the next tee pad. Just a minor Con as it's generally an obvious path leading to the next pad
Other Thoughts: A great example of Charlotte disc golf, and one of the originals. Fun to play and full of challenging and rewarding golf shots.
The course requires accuracy, power and patience.

Bring your A game and enjoy one of Charlotte's prime courses. Highly recommended

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Super Fun

1    3/14/2013   3/15/2013
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 104  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course was an absolute blast to play! And thanks to a couple of local players - sorry, can't remember your names! - who provided me some insight into lines and distances!

Though tight in spots, the fairways were mostly open with only a few trees to navigate. And except for a few instances, getting back to the fairway and beyond after a bad kick was easy.

And the signage was SUPERB! Loved the hole layouts on the signs. I wish more folks would do that. Multiple baskets and tee pads add an extra incentive to stay and play multiple rounds
Cons: Can't really think of any. I just kept telling my new found friends how much I enjoyed the course.
Other Thoughts: One interesting fact about the course was the number of doglegs right off the tee pad. You had to shape a lot of shots from the get-go, but like I mentioned before, miss your line and you ain't all that bad.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Skillborne or Not, Very Interesting

1    12/31/2012   1/2/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 445  Reviewed: 341  Exp: 16.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kilborne TPC is quite good, and has an 18 hole layout that can be played with numerous options, because most holes have two tee pads, as well as two baskets. Skillborne (long tee to long pin) layout I played required just about every throw I can think of, excluding almost any elevation change. Trees provide obstacles is some form on every hole, and several are densely wooded with very tight windows (especially on Skillborne). Both accuracy and distance are keys to success on this very technical course.
Cons: The course it's self is very good, in my opinion, but there are some cons. The equipment is all very functional, but the concrete tees were sometimes on the small side, the buckets on the baskets were on the shallow side, and signage left much to be desired. No tees had signs to illustrate shape or distance, but the baskets were all numbered at least. The flow of the course was not easy to follow, luckily we joined up with locals who knew where to go. Many baskets and or tees are often visible at the same time, and transitions between holes can be difficult to negotiate I would say. This course was the most crowded I visited in the city, in terms of other disc golfers. Several groups playing the short layout caught up with us and played through, while we traversed the Skillborne layout. Pace was slow. I found a bit of standing water on the first fairway, but after that the course was entirely dry.
Other Thoughts: Overall I liked Kilborne TPC a lot, and rate it excellent based mostly on versatility and difficulty. Not as nice as many of the other courses in the area, but still a good one. Thanks to Adam and Jim for hosting my last round of 2012. If you plan to try this one out, do yourself a favor and print the map. Somewhat reminds me of Elon Eager Beaver with less water and more distance.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Respect The Krewe

1    7/12/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 112  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 11.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great layout that really makes you shape good shots. Consistent tee pads with an alternate set of tee pads for a longer tougher layout on most holes. These longer tee pads have minis set in the concrete. Consistent baskets. Nice arrows of various different kids all over the place to help you find the next tee. Nice paths through the course to help you get around. A good variety of shots and several well designed holes that make good use of the land. The fun level on this course is high and should be that way for just about any skill level even though it is a tough challenging course. Set in a park that is nice with a playground and some ball fields. Bathrooms are near the playground. There definately appeared to be a good local crowd that loves and takes care of this course and I am very thankful for them and the work that they do.
Cons: Map on course sign is not accurate. Older baskets. Tee signs are not accurate as they are from an older layout. The bathrooms were not marked mens or womens so you kinds had to peek in and see if there was a urnal or not (the mens was on the right as you look at it from the playground, at least there was a urnal in there). In the middle of the afternoon and a weekday there was quite a bit of traffic, I can only imagine what this place would be like on the weekend.
Other Thoughts: I am reviewing this course after my practice round for the 2012 Am World Championships. This seems to be another one of those courses in the area with a lot of history behind it. It is definitely worth playing if you are in the area. There were times deep in the forest when you migh get turned aorund and not really know directions. Based on the way some holes were layed out I thought for sure we were about to cross a hole that I had already played, but that was not the case. That does not mean that you won't find several baskets in similar places. Make sure you are throwing to the right basket. I always have a lot of respect for local clubs or groups of people and the work that they do on courses. I know it was mentioned in the PDGA's info for this course that a local group has done a lot of work on this course and I highly respect this group.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Locals are too tough on this course

1    1/17/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 1091  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 11.1 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees help the overall score on this course. Skillborne layout does not have permanent tees yet but you can generally see packed areas of leaves.

2) Course challenges everyone despite having SOME very forgiving fairways. In my opinion it is an easier and more fair copy of Nevin or Hornets Nest. More skill is needed to play well, but luck is less of a factor here as it is at Nevin or Hornest Nest. Skillborne layout is a lot tougher than the original because the baskets are always longer and they are also tucked into pockets of the woods as opposed to having a wide open green area.

3) Tee signs are present but only contain Hole #, par and distance. I consider this a minimum. The picture ont he signs are mostly decorative and do not offer much of a layout. It does have a dot for the tee and a dot for the basket and a general shot shape, but there is no other detail about the hole. Skillborne layout does not have a tee sign and.or is not indicated on the original layout tee signs.

4) Course is way more forgiving than any of the other Charlotte courses of (Rennaisance, Nevin, Hornets Nest, Squirrel Lake) and thus is pretty beginner friendly. I would have no problem bringing a beginner to this course. Not only are the fairways somewhat forgiving but the holes will still challenge the beginner. i think it is a better place to learn than an open field except for the FIRST TIMER.

5) DGA baskets of differing ages and condition have custom # plates indicated Killborne or Skillborne layout. This is also listed int he negatives.

6) This course has a good variety of shot shaping. The fairways allow for some variance and decision making, but you still have to execute the shot. It has everything from hyzers, anhyzers, hyzer flips, skip hyzers, spike hyzers and even some straight shots. Bring it all!

7) Course has a good variety in foliage density, hole distance, slight elevation changes, and it includes some water in play

8) Garbage and benches at many teeboxes. Welcome additions to this course.

9) Multiple baskets left in the ground all of the time. This may create some confusion (but I already recommended they change the # plates be painted specific colors to avoid confusion) because on many holes you end up throwing right over the original basket to the deeper more challenging "Skillborne" baskets, but always having the flexibility to play this course different ways would be tremendous in my eyes. This concept is new to me to have "seperate" layouts but apparently the local CHarlotte crew has been doing it for a while because Hornets Nest and Renaissance also have the "Charlottes Web" layout.
Cons: 1) Some baskets have some strange chain configurations creating inconsistant catching. I am not sure if these were homemade additions to baskets with les chains or if this was the original intent, but a few of them are not in good shape. Baskets also are tough to differentiate between Kilborne and Skillborne layouts. I think they should have made all of the Skillborne baskets gold and the Kilborne baskets could have been Blue.

2) Course is entirely in the woods creating all sorts of rough spots in fairways. The ground is covered with tons of downed leaves, but the ground underneath is muddy and clay and will be very slick when it rains (which it did for the entire night before I played).

3) I have to agree that the fairways a little too forgiving in many spots. I like that they are easier than the other local courses but I would have been just fine playing another tough wooded course. This one was a little short of TOUGH, but it still did challenge,

4) Tee signs have only the minimum of info. The bulk of the sign is the local clubs logo. I would much rather see a bigger hole diagram especially because the baskets are not always visible from the tee. The lack of Skillborne info is also disappointing, but I assume this will be taken care of if they actually do get concrete installed on all the Skillborne holes.

5) Lacking in directional signage. It could get very confusing with the multiple layouts, multiple baskets, and multiple tees. Perhaps it will come when all the tees are in, but I was glad to have a local there even though he hadnt played the Skillborne layout before, he still knew where most of the tees were.

6) Apparently this is a bad part of town and there are shady people on the course at different times. I have always found playing DG in the rain and crappy weather keeps the creeps away because I didnt see anything out of the ordinary. I am also convinced Charlotte is a progressive city and locals ideas of safe and unsafe vary dramatically from say Milwaukee residents. I think that is the reason Kops Park is not allowed on the site because Timg is worried about peoples safety! Oops I broke my new years resolution, but I doubt he will see it unless he reads all reviews!!! Regardless the local non DGers have been a problem for some people so I thought I would mention it even though I didnt see it.
Other Thoughts: I have played some pretty awesome courses on my road trip but also on my 2 days in CHarlotte. I have gotten to Renaissance, Squirrel Lake, Hornets Nest, Nevin and Kilborne. I have to say that is a pretty nice selection and some might consider Kilborne to be "too easy" or "too little" of a course. I cannot go along with that notion and judging by the overall rating I think it is a better course than people give it credit for. I played it the same day as Nevin and Hornets Nest and 1 day after Renaissance and Squirrel Lake and sure it is a little more forgiving than the others, but it still is a great course in my opinion. I only wish Milwaukee had more good courses than just quantity because I could play any other these courses any day!!! Any course I would play everyday is at the worst a 3.5 disc course. I love the versatility of the multiple baskets being left in all the time. In WI we simply have multiple tees and single baskets (that generally get moved regularly) but on any day you could play this course 3-4 different ways. The Skillborne layout is definitely for the advanced player. Some of the teeshots require a simple layup to start the hole rather than risk a horrible ricochet, so if you are balls to the walls driver throwing player the Skillborne may not treat you well, but if you know when 50' less than max in the fairway is better than risking those bad shots, then playing the Skillborne layout is for you. Not all of those tees make the holes that much tougher but a handful do. It is more a factor of the basket location. You need way more variety in skills to get good access to some of those baskets. The normal baskets are way more accessible and generally a whole lot straighter. If you arent an early rec player I recommend playing both layouts, start with the shorts to know the holes, then play the longs to experience the greatness of the course. Although I only played the longs I did pay attention to the shot types on the regular layout and can say it would still be a fun course, but way more birdie opportunities than you would get the chance at on the SKillborne layout.
Have fun and huk it!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 feels like home

5+    12/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 154  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is my home course, about 1.5 miles from the house. probably the better overall course in charlotte for all levels. there is a longer more challenging layout for players who need the challenge. but the original layout is good enough for most. for being in a busy part of town, you get a feeling of being in the woods, for a good part of the round. benches and trashcans at all holes. 2 baskets per hole. except #8 &#9
Cons: there is a fat lady who walks her dog through the park...she is responsible for putting large limbs and sticks in the paths from one hole to another. graffiti is on all the pic-nic tables and trashcans
Other Thoughts: ive played this course over a 100 times, and it still has its shine. it can get crowded, especially on the front 9. so i usually start on hole 10 when that is the case.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid DG course, lacking very little

5+    7/5/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: [UPDATED 9/20/11, with rating up to 4.0 because of recent love given to the course]

Located in a multi-purpose park, Kilborne offers alot to disc golfers of any level of play. Each hole has a long and short combo, either with tees, baskets or both, with the exception of hole 8 which is currently the same on both layouts. All baskets are in excellent condition, and all recently stolen baskets have been replaced. All tees are concrete(except for long 7 and 9 as of 9/20/11). New tee signs at all holes are sufficient, par, distance, and line shape posted(laminated printed paper attatched to posts). Nevermind the fact that the name of the course is misspelled on the tee signs. Benches at all tee pads except hole 10 and trash cans at about every tee.

This course stays fairly clean of litter, thanks to all who collect trash and dump it in the next can. Most of the wooded areas on the course are free of underbrush, which makes it quite tough to lose a disc that is close to the fairway.

The course has a mix of open and tight shots, left and right dog-legs.

With dual tee/basket placements, this course could be played as four different courses, keeping the course fresh for advanced players, and allowing beginner/intermediate players to play with little frustration.
Short tee/short basket: Beginner/Intermediate
Long tee/short basket: Intermediate/Advanced
Short tee/long basket: Intermediate/Advanced
Long tee/long basket: Advanced/Pro

In addition to the different combos to play, try the "Clash Layout". Layout designed for the Carolina Clash 2011, and will be used in future tournaments. Par 58;
Hole;Basket/Pin (S=short, L=long,)
1;S/L, 2;S/S, 3;S/S, 4;S/S, 5;L/S, 6;S/L, 7;S/S, 8;S/S, 9;S/S, 10;S/L, 11;S/S, 12;S/L, 13;S/S, 14;S/L, 15;S/L, 16;S/S, 17;S/S, 18;S/L. Par 4s are #s 6, 12, 15, 17.
Cons: Lack of elevation is the only true downfall of the course. Some holes, even though they run through the woods, have a wide and forgiving fairway which play fairly easy without having to worry about terrain. Holes 14 and 15 have mild elevation compaired to the rest of the course, but this is a pretty easy walking course as it is mostly flat.

Anything else that may be considered a con would just be nitpicking. The course is under new direction, and those currently in charge have been putting their asses into turning the course around into a clean and beautiful natural experience.
Other Thoughts: A course for all levels of play, Kilborne is a somewhat technical course and can require a variety of shots. Most holes would not qualify as "let 'r rip" holes. Strategy plays a huge role in a good round at Kilborne.

Long tees to long baskets is known as "Skillborne", and was recently added for use for the 2012 PDGA Worlds, which will be played in Charlotte. Thank you to CharlotteDGC and the Kilborne Krew for the addition of the new tees and baskets, along with the constant upkeep of this beautiful course.

Favorite Holes: 14, 18, 4

Least Favorite: 9, 16, 7

PLAY SKILLBORNE!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

2-4    5/25/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: sloshed
Played: 21  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course Layout
Good mix open wooded
Condition of Course
Enjoyment factor
Fair use of elevation changes
Cons: Signage is there but not in good condition as of date last played
risk reward is not that great on most holes
Other Thoughts: Wife and I play this one when we come to town. There is something about this course we both love. Would highly recomend it to anyone.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.