Charlotte, NC 
Kilborne TPC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #6 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / 485ft.   5 / 703ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Worth the drive in the Charlotte metro!

5+    2/4/2017   2/6/2017
Review By: danmcdnc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are so many positive attributes to this course that it's tough to know where to begin, and I'll try not to regurgitate what's already been reviewed.

- It's worth the half hour drive from LKN and Davidson where I live.
- The variety of holes and terrain you'll see on this course is as well done as possible for a course so close to downtown CLT and in such an urban area.
- The fairways are truly outstanding, clear, but also challenging enough where you'd better be fairly accurate.
- The balance in left to right handed throws, hooks, curves, etc is very fair, and you get to use every type of shot, from forehand, to sidearm, to a tomahawk.
- Great signage, tee pads, pathways, etc.
- Hole 15 is one of the most challenging and scenic holes you could get for a city park, almost worth going to.
Cons: - There can be many runners/walkers/hikers interfering with the layout, but nothing too interrupting.
- Hole 8 is extremely short and lacking a challenge.
- Holes 11 and 14 are almost the same exact hole.

That's really it, and this is nitpicking.
Other Thoughts: Find a way to play here if you love to play, a great layout and it can be a pretty quick play, never seems to be too crowded somehow. If it's too far to be in your regular rotation, at least get here once to experience an outstanding urban course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great and Challenging course

5+    10/13/2012   10/13/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love Kilborne. This course is a great challenge and offers a great variety for all levels of player. Shooting a good score will take every disc in your bag and every shot in your arsenal. The fairways are mulched and well maintained. A lot of the holes have fairways wide enough to let you really rip off a big shot, but control is essential if you want to bring your score down. It's been a while since I've played it, but I have some of the fondest memories playing here and the other courses around Charlotte.
Cons: Getting into the woods is dangerous. The first time I played this course, I was still only an amateur level player and it ate me alive. As my game progressed and I became more familiar with the course, I was able to bring the score down, but I attribute a lot of my growth in the sport to this course. Beginners will be very frustrated, but if they stick to it, they will find it improves their game drastically.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in Charlotte

5+    6/9/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: doctharock
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is very fun to play. You have long holes to let it fly (6,12, 15 if you are brave,16,17) and some great tight holes (2, 9, 13). What i love best is that you truly do need every shot in the bag to play this course, and it can be extremely rewarding as the short course is probably one of the easier to play for beginners. It is also one of the toughest from the Skillborne layout (hole 7 should be a par 4 from the long, by the way). Hole 15 is now a par 5 from long to long and a really fun hole to play.
The course is extremely well maintained by the Kilborne Krewe.
It is great fun to play no matter your throwing style or dexterity.
Cons: It is usually one of the most used courses, so it can be slow playing when the weather is nice.
There are a lot of random people that meander the fairways and are oblvious to the rest of the world.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is probably one of the worst holes in Charlotte to start on unless you have a big RHBH. Oh how I miss old 1 and old 2.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/5/2009   3/5/2009
Review By: tspeedb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: what a cool course, no one i know doesnt like it. built very well and very fun. open and in woods.
Cons: not very long holes but a good lil drive. kinda in a bad neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: i like it!!! i play there alot. also park closes at sunset

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.