Molalla, OR 
Clark Park Share
Uploaded By: CaptianTrilogy Hole #1 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2

1    6/12/2020   6/12/2020
Review By: Breh
Played: 141  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bentley baskets our still in good shape, as well as painted yellow making them clearly visible. The tee pads are engraved with the number on them, which is very helpful here. Good use of trees as obstacles. Good mix of distances. Good forehand/backhand mix.
Cons: The layout can be very hard to find without map. No tee signs. A lot of fairways play close together, and could be a rough play on a busy day. Leaves in the fall can make finding disc complicated.
Other Thoughts: This is a place that's not to fancy but a typical 9. Good place to bring the family, or dog and stretch the legs. It's a fun place to throw and is a nice little park. If in the area check it out but a little off beaten path and not a destination area

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 holes are easy to par. yet, trees are easy to hit.

5+    4/19/2020   4/19/2020
Review By: Jwatty
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Short course that is easy to play in under 30 minutes. Good pads and baskets catch well.
Cons: Sometimes people will be in the way walking a dog or sitting at a table. Completely oblivious to disc golf going on around them.
Other Thoughts: This is truly a gem. I am reluctantly writing this review because sometimes I feel like this little city park course is my secret. Only have 40 minutes to play? You can easily get nine in.

Itís fine.

1    12/1/2018   12/2/2018
Review By: royvin
Played: 91  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: -nice tee pads with numbers on them
-nice baskets
-the technicality of the fairways was somewhat challenging
-don't need a big arm- distances around 350' and shorter
-not busy
Cons: -Lack of elevation change
-Lacks variety- not a single wide open shot or great shot
-A little difficult to find tee pads this time of year when there are 2" of oak leaves covering the entire park
Other Thoughts: The main reason I'm reviewing this course is because I was very let down based on previous reviews. This is NOT one of Oregon's top 9 hole courses. It's a nice course for beginners, and a great layout in such a small park, but I just found myself a little bored. If you avoid the oaks you will likely par or birdie each hole. If I lived in Molalla I'd play often, but not worth the drive otherwise. An unrelated note- the play area in the middle of the course is rather dull.. the kids that were there were all playing hide and seek instead of playing on the toys.

 Could be the best 9-hole in Oregon

5+    8/10/2017   8/15/2017
Review By: cjwilliams
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course design. Jerry Miller (Timber Park, Xerox, etc.) took this design on and it shows. It has a variety of shots for right- and left-handed players. If you miss your line, you'll still be able to make your par relatively easily.
- Short stroll. This is a fairly small park and the disc golf holes make perfect use of the space. A full nine holes is probably only a .4 mile walk, so playing through multiple times is easy.
- Shot/hole variety. There are long/short straight tunnel shots, a big RHBH anhyzer flex/LHBH hyzer flip, and ace runs. For a 9-hole course, it really has it all.
- Not busy. I'll maybe see one other person playing whenever I come play, any time of the day.
Cons: - Baskets. Bentleys are honestly pretty great, but these ones seem to not be able to catch anything that isn't center chains. Hole 2's basket also had the top rung torn off by a fell tree, so the nubs stick out and block high putts. There are also alternate pin placements, but I don't think they've ever been moved.
- Proximity to other park users. This is more of a comment on other people not knowing/caring about disc golf, but there will be people having picnics and chilling next to baskets or in fairways. It's also a leash-only park for dogs, but people apparently don't care and let their dogs run around freely. I once had a dog pick up my disc and run away with it, and the owner did not care at all. Classy.
Other Thoughts: This course is honestly great. I'd give it five stars, but the proximity to other park users and lack of open shots keeps it from being perfect for a 9-hole course.
I've developed a safari layout as well, which this course definitely has the opportunity for.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Pitch and Putt

1    11/27/2015   11/27/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 64  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2018
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great little 9-hole short course in a city park that made wonderful use of a gently sloping grove of oak trees. I played in 45 minutes and threw multiple discs on most holes.
-Well thought out routing making the best possible use of the land. Most holes are short pitch shots, but three holes play over 300ft.
-I had never thrown on Bentley baskets before. They caught just fine, but the baskets had a funny ring to them. I'd compare them to Chainstars with a different sound.
-Restrooms were present.
Cons: -No tee signs. There was a brass number on each tee pad, which was helpful. The holes are fairly close together, so you can make your way through without the map. The fairways aren't too defined and on many holes multiple baskets are in view.
-A chain-link fence was constructed to define the parking area next to hole 6. Unfortunately, it cuts right in front of the tee pad. People have started throwing from 10ft to the right of the tee pad.
-The occasional pile of horse manure, a telltale sign of the rodeo next door.
Other Thoughts: -If you are nearby, it's worth it to check this place out. You can make it through in 30 minutes.
-There are two parking areas, one near hole #1 and one near hole #6

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Local Course

1    8/25/2015   8/25/2015
Review By: gdnelson72
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good place to take younger golfers as it is almost impossible to lose a disc on this course and the walking is very easy. There is enough challenge in navigating the trees to make it interesting for more experience players as well.Best of all, we literally had the place to ourselves.
Cons: There are no signs, so the first time through can be a little tricky. If there are many people playing the course I would recommend waiting as their isn't anything to protect you from the discs of players on another hole.
Other Thoughts: This course was only a 20 minute drive for me and well worth it to have a fun time with my kids. If you don't live close by and are an experienced disc golfer, this probably isn't the place for you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Suprisingly good!

1    6/23/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Dadio
Played: 145  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 35.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ok, let my say up front that I am a 18 hole snob that rarely rates 9 hole courses above a 2.5, 3 tops and almost gave this one a 4! It is a fairly long course set up in a heavily wooded 1/2 block park that uses the space very well to make a challenging lay out. Pads are well done w/ brass house numbers in them. Holes are long enough to need a mid or driver for most of them but tight enough to require control. A couple holes play along edge of park, Pro and con as provide needed difficulty but may have to hop fence to get disc.
Cons: Only a couple minor ones. No signs so was occasionally hard to figure out next hole but small park, didn't take long. Map on Big sign board would fix this. A couple holes play close to toys, bad throw or skip off tree could be bad.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I didn't give this one a 4 is that it isn't good enough to drive way out of way just to play. Still a city park 9 hole. That being said, I was glad we did the detour from Salem on way to Silver Falls. It is close enough to big Estecada courses or even North Eco that it is worth the side trip as a warm up or cool down.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better Than Expected

1    9/14/2013   9/20/2013
Review By: WilsonSandersDavis
Played: 112  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a small course I was surprised to see that some holes had some length to them. Nothing extremely long but challenging due to all the trees you have to work around. The course has short concrete tee pads and great baskets.
Cons: Some of the tee pads and baskets are right next to the soccer field and play ground.
Other Thoughts: This was the second time I tried to play this course. Both times I have run into other functions at the park. the first was a BBQ competition which shut down the disc golf course. The second time a soccer game was being played with a rodeo next door which made it difficult to play with the amount of people around. Fortunately after hanging out for awhile the soccer game ended and I was able to play the whole course. Fun to play if your in the area but I don't think it's worth the drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Neighborhood Pitch & Putt Hits Target Audience!

1    6/18/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1452  Reviewed: 1398  Exp: 42.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clark is one of the rare courses that doesn't try to do too much. The designers didn't try to make it too big, or too challenging or too tricky. So what you have you is a really well designed, enjoyable little neighborhood pitch and putt. The course fully utilizes the small wooded section of Clark Park.
I parked on the wrong side of the course and started on # 6. No problem with that, as I just looped around until I came back to # 6. The course features standard grooved tee pads with house #s on them. The Bentley baskets are yellow and they're more than adequate. Someone has recently (?) painted red arrows on the ground pointing the way to the next tee pad. This help me navigate the course more quickly the first time although I'm not entirely sure if these are permanent or something special for a tourney or something else.

# 1 is little tougher than most of the holes. It's pretty tight through the trees plus there's an OB fence on your left side with the Little Buckaroo Rodeo Yard waiting for your wild hyser tosses.

I contend this course is just long enough and just tight enough to present a pretty decent challenge for most of the players who play here.

And the course designers did a nice job of avoiding the picnic shelter and play area in the center of the park.
Cons: I don't see any problems with the design here. The only cons would ones the designers had no control over such as the smallness of the park.
Other Thoughts: Attention: There is NOW (June 2013) a sign at Main Street for N. Cole. This makes it just a little easier to find the park.

If you're looking for a fun little throw and not expecting 400' downhill bombs or epic water shots, you'll find this an enjoyable little course.

My congrats to Jerry Miller for the design work here. Sometimes a simple design works best and this is one of those occasions.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Clark Park

1    8/15/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice new baskets
-Course is nice and flat
-Quick Par 3 course with 9 holes
-Great tee pads
Cons: -If your not careful you may have to climb fence of Molalla Buckaroo to retrieve your disc
-City park with plenty of picnic benches
-Trees everywhere
Other Thoughts: Nice little par 3 course. Played in just over a hour with a group of 4. Will be playing this course again when I am out in that area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.