San Antonio, TX 
Northwest Vista College DGC Share
Uploaded By: Von Roll Hole #11 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 346ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Course redone

1    4/23/2019   4/27/2019
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads
Good Tee signs
Some memorable shots
Cons: Flow could be better, you will need the map (I will post a new map)
A few of the holes you will need to watch for students
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better college campus courses I have played. I don't know if you need a permit to park, the parking lots seemed really full the Tuesday afternoon I played, but I got a spot right at the start of the course.

First 9 holes are mostly very short shots though the woods. A couple of them are very hard left or right shots. These holes are pretty much away from most of the campus.

But then you walk over to hole 10, these holes are in the middle of campus. You do have some memorable holes, #12 throws under a bridge, while short, it is a fun shot. Hole 17 throws across the pond. Not exactly a novice friendly hole, but it is not a super song shot, I was so scared of throwing in the water I sailed past the basket into #10's putting area.

The back 9 are a little hard to follow without a map, there are no direction signs to the next hole.

Would I play here again? yes I would, I enjoy shorter technical courses like this. You still have a couple of holes you can let it rip on (well let it rip for my old arm) and several holes you need to be very accurate on with your drives.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Redesigned

1    9/22/2018   9/22/2018
Review By: MikeK
Played: 304  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 25.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Innova Pro 28 Discatcher baskets in good condition
+Decent amount of shade
+Little bit of elevation change here and there
+Challenging; not easy to shoot low scores at all
+Concrete tee pads
+17&18 are good finishing holes: 17 is about 170 feet over a pond to a tiny green and 18 is a long right-turning hole with OB road on the left
Cons: -course map posted on this website is outdated
-course map posted at the course is outdated
-navigation is extremely difficult & with no good map is very frustrating
-tee signs have only numbers, no distance and no picture to guide throwers on the multiple blind holes
-several holes border on impossible to birdie due to shape of the fairway
Other Thoughts: Not sure when this course was re-designed, but the map posted here and at the course is outdated. There are no longer any of the nice signs pictured on this website either. Good luck even finding hole 1! If you do manage to find the outdated course map, then look for hole 1's tee a couple hundred feet to the left of it---in the woods, somewhere, with no signage to point you there and no obvious path either. So many blind holes on this course really make it tough. Not beginner-friendly. I consider myself a pretty good course navigator but this one had me lost many times. Several holes have angles that are just about impossible to hit, or force you to lay up only 75 feet or so off the tee to get a decent look at the pin.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Give it the old college try

2-4    7/9/2015   8/13/2015
Review By: Bondobates
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the technical aspect of this course. This course has many tees with trees surrounding and inline with the baskets. Varied holes as some are open and others are treed.
Cons: First time out, finding a couple of tees was difficult. I ended up bypassing 4 tees. Second time through I reviewed the front sign more carefully.
Other Thoughts: Most holes have very little brush or grass to hide your disc. The long #18 could swallow a disc on the right side.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 College Gem....

1    7/19/2015   7/29/2015
Review By: hotstang
Played: 335  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very Nice little course.
Good Teepads.
Good signage.
Baskets in great shape.
Very well designed.
Great mixture of shots.
Great for technical midrange/fairway game.
Cons: No Bathrooms.
Mach 2 baskets.
Other Thoughts: Very pleased with the course.
Cant wait to play again.
Wasn't expecting much from a college course but very happy we stopped.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect Course For These College Students!

1    3/30/2015   3/30/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 42.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The designers, I.O.M. Design, have put together an almost perfect little 18 hole course here. The course is short enough, that any coed can play without getting overly frustrated but technical enough to challenge most student golfers.
The 18 holes play through a fairly small, heavily wooded area. The signs are by I.O.M. and closely resemble John Houck's green, metal map signs that are on many course around here. They're very informative with hole map, par, distance, arrow to the next pad, hole #. The course features more than adequate concrete tee pads. The tee signs are mounted on 12" x 12" wooden posts, just about vandal proof. They also have the hole number on the opposite side for easy recognition when approaching them. The DGC baskets have the red number on the top. The course is very simple to follow.
It's short with two holes playing over 300' and only # 15 stretching to 402'. Half the holes are less than 200' but each of these has something that makes it's unique or challenging. It might be a low lying branch or a series of saplings or a tight dogleg.
There are a couple of easier ACE runs and a few that would be skillful shots for the ACE.
Garbage cans every few holes.
Cons: Overall lack of length.
Probably two holes are pinball holes with no real route to the basket.
Other Thoughts: This course is so perfectly designed for college students. There's underbrush everywhere but it's fairly forgiving. Most any level player could find some sucess here. Every player will enjoy their round here. This is a course I would come back to time and time again.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Vista

5+    1/30/2015   1/30/2015
Review By: Pa3Money
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is as great course for your mid and short game. It's fun and very technical. They have very fun and picturesque shots. They have great signage and great cement tea pads. It is also very easy to follow.
Cons: It is a bit flat, and even though they have new Mach-2's those baskets really like to chain-out. Don't get to upset when that happens.
Other Thoughts: GREAT, great course. I think it is very underrated.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Short Course

1    3/14/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: samuelson2484
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Heavily wooded. Very technical. This is a great course to work on your mid to short game.
Cons: These holes are VERY short. I only used my driver on two or three holes. The Parking lot is hard to find, and the course is a little confusing to navigate. Both are only a problem for players who are new to the course. The biggest problem is that there are a couple of baskets missing.
Other Thoughts: This could be a GREAT course. It just needs a little TLC. Replace the missing baskets and add some "Pro" tee pads and this would easily be a 4 or 5 star course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

5+    10/5/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: gimpyninja
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The course has a ton of holes that require technical shots with little room for error. The branches and tree placement make the player think through options of what the best way to proceed is.
Cons: Easy to spend a lot of time looking for discs. Two holes are missing baskets. Not allowed to drink beer.
Other Thoughts: I never get tired of playing this course. It is always a great time.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/28/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 287  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A surprisingly nice 18 hole course on a community college campus. The course is secluded in it's own little part of the college and has 18 holes that demand accuracy to get a good score.
There is a good course map at the beginning of the course, plus 18 colorful tee signs at each of the holes. The concrete tees are all ample in comparison to the length of the holes.

The course plays in two 9 hole loops. Hole 9 ends right at the parking lot and 18 also does. You can easily play 9 at a time or the full 18 in no time at all.

Hole 18 was a fantastic finishing hole with the only noticeable elevation on the hole course. To me, Hole 18 is far and away the most memorable hole on the course as it is one of the longest and needs a good anhyzer shot for a two.

The course is very scenic. It was carved out of a forest with low hanging oak trees flanking both sides of almost every hole. Even though it is thick on both sides, lost discs should not be a problem.
Cons: I am fine with short courses like this one. However, some of the holes had literally no defined line off the tee and the holes were attacked using the "Spray and Pray" motto. Because of this, one day you can easily shoot 6 down and the next have a 12 stroke swing and shoot 6 up.

Because of the short holes, it is hard to find much variety on the holes. Many holes are straight forward 200' and try not to hit the three trees right in front of the basket.
Other Thoughts: I did enjoy my time at Northwest Vista College. It is pleasantly surprising to find a good course like this on the west side of San Antonio with it's three big older brothers on the East side of town. This course will never be like Live Oak, UC, or McClain but it is a good course in an area of the town that does not have many good courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Gnarly

1    9/18/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 634  Reviewed: 393  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Excellent concrete pads and tee signs. Despite the course being squeezed onto a small bit of land between parking lots and roads, the fairways don't interfere with one another, and the non-playing areas don't come into play, except on road-paralleling/right-turning number-18.

Excellent map, easy to navigate, despite having to cross behind some tees to reach others. As a first-time visitor, my two problems were: finding tee-1, as my Garmin brought me in the main entrance, while the course is more easily located from the back entrance, and my beautiful drive from tee-8, parked ... on basket-15! (Basket-8 to right, in trees)

Two nine-hole loops.
Cons:
Single tee/single pin position. Quite flat.

A few of the holes had the fairway-pinball / green-jailcell look-n-feel to them.
Other Thoughts:
If you discount the three holes longer than 300' (#'s 3, 15, and 18), the remaining fifteen holes have an average length of less than 200', so this course is all about control, needing accurately to hit narrow windows. Most fairways, and on about half the time, the ceilings, are defined by short (15-20'), twisting, narrow trees - oaks, I believe, but not anything like what we have up North!

There's not much change in elevation nor distance on this course, so what alters between the holes is the density of the trees, where in the flight-path they appear, and the shape you need to throw to avoid them, all the while not permitting your disc to fly too high. Straight/very subtle-S off the tee will serve you well on about 1/3rd the holes, with another 1/3rd requiring gentle rights, typically near the basket, and the remaining 1/3rd being lefts, typically sharp/mid-fairway.

A fun course to work on your short game, and quick to play. Maximizes the terrain is had to work with, so kudos to the designers.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.