Cincinnati, OH 
Mt. Airy Forest Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #7 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 380ft.   3 / 380ft.   3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 113
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12
Impressive Urban Park Course

2-4    10/6/2018   10/6/2018
Review By: billtm
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The facilities here really are incredible! Having a pro shop, practice driving area, and two practice baskets goes way above and beyond what I've experienced at any other course.
- All of the holes are unique and offer a variety of shot shapes and distances. There is also a good balance between open shots, where you have to control where the disc lands, and tight shots, where you have to control how the disc flies.
- All of the baskets are in excellent shape and the tee signs on each hole are very helpful, as they show par, distance, and the preferred line. The tee signs also show you which pin position you're throwing at so you don't have to run up and check every time.
Cons: As a preface, these are both minor complaints about an otherwise phenomenal course.
- The concrete tee pads seem to be losing their grip as I had a couple of slips on the tee during my round today.
- I wish there were next tee arrows below every basket.
Other Thoughts: The park that surrounds this course is so beautiful! This course is just a slightly bigger, slightly better, and way more consistent version of my home course. (I mean this as a huge compliment btw.) To have a course this good be in the middle of a big city like Cincinnati is just mind blowing to me.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Pro Course Hosted World Championships

5+    7/12/2017   8/21/2018
Review By: Bagger Vance
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 33.5 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Pro caliber course.
A decent mix of shot variety. Can showcase many skills.
Nice tee pads and solid baskets.
Cons: Since it is a local park, the course interacts with the roads and dog walkers, etc.
Perhaps a bit to many right turn fairways, so favors LHBH and RHFH players.
Other Thoughts: Bring your A game.
One of Cincinnati's best.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Mt. Airy

2-4    7/2/2018   7/3/2018
Review By: ad166809
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are really nice out at Mt. Airy, one of my favorite things about the course.

Tee pads are kept in great shape. Much needed for a course like this.

The maps out here are phenomenal. Such a great thing to have at this pro style course.

General course design is good. You will start and end right by your car.

Lots of benches and trash cans around keeps this course very clean.

Major elevation changes at Mt. Airy. For sure one of my favorite aspects of this course. #15 is probably the best downhill hole I have played other than #12 at Buck.

There are plenty of epic holes at Mt. Airy. I mentioned #15 above. I really like #1, #16, #18 and #10. All have different aspects that I really find epic and enjoyable.

Restrooms are around the course.

Running water around the course is great for Summer play. We ran out of water after #11 it was so hot out and right next to the next tee box was a water (fountain, spicket, pump? not sure the correct word here) but it was perfectly usable.

I wouldnt say there is a good variety of hole distances at Mt. Airy because all the holes seem to play pretty long but there are a couple of birdable holes.

You will use a variety of shots in your bag. Some holes may require you to drive it twice, some may put you on a hyzer line, some might require a downhill midrange and of course a well used putter will give you a good score. I learned after my first round at Mt. Airy do not try to challenge this course or think that you are going to shoot low. Take what this course gives you, get out with your pars when you can and at the end of the day you can come out in the low 60's.

Mt. Airy is absolutely a challenge. Possibly the hardest course I have played. Handyman might be the only other course that can challenge Airy on toughness that I have played.

Parking is right by Hole #1 and the course has its own pro shop, how can you beat that!

Tons of events to participate in at this course.

Locals are very nice and welcoming.
Cons: I hate to give foliage maintenance a con because I am sure they do every thing they can. The grass was cut both times I have been here. We just all lost a couple of discs each in areas I wish they would trim back a little further.

Not sure about camping?

I wish there were more tight and technical than open bombs at this course but I understand the distances for a pro style course.

This course was extremely crowded both times I have went.
Other Thoughts: Mt. Airy is a really great course. I would not want to play it all the time because of its difficulty level but this is a must visit course in Ohio possibly the country. It has some really fun holes. The elevation changes can make for a taxing day on the course. Highly recommend visiting this course and seeing what all the hype is about.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

An open field course inside a forest. Isnít that ironic?

1    6/9/2018   6/11/2018
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 286  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14.4 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mt Airy is a big armed course. It's got a couple of bumps in the road before finding its stride. This is no Mayberry.
- The most important thing, there are some fantastic holes here. The top couple holes are close to as good as anything at Idlewild. The difference is Idlewild has mostly outstanding holes; Mt Airy has only a handful.
- The best holes also take best advantage of the elevation. You get a sense of that right off the bat on #1. 540-footer that's uphill the entire way, starting in a field, ending in the woods. #2 is a relatively simply par 3. Side note: how did anyone pick #2 as his favorite? Then #3 gives you a long dogleg right.
- I loved that everyone hole (correctly) listed which pin location was in play. With so many blind tee shots, it's vital.
- Course gets significantly better throughout. There's an insufferable stretch that's called holes #5 & 6. The course picks up from there. The three best holes are all on the back nine - #13, 15, & 17.
- #15 is fantastically great. 580-feet of downhill dogleg right play. Hit the gap, or put your tee shot in good position for a downhill approach to the basket. Hitting my 20-footer putt for a 3 was the most satisfying shot I made my entire round. This piece of land was created for a disc golf course.
- For so much going on at the park, this area is almost exclusively for disc golf. You may come across walkers, or people by the playground near #2's basket; otherwise, it's all disc golf.
- The signs highlighting big name courses and their distances was a fantastic touch. You want to know what are the big named courses? Check the sign. I loved seeing two courses within 20 minutes of my house listed on the sign - Winthrop and Renaissance.
- Based on antidotal evidence, this course gets the most play of the big 3 locals - Idlewild and Lincoln Ridge. Makes sense given its location. Oh, and there's a pro shop here. That always brings in the disc golfers.
Cons: The biggest negative is the repetitiveness, (somewhat) lack of variety, and repetitiveness. When you've got a wide-open course, there's only so much you can do. There's truly only two wooded holes on the course - #3 & 16. The rest are in the field, with trees and rough lining the sides.
- #5 & 6. They could be good, but something is off about them. Both have sharp dogleg right factors to them. #5 basically hugs the side of two park streets. #6 starts away from the road, then pulls an obtuse angle turn to the right. In both cases, you're better playing out to the left. Too far right and you're in thick, unforgiveable rough.
- What adds to the annoyance is the transition to #7. After finishing #6, you turn right back whence you came, walking the majority of #5's fairway backwards. How about we eliminate #6, put another hole in all the other space in the rest of the course, and reduce long walks?
- A few too many holes are simple par 3s. They're in the 300 - 400-foot range, with little challenge. If you're not throwing 400, you're not seeing birdie putts. For us noodle arms, I was repeatedly getting up and down from 50 - 75 feet away for my 3s.
- After a fantastic five hole stretch of #13 - 17, #18 is a letdown for the closing hole. It's perfectly alright, just would prefer one of the elites to end on.
- Didn't see many, if any, trash cans on the course. Throw in a couple more benches throughout the course too while I'm making requests.
Other Thoughts: Mt. Airy is a very good course. It's not going to be confused with Idlewild, but it's a good compliment. Big arms and more experienced players are going to eat up this course.
- The longer, station-to-station holes are the course's strongest feature. Both #16 & 17 reward players who land a perfectly placed shot over big arms. I had a tap-in 4 on #16 thanks to two strong mid-range shots. I suffered the consequences of not getting far enough away from the trees on #17. My next two shots would have only required one if my tee shot was 20 feet further left.
- Lots to like here. It's easy to pick nits on a course this caliber. It's a good course, but its flaws keep it from being great.
- From the long tees, the course plays just over 8000 feet - just under 450 feet per hole. Only one hole is under 300 feet, and only six more are under 400.
- Come prepared with plenty to drink. Bring your patience as well, both for a longer round and the possible lack of birdie chances.
- I think 4.0 is an appropriate score. The best parts of this course are excellent. The course designers do confuse length with excellence at times. That said it's closer to a 4.0 than a 3.5. Glad I played here just to experience the high points.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

One tough course

5+    5/20/2018   5/29/2018
Review By: Ozdiscs
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is super challenging and fun. Not for the beginners unless you plan on getting beat down a bit but it will definitely improve your game in the long run. Same for advanced players and variety of pin placements keeps the course interesting.
Cons: not sure, it's a pretty nice course
Other Thoughts: The Nati pro shop is fantastic. There are practice holes by the shop and hole one. Bring your A game or else this course can bite you. If you are coming to the area to visit, this is probably a top 3 to top 5 course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Goal is Elevation

2-4    5/20/2018   5/21/2018
Review By: mrclc
Played: 361  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Showcasing some of the most thoughtful design in park disc golf, Mt. Airy Forest earns its title as Cincinnati's most iconic course. As one of the Cincinnati metro's "Big 3" alongside Lincoln Ridge/Banklick and Idlewild, Airy serves as the fulcrum of the local scene and offers some pretty good golf to boot. The layouts range from challenging to downright Idlewild-esque, and the holes are primarily long Par 3's with organically difficult pin positions. Most visibly, every shot features some degree of elevation change, and miscalculating even a subtle slope can lead to thick rough or OB. For example, Holes 2, 4, and 6 sport gently upsloping fairways that don't seem obvious from the tee, but become painfully apparent when your drive leaves you maddeningly short of where you'd like to be. It's the little annoyances like these that make Airy such a delight. It's not an unconquerable beast, but it stays in your head on every hole, requiring a level of focus and situational awareness rarely found in park-style courses.

Overall design highlights include Hole 1, where the elevation change is obvious and an obstacle in itself, playing to a wooded approach/green that offers as much challenge from a bomb as a layup. Placement is rewarded more than pure distance, setting the tone for the remainder of the round. Hole 15 is another favorite, where a long, sweeping downhill RHBH anhyzer drive plays to a green on a grassy ridge with trouble beyond. The downslope narrows the margin for error on all shots, and it's easy to lace one long into the challenging rough.

The course's namesake forest is nearly 1500 acres of urban greenspace, so there's a lot to look at both along the routing and elsewhere in the park. Wildlife is plentiful, including birds, deer, rabbits, and snakes to keep you company. Hole 16 is especially pretty as one of two fully wooded holes on the course, serving as a pleasant place to cool off and take a drink of water in the final stretch.

As the home course of the GCFDA (Greater Cincinnati Flying Disc Association), both course essentials and amenities here are top notch. Although many holes are blind, the tee signs are very descriptive and accurate, with pin position indicators saving the day. The concrete pads are in excellent repair, and the bright red DGA baskets catch well. Always very well maintained, trash cans and benches can be found everywhere. The Nati, Mt. Airy's on-site pro shop, is a major plus, offering a full selection of discs from many manufacturers. By the time you get to the outdoor driving net, it's apparent that nearly every perk and extra you could want can be found here.
Cons: As a nearly exclusive RHFH player, I welcome the prevalence of right-turning fairways, but acknowledge that they are the overwhelming majority. A good forehand is a major asset, especially on the significant number of holes with the OB park road to the left. Just a couple more right-finishing fairways or even pin positions would've made the course feel a lot more varied.

Airy is definitely an open course on the whole, especially when compared with Lincoln Ridge and Idlewild. This leads to a twinge of repetition, most apparent in the comparatively forgettable Holes 7-9. All three are shorter and feature excellent elevation play, but present little line shaping challenge.

Because of its geographic and emotional centrality to Cincinnati golfers, Airy has a tendency to get pretty busy on nice days. You won't see too much mob golf, but it's pretty typical to see foursomes on every hole. Playing solo doesn't necessarily equate to a quick round.
Other Thoughts: Airy may not be a 4.5 in its short layout, but the standard and especially long layouts deserve this score. This is big-time golf that remains accessible for the masses, and its wide-ranging appeal and superior amenities nudge it up the extra half disc. Very few could come away from here disappointed.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    7/24/2017   3/4/2018
Review By: Qikly
Played: 148  Reviewed: 135  Exp: 6.3 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mt. Airy DGC sits on some great terrain, with rolling, tree-dotted hills and some denser woods. The latter are entered for a few holes but for the most part the course runs along the woods' edge, with them acting as a boundary or occasionally as an obstacle for approaches etc. Most holes feature sloping fairways with multiple obstacles that don't form a single, definite window or lane to hit, meaning shot choice is left to the player and you can tailor your play through to your game. Road OB often factors in, further complicating. The best holes (16!) weave these many factors together into enjoyable challenges that are best suited for players with some skill and experience. At the same time the course is no beat down, and won't leave a bad taste in the mouth of a newer player as long as they're cautious about not ending up too deep in the rough. Hole pars and distances are well-mixed, though there's a penchant for challenging par 3s.

Course is well-groomed, parking is plentiful. Many other courses nearby (Idlewild, duh). Awesome, well-stocked and fair-priced pro shop on site. Support the locals!
Cons: Despite the varied terrain there's a bit of repetitiveness, mostly owing to the way the layout loops around the park. The woods are often bordering to the righthand side with the road to the left; combined with the lack of definitive lanes, you can throw forehand hyzers for days and skirt many of the obstacles. In other spots open fairways allow you to easily steer wide of the rough in play quite easily, limiting challenge on terrain that is filled with potential. I am in general a big fan of holes that allow for choice, but here the choices aren't well-defined and wind up tempting you to take the easy way out, especially if you have FH/BH versatility. This ability to play it safe in several spots waters down the course somewhat. A few more technical holes in the woods, or that play through them in a greater variety of ways, would have broken up the rhythm and shot variety more.

The par 4s are often more a matter of distance than of added wrinkles.

Running so close to the road so regularly is a bit of a concern, even if it isn't well-trafficked.
Other Thoughts: Mt. Airy is a solid course that offers an enjoyable round. Any sane disc golfer would be happy to have it as their home course. Its proximity to Idlewild is a definite plus; the Cincinnati area offers great road trip material.

That said I feel as though Mt. Airy itself is slightly overrated on this site; it isn't itself a must-play for me. But as part of a larger road trip that includes Idlewild? Absolutely worth a visit.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fairly Long, Scenic Course

5+    10/5/2017   2/14/2018
Review By: NewOrange
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 48.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well drained, mostly grassy, rolling terrain. Many mature and smaller trees, defining a balance of wide and narrow fairways. Located in the largest City of Cincinnati Park, easily accessed from multiple directions/roads. Very nice condition, multiple pin sleeve/location baskets, ample sized concrete tees, good signage, easy to follow flow of holes, lots of trash cans, and 2 permanent building bathrooms.
The club house, in an old, unique farmhouse building, sells almost every disc manufactured, clothing, food, drinks, disc golf bags, and just about any supply a golfer could use. There is a flat, paved area with a net to throw drives into, and a practice basket with artificial turf, near the first hole.
There is a variety of up-hill and downhill holes, most holes are moderately open, just a few are what I would consider tightly wooded. There are 6 holes which have the potential OB road coming into play.
The hardwood trees planted by the park board over 10 years ago, have grown up nicely, and made many of the holes much more challenging, to the point where some of the par 3 holes are borderline par 4's now. Power throwers have a substantial advantage at Mt. Airy.
The recently added, longer pin positions, have added some interesting variation.
Other Thoughts: Mt. Airy is a challenging and much better than average course with true par 4's and a par 5 hole mixed in with many challenging par 3's.
This is not a recommended course for novice players. The clubhouse may be the best you have ever seen on a course property.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Must play

1    12/19/2017   12/21/2017
Review By: Ds148809
Played: 64  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful State Park look and feel with some awesome amenities. There is a nice/well priced pro shop right by hole 1, a driving/putting practice area and did I mention it's located in a forest?

Tee pads are nice (although a little muddy considering the time of year), the signs are even better with pin locations marked. Although I am slightly red/green color blind, I thought the red baskets were a nice touch and helped when looking for the basket. Well maintained and well respected, it shows.
Cons: Slightly muddy and a lot of leaves on the ground but that is expected this time of year.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad I was finally able to get down to Cincy to play this awesome course. It was challenging but had a great mix of everything. I am sure it is much nicer (but probably also harder) when the trees and grass are green come spring/summer.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    7/24/2017   8/15/2017
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 160  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 6.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Making my way to the Nati, Mt. Airy certainly had the feel of an 'established' course. You can tell that a lot of hours have been put in caring for the course, and that a lot of players have passed through over the years. One major sign of that is of course the Nati, which is probably the best pro shop I've seen. Multiple practice baskets and a driving warm-up area also accommodate players.

Mt. Airy is at its best when it combines multiple elements on its holes. I really enjoyed the multi-shot holes that started out in the open and ended up in the woods or vice versa. Holes 1, 3, 11, 15, 16, and 17 did a great job with this while emphasizing placement. Errant shots are punished but still recoverable. Combining these type of holes with more straight-forward park-style holes gives the entire round a nice variety. It's not just a city park feel or woods golf, you get both here.

I really enjoy playing in a setting with rolling hills and scattered trees, so I enjoyed the holes here that offered that. It isn't quite as extreme as, say, Waterworks, but it does that aspect pretty well. These two combined aspects allow you to play different lines on many of the holes. Again, this is where Mt. Airy shines.

Despite playing in the afternoon and it being one of the most played courses on DGCR, traffic was never really an issue. You may see the same group of players a couple times throughout the round, but fairways are well spread out from each other for the most part.

The course is beautiful and the fairways are in great shape. Unless you land in the thickest patches of rough, disc searches should be rare. The tees and tee signs are also nicely done, while the red baskets are a nice touch to make easier to spot.
Cons: For being a highly heralded course, it had a couple holes that definitely didn't live up to the standard. In particular, 7-9 is a somewhat bland stretch IMO. I also wasn't a big fan of 5 which combined thick rough on one side and the road on the other side of a narrowing fairway.

I'm sure this isn't news to those who are familiar to the course, but it is the most lefty-focused course I've ever played. Playing here and Idlewild the next day helped me realized more than ever the need for me to start throwing forehands, but it still would've been nice to have a variety. Mt. Airy screams, "Lefty's revenge!"

There are a few awkward transitions from hole to hole. Sometimes you have a take a less-obvious path to the next hole, and sometimes, there are multiple paths by a basket but it's not clear which one to take. Sometimes I felt like we simply had to guess where the next hole was.

The course plays along, adjacent, or across the park roads a good bit, probably over half of the course.

The rough is very thick and borders a good bit of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Mt. Airy has been on my radar since I've been playing, so I enjoyed finally getting to play here. It has a unique feel to it with a combination of park-style play but also has holes that feel like they're in the deep woods. I enjoyed that variety and appreciate the work that has gone into the course. I haven't played Osage Grove yet, but this is easily the third best course in the region. Cincinnati is a great place to take a road trip to with all kinds of courses littered near each other. I'm stating the obvious, but make sure you play this Cincy staple if in the area.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.