Huntersville, NC 
Bradford Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13 (Taken 12/2014)
3 / 275ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / 275ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Bradford Park

2-4    9/14/2019   9/25/2019
Review By: dndelli
Played: 53  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you were to create a menu for Charlotte Area disc golf, Bradford would probably be listed as the sampler platter. It does a really good job giving you a taste of the different styles of golf the city has to offer. The course manages to weave in and out of the woods, throughout its design, in a way that golfers will probably unconsciously appreciate. Allowing them a few chance to air out their drives, but without ever feeling like the course is becoming stale. The wooded holes, while consequential, are still wide enough to allow you at least a couple options on how you want to shape your drive.

The variety of hole design and mixture of terrain that this course covers makes it maintain a fresh feel the entire playthrough. The holes that have water in play do a good job of providing just a little added danger when deciding if you want to lay up, or go for it.

Right in the middle of the course you have an absolutely phenomenal stretch of holes in 8, 9, & 10.

The park features soccer fields, ball parks, a playground, restrooms, etc. The course has nice concrete tees, DISCatcher baskets, and concrete tees. Not every hole has crazy elevation, but there are some that make good use of the elevation that the course had to offer. The course features two layouts, the white course is a great place for intermediate players, but will not be overly punishing towards beginners. The blue course (which features 13 longer tees and adds over 1000 ft of distance to the course) will give advanced players a fun challenge.
Cons: Honestly, there aren't a lot of cons for this course, but some do exists- and there are a couple small ones. On a busy day at the park, finding a place to park can be a bear. When all the fields have a game going on, even the overflow parking gets full. Probably something to keep in when planning on coming on a nice day when soccer and baseball season are overlapping.

The course could probably benefit from at least one more long signature hole to give it the additional push it needs to enter into the upper echelon of Charlotte Area Disc Golf. If a par 5 (or par 4 for the short layout) could be added to back 9 to break up the long stretch of par 3s, it would really add some more memorability to the course!

Now that the Cedar Trees around Cedar Alley are getting taller, and old Hole 11 has been pulled, there really aren't any holes for big arms to open up at, outside of Hole 2.
Other Thoughts: Bradford is going to earn a 4.0 from me. When talking about the best courses in the Charlotte disc golf scene, Bradford should definitely be in the conversation. It can be easy to focus in on the Big 3: Hornets Nest, Renaissance, and Nevin- and I don't really consider Bradford quite on their level, but it is just barely a small notch below them. If you are planning a trip to Charlotte, this course should definitely be on your list of courses to check out!

Favorite Short Holes: 3, 9, 10, 16
Favorite Long Holes: 2, 8, 11, 18

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Superb Experience

1    7/23/2018   8/4/2018
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 82  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole primarily wooded course with occasional peeks into the open. Welcome kiosk and practice basket await players at the end of the parking lot in close proximity to hole 1. Multiple plus-sized tee pads at each hole along with benches and descriptive signs. Trash cans/bags encourage players to keep the course clean. Navigation very easy with "next tee" markers present at appropriate spots. There are some outstanding holes here: a narrow straight shot between large cedar trees; a play to a basket positioned behind a massive boulder; a long straight shot down a fairway with smaller cedars symmetrically planted on either side; an awesome long straight shot which must turn over right to a basket tucked in the woods; an excellent downhill fairway shot which finishes uphill and a straight downhill shot to the basket. Great use of elevation and differentiation in shots.
Cons: Not many. Surprisingly, there's only one Par 4 here. New construction and course configuration (re-numbering) on several holes may confuse some patrons until they're more worn in. Only one hole (hole 2) really allows big armed players to air it out in the open. The clay parking lot is a mess after heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: Bradford was one of six courses I played while in town for the Am. Worlds and was my second favorite course behind Hornets' Nest. I left here with four other players commenting on what a tremendous experience it was playing here. More wooded than open, Bradford rewards accuracy and shot shaping. It is a venue which is challenging, yet never feels as if it's ever unfair or overly punitive.There are some beautifully constructed holes, and never once did I feel it was repetitive. The course is fair to both righties and lefties and calls upon you to execute your full variety of shots. Bradford has no real signature hole, but instead displays a number of excellent holes throughout the course. No bells and whistles here and no gimmicks, just good solid golf.

I think the one variable some might feel prevents this course from obtaining a 4.5 rating is the lack of Par 4 holes here. Despite this, Bradford is no easy Par 55 course; to me, it plays longer than it is. Kudos to the Charlotte DG Club and the individuals who have upgraded and maintain the course. A tremendous play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic course

1    10/9/2017   10/9/2017
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 153  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2019
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bradford is a fantastic course in northern Mecklenburg County (outside of Charlotte in the suburb of Huntersville). It's legitimately one of the best courses in the Disc Golf Mecca of Charlotte. I rank it behind NC top 5 courses Nevin and Hornets Nest, plus nearby Robbins (which may put me out of step with the majority, who seem to prefer Bradford over it's North Meck neighbor). I rank it ahead of the other Charlotte courses I've played to date (Kilborne, the Eager and Angry Beavers, Bailey Road, RenSke, and Sugaw Creek). I admit that this is partly situational, as I played Bradford on a soggy day and after Parks & Rec pulled two holes for a park construction project. I imagine on a sunny day with better conditions, and all 18 holes in place, I may rate Bradford higher and possibly rank it ahead of Robbins (although I doubt ahead of either Nevin or Hornets Nest).

+ Navigation is simple, even with holes 11 and 12 not currently playable. There are next tee signs everywhere needed, good tee box signs, easy paths. If you're playing alone as a first timer, you won't have any problems.

+ The property is really beautiful, with mature forest and what they call "Cedar Alley," a series of holes with lots of cedar trees. When my son and I got to the first hole of cedar alley, with rows of young, perfectly aligned cedar trees, our reaction was, "Whoooaaa." It's a neat looking hole. (The fog, when we played, contributed to the mystical look of the hole.) Aesthetically, Bradford is one of the nicest courses I've played, and certainly so in Charlotte.

+ The course design and hole layouts are terrific. Great use of elevation. Several holes on ridges with slanting fairways, forcing you to place shots with the right angle and right amount of skip. There are a couple of death putt baskets. A creek is in play on a couple holes. There are wide open holes, wooded and technical holes... Bradford has it all.

+ Long and short tees available. I'm an intermediate player and played the shorts. I thought they were sufficiently challenging for my skill level: not too difficult, not to easy. Very fair. The long tees are significantly longer on a few holes and only slightly longer on others.

+ They did a great job of using the unique topography of the property. For example, a huge boulder is directly in front of the 10th basket. You have to try to hyzer your disc in over that obstacle to the green. I mentioned Cedar Alley already. Hole 17 is a great downhill hole with the basket on a slope opposite the tee -- with a creek bisecting the fairway. There's another creek hole with a peninsula green. The course concludes with a death putt basket on a steep hill for #18. The designers had a lot to work with on this property...and they took advantage of it.

+ Good mix of hole distances, hyzer, anhyzer, and straight lines.

+ Good concrete tees, not too short or narrow. (Some were a little slick though.)

+ Good baskets.
Cons: As much as I enjoyed Bradford, I feel like there are some pretty easy upgrades that would take this course to a 4.5, in my book.

- First and foremost, it's a bummer to have two holes pulled. I hope this is only temporary and they're able to re-open holes 11 and 12.

- I played Bradford after a day of rain, so I will admit that my experience there would have been better with dry conditions. There's construction going on in the park, so there's a good bit of mud. I didn't see any major drainage problems though.

- The biggest con for me was the underbrush and grass. On the open holes, the grass desperately needed to be cut, when I played. (It didn't help that it was wet grass.) There is some real rough on a few holes, including briars. It wasn't too bad, but enough to land Bradford at a 4.0 for me. I think with a good local club work day, all of it could be taken care of.

- Bradford is par 54. I wish it had a couple of par 4's and 5's, like many other Charlotte courses. (This is a nit-pick, as I stated I played the short tees...I could've played the long tees to get the par 4 difficulty level on a few holes.)
Other Thoughts: I would love to come back and play Bradford, especially with some of the improvements mentioned above. If you're traveling to Charlotte, make plans to bag this one.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bradford Park

1    4/23/2017   5/24/2017
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 199  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads

Has excellent tee signs

Has a bench at every tee pad if I'm not mistaken

Course navigation without a map is fairly straightforward

More wooded than open fairways with some elevations - which will be challenging to the casual player

Nice scenery

Well-maintained

Free parking

Restrooms
Cons:
Few opportunities to lose discs here in the water on holes #3, 12, 15 & 16 - recommend backup discs

Lots of trees where some fairways can be quite unfair for those who haven't mastered disc control

Some holes have fairly long walks in between such as #5 & #6 , and #10 & #11 - not really a con in my book but some may not like the additional walking
Other Thoughts:
This a nice, challenging 18 hole course in Huntersville that I enjoyed playing while vacationing out here. I probably would have had more fun if it wasn't raining on the day I played. The course is really beautiful and a joy to play even when it rained. Most of the holes are wooded, straight, and had some degree of elevation to them - which made it even more challenging playing here in the rain. A few holes had water murky enough where you can lose discs. Most of this course is wooded where some fairways are tight enough to add a challenging dimension of required control. Cedar Alley is tough on discs not thrown accurately. Holes #1, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 14, & 16 were memorably tight for me and reminded me on why I don't play in the rain as often, but it was my last day of vacation in the area so I had to make the best of it. Some hole transitions had fairly long walks but they weren't that bad for me. All in all, this is an excellent course not to be missed and definitely worth bagging if you're in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bradford Park is one of the best in the Charlotte area

2-4    3/19/2017   3/19/2017
Review By: bdupree
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Without a doubt, Bradford Park is one of my absolute favorites in the Charlotte metro area. At this point I have only been playing for about 8 months, and this course is perfect for beginners wanting to take that next step.

One of the best things about the course is location. It is about 15 minutes east of I-77, off exit 25. The route out there gets away from the nonstop string of strip malls off the exit. Pretty quickly, you are driving out through open farmland. When I played today, the back parking lot was completely full but the disc golf course was not all that busy. It seems like this one is just tucked away back in a beautiful piece of property.

The first two holes really aren't very indicative of what you will see from number three onward. The first hole drives me nuts, with a tiny opening you have to hit off the tee. Second hole is unlike anything else on the course... basically a big long wide open hole in a grass field. After that, you get to see a lot of really well thought out hole layouts. For a beginner, this is actually a tough track. However, it will make you better in the long run. Par can be tough on a majority of the holes, but none of them seem to be very unfair.

Hole three has a great basket location, just in front of a little bend in the creek. Right behind the basket on the other bank of the creek is a massive boulder, too. Quality footbridges are in several places around the course, including the path from three to four. The next four holes work their way up and down the hills through the woods, and then you pop out into an unusual opening at number eight.

Eight is something else... "cedar alley." Short tees sit right in the middle of this odd stretch of small cedar trees. The hole is relatively short, but you have to hit a very straight tee line or else you will end up underneath a 10' cedar tree with no good line to get out. I still haven't figured out how to play this one, but I love the hole.

Number nine enters back into the trees, and then ten goes back slightly uphill to a great basket location. This one is perched immediately behind a huge boulder, requiring a delicate approach shot if you're going for a safe par. Eleven takes you back out into the open a little, and so does twelve. Thirteen is a great hole with two tiers of long and short tees. This one goes over a small ravine, back up a steep hill to a flat basket location. Fourteen is similar, with an elevated tee going up into a thicket of small trees around the basket. Basically, jail if you miss the right line.

Of the finishing holes, sixteen is most interesting. Downhill steep tee shot, threaded between quite a few mature hardwoods. At the bottom, there is a really nice two-tier footbridge that leads up to the basket location. The last two holes aren't all that thrilling, considering how unique the rest of the layout is. The basket for eighteen is perched up on what seems like a mountaintop from where your tee pad starts.

Bottom line, this is a fantastic course overall. I will happily take the 25 minute drive from the middle of Charlotte to go up here often.
Cons: Not much downside here at all. The park is a little bit of a drive from I-77, but in my opinion that isn't a bad thing.
Other Thoughts: If you finish up quickly here, there are some other great options in the area. The little Bailey Road Park course is only about three miles away. For those of you who are "of age," you are less than 5 miles away from three breweries... Ass Clown, Primal, and D9. Not a bad way to finish off a round!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best kept secrets in Charlotte

5+    5/24/2016   10/13/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 15.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a really well designed and challenging course. It's a great place for beginner and pros alike. The course offers a solid mix of big arm throws and technical tight shots. Every hole presents a unique and interesting challenge, and the scenery surrounding the course is spectacular. It can get muddy, but the course plays very well.
Cons: Watch out for ticks, and this course will EAT DISCS. Keep an eye out for where you land and walk immediately there. It's very easy to lose sight of where you end up.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Text book course

5+    3/18/2016   3/19/2016
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2016
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signage with distance and overview of holes. Holes are put together well with long and short concrete tee pads. Very good diversity of distances. A good mix of open and wooded holes as well as elevation changes. This course is a good course for beginners and veteran players alike. Foot traffic is never too heavy. Some tee-shots are very tight through the trees; #9, #13.
Cons: Very long #8 hole (challenging). Almost twice as long from long tee box (720 ft from long). It's much better since the underbrush has been cut. Not much to say negatively about this course.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in this area so far. Some holes are difficult to par on regular basis. The paths are clearly marked and there is an option to play a short 9 holes after the 4th hole.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great

2-4    10/1/2015   10/7/2015
Review By: Mygrassisblue
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Excellent, extremely clean and well thought out holes. Bradford is how disc golf courses should be. Signage is good, and the holes flow together nicely without confusing. Good mix of wooded and open holes, the vegetation is really nice on a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: Check this one out, you won't be disappointed

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/5/2015   9/12/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Bradford doesn't disappoint. The highlight is the two cedar alley holes, which both offer a gut shot between rows of ten-foot cedar trees along with the option of bombing it over the top of it all. Unique holes. Other than that there is a ton of variety with both open and wooded shots. The open shots are appropriately longer and the wooded fairways are just the perfect width to challenge without turning people off of the game. It isn't a mountain course but there are plenty of rolling hills and slight elevation changes.
New signs and easy navigation are bonuses here, as is the signed directions to just play nine holes. I wish I had more to say but Bradford is almost textbook, how-to-make-a-course that I'm almost stumped about what to say about it. After close to 250, I've finally the one that I don't have much to say about. Bradford is completely balanced and varied. If disc golf courses had evolved naturally instead of being planned by people, I would suspect this course to the ancestor from which all other courses had evolved from. Just completely well done and highly recommended.
Cons: I don't think the blue tees added much. Often, the blue layout used the same exact tee so it wasn't an entirely different set of holes. Other times, it didn't change the look much.
I liked the look of the old 15 based on photos and map. It looked like it was a long drive to a right dogleg and then a pond on the approach, which is a reversal of the usual water setup.
Other Thoughts: A lot to like about Bradford and settles into that nebulous region between a 3.5 and a 4 for me. One of those rare courses that despite having only one difficulty, would probably appeal to players of an assortment of skill levels. It works best for intermediate players but I can't imagine a player that I would tell not to go to Bradford. A lot of I'm pretty sure that they layout has been changed a bit recently as all the holes featured new signs and hole distances and sometimes hole shapes did not match with the map I had downloaded here.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, clean, but difficult for newer players.

1    8/22/2015   8/22/2015
Review By: Harpo1989
Played: 48  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a well maintain and very scenic course. The wooded holes are more cleaned out than nearby Robbins Park. While tee shots can be narrow or long at times, the approach shots are typically clear from underbrush and places to lose your disc are minimal.

I am still a newer player but usually still play long tees. I will say that I am not good enough to be playing the long tees on this course. An 11 on hole 8 is testament to that. While this is a con for me some better players might find this good news as the long tees offer more added challenge than simply adding length on a lot of the holes.

Next time I will play the shorter tees and very likely have much less difficulty. Hole 8's long tee requires a long and straight tee shot just to make it to the short tee and hole 18 has a mando requiring you to hyzer around a tree through a narrow opening and away from the hole!
Cons: Not many. There were several holes that did not have the signage telling you distance and direction.

Also, I did not see any arrows directing you from the 11th hole basket towards the 12th tee, which is off to the right along the roadway.
Other Thoughts: There is a practice basket near the first tee, which is always a plus.

If you're coming from out of town and need a second course to play, Robbins Park is only a few miles away and would make for a great one-two punch!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.