Bellingham, WA 
Cornwall Park Share
Uploaded By: Varn96 Hole #3 (Taken 12/2016)
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
improved layout

2-4    3/7/2022   3/7/2022
Review By: Dadio
Played: 166  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 37.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a popular park in northern Bellingham and plays through a couple wooded areas, widely separated, in park. There is parking and a practice basket by both 1 and 6 as well as bathrooms by both. Flow is fairly easy to follow once started and there is a map on the kiosk.
Very well made paver tees that are plenty long. Someone in Bellingham has developed skillz at this as there were some very similar one s@ another local course I played. Would love to help put a couple of these in, learn how to do it.
About 7 weeks ago they moved some tees and pins around according to a local I played last couple holes with. This has greatly reduced the odds of hitting a random park goer with a disc, the biggest drawback of this course last time I played.
Cons: Biggest Con is lack of signs. No tee signs or anything indicating number. Most pins are in sight and course is well worn in so lack of signs isn't as bad as it might be. The notable exception to this is the crazy long walkout to 6. Necessary, but without signs can be tough.
There is a map @ the kiosk, but it doesn't reflect changes. Main difference is position of tee 1 but without anything sticking up I wasn't finding it.
And as many here point out, lots of dogs and other non-golfers to watch out for, why I have been reluctant to play this one since 1st time years ago.
Other Thoughts: Playing at a different local course today a couple people asked if I had played this one and my reply was very derogatory. On a whim, I swung by on the way out of town and was glad I did. While this will never be a great course it is now worth stopping by on the way through. All it needs is signs and will be a pleasant course. Will bump it up to a 2.5 or 3 when improvements are done.
There might also be another course in the works nearby which will take some of the pressure off here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Extremely short but not terrible

2-4    4/21/2016   1/13/2022
Review By: PHDParrot
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent layout, cute park with easy access, solid equipment
Cons: Course plays way too short to be all that interesting. Plenty of people around usually.
Other Thoughts: Fun course if you're local but not really worth a trip or anything. The designers of the course did what they could with what they had available.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This is a *pause for long walk* great course

1    7/31/2019   8/11/2019
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 93  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Great tee pads, good size, good grip, always nice to have solid concrete tees on a course.
-Baskets are pretty good, they seem to be in great shape and I really don't have much to complain about.
-Fairways are beat in to perfection, I think that this has been the only course in Bellingham for a while (up until mossy roc was put in) so it has gotten a lot of love. I really like that fact on this course, because there are tons of massive redwoods and other trees, but there is little to no underbrush in the fairway, which makes for little to no hassle in finding your disc.
-The rough is just rough enough, this course is on the short side, I didn't need anything faster than a tee bird. So it is pretty tough to get far off the fairway. Also, the first few holes play around the parking lot, which I guess is sorta like the rough.
-This course is relatively flat, and I say relatively because I played it right after mossy roc, which has tons of hills. That being said, there are a few nice downhill throws, and a few baskets placed a top a mound.
-This is a beautifully designed woods course. each hole is slightly different, which makes for a fun challenge, but similar enough that a beginning player could easily get the hang of throwing a midrange.
Cons:
-No tee signs, this could pose a problem if you don't have a map or Udisc, I was able to see every basket from the tee, so there's no problem there, but it can be tricky to find the next tee.
-really long walk between hole 5 and 6, you go down a road to a different parking lot, then past the tennis courts and down a little trail some more.
-This course doesn't really have any of the amenities that make an "outstanding" course. I'm talking about tee signs, benches, next hole signs, etc. that makes it a little challenging to get around if you just sorta show up and hope to find your way easily. That being said, It took me only 25 minutes to play this whole course, including the close to 3 minute walk from hole 5 to six, and then back from 9 to my car.
-This is what I would term as an entry level woods course, it is a very fun play, but it isn't a high level challenge. Almost every hole was a midrange shot, granted I carry 6 mids, and I threw each one at least once.
Other Thoughts: If you are in Bellingham and considering whether to play this course or mossy roc, I would stop wondering because you can easily fit both in, Cornwall is a very quick play, and a fun one too.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, quick course

5+    6/26/2018   6/26/2018
Review By: kwibat
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course that has a few challenging shots, but nothing overwhelming. It's a great place to stop by, stretch and take in some fresh air.
Cons: Unfortunately Bellingham is outgrowing this course so it's very busy, all the time, during Summer and crowded on most clear weekends.
Other Thoughts: The locals here are extremely nice and helpful, however you need to know course etiquette in order to keep this packed course moving efficiently.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but a bit fun.

1    4/8/2017   5/16/2017
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 805  Reviewed: 214  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/13/2018
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole course laid out in the wooded sections of Cornwall Park, pretty close to the freeway.

Older Mach 3 baskets, but they did the job just fine, even if they are most definitely showing their age. One pin position per hole, with some decently guarded pin locations. Holes 8 and 9 were nice in this regard. Most of the pins are tucked behind trees, forcing some sort of shot shaping.

Paver tee pads, one per hole. I generally don't dig pavers because they get slick, but these weren't too bad, especially on a shortish course. Plenty wide and long and did the job well, even a bit damp.

Tons of manicuring here, with wood chips paths and chipped fairways galore. Along with the ever-present huge trees, this is definitely an aesthetically pleasing course.

If you dig short and technical, you'll love it here. Most holes offer at least the opportunity to throw multiple lines, even if there is usually a most obvious one. Pretty much every hole is a possible ace run.
Cons: As is a theme in the Seattle area, there are no tee signs. Without a map, it can get a bit tricky to find your way around the first time. It certainly doesn't help that holes 1-5 and holes 6-9 are in completely different sections of the park and require a lengthy walk to find. Also, the map available on DGCR is NOT the most current layout on the back section. You'll definitely want to follow or tag along with a local.

As stated above, this course is short, and ace run city. That's definitely not a terrible thing...but if you're looking to pull out your drivers, this is not the place for you. I threw a putter on every hole except one FH tee shot.

Plenty of traffic here. Dog walkers, drone flyers, bums in the sun...and if you're lucky like me, you'll stumble across two happy folks bumpin' uglies 10 feet off the fairway of hole 6 (that is not a euphemism...I actually found people screwing next to the fairway). Have to say, that was a new one for me. Keep your head on a swivel, for sure, as this is a nice little park that seems to get a lot of use.
Other Thoughts: For what it is, it's fine. Beginners will love it, but there's at least enough here for a spin for more advanced players, even if not enough to come back a second or third time.

Maybe not worth going out of your way for, but it's fun enough, and right off the highway.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Welcome to Cornhole!!!!!

5+    6/14/2015   6/15/2015
Review By: ThatOneGuy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is quick nine holes which can be nice if you're on a time limit.

They did have restrooms on both ends of the park and that the north end there was a children's play area which can be good if you have kids

The local cronies are very nice and respectful
Cons: The park is maintained pretty well but they tend to lack on trash cans.

The baskets need to revamp seems like they've been there for 10+ years. They are looking very Used and crooked.

Navigation around the park is kind of difficult but once you do it once or twice you get the hang of it.

Lots of Fairweather flyers especially when the sun comes out which causes a bunch of waits at the T pad which can be annoying

Other Thoughts: Well this is my home park is the closest one to where I live it's not bad for intermediate players it is definitely a good pitch and putt course if you want to stretch out the arm you will find yourself driving down south.

Hopefully they will upgrade the baskets in the park soon and figure out a better layout and the more complex and diverse driving range

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Easy but fun course

2-4    4/13/2014   4/13/2014
Review By: Hix375
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plays through a well maintained park. Some of the wooded holes offer a fun challenge.
Played early morning in spring and saw plenty of other discers, i can imagine its more bustling in the summer.
Smells like dreams.
Birdies and Aces should be very obtainable for low-intermediate players and up.
tees and baskets are often surrounded by wood chips
Cons: Very short holes.
Poorly laid out and confusing, lack of use of space. It really could be a 12-18 hole course if they would use unused spaces (especially between 3 and 4)
Baskets could use some T.L.C.
most baskets are straight shots with few obstacles.
No tee/basket signage.
expect a good amount of walking to 6 from 5 and from 9 back to 1
Other Thoughts: A fun short course once you have figured out the layout, Plays through a nice forested park. You may want to bring a map to figure out navigation. great course to introduce someone new to the sport. Still not kidding about it smelling like dreams, maybe thats just me though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of people.

5+    7/15/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: Crossbowdan29
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1. If you like to meet new people while waiting to play the next hole this is the spot for you.

2. Nice little wooded course with some twists and turns.

3. Nice corner shots, good tee pads, almost all holes in the shade what more can you ask for.
Cons: 1. Crowded you should bring a chair.

2. Somone keeps stealing pins from this course.

Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be epic. during the Cornwall Classic you get to see some of that potential. But a bit further north there are better courses I would pass this one by.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Fun

2-4    7/12/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: whatcomhucker
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly wooded course presents a good challenge to try out different throws, but not too frustrating.
Nice to walk in the shade during the summer.
Decent mix of short technical lines and midrange drives.
Holes 1-5 also function as a mini course/circuit if you want to cycle through a few times and hone your game.
Cons: Can get crowded at times.
Signage is nonexistent. There is a pdf map on the park website but you can't tell forest from fields on it...
You will see some trash, cig butts, and maybe even some broken beer bottles... wish people would take better care of this otherwise lovely park.
Other Thoughts: I really like this park. As a novice it presents just the right challenge. I can see how it might get a bit boring for more seasoned players though. There are some picnic sites and is a great place to bring the family or a group of friends for lunch and a few rounds.

If going for the 1st time Google the park and print the PDF map & score card. Otherwise ask/follow the locals to make the leap from hole 5 to 6.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/17/2013   2/17/2013
Review By: Ranger Rick
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads.
Ground cover was cleared in most places.
Tree cover over most holes.
Short holes are great for newer players.
Cons: No tee signage.
Hard to navigate without a map.
Can be crowded during peak times.
Short holes are too easy for experienced players.
Other Thoughts: We really enjoyed this course, so much that we played through three times. We were surprised to see in not as crowded as usual on a Sunday morning, but we did get there very early, and it got busier as the day went on. The tree canopy made it nice even when it started to sprinkle. Also, the lack of ground cover, made it easy to keep a sight line on the disc.
Several times while walking between holes we commented on how much of the space was under utilized. You could easily put in eighteen holes here without changing the layout. The distance between hole 3's basket, and hole 4's tee could have easily made a great hole, and there were several places throughout the park that you could add to, instead of trucking a ways between holes.
Overall the park was clean, and the course played very nicely, even when it started to get busy in the afternoon. We will definitely be back!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.