Disc Golf Center
Leonard, MI 
Addison Oaks County Park Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #12 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Gorgeous, Pro calibur course

1    6/16/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 71  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great variation, elevation, swamp hazards, woods, open fields, 24 hole course.
Cons: None except its a real challenge. bring your A game to addison oaks, or you will lose discs.
Other Thoughts: One of the greatest courses ever constructed, not to be missed!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite course

5+    4/29/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: GettinGreasy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~Nice mix of technical holes, wooded approached, open fairways, and a disc eating hazard.
~Many people complain about the 5 straight open fairway holes, but I honestly love the placement, where one can easily skip all 5 by walking a few yards
~All cement tees with a curved end pointing you towards the pin
~For one of the best courses in the area, it typically stays less crowded than Stoney or Firefighters
Cons: ~Nothing Really but if I had to be picky...
~Bugs during the fall and hot summer months
~Can get crowded on weekends/nice days
Other Thoughts: ~Honestly my favorite course in the area, everyone I've ever encountered playing here has been nothing but friendly
~Love hole 10, definite do or die
~Have probably thrown a dozen discs into some very thick woods on some holes, and all have been pretty easily found (hole 10 being the exception) while most of the course is thick woods, it lacks the disc eating knee high grass, until very late in the year if their slacking on the trimming.
~Well worth the $5 parking fee

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Koz = Gay

1    7/19/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 90  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 10 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great hole design
the first five lead you into the woods and don't let go until #16. then it finally opens up into a huge field with the fairways skirting along the edge of the woods. great use of length and line keep the fairly static surroundings unnoticable. i was impressed with the shot options as we played through: tunnel shots, tight threads, water (swamp) hazards, ravines, bridges, hyzers, anhyzers, etc.
-outstanding accoutrements
great signage on every hole, marking hole # and distance. "next tee" signs in abundance as needed, and might have even been overkill. cement tee pads for every hole, and i love the way they were rounded off at the ends, pointing you towards the pin. trash cans throughout and the course was virtually litter-free. picnic benches strategically placed let you take a break while playing through, which you will take advantage of.
-challenging but fair
you will use these park benches because you will be tired. this course is long with no am tees. swamps/bogs come into play on a little over a quarter of the holes. you will use the majourity of discs in your bag, and while challening, it is fair. if you have a bad drive you will be punished and it will be hard to recover, but it is not a course in which you will need blind luck to succeed. the rough wasn't too bad when i played and aside from water hazards, you should'nt have a problem leaving with all the plastic you came in with, especially with a spotter.
-the park itself
awesome piece of land (campground, lake with boat launch, rock climbing wall, etc.) makes the oaks a destination for more than just DG. and there was a summer camp going on crowding hole #1 that let us play through - turns out the counselor was teaching the kids how to putt!
Cons: -mix it up?
i wish they would've been able to break up the surroundings a bit better. we kept waiting and waiting for the woods to break and they didn't until 16. then you were slapped with 5 bombers in a row.
-faded glory
while the signage was everywhere it seemed a bit outdated. a lot of them were faded from the sun and couldn't be read. some of the distances seemed wrong; either too short or too long. not sure if elevation played into this or not but i questioned more than a few. and per the graffitti on the posts, is seems like Koz and Cookie get around quite a bit! considering every sign had a derrogatory comment about the aforementioned, i figure my title for this review is fitting.
-something seems missing
i keep telling myself i'll know a 5-star course when i play it, and this was damn near. but it still felt like something was missing - maybe a real water hazard (not just bog/swamp)? maybe more than one signature hole? i'm not sure but throughout the round i couldn't shake the feeling that it could be better somehow.
Other Thoughts: Addison Oaks is awesome - plain and simple. it's the best i've played in the metro area, and is a destination course. this is an all-dayer; pack a lunch and bring plenty of fluids. it took four of us just over three hours to play all 24.
my favourite holes were #4 - an open drive hooking right with a harsh approach under giant pines, #10 - THE signature hole at the oaks, a shot off the top of the hill and over a marshy ravine with the pin on the far shore. (an absolute do or die hole), and #20 - no fairway (just a landing spot), then a right twist uphill to the hidden basket atop. #18 is the longest hole, at 692 ft., and you'll be dying to let 'er rip after the technical/placement shots in the woods.
i absolutely recommend playing this course - grab some friends and get lost... just watch out for "Monkey ****ting on Cookie's Chest"!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course!

1    4/30/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: Gyro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice park, lots of variety in shots, and it wasn't crowded. Plenty of technical wooded shots, many water shots, and even a fair amount of open field shots as well.
Cons: Poor tee pads. Roughly half are cement and half are dirt. $10 to get in the park. Very easy to lose discs if you are not careful.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 toughest in the metro

5+    4/13/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 227  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 18.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Mix of landscape and holes. Features a creek, lake, peninsula basket, ponds, hills, pine forest, thick rough, tall grass, tunnel shots and more.
- Very well manicured with mowed fairways
- Cement on 2/3 holes now, tee signs, practice basket
- Tough, well though out design with challenging par 4's and some easy 2's
- Signature holes such as the 490? ft downhill 1st hole over a finger of water with water behind to the left and a row of willows blocking the attempted big-deuce, makes you play for score not show
Cons: -Park entry rules: apparently in the off season which is still going on though it's mid-April, you have to obtain a permit at the Valero 2 miles away (5/10$). There is only ONE, small, sign there I noticed that says anything about the need for a pass and how to get one, and it's on the same post as other, larger signs. Plus it doesn't even face the driver and isn't where you'd naturally look for information. There is no sign again warning you at the 1st tee, as there really should be.
- Doesn't flow well/or tough to navigate
Other Thoughts: - Hopefully they will adopt a pay-station to pay for your pass at the park in a drop-box like EVERY OTHER park in the friggin' world figured out already
- Detroit area MUST-play

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

2-4    10/17/2011   9/1/2010
Review By: kw83028
Played: 51  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Makes you use a variety of shots, well laid out. Woods, fields, trees, lakes make it play tough if you like that kind of stuff! Wasn't busy at all there!

Got my first ACE on 10/17/11 on hole 13!!

Tees are all concrete now and it makes the course that much better!
Cons: Not really much Con action here now that the teepads are concrete!

I guess the only cons I could see are that you are in the woods forever then come out to some bombers in a field. It doesn't really bother me, but some people might find that annoying for some reason
Other Thoughts: Great course! Wish I lived closer!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cool course

5+    8/15/2008   7/21/2009
Review By: discin248
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tons of different shots and terrain
open shots, tight wooded shots, hills, and water hazards
Cons: good possibility of losing a disc in the heavly wooded areas
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course but have not yet gone out there this season
nice and clean

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your A game

1    7/19/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: m_jank
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Makes you use every shot in your bag
-hole 4 is pretty amazing dogleg into a field and then uphill approach to basket surrounded by pines
-24 holes
-usually empty during the week, very light traffic on weekend
-the rest of the park is really nice, large lake
Cons: -no teepads, just dirt runoffs
-layout might be confusing if you don't have a guide
-the open field holes are not very imaginative
- deep brush, easy to lose disc
-LOTS of standing water = mosquitos
-water/swamp comes into play on five or six holes
Other Thoughts: Probably the most difficult course I have played. Even though its shorter than Stony, it plays much harder. Big risk/reward.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 An oldie but a goodie

5+    4/19/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 78  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 19.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety is the spice of life and this course is VERY spicy. Long-short, open-narrow, this place has all the shots plus elevation changes and water hazards that will eat you up. Accuracy and patience will pay dividends. Not much room for error anywhere on the course.
Cons: Tee-pads are rudimentary at best. Some signs are missing. Next-tee situations are very tricky at times. Print a map. Bring bug spray and liquids. Don't pollute. Look out for the Sheriff. He's a bad man.
Other Thoughts: A great course that needs to be maintained a little better. Its not dirty, it just needs to jump into the 21st century. If there isn't anybody collecting at the park gate, the party store at 32 mile and Rochester sells park passes. Buy one. They will ticket you without a pass. They also sell plastic and adult beverages. You will need plenty.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Addin' some strokes

5+    12/20/2008   2/20/2009
Review By: CaptainAnhyzer
Played: 93  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 31.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great mix of long and short holes. Bring your "A" game. Water hazard on the first hole gives a clue of the tough 23 holes remaining.
Cons: It is a haul to get there. Tall grass is a problem.
Other Thoughts: Improved flow from the original 18 hole design. Hosted the 1992 Worlds.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.