Bailey, CO 
Bailey DGC Share
Uploaded By: andylibrande Hole #9 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / 402ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket - big uphill hole to tricky basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Can't wait to play it again.

1    8/26/2018   8/30/2018
Review By: B The V
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Variety in shots
-Turf tee pads
-Porto-Potty in the parking lot
-Fun downhill and across valley shots that let you watch your disc work
-Pars are on point
-The most scenic course I have played
-Discs are fairly easy to find, unless one really gets away from you. Grass wasn't super thick, but I also played in late August.
-Great tee signs that include distance and tee/pin elevation
-Creative pin positions
-Very clean, I didn't see any trash on the course
Cons: -No loop back to the parking lot, once you start, you are pretty much out there for the duration
-Beginners and distance challenged players will have a tough time on a few of the longer holes.
Other Thoughts: I am from Western New York, elevation of about 600 ft. I played this course after a week in Colorado and after spending three days in Breckenridge at similar elevation. I feel that gave me time to get acclimated to the elevation. I wouldn't want to land in Denver and come straight out here and expect to hike these hills without being exhausted. If you are not used to the thin air you should read up on how to protect yourself from altitude sickness.
This course is the most beautiful and well designed courses I have ever played. Scoring well can be tough, and making birdies, or even a par at times, is very rewarding. The holes are well thought out and don't seem redundant. There is a great mix of bomber and technical holes. The designer could have easily went overboard with making downhill bombers, but that is not the case.
This was the first time I played at elevation and it can be humbling. Learning what to throw took a bit of time, but I never felt like it took away my game, it just changed what I threw and at what angle.
Bailey is a long hike, and unfortunately there is no convenient way to get back to the parking lot and porta-potties without taking a long walk once you have gotten past hole 5. Take more water than you think you will need, especially if the weather is warm. The dry air and walking the hills will suck the water out of you.
This was the most enjoyable round of disc golf I have ever played. The beautiful vistas, the great signs, the well thought out holes, and being able to watch your drive fly, for what seems for days, make this course the best I have ever played. I can't wait to get back to Colorado and play Bailey, as well as some of the surrounding courses, again.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great course, some recent changes

5+    8/24/2018   8/25/2018
Review By: bbrunerbob
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2018
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent mix of open and wooded shots, and the natural rock features used on 3 or 4 of the holes are both interesting and fair.
- Great use of the terrain. Once you get off the tee pads every shot has an uphill or downhill component, or some footing or stance issue to handle. No two rounds ever feel the same.
- Scenery throughout is beautiful, only missing water features to make this a 5.0 course as far as my rating.
- New turf tees are a great improvement over the previous rough terrain, and currently in excellent condition.
- Well marked (except currently for the two new holes).
Cons: - If you are coming from low altitude this will be a tough 21 holes to navigate.
- The occasional cattle grazing that closes the course for a couple of weeks. Watch for the course closed status, and if the cows have recently been out then the open pasture holes will have lots of cow pies. Some nasty rodent holes on 1 and 21 fairways also, just watch your footing in the pastures.
- No practice putting basket, and the practice net is across the last holes fairway, with discs coming in from up the hill. Move the net to the right of the parking lot in all the open space and add a practice putting basket, seems easy.
Other Thoughts: I have come to like this course better than Beaver Ranch just up the road ... maybe because BR upped their price to $12 if you are not a local. Both are great courses, this one is more rustic in some ways, and probably less trafficked. Honor system pay box is $5, which I think is better value for money.

Unfortunately they had to shut down hole 16, a great downhill bomber, due to too many discs flying into traffic. I get it, and you still have the starting hole and finishing hole in particular to let fly downhill, but it was a really fun pin to throw at.

Replacement hole 16 is downhill / side hill and fairly tough terrain. Pin is on a shelf of rock, very easy to miss downhill, and the downhill area is still very rough.

Added hole 17 extends the course to 21 holes instead of 20. It's an ace run if you can throw straight between the guardian pines. Kind of a nice respite after so much hiking up and down.

As per any course coming from Denver to this area, Hwy 285 has some 45 mph spots and is well patrolled for speed.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bailey

5+    7/12/2018   8/1/2018
Review By: Cmoss32
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Where to start... the elevation changes through the course are my favorite part. You will not get the major downhill and uphill shots at any other public course in Colorado. The tee pads allow me to be confident in my footing and power. The views are AMAZING! The signage and layout is easy to read and follow.
Cons: Only one, many different types of baskets. However, they all catch a disc just fine!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    7/13/2018   7/16/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 47  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The elevation change and scenery are incredible and probably rival any course out there.
Navigation is amazing with arrows guiding you through the entire course after tee 1.
Did I mention the views!! Almost every pad has nice turf pads and great tee signs with distance.
Layout is incredible it can be a tough course but very fair.

Cons: Hardly any only thing keeping this from a 5 Star to me is these small things...walkout to hole 1 is kinda rough. Out of breath before 1st throw as it's straight up the hill, but it makes sense for the course layout and really cool shot so not a huge deal. The main cons is a couple holes still have natural tee pads however it appears they're changing that. Biggest one is a couple holes have different temp baskets if those get changed it would be 5 Star no question
Other Thoughts: This really challenges beaver ranch as far as which is better. However both are amazing and Colorado should feel lucky to have these gems that close together. Hands down a top course in any state

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very impressed

5+    7/12/2018   7/12/2018
Review By: Dogman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: The new tee pads are awesome. This place is the best mountain course I have played. If you're anywhere near Bailey CO I would highly recommend playing here.

I really liked the mix of short technical holes and long par 4's. The scenery is great. Super fun to play. My dogs loved it and we will be back.

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 New Pads, Same views

2-4    7/3/2018   7/12/2018
Review By: Uncool_Rusty
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: The New tee pads
The great scenery
Tough holes
Varied shots
Topography of course
Cons: ......hiking
Mountain bike trails sometimes are in the way
Other Thoughts: This course is world class, definitely worth playing if you are in Colorado. Heck, it's worth the vacation if you aren't!

3 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Bailey DGC Course IMO

5+    7/8/2018   7/12/2018
Review By: Ben Fairley
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Bailey offers beautiful views and fairway shapes. When you shoot under it's a good day! $5 to play is no big deal for this course that challenges all levels of disc golfers, calling on every shot in your arsenal.
Cons: This dry, wooded course is on school owned property so mind your p's & q's, and also your d's, c's and j's...
Other Thoughts: Personal favorite of mine and really appreciate the new improvements from the Foothill Flyers and BOERA

4 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 A must play course in Colorado

5+    7/7/2018   7/12/2018
Review By: Huschka
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: The new T-Pads are the very best thing you could have done. I love the layout and the views are the best in the state. You have to play this course 100%
Cons: nothing, The winter is not so fun but summer spring or fall you will want to play it.
Other Thoughts: Disc on brothers and sisters

3 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing GOLF course

5+    7/15/2017   7/12/2018
Review By: ianpiso
Played: 49  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Just installed tee pads. Course is amazing and you have to play golf to do well here. Great combination of open and wooded shots and it will challenge every aspect of your game.
Cons: If you're there right after grazing you may find some surprises.

3 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Hoping for more

1    6/1/2018   6/29/2018
Review By: Frontrangehiker
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 39 Not
Pros: Long holes as well as technical holes, really nice views, good variety of shots required.
Cons: The biggest con is the natural teepads, they were very sandy and uneven, I almost had a bad injury trying to throw one of the longer holes.
Better signage is needed, a bit confusing at times.
Also there are apparently no leash laws at this course as I watched a dog pick up my disc and bolt, by the time I caught up to the dog and owner my disc had been lost somewhere.
Other Thoughts: Fun mountain course but things were left to be desired.

2 of 41 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.