Course Extinct
Perkiomenville, PA 
The Cedars Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #5 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Not Much To Recommend Here!

1    5/2/2018   5/2/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1418  Reviewed: 1365  Exp: 41.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Cedars is the disc golf course at the Perkiomenville Mennonite Church in Perkiomenvile. The church beckons you to play anytime. The course isn't so welcoming. I don't think it particularly wants to be played.

The nine hole course starts on the side of the church, plays up to the street and back again before heading out into the wilds. The course is neglected pretty badly. The natural tee pads I located were mostly overgrown. There was a simple sign at # 1 reading 430'. Unfortunately, there 4-5 cars parked in harms way that I had to just lay in order to be a safe. The baskets are DGA models with the number on top.

I couldn't find a pad or sign for # 2 but when I got to the # 2 basket, the sign was laying on the ground. The metal pole had been snapped off. Later, I found other poles that had been broke last this. I think someone might have a vendetta against this course.

At this point the course plays out to this wild looking area complete with a marshy pond and plenty of brambles.

As with many church property courses that I play, I feel the designer completely missed his target audience which I believe is your church youth group, your church's family playing after service and your vacation bible schoolers. These type of players are not seeking out 300' holes with a marshland on one side and thick forest on the other.
.
Cons: Course seems to be in that forgotten, neglected stage. I don't believe it is getting much play.

Someone has gone out of their way to break off the metal sign poles.

Tee signs are few and far between.

IMO this course completely misses it's target audience.

Rough is very rough and I don't think you go down into the drainage pool hunting for discs.
Other Thoughts: I don't foresee many positive things happening to this course. It's a bad design, too long and frustrating with nasty rough for most of the church membership. There are other much better choices for players around these parts, Branchwood for the beginners and Bootlegger's Cave for everyone else. I predict this course just dries up not to be heard from again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Disjointed Course

2-4    7/25/2018   10/16/2017
Review By: itsRudy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2018
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Private Property that spent the time and effort to make a Disc Golf course happen.
Cons:
-Course doesn't quite know what it wants to be in terms of skill level nor does the Church seem to want to really take care of the current design. Mother nature has overtaken many parts since its inception. It should be redesigned into a beginner course using areas that are already actively mowed.
-Tees don't seem to exist for #2, #3, #7, #8, #9 anymore. Tee#1 is overgrown to the point of being unusable. Forest tees were framed dirt or wood chips.
-#3 is around 400' of pure disc loss potential. #8 is more disc loss potential in the same swamps. Disc hunting rather than disc throwing is a theme of this course anyway.
-Tee signs use google maps snippets but because it shows mostly green forest cover, it's pretty unreadable. An illustrated hole guide with bright arrows and basket logos would have been better in this instance.
-Knee-high vegetation on the tight fairways in the forest.
-Past construction eradicated the old #8 and #9 and the new basket placement isn't thought out.
Other Thoughts:
tldr; I would recommend any nearby course over this one. If you do attempt it, try it when it's been dry for a long while (or frozen ground) in late Fall or Winter after the vegetation is dead. Bring discs you don't mind losing.

The course has changed quite a bit since the photos from 2011, tees gone, or vegetation taking over swaths of course in and out the forest.

First tee is located 40.317136, -75.479698 on (google maps), which is the right side of the church past the parking lot by the tree/bush line. The tee is there but rather overgrown and not usuable. Basket#1 is on the front lawn 430' away, near the street. I'm not know sure why half of it is mowed and the basket half arbitrarily left to grow but it's been that way forever. You're supposed to not throw over the parking lot but it makes it pretty hard for RHBH.

Tee#2 is supposed to be closer to the driveway but isn't there. The throw is a shorter hop over the driveway to the corner of forest. For some reason, the uprooted tee sign/pole was by the basket.

I couldn't find tee#3 as marked by wooden pegs in the photos (seems overgrown now) but on the map it looks like somewhere between basket#2 to the start of the first retention pond. It's a very ambitious 400'+ hole and something you'd might find on a high end course for much more advanced players but it simply just doesn't belong here. After the first 130' of narrow land, there's a 140' long and deep swamp pit overgrown with cattails. A narrow land bridge (with repositioned basket#8). Then another 110' pit, sometimes dry and mowed, sometime just as filled with water. After that is a narrow triangular strip of land with the basket at the end. Walk on the path on the left up to the landbridge, then past that will be a single mowed lane somewhere on the left among the brush. This is pure disc loss, especially in the summer.

#4-7 are typical forest fare, 200'ish distances, with knee-high vegetation to hide your discs and tight fairways bordered by brush. The paths between holes need major maintenance. Tee#4 is to the right of the basket#3 and there's some swampy ground around this section. It's a right curved hole. There was a fallen tree at the end that needs to be removed. Tee#5 is to the right of the basket up along the narrow path. Another right curve. Tee#6 is to the right again, it goes back towards the church and uphill with the basket off right. Take the path upwards and you'll have to muddle through brush. Tee#7 disappeared, but throw from the corner of the forest and it's a straight shot.

#8-9 were moved from their original spots due to construction and right now are, at best, mere afterthoughts to whoever, if anyone, is now managing the course. #8 in its present form is a short putt onto the narrow land bridge, maybe 110' or so, but an easy loss into the swamps on either side for beginners. #9 uses the same tee, afaik, just an unmarked patch of dirt among the grass with the basket near to the parking spaces. Similiar short distance.

This course is just incoherent. #1 and #3 are only throws that advanced players could make. #8 and #9 are casualties of construction and repositioned badly, barely pitch and putts now. If this course ever gets redone, they should keep #4,5,6,7 and clean them up well. Those holes are relatively okay and it loops back in a circle. Completely raze #1-3, #8-9 and reposition the baskets beside and behind the church away from the street so the church kids can play. Just avoid the retention ponds at this skill level. Make some 150-250' semi/open beginner holes that seamlessly connects to existing #4-7 and on ground already mowed so it won't get overrun by nature again.

I pass by this course a lot but hardly feel like playing it. It's pretty joyless most of the year but the absolute worst in wet summertime.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Stopped after 2 holes

1    7/17/2015   7/28/2015
Review By: SmurfItchy
Played: 62  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: there is no one there
Cons: i played the first 2 holes then stopped. I was by myself and so I did not have a spotter and when I got to the 3rd tee box i was over a swamp and brush then down hill blind tee shot with woods on either side. So I was like na I don't feel like loosing my disc today and just left.
Other Thoughts: There was a bunch of construction going on here and so im not sure if that effects some of the holes

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Unpleasant

2-4    8/16/2014   5/6/2015
Review By: mbarkitek
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A new course.
Some holes are fun.
Cons: Lost discs - 2 players lost 5 discs through 3 rounds. Twice what looked to be perfect shots were lost to not be found (or returned)
High grass, no real map, no real tee boxes. This course is a mess.
Other Thoughts: I really do wish that whoever found the discs would return them. Or the church would have someone for that.

We will not go back to this course unless "a work in progress" is changed.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unplayable to keep disc

1    8/13/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: Ibuyen
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenge holes
Area?
Cons: High grass
Someone will lose a disc
Pickers and other weeds are everywhere
Other Thoughts: Been thru once, and that's about it, my foursome lost two disc, searched more for disc then playing. Could be nice, better courses around. Use a spotter if you want to play.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cedars = great potential

1    10/19/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: TSivhar
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Creatively designed in tranquil mixed habitat on church property. 7 holes playable, #2 and #3 are fundamentally not playable. #2 currently has no tee + works across the main driveway. #3 in its current form is preposterous and creates near 100% risk of disc loss. Recommended mod's to #2,3,7 and 8 noted below. Baskets excellent.
Cons: #1 Requires controlled drive, anything left is probably lost, anything right may hit a car in main lot. Also your approach spans very thick grass = more risk of disc loss. #2 Unplayable, currently no tee box + plays across the main entrance. Should be redesigned as short par 3 w/ fairway coming back parallel to #1. #3 Unplayable as is, risk of disc loss near 100% even for a pro. Alternatively one may tee from just below the existing #8 tee, creating a neat 50 yard downhill hyzer tee shot and decent par 3 w/ minimal risk of disc loss. #4 Playable but risk of disc loss on any drive that fades down slope to left (onto private property). #5 and #6 Playable though heavy grass = risk of disc loss. #7 playable IF you tee from the mowed area just beside the existing tee box (which is buried in overgrowth). #8 Playable if you tee from a mowed pathway 10 yards uphill of the totally buried tee box (this mod creates a lovely, long hyzer drive to right of the trees). #9 playable but risk of disc loss in heavy grass both left and right.
Other Thoughts: The designers deserve praise for putting great thought and effort into this promising layout. With a few tweaks as described this can become a very fine 9 hole layout with reduced disc loss. The signage is becoming good with business sponsors posted on schematic signs for most holes. Perhaps sponsors would be agreeable to a small upkeep donation (say $25 per year), payable to person who performs upkeep for that hole..... a/or sponsor might donate upkeep effort for their hole once or twice a year. With a few adjustments this can become a fine 9 hole course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Crazy Course

1    6/15/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Christofu
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout. The terrain is pretty crazy and I would have never thought of carving out a course in that location. It makes for an interesting game.
Cons: Easy to lose discs and sticker bushes in some easy to hit locations.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend having a spotter walk ahead to locate where the drives land or you WILL lose a disc.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 True to its Name

1    9/25/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 10.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The name of the course is quite descriptive. A fairly wooded course (with lots of cedars), the Cedars is very easy to locate as it's on the grounds of a church/daycare. As such, there is ample parking.

Without much additional guidance, the first tee is easy to find.

The baskets at the course are in phenomenal shape.

Specific to the course design, there is some variety to the holes. One facet of the variety is that a mix of throws is required off the tee. Additionally, there is some water in play that needs to be taken into account before you grip 'n rip. Further, there is some elevation incorporated into the fairways.
Cons: Saftey is the biggest concern at this course. The first tee is easy to find because its close to the parking lot...but the parking lot is a large part of the first half of the fairway, so you stand a good chance of hitting a car if you turnover your drive. Additionally, the next two holes flirt dangerously close to the main driveway and parking lot.

Fairways at the Cedars seemed to have unnatural lanes and incorporated excessively extreme changes in direction, including fairways that require a 180 degree turn (think hook or "J" shaped) to get from the tee to the basket. Most of the wooded lanes (remembering that most of the course is wooded) appear to be adapted from walking or ATV paths and lean more toward being described as unfair vs. tight or challenging.

Navigation is absymal. No tee signs, very, very few direction arrows for the next tee. Tee boxes on some holes and inches high tee markers on other holes make finding the next tee even more confusing. 9th fairway plays back toward previous 8 holes instead of toward the start of the course. Additionally, the basket for 3 and 7 are so close together that they could be easily confused.

The rough isn't terrible at the course, but the fairways are very unkempt and are quite rough in their own right.
Other Thoughts: I feel bad listing the cons because I know how much passion, commitment, and hard work went into creating this course. That said, everything I noted above was a detractor from the disc golf experience at this course and some of the items (first and foremost, safety) should probably be adjusted sooner rather than later.

The bones are there and the land is available for a really awesome course. I really hope that the same dedication that brough this course into existance can make some changes and fine-tune the Cedars into the wooded gem that it has the potential to be.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Course being born

1    8/1/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: tlogan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very interesting layout. This course is a good course for both left handers and right hander players. So all disc golf players have a fair chance and makes the game more interesting.
Cons: Still the course is in the progress of becoming a much better course and still a really new course so it can become a little tight in some holes with too many trees. But as time goes on it will slowly clear and mold into a much better course.
Other Thoughts: I love how challenging the course is. And its meant for both right and left handed players, But again new disc golfers and beginners who are just starting to play the course shouldnt come here their first time. This is a very techical course from the many times i played it. Also love how each hole is so different from each other and every hole has a challenge. I would really consider atleast coming here once to try it out. Its either you love the course, or its too challenging which also can make it fun. COME OUT

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course in progress

1    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 256  Reviewed: 226  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
Course does not settle for being a simple kid's course. Many holes present great challenge that will prove to be too much for new players.

Clear Gravel tees with cedar wood boxes.
Cons: Course closed during the day due to day camps and possibly tough to play while church is in session. Course is only open after 5pm and on weekends.

Course starts out with 2 dangerous holes that risk course closing complaints from the church goers. Hole 1 has tough rough to the left and the parking lot to the right. The slightest turn can send your disc directly into parked cars which are very close to the fairway. Hole 2 is a blind hyzer shot requiring you throw over the parking lot and hook back to what you think is a safe landing area.

Hole 3 is a blind shot and basket 7 is very close to basket 3 making it unclear which basket you should be shooting at.
Other Thoughts: Course is still in beginning stages, Tee signs are in the works, the fairway for hole 4 is still being altered and numerous other holes may see changes in the amount of obstacles. The largest change will be hole 9, over the next 2 years the rough on the left will be cut down and replaced by a cemetery.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.