Hudson, OH 
Hudson Springs Park Share
Uploaded By: JoseCafe704 Hole #3 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Quintessential Park-Style

1    9/20/2016   6/14/2017
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 146  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hudson Springs is the perfect every day, after work, unwind round. The course doesn't take too much concentration to score a decent round, but there are still enough challenges that keep you from getting bored. Its design does a great job of meeting the aim of what I'm sure it was meant to be: a park-style course that accommodates different levels of players. While the course is mostly on the shorter end, there are still a couple holes over 400-500' that give big arms a chance to open up. In addition to the long, open holes, accuracy is tested with multiple wooded shots as well.

It's set in a pretty, well-maintained, and large park. The first several holes mostly consists of shorter, ace and birdie run holes that incorporate the elevation of the gently rolling hills in different ways and play through patches of trees. Hole 8 and on opens things up a little bit with some longer holes. Not that you're not already having fun, but 12 is where it really starts to get interesting and steps the course up a level. I really enjoyed the wooded holes from 12-16, which do a great job offering different looks through tight paths. No two of these feel the same, which nicely adds to the variety.

Hole 12 is one of the highlights for sure, which has a stream snaking through its fairway and you have to hit a specific landing zone. You also throw from a tight space, into the open, and back into the woods. I love holes like this that are diverse from tee to basket.

A couple of smaller details that add to the course: OB and mando's on a hole or two, streams that threaten on a few holes but aren't too scary, new and detailed tee signs, and many well-protected pin positions.
Cons: Not a huge problem, but one detractor for me is that a lot of the course plays close to other activity and rarely do you feel secluded during the round - something I look for while I'm playing new courses. The main road is near a couple of holes, and the park road is right next to a couple of others. I also had to play around two different sports teams that were training in the park. I did play in the afternoon on a week day right around when school lets out, so keep that in mind when timing your round.

There are a few times in the beginning when two/three baskets are in sight and it's not initially clear which one is for which hole.

While the front 9 is fun and designed well for what it is meant to be, it's very straight-forward. Great for beginners but not much to offer for more experienced players.
Other Thoughts: I came here after playing Sunny Lake for the first time, so I joyfully accepted the style of round Hudson Springs offers. It's a fun, casual round that avoids becoming too boring or monotonous. Quintessential, above-average, park-style golf. I teetered between giving it a 3.0 and 3.5. The front 9 is fun, but too straight-forward to give it a higher rating. Still, definitely a fun round to play because it gives a nice variety through all 18 holes, and I can see players of many different levels enjoying certain aspects of this course. A classic in the area that compliments nearby Sunny Lake well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hudson Springs

5+    10/15/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: Meesta_Bleesta
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads and decent signage on all holes

-Good variety of shot types needed

-Pretty easy to find and navigate for the most part

-Practice basket and restrooms at the main parking lot, which is revisited for a perfect loop between holes 9 and 10
Cons: - Baskets as of Oct. 2013 are in poor shape. All are rusted and can cause spit-outs. Still playable but definitely due for an upgrade, which I heard might be happening soon, but who knows.

-Holes 10 and 18 are pretty close to a often busy playground

-Hole 17 is really close to an often busy walking path

-Hole 1 is really close to the main parking lot, if the wind catches your disc wrong or if you just throw badly you could hit somebody's car

-Some uninspired holes - for instance, 10 and 11 are basically the same thing twice in a row, and 18 is just a wide open 675 footer.
Other Thoughts: I like the feel of this course: it can be a quick round if you want it to be, and it's good for what it is. It's like an old Corolla; worn in and by no means flashy, but reliable, and gets the job done. Maybe it has a hubcap missing, but that doesn't mean it doesn't work.

The front nine are generally really short, around 250' or less, and utilize moderate elevation. The back nine are longer and mostly wooded, with more technical lines available. My personal favorite is probably hole 4 - about 250 feet, but downhill and with trees directly in your path to the basket, forcing you to throw either a big hyzer, a big anhyzer, or a roller - any can be played with similar effectiveness. Huge arms only really get to stretch out on a few, like holes 8 and 18 - relatively open, and 500+ feet. Altogether, you're gonna have some straight shots, some big right-hand shots, some big left-hand shots, some tight windows, some ups and some downs and some trees. I wouldn't qualify any of it unfair, but it can be challenging at times.

As mentioned above, this is a multi-use park with a playground relatively nearby for a couple of holes - which is especially busy during the summer. It doesn't usually limit play, though, just a tad too close for comfort. The walking path near 17 can hold up play on busy days for a couple of minutes if you don't want to risk nailing somebody in the face.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hornet Radiator

1    7/12/2013   7/24/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 528  Reviewed: 369  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two 9-hole loops. Excellent blend of tech-light (primarily front nine), open bombing (part of back nine), and woodwork (newest holes on re-designed back nine).

Excellent long-n-wide concrete teepads, a major improvement.
Cons:
"Tee X too close to Basket Y" is something that applies to several holes.

Navigation is fairly straight forward, but note:
- most visible basket from tee-1 is basket-8 (basket-1 is left, hidden by tree)
- most visible tee from basket-1 is tee-3 (tee-2 is to left, near road)
- most visible basket from tee-10 is basket-18 (basket-10 to left, near treeline)

Some might find the highway noise distracting.
Other Thoughts:
Courses plays on the gently rolling land of a pretty public park that backs up to I80. Beginner/intermediate appropriate, while advanced players should have plenty of birdie opportunities. Minor elevation changes on most every hole. The front nine is on the lighter-technical side, with plenty of small trees, mini-forest, and elevation changes to force shot-shaping, although only #8, open until the end, has much length to it. The back nine is longer, with about half the holes open, as long as you don't go too far left too early. The newer holes, 13-17, are the best, with 13-16 twisting through large hardwoods, and favourite number-17 heading downslope, while turning right, and funneling towards the finish.

Very convenient for a traveller to play - close to the interstate, food/petrol options nearby, easy to navigate, low chance of disc loss, good variety, quick to play, pleasant surroundings - certainly worth a visit if passing by.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hudson Haven

1    8/10/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 50  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Good mix of holes and shots required
~Diverse layout
~Well maintained and clean
~Nice baskets
~Great flow, easy navigation
~Plenty of benches, tables and trash cans
~Hole 1 thru 9 & 10 thru 18 loops
~Practice basket with picnic table
Cons:
~Existing concrete tee pads are tiny squares
~Natural tee pads are rough
~Signage needs to be updated
~Numerous holes are dangerously close to non-disc activities and roads
Other Thoughts:
Played a mid-morning round and the park was popping with lots of people enjoying the outdoors. Awesome park with playgrounds, walking trails and a huge scenic lake. Parking is close to the start and end of the course. The front nine is relatively short with fences, roads, and numerous trees providing a lot of tight, technical throws creating much risk and reward. Low gap throws are offered throughout the course, but each hole has a clearly defined path. The tees and signage both need to be updated, these improvements would easily up my rating. Holes 12 through 17 are all amazing to throw. The new wooded section is nicely cleared and groomed and should improve over time. It's about a 45 minute drive for me, but I would have no problem coming back again and again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.