Greenville, NC 
East Carolina University Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 172ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Beautiful Layout

1    9/21/2021   10/21/2021
Review By: lee76007
Played: 78  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 2.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A flat course that meanders thru moderate pine trees and a minority of other trees. The course is set on East Carolina University Property and has a 19th hole. Theirs water in play on the last two holes.

-Beautiful landscape course within the top 5 of courses I've played. The fairways, rough, and a few sand traps on hole 12 will remind you of a ball course. Some fairways are doglegs and will give you another impression of a ball course. Pine trees offer over hanging branches to keep your attention on shot selection. Fairways when try are firm and the fallen pine needles will offer some fun skip bounces.

-Hole 19 the only open hole from tee to basket can be brutally windy. The wind thru the pines on the previous 18 holes can be felt thru the pine trees and comes into play.

-Tee's are concrete and in good shape. Holes 5 and 6 have elevated tees in the open of about 4 feet in height. Hole 6 has the only alt. tee pad that is flat. Most tees have no gaps to hit.

-Baskets catch well! Baskets are strategically placed on the other side of doglegs; some have tree guardians to help provide difficulty. Baskets can be difficult to reach for a birdie and are the dominating factor on the course. There are alt. basket placements on some holes. #4 is placed on a knoll and is a roller, I two putted.

-Tee signs are outstanding in school colors of purple and gold. Posted is par, distance, map, and hole number.

-Navigation is counterclockwise with tee signs showing next tee. You shouldn't have a navigation problem. Tees are easy to spot from played basket.

-Beginners and Recreational may find themselves doing very well on the course, its fair play. Intermediate and Advance players the challenge will be to navigate the pine trees for birdie chances.

Cons: -Holes 1 thru 17 from tee to basket is repetitive. I found no "wow" hole, but that doesn't mean it wasn't challenging or fun. You're teeing off for the most part easily trying to fly your way past pines to reach well placed baskets.

-Other than for cosmetics I don't see a purpose for the sand around both pin placements on #12. The sand reaches out past C1, and IMO to give a purpose I would cut it down to C1 and apply a penalty stroke for missed putts in C1, that would get your focus on a putt.

-That brings us to the sand on 12, the elevated tees on 5 and 6, and the roller on 4. IMO there their to enhance the course which is needed for those who find the course repetitive. But doesn't take the fun away from those holes.

-I had track the course for several months prior to playing it, and after any heavy rain, sustained rain, and tropical storms it severely floods!! I've seen photos of where portions were under water earlier this year. I wouldn't make any special trips during the winter months.

-Lost disc potential only on 18 and 19, anywhere else will be on you.

Other Thoughts: Prior to playing East Carolina I thought there was the potential to favorite the course with a higher rating, but it just didn't happen. The well-placed baskets were difficult to reach on most holes, but that tee to basket experience just wasn't there for myself. Close up the tees, and I think it could be a different playing experience. I enjoyed the beauty of the course, its well taken care of by the park staff and provided a pleasant walking experience from 1st tee to 19th basket. I think the highlight of the round was watching my disc sail past and thru pines trying to reach baskets.

With the beautiful landscape of the course, some well placed baskets, and buzzing thru the pines my rating is anchored on a 4.5. My round snapping some pictures took 1 hour.

Notable Basket Placement:

No. 11 from the tee 340 feet is a bowing dog leg right from the open into some heavy trees where the basket is located deep into the trees with some canopy hard to reach. This was my favorite basket placement.

Notable Hole:

No. 19 Par 3 at 471 feet is open from tee to basket. There is water all along the right side, but the tee is angled away from it, and you would have to screw it up to find yourself in the water, unless you have a big arm to reach the green. From the tee its wide open to about 250 feet and the fairway angles back towards the basket. There are guardian trees on the right to give the basket some protection, but the 250 should get you past it. Just outside of C1 is the water to the right and a roller into it. Some bushes behind basket as well. If the wind is blowing provides more difficulty! When I played the hole wind was about 15 mph and coming at me right shoulder. The hole is totally different than the previous 18 holes.

Signature Hole:

No. 15 Par 3 at 416 feet is one of the few gaps you must hit off the tee. About 150 feet out are two trees in the middle part of the fairway with 25 feet in between them. To the left another tree a little way up fairway is another tree with a 50-foot gap. Doesn't sound to hard but off tee is a tree on both sides about 20 feet out with over hanging branches having to keep it low and difficult to reach that left gap out in the fairway. The basket is tucked away on the right, behind a group of very large trees making a direct reach difficult or even an approach. Around C1 front and to the right looked like rose bushes not in bloom, and I would imagine quite scenic. The hole IMO is the most scenic with difficulty and represents the course to its fullest potential.

Trouble Hole:

No.18 Par 3 at 359 feet is straight away from tee to basket leaving the woods to the open and into the wind. Straight away at about 200 feet are two dominating trees with canopy spread out with a 50-foot gap between them, but not much room to offer with extended branches. Off the tee to the left is canopy sticking out, to the right is a wide to the right to reach basket or if you have the arm and up and over the trees in front of you that are at least 40 feet high. You feel boxed in at the tee. The basket in the open sits just 15 feet on the other side of a T-intersection that are drainage ditches for when the course floods and empties into the lake along side #19. The ditches are about 3 feet deep and when I played just a few inches of muddy water. After a heavy rain those ditches could be flooded or full, and likely lost disc. Don't forget about the wind! I hit the tree on the left, and wind took me hanging on the edge of the ditch to the right.



9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Visit!

5+    7/26/2017   7/28/2017
Review By: schultzbk
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a well-designed course with tended fairways and even "greens" around the pins. Virtually no underbrush, so you don't get punished for errant discs like you do on other courses. A good mix of long, let-it-rip holes, as well as technical shots (e.g., tight hallway or dogleg shots). Overall, just a good, fun course.
Cons: It is eastern NC, so there is no elevation to speak of. Given that it is so flat, wind can be an issue.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course more than any other and it is a good "home" course for me. Better players might appreciate greater challenge, but for what it is, you can't beat it. Definitely check it out if you are ever in the area.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Stunning - Gets better every time

5+    5/6/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: anhyzer09
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 6/7/2017
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Typically flat for this area of the state. The fairways are coming in so nicely and dare I say "golf course-esque" on some of the holes. Alternate pin placements dramatically change the holes. A good mix of longer shaped shots, all out bombs and great placement approach/mid-range. It's on the only course in the area like it, undoubtedly.

I don't believe there to be an updated picture of the course on here. It's really beautiful.
Cons: Not the best for an all out beginner as the wind and length could be an issue. The water is also an issue on some throws. For the most part, there isn't too much danger.

Closed at night - otherwise it would be an amazing course to play glow on.
Other Thoughts: I think the course could venture towards championship caliber with a couple more pin placements and the addition of some OB, like dry lakes or roped fairways. The use of the edged landscaping could also be used in that fashion.

Looks like with the addition of ECU having a club team, they are making some adjustments. I know the future has them adding softball fields, but I often wonder if there isn't another 9 holes that could be created out there? A championship 27 hole course would be great!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 ECU

1    5/15/2016   5/15/2016
Review By: Balzac
Played: 76  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 19.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - First of all this course is located in a large recreational complex built by the university. Lots of other activities available: kayaking, soccer fields, sand volleyball, but even so the disc golf course is well separated from these. There is a nice bath house close to the parking lot.
- Overall course feels very open but there are strategically placed trees on many holes that keep it interesting and make you use different shots
- Nice tee pads
- A few holes have beautiful manicured fairways and greens
- Nice little lake next to hole 18
Cons: - Some holes missing signs
- This may seem nitpicky but I like the front nine better than the back nine and wish the course played in reverse
- The water in the ditch that runs along the course is muddy, foul smelling, and a bad place to lose a disc
- Very flat, although not unusual in this part of the state
Other Thoughts: - Very different than West Meadowbrook and the other courses I have played in eastern North Carolina
- Hole 2 may very well be my favorite hole on any course that I have played; that being said there are several holes that just seem like filler
- Seems well thought out
- Well worth your time if you are in the area

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ECUDG

1    4/7/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: Rmldchi
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the best maintained courses that you will ever play. Good set up for technical back handed, side armed and rollers.Tee boxes are concrete pads and chains/baskets are in great shape.
Cons: Might need more then just one par four on the back nine. Multiple holes are 400 feet plus that are par 3's. This course gets that much tougher when its windy since it is so flat (almost like playing St.Andrews in Scotland).
Other Thoughts: Different course from winter to summer... some of the trees when fully bloomed make it extremely difficult to navigate.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous!

2-4    11/3/2013   11/7/2013
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 89  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2014
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- Beautiful course which you can tell is well cared for. The pics of the course on this page are extremely outdated. The grass is impeccably manicured; on most holes it seemed like we were playing on a ball golf course fairway -- if not the green! Played in November when the leaves were falling and with the cotton fields next to the course in full-bloom, this course is something right out of a Norman Rockwell painting. It really is that nice. Extremely clean, too.

- Great layout that is easy to navigate. Once you see the pin, the next hole is relatively obvious. The designers even made good use of the drainage ditches by enlisting them to make "water holes" on the back 9, but they're more just obstacles to work around or fly over vice an actual threat. The course also offers a nice variety of hole types: L to R, R to L, wooded, open, tight, long, short....it's got something to appeal to everyone wanting to practice all types of shots.

- New baskets & new, concrete tee boxes. No chance of slippage there and the baskets are very forgiving. Signs on the tees are very helpful as some of the baskets can't be easily seen from the tee. Tee signs also direct you to the next hole, which is nice if you're new to the course.

- For a par 3 course (the only exception is 18 which is labeled a par 4), this course will definitely test your mettle. There are easily 7 holes that could legitimately marked as par 4s, and would be if they were placed on other courses. It's challenging.

- Parking was plentiful when we first got there, but filled up pretty quickly while we played due to some function at ECU. There was still plenty of room left though so you shouldn't have a problem finding a spot.

- NO TRAFFIC. I don't know if disc golf hasn't taken off at ECU yet, but we literally saw only two other groups on the course the whole time we were out there, and we played it twice.
Cons:
- Wind. With it being so wide open the gales that blow through there can wreak havoc on your shots. Wasn't too awful bad when we played, but I can see it getting fairly ridiculous.

- Finding #1 can be a bit of a hassle for those new to the course. For one, UDisc doesn't have a clue where the coordinates to the course are. Second, when you get to the rec complex there's a couple signs, but nothing to tell you where to begin. Had to spot a basket, park, figure out which pin it was, then work backwards. Didn't take long since the pin we saw was #17 and used a little deductive reasoning to figure it out. After we got to #1 tee it seemed obvious though. And there was a map of the entire course there we snapped a picture of to keep our bearings during our first round.

- Short tees. They're concrete and solid, but they're really short and tapered, which I thought was a little strange. Not much of a run-up is available for those who need/want one.

- No restrooms on the course. None that I remember seeing, anyway. Kinda sucks for the ladies, but I have no compunction about watering the trees. However, if you're on the #12 tee and your IBS goes to DEFCON 2, you'd better start making your way to the nearest tree post-haste and pray for big leaves because there's no WAY you're making it to the bathroom before your b-hole starts it's best impression of the Bellagio.

- No alcohol OR smoking is allowed on the course. Not too big a deal, but worth mentioning. Didn't stop somebody though because we found a few Miller Lite cans around the course. Not many, but you can tell that somebody was giving the finger to The Man during an earlier session.

- No elevation changes to speak of with the exception of #4 basket, but it's eastern North Carolina....whaddaya want?

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts:
I really can't decide if this course is a 4.5 or just a 4. I'm giving it a 4 just because of my inexperience. It is TRULY a gem of a course in Greenville. If you're planning on making a trip through there, you owe it to yourself to check out this course. It's definitely worth your time. Verily I say unto you: PLAY THIS COURSE! You won't regret it.

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Windy City

1    7/31/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 179  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 11.4 Years
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Layout - It's an interesting course that gives you a different look than most NC courses. It's basically a big flat field with some newer 30-40ft tall sparse but clustered trees growing in.

The course weaves through the area and does a pretty good job of creating lines despite there being no defined fairway. Although due to the shorter tree height you have a ton of freedom in deciding how to approach holes.

The basket locations here are pretty well placed which helps add some difficulty. A lot of them are guarded by a few trees and forces a certain route in to the green. There's also a few baskets near an OB creek and one on a small knoll.

The thing that really adds to the difficulty here is the wind which I was told is usually kicking pretty well. It turns some more routine shorter shots near the edges of the course in to much tougher endeavors.

There's one pad and on some holes I believe alternate positions were recently installed.

A really good mixture of holes in terms of length. Only one par 4 at the end but some nice long par 3's that'll challenge your ability shape a disc over distance and deal with wind.

The finishing hole is awesome. It's pretty open with a few trees spotted in by the basket but it's guarded by a pond on the right all the way up. Really beautiful hole.

Equipment - Nice large trapezoid and concrete pads. Decently done signage with distance and hole layout on it. Course map at the beginning.

Atmosphere - It's a newer park and in really good condition right now. Some of holes have a lot of visual appeal. Didn't appear to be a course in danger of being crowded but I'm not a local.

It's in an area of the park that looks to be used strictly for disc golf. It does border some soccer fields but they didn't appear to be in use.
Cons: Layout - The biggest con here is that a lot of the holes kind of blend together. There's no real mixture in terms of the landscape.

Also because the trees are still growing you can currently throw over a lot of stuff. I threw a lot of big hyzers and that got kind of boring.

There's some throwaway short holes mixed in, especially considering the ability to throw over.

Some of the baskets are maybe to well guarded by clumps of trees. I had several 20' putts with branches in my face.

No real elevation at all, it's mostly all flat.

I feel like the course could of been setup better than it was to put in some nice longer par 4's and take out some of the more mundane shots.

Equipment - I believe alternate pin placements have been put in but the signs don't show those so we got confused on some. That's annoying. No benches.

Atmosphere - It doesn't give you a secluded feeling even though you're kinda in the middle of nowhere. I wish the scenery would switch up more than it did.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that needs to age just because the trees are still growing. It'll play way differently in a few years and I'd like to come back and see it then.

As of now it has some really great holes that are a lot of fun for me as a big arm, though at the same time some of the shorter ones become menial.

With this one I'm more at 2.75 but because it's a really nice facility that looks to be maintained really well and the prospect of future tree growth adding some new aspects I'm bumping it up to a 3.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

5+    12/18/2012   12/21/2012
Review By: Dr. Bret Wickstrom
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2014
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Super clean and well kept/groomed.. BEAUTIFUL!
-Lots of long holes to really throw for distance
-A few water hazards that are fun but with easier retrieval because of the shallow and clear water. Unless you go to deep into the pond on the right of hole 18
-Seems to keep a classier crowd.
-A decent amount of variety from hole to hole
-They have free color maps & score cards at the first hole!
-There is a huge tent/pavilion at the start of the course with a grill and picnic benches
-Small gazebo in the middle of the course (which was great because as luck would have it, it started raining right when we got there. So it was nice to have a place to keep dry until it stopped.
-Very nice to have a paved parking lot WITH CAMERAS! So I feel safer than at some other parks.
-Lots of benches and areas to sit if you need
-Currently some AWESOME good Samaritan has left a long PVC pipe with a hand rake nailed to the end for easy disc retrieval. This was well appreciated when my wife's disc got taken by the wind and into the "creek" that runs parallel to the fairway. Thank you, who ever you are. You saved our disc!
Cons: -The overall layout of the course does tend to wander back and forth a bit so some of the holes seem a touch too familiar. I.e. you have to cross a stream on 16 and then turn around, go back across it and use it again for hole 17.
-Even though the course is clean so there isn't a lot of debris there are a few holes that still have a lot of trees right in front of the tee as though there is no true fairway. It's not real bad because the area around the trees is still clean especially because they are older pines typically so their isn't a lot of underbrush. It's just that there doesn't seem to be a fairway or any way to make a planned approach.
-A few holes are can be hard to find but not bad overall
-Not a LOT of trash cans even though there seem to be enough right now
-Look for ants before you grab for your disc in some areas.
Other Thoughts: -Be aware that if you are advanced enough to know how to use different discs for upwind/downwind conditions you will likely be able to take advantage of those discs here. Because of the distance of many of the holes and the location of the park (outside of town in a more open geographical area, the wind can pick up more that in other local area.
-The place is practically brand new and it's great to be able to take advantage of such a beautiful park paid for by high tuition for ECU students for free!
-Not a LOT of trash cans even though there seem to be enough right now but as mention previously, the no tobacco, alcohol, or pets rule does make for a better potential experience (depending on who you are I guess). But I agree that it is nice not to look at a trash can filled with forties at every hole.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: Tripper
Played: 174  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.5 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very clean. Easy to navigate. Good mix of shots required. Benches and/or trash cans on most holes.
Other Thoughts: Coming from Raleigh not used to so much wind.
After the recent rain there was casual water on many holes.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/14/2012   3/22/2012
Review By: Oruatyrim
Played: 67  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Very clean course- Maintained by local club and ECU groundskeepers. Trash cans at most teepads makes it easy for even the litterbugs to be clean.
*Concrete pads and well marked signs-Very easy to navigate through the course, no question at where any of the holes are from the tee box. Finding the next tee was never a problem either. They also have printed out course maps and scorecards at the first Tee!
*Variety of distances-Front 9 is a great way to warm up for the bombers on the back 9.
*Good amount of people-Has enough people on it usually to make sure it stays maintained, but not too many that you'll run into everyone during your round.
Cons: *Holes seem repetitive-There is only so much that can be done on flat land. In fact hole 6 and 7 seem like almost the exact same shot.
*Some of the trees are still new and growing- This will help shape the course differently in the future, but for now, some of the holes are similar.
*College campus rules-While I don't drink or smoke, I do like to bring my dogs out with me. The ban of those 3 does make it an inconvenience to people who normally can do those things while playing Disc Golf.
Other Thoughts: All in all it's a great and fun course. There aren't many cons about this course other than it's new and still developing. It has come a long way in the short time it has been in existence. I love the warm-up holes on the front 9 to get ready for the bombs on the back 9. Hole 18 has claimed more than a few discs from golfers; but it adds to the challenge. There are future plans for the Sports complex which include the addition of a parking lot between holes 17 and 18's fairways which will add OB on both the left and right side of 18's fairway. It's nice that they put up another course after removing the Old ECU course, adding to the variety of courses available in the Greenville area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.