Cullman, AL 
Heritage DGC Share
Uploaded By: RedHotCujo Hole #16 (Taken 8/2012)
4 / 535ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Fun Rec Course

1    9/4/2017   11/2/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 192  Reviewed: 152  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.374 Rating) Heritage is your typical city park set-up.
- ACEABILITY - (15 and 16) are going to have rec players eyeing the chains. Both shot are sub 200 feet and are completely open. There is lots of OB on these two holes to add at least something to the thought process though. In addition to the before mentioned holes, there are lots of other short ace runs, and this course will probably produce 3 or 4 times more aces than an average course.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Ideal for beginners and those at the recreational skill level. Mostly open to lightly wooded shots and of shorter length. The wooden holes a generally much wider than what you'd see at an advanced level course, but there also a couple tighter challenging holes to push players to achieve more.
- UNIQUENESS - About average. There are a bunch of short technical plays that bend in both directions. As mentioned earlier, several short wide open ace runs. There are a couple open bomb-it holes. There is a small creek that meanders through a couple holes and a few ditches in play that will impact your thought process on a hole or two. Hole (12) is a long technical play when in the long position. As for missing items, they include no elevation (see cons), no par 5 and no dogleg hole.
- NAVIGATION - Solo, first time and no map, and I really didn't have many issues. I probably spent no more than 1 minute looking for a next tee on any one hole. I'll also add that the brand new hole signage looks great, appears accurate, gives hole distance, shows large font hole #, but... it's missing the next tee direction cue.
- QUICK PLAY - It only took me 45 minutes to run this one. Figure a group of 4 should be able to knock this one out in 2 hours or less.
- MAINTENANCE - I thought the course conditions were very good. There appears to be some disagreement on this in the reviews I've read. Grass was mowed throughout and trash was in check on my visit.
- BONUS HOLES - I've seen online sources mention 4 bonus holes labeled A thru D. I only found hole (D) as it filled the gap between (16 and 17).
- TEES - Adequately sized concrete tees.
Cons: Heritage has a few of your typical issues that seem to almost always be associated with multi-use parks.
- DUEL-USE HAZARDS - Lots of walking pathways and a few roads in play. I had to stop several times during my round. I also had to alter my play on (8) with people sitting on a bench 300 feet down fairway. Lots of dog walkers in the park whom gave no care that they were in the middle of a fairway.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Way too easy for advanced players and above. I could see these players shooting 10 down or better on a regular basis. As mentioned, there are a few technical plays, but most are wide enough for skilled players to park it often. Hole (12) long basket placement and hole (D) were the only holes that made me struggle to make par as an intermediate level player.
- ELEVATION - About as flat as they come. Maybe hole (8) drops by about 10 feet with the tee on top of a mound. The amount of elevation on the remaining holes is not worth noting.
- CHARACTER - Amenities and comfort items were about average or a touch below. I didn't see a course map on site or community board or practice basket. I only saw one or two benches at the tees and there was no place to stow a bag. As for good things, new tee signs, lots of nearby shelters with picnic tables and restrooms nearby.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - I did not score Heritage well. Too many man-made structures in view, from chain link fences to sheds to parking lots and roads. Several of the woods holes have a bit of eye appeal to them but it's not substantial enough to bring the totality of the course back to average.
Other Thoughts: From reading a bunch of reviews and looking at the DGCR pics and my pics, this course definitely got an update in the last year or so. Heritage is the right size of course to support a club and to have league events. I'd happily call this place my home course if I lived in town. Not a destination course but worth checking out once you've hit 10 to 20 north Alabama courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Cullman of courses

1    8/16/2017   8/16/2017
Review By: wericsson
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete teepads, quality signage, Mach III baskets in good shape. Pretty simple to navigate.
Cons: The "woodsy" holes are mostly wide open shots straight ahead in the 175-225 foot range. "Shot selection" basically means point at the basket in those cases. The open holes are all nearly fields, and their lengths, with about one and a half exceptions, are all still short, especially for field holes. D was the only supernumerary hole I was able to locate, but I went with it, since it took me straight to the next numbered hole in sequence.

Everything you read about the park's otherwise decent maintenance is false within fifteen feet of water - the ditch on eight is especially egregious.

The non-playing traffic was somewhat more of a nuisance here than anywhere else - my lies were moved twice in one round, despite not being anywhere near the walking trail.
Other Thoughts: I'm told this course was redesigned in the past few years. I can't imagine the original.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course to take your kids and wife.

1    8/13/2016   8/13/2016
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 409  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great baskets with newly poured teepads and good signage. Located in a well maintained city park. Hole 12 was a really good disc golf hole.
Cons: Very repetitive. So many short RH Flick shots in the woods I can't remember them all. One hole would not be playable during soccer games as it uses the soccer field as a fairway. I noticed several mando thru the wooded holes that may not be necessary. The route for a 160' wooded hole was plenty wide enough if a player decides to take a huge hyzer over the walking path thru a bunch of trees, well they get what they get.

I never did see holes A, B, and C.
Other Thoughts: Wasn't much room to put a course in, but they squeezed 18 holes in. Unfortunately, not much of a challenge that will bring players back.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 UPDATE - 6/2015

5+    5/31/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: Wademade1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 40.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners to teach people the game of disc golf and get them hooked on playing. The city does a fantastic job of maintaining this course along with the Cullman Clubs. Tee pads on the new holes have been poured.

Pin positions have changed on most holes and is now much more challenging than before when in alternate or long pins. Excellent use of the land for this course. Great design for those just wanting to learn. The super long or extremely technical courses often discourage beginning players. And I personally feel this is a great mix for people to get out and enjoy the game.

Holes have been added to take out having to play across fields when there is soccer or other activities going on. The old 4,5,6 and 16 are now A,B,C & D and can be played as additional holes.

Additional holes have been added on the back side near the dog park to provide 18 holes of play.
Cons: Would love to see benches added to the holes and updated tee signs. New players may not know direction to 17 & 18 since there is a bot of a walk across the soccer fields (hole D old 16).

If you do throw into dog park or ball fields for some crazy reason, there is no easy access into the fields from outside when fields are not in use.
Other Thoughts: Hole 7 along the creek and road could use stepping stones or a foot bridge to cross the creek when the pin is on the parking lot side. Hole 12 going into the woods really needs a bridge or bridges over the two small drainage areas that have a ton of water and are always muddy. Overall great course for regular play with a good selection of shots and ace runs. Fun course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Heritage Park Cullman, Alabama

5+    2/6/2015   2/6/2015
Review By: s graham
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The Heritage Disc Golf Club takes pride in their course and work very hard to always change and update when needed. This course has new hole placement making it a challenging and fun course.
Cons: Water drainage on some holes makes it muddy after a rain. Dress accordingly. You may be digging disc out of water in a ditch.
Other Thoughts: This has always been one of my favorite courses. When I began playing this was an easy beginner course. Recently they have redesigned the course to avoid other activities in the park. By changing the hole placement it has become a challenging course. Awesome course to play.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/20/2014   7/31/2014
Review By: Pbrice
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park, well manicured.
Concrete tee pads.
Well marked and easy to navigate.
Restroom facilities available.
Plenty of trash cans spread through out the park.
OB gives this course nice technical challenge.
Cons: It is a sports complex that can be crowded with nongolfers.
Some holes can be unplayable with certain events held at the park.
Hole 8 is played in a narrow strip between the parking lot and road. For those who care, it can be nerve racking to throw, because of the possibility of hitting parked cars.
Holes 1,2,3,17,18 Are very similar.
Other Thoughts: This course has a couple holes marked par 4, and they are straight shot with nothing technical about them. These are easily par 3 at any other course. The Cullman disc league does play these holes as par 3. They also make hole 15 a mandatory island shot, which is really fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Easy

1    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 81  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a quick and fun course that basically runs along the perimeter of a beautiful park (counter clockwise). This is likely the shortest/easiest course I have ever played but it is still a very enjoyable course due to its layout and design. The course has a good blend of wooded and open holes. Also, there are some long holes on the course so you can't just take a mid-range. Navigating this course is very easy due to the tee signs and next hole signs. Every hole has a sign and a concrete pad. Probably the best thing about this course is not that it is so easy but instead how many chances you have to score an ace. Over half the course is made up of extremely short and accessible holes, so enjoy.
Cons: This course's Pros are also its Cons. Because it is such a short and easy course, it will not challenge even intermediate players. The signs on the course are acceptable, however many hole distances posted are inaccurate and should be taken with a grain of salt. Some holes cross parts of a soccer field so I could see this posing a problem if games are in progress.
Other Thoughts: There should be a sign to point players to the first hole from the parking lot.
NOTE: park by the farthest right gate entrance and turn right onto the walking/running track, the first hole is by a covered bench pavilion in the woods.
This is a quick play so if you have never played here, then stop by since it right off the interstate.
I enjoyed playing here, but will probably only return to play some ace race with friends.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but Fun Heritage Park

1    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: the_matthew
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very easily navigated by first-timers due to good signs and very well kept. They were trimming the grass even as I was playing. Expect a low score and a boosted self-esteem, because I think I could throw even par LH. The challenge of this course is #8, where the fairway is a ditch next to a parking lot and its width is about 100 ft across with OB on either side in the road or parking lot. All in all a cool course that's great to play if you want an active day and happen to be around Cullman.
Cons: This course is SHORT. Hole 16 is marked 783 ft. So either the sign is reeeeeally wrong and it plays about 540, or I'm more of a beast than I know. Since the first is much more likely, this course is by far the shortest I've played.
Other Thoughts: Honestly, it isn't too much of a complaint that I'm even saying it's a short course. I'm a par player, and maybe a couple under on a good day. I shot 6 under almost effortlessly. So if you're in the area and are itching to play, then this is still a great course. Don't get me wrong, the course is beautiful and fun, just pretty short. Experienced players will find no trouble at all here in Heritage.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice park, mediocre course

1    6/9/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 135  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a new, unique course. It features solid DGA baskets and holes that go in and out of a wooded area of a park. Here is a list of the main pros:

*Good use of available land. The course is not confined to a tiny space. Instead the fairways take you around a very nice park with lots to do besides disc golf.

*Several shots off the tee bring potential OB areas into play, making the golfer decide whether they should play it safe and trust their putts or go for it (usually for an ace run!)

*18 holes!

*Half the course is wooded, half is open allowing for an okay mix of holes
Cons: I rarely give 18 hole courses a 2.5 rating, but there were a lot of things that fell in the "cons" category at this one:

*Distances are not challenging in the wooded holes whatsoever. Other courses have wooded holes are short because they demand challenging lines to be hit. Not the case here. They are all just wide enough that you can pick your favorite shot and run an ace at them (around 180 feet apiece)

*Hole 10 is very bad. It is wildly short and completely wide open. I think it was about 110.

*Signs here are nondescript, or sometimes inaccurate. One of the holes was listed as 783' or something, and it really is about 550' at most (or maybe i can throw 650 ft!!!!)

*Not isolated from the park at all... brings baseball fields, soccer fields, and paths into play. leads to some significant safety issues as well as the loss of the "isolation factor" that I personally enjoy in a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: Don't go out of your way to play this one, but Heritage Park is a quick fun 18 hole course that is worth playing if you are in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet course

1    12/30/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: frogtown_corey
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great new course. Level solid tee pads and proper signage on each hole. Nothing too terribly challenging about it. Signature Monroe designed course. Very nice place.
Cons: A few holes could be re designed namely 8. YOu have to either be damn accurate or lucky to land on the green and not end up OB. Some of the front nine could be lengthened a bit. Too many holes bellow two hundred feet.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the drive to the middle of nowhere to play this course. Good course for novice to intermediate players. I will surely be back.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.