College Park, MD 
Calvert Road Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
5 / 365ft.   5 / 442ft.   5 / 442ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
great for beginners and practice rounds

1    7/18/2017   7/18/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 88  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great variety given the (lack of) terrain.
- Multiple tee pads on every hole.
- Great for a quick round.
- Beginner friendly.
Cons: - Short and flat.
- Fairways overlap in places.
- Does not drain well and will be wet in places if it has rained recently.
Other Thoughts: Calvert is a fun course. Surprisingly so when you look at what they had to work with. The course is flat and short. I see some reviews describe this course as wooded, but I would describe it more as a park style course. There are never a lot of trees on any given hole, but the ones that are there always seem to be perfectly placed to provide a little extra challenge or to force a different shot. Again, given how flat and open this course is, the variety is impressive.
It's an older course, built before high speed drivers were available. At some point long tees were added. In my experience, when long tees are added to a shorter course the longs are rarely as good as the original design, but in this case I think it was well done. The biggest issue is that it increase the amount of overlapping fairways, which is already an issue.
Overall, I think it's a solid course. I find myself throwing a variety of shots, including the occasional roller. There are short ace runs and some longer holes as well. It's very beginner friendly. The short tees will be playable for anyone, and there is really nowhere to worry about losing a disc. It also makes for a quick round.
As other have mentioned, there are many, many mandatories marked on trees throughout the park. Following the advice from a previous review, I typically will ignore the ones painted in white only (there are a lot of these. However, the mandos marked with black and orange are important from a safety perspective, and should always be used.
The biggest issue with the park is that with so many holes packed into a small area, there are a lot of fairways that play right alongside each other or that overlap in places (especially from the long tees). This can be a bit of a safety concern and can lead to some backups if the course is busy. Other than that, though, I think it's a great park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I'll be back

1    8/30/2015   8/30/2015
Review By: deadheadmon
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets are all in great shape on this course, as are the signs and directional aids. You can tell the designers tried to make the most of the space alloted to them.
Cons: As others have mentioned, the course is basically flat and the holes are pretty short. It's not going to blow anyone's mind and isn't super challenging, but the shots still need to be thrown and puts need to be made.
Other Thoughts: I recently moved to the area and this is the closest course to where I live. Despite the issues this is a fun little course that I will be happy to play as often as I can. A "meh" disc golf course is better than lots of other ways to spend your time!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Historic Gem

5+    5/23/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: HawaiiJack
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: User friendly pars. Compact layout.
Cons: Poor drainage. High density of casual park users.
Other Thoughts:
There are a bewildering number of mandos and only locals seem to know which are "active". Some are only a few feet off the tee pad and all can be safely ignored as their primary purpose was to create variety. Multiple tee pads create more diversity than would be expected as the park's many shade trees are used well for creating interesting lines. The dense course layout makes it easy to play multiple rounds in one visit. The folf course is the dominant feature in a small park seemingly created just for the course yet there were a bewildering number of picnicers and other naturists littering the fairways despite clear signage at the perimeter that this was a frisbee park and the course being heavily played. Multiple times I felt obliged to walk ahead and warn groups they might get buzzed by my tee shot but after all they were lounging on a golf course. Though unmarked there are areas which seem to be permanent water hazards given how long they remain submerged after precipitation.

The historic signage is wonderful as is "earning" an eagle which would be a par or birdie elsewhere. Though the course is on the flight path for a small nearby airport and it seems an overhead thrown in anger might be able to bag a Cessna the occasional plane overflight seems more a quirky feature than a distraction.



0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    8/24/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: jgonzale2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 8/31/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really a fun course, short but fun.
The course is maintained really well.
There are multiple tee and pin placements that get changed pretty frequently. The better majority of the course is fairly technical, because of the lay out of the trees.

Cons: Completely level, so if elevation change is your game you won't like it. Depending on time it can be a bit full of people.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Helicopter buzzing the course

1    2/28/2012   2/29/2012
Review By: lilbuddhanic
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the combo of the open layout and the mandos. This strategy makes the course more mental than physically demanding. the fairways are exciting due to the trees that seem strategically placed right where right hand dominant heizer throwers would tend to huck. so...it's a well rounded challenging course.
Cons: crazy helicopter pilot buzzing the course (looked like the president's helicopter). no elevation change. fetid stream where you definitely don't want your discs to go.
Other Thoughts: seriously cool crowd, took my dog and received no hassling. overall a really nice course with many fun and challenging holes. I would say that if you are an experienced thrower, you should maybe play the course all par three with a couple par fours.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some TLC

1    3/6/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: freshyill
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easy to get to and a lot of fun to play. The mandos help to make for some challenging drives and having three nice tees for each hole keeps the course from getting repetitive on return trips.
Cons: The course is flat and there's not a whole lot of risk anywhere on the course. If you lose a disc here, you're doing something wrong.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't call this a con *yet*-- but the trees here have taken a real beating over the last two years or so. Big snowstorms and thunderstorms have killed lots of them, and many of the larger trees are hollow. It's only a matter of time until these become victims of a large storm. Decades of being rammed with discs has damaged the bark on many trees, leaving them more susceptible to fungal infections. Park crews have been good about removing the dead and dangerous trees, but unfortunately, this affects the course. A few mandos are gone now because of damage the trees have sustained. Lots more trees are marked to be cut down soon. Look for trees with orange marks at their base--there are lots of them.

New trees need to be planted and protected, but this will certainly be hard to do on an active disc golf course. In a decade, this is going to be a field, not a wooded course, unless new trees are planted.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 High Flyin Fun!

5+    7/6/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 34.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Fun & Challenge for all skill levels. Excellent for introducing folks to the game.
*Park / Course clean and well maintained. Good Club Support.
*Multiple tees (Red, White & Blue) Nice good size concrete pads.
*Multiple Pin positions. Mach III Baskets in very good shape & catch well.
*Signage is pretty good. Flow is easy to follow. Benches on many holes.
*Great use of property. Every ounce of DG has been squeezed from the space.
*Flat, moderately wooded terrain works great to practice a variety of shots.
*Design favors the player. Mistakes are not often punished too badly.
*Discs available for purchase up the street at the aviation museum.
*Good Parking / Restroom (Portajohn)
*Fairly easy to get to from DC Beltway / Metro close by. (Green Line)
*Not far from College Park with other trendy amenities.
Cons: *During wet times, course may become soggy & buggy.
*Design is tight. Players need to beware of other players.
*More advanced/pro players may not find this course a challenge. (Still Fun)
Other Thoughts: I've been playing at this course for over 20 years and it is a little gem inside the Beltway. It is a classic old course which has evolved from the days when the hot plastic was the Aero & the 86. A day at Calvert is always a good time! One of the quirky things about the space is the canopy. Though the trees are old and majestic; their tops are cropped due to the property being at the end of the airport. It is often a pleasant distraction to watch the single engine planes come & go.
As you look at the property, you might think that you will be having deją vu on every other hole. Surprisingly this is not the case. The use of the terrain and trees keeps things from getting monotonous. There are opportunities to use a variety of shots with a good mix of left, right and straight pin placements. Of course the trees come into play but you won't be staring down many tight fairways. Often the white tees give an altered look at the pin rather than add distance over the red tees and a few blue tees are shared by white tees. Those that are not shared, with the addition of C pin placements, will even keep the big arms entertained. There may be some confusion finding blue tees just because there are so many tees in view. With a little attention this should not be a problem. The course plays pretty quickly so you could easily play all three tees in a long afternoon.
I haven't had to deal with too much sogginess over the years but the buggy, natty, flying things can be an issue when the course is damp. Coming from NoVA, I usually play the course between rush hours so I have not encountered the course really busy. I bet after work and on weekends the course could really see some traffic. I still don't think it would be a big issue. This course has stood steadfast through the decades and a good destination when visiting DC. Add it on your list of "must see" DC monuments.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Calvert Park 6-12-10

1    6/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: indecisivemess
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Three tees. Red, White, Blue.
Well marked holes. Well marked mandos. Somewhat challenging but not too hard to make par. Some long holes some shorter. Flat and wooded.
Other Thoughts: There is a store close by that sells discs.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Soggy but fun

1    12/3/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: DrAwkward
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I'll say it up front. I am a newbie. Keep that in mind.

Layout was easy to follow (signs were clear I thought). The park is pleasant to walk around. Holes were open enough not to punish mistakes (except for my one big one, mentioned in "other thoughts).
Cons: I went the day after a rainstorm. It was a total swamp. That made it more interesting, but messy. There was nobody there (it's Dec) but I can see how if it's populated, you'd be ducking a lot.
Other Thoughts: I lost a disc into the creek on the far side of 17. I'm not terribly good and didn't pull the dog-leg right. Sailed straight out from the tee. I spent a good 45 minutes looking and never found it. If anyone comes across a white Valkyrie, please let me know. It's got my phone number and email address on the inner rim.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good quickie!

5+    10/31/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 185  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 11 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to follow course layout and nice concrete tees. Very hard to lose disc. Great for quick round or 2. Very good for a chuck and run(speed golf) as the whole course is flat and can be done in 20 min, but watch out for divots! Good for practicing low line drive shots and accuracy. I love this course on hot summer days cause its almost all shaded! Can play in shorts and sandals.
Cons: Short, simple, not very challenging, can be crowded. Trees are the only obstacle and no hills whatsoever. Some signs are not accurate and can be difficult to figure out which basket to shoot at. Hole 1 holds some water after storms(like a water hazard). Bitting flies especially on hole 10 for some reason loves my bald head. Mosquitoes are nasty during summer. Bring repellent!
Other Thoughts: I wish I had known about this course earlier as it is great for beginners, although I still love this course after 100+ times! I kill my friends on this course with my sidearm. It is cool that you can see the whole course and when it is crowded I often just jump around to other holes and come back. I played this course in a hurricane like downpour as the rain was sideways and it was still fun. I've never had an issue with mud here really.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.