College Park, MD 
Calvert Road Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 260ft.   3 / 307ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Small and scenic, if unspectacular

5+    5/15/2020   5/16/2020
Review By: gtg888h
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great mix of older trees with high branches (providing a ceiling) and lower, younger trees with leafy branches, combining to make for a shorter, technical course. Mandos on 5, 6, 11, 14, and 17 make for interesting shots and aren't gimmicky.
-Three sets of tee pads (white and blue often share a pad though). Reds are excellent for introducing beginners to the game.
-Grounds are very well-maintained, free of litter, and have many benches and some trash cans. Turn from 9 to 10 goes past the parking lot so you can easily grab water or a snack without having to haul it. Almost no rough or water to get too worried about, so you kind of have to be trying to lose a disc (nice, considering it's my home course that I play twice a week...).
-Nice playground and picnic area right across the street. Walking distance from metro (<10 min from College Park metro). No danger of hitting non-player pedestrians as no trails go through/near the course.
Cons: -The location is what it is. Flat as a pancake, so the course's moniker of "The Swamp" is earned after a hard rain (although mostly affects holes 1, 2, 5, 7 (somewhat), and 17 (somewhat) - the rest dries about as quickly as you could hope for). Course is very short - basically all par 3s, with only 11 from white/blue being a convincing par 4.
-Very tight, with most fairways running parallel to one another, and in some cases (3/4, 13/15) easily able to cross a bit. If the course is crowded, you need to keep your eyes and ears open.
-Only one pin per hole (although it moves weekly), so rounds can get repetitive.
-No bathroom facilities or water on-site.
Other Thoughts: Easily the most accessible disc golf course to Washington, DC, and the only one that's metro-accessible. Located next to the oldest continually-operating airport in the world, College Park Airport. You can buy discs at the airport museum (walkable from the metro and the course) or occasionally on the weekends from folks selling them on-site.

Terrific course for beginners to lower intermediates to hone their game. Advanced players will get a little bored. Oldest course in MD, so it was designed before newer, faster discs were designed. It's my home course (5 min from my house), so great for mid-week practice before hitting up a bigger course on the weekends.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

unimpressive but solid

1    12/26/2019   12/29/2019
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 334  Reviewed: 271  Exp: 13.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice, clean park with no underbrush
-lots of mature trees to shape fairways
-three sets of tees (red, white, blue)
-multiple basket positions on every hole
-next tee arrows under each basket
-detailed tee signs showing all tees and pin positions
-a few benches throughout the course
-practice basket
-easy access from the Metro
Cons: -a few crossing fairways
-many holes are too close together
-no standout holes
-completely flat
-can be a bit repetitive
Other Thoughts: Calvert Road Park is the oldest course in Maryland and while it shows, it is still a fun recreational course. The park is clean, free of underbrush (no lost discs), and easy to navigate. The shots are make their way through the mature trees that are fairly widely spaced throughout the park. Most tee shots give you options to run straight at the pin or attack with a wider hyzer BH or FH. Most of the pins are fairly straight ahead of the tee but there are a couple of holes with more of a dogleg (15 comes to mind).

The myriad tees and pin positions give a lot of options. It's great for appropriately challenging a range of skill levels or just creating more interesting replay value for locals. The different tees usually add a little more distance but many of them give you access to different lines through the lanes of trees.

The tees are nice concrete, the baskets are well-used but serviceable, and the signs show all the tee and basket positions. There is a newer practice basket near the 1st and 10th tees (next to the parking lot).

The main drawback for the golf is the general lack of variety but the real problem for this course is how packed it is into a relatively small area. It's nice that you can bag a round fairly quickly but if there are a number of other players out, you really need to pay attention to your surroundings. Shots on other holes can easily end up coming at you.

Overall, this is a pretty average course but it's easy to play, easy to access for visitors to DC, and has more playing options than the typical park-style course. It's tempting to give it a 3 for a rating since it has all the extra tees and basket positions but the safety concerns and lack of any real standout holes just doesn't warrant it. The airfield next door to the park is the oldest in the world and the Wright Brothers flew there. It's a cool historical spot and may help players sell a round of DG to the family since you can stop at the Aviation Museum before or after your round (they also sell discs there).


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Course

1    6/23/2019   6/25/2019
Review By: where'sfinn
Played: 29  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads in good condition with good markers.
Arrows at the bottom of the cage pointing to the next tee.
Well maintained.
Benches on every hole, and trashcans on multiple holes.
Nice and shaded, a lot of mature trees that provided good shade, but not too many trees where you have to play pinball to the basket.
Cons: Not too challenging.
Fairways are not crossing, but they run pretty close parallel to each other.
No elevation change.
Signage has par, feet to the basket, but there is an actual picture of the basket zoomed up, it is not a diagram of the whole hole.
Kinda the same flat shot on every hole (throw about 200-300ft either to the left or to the right of the trees and have it hyzer/anhyzer back)
Other Thoughts: It was a nice park and the parking was good. There was a bathroom across the street.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great beginner / intermediate course

5+    12/13/2018   1/26/2019
Review By: ndelnano
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was my home course in college; I've played 58 rounds.
- Front 9 holes are a bit short (with 2-3 exceptions), but playing from the blue tees will still bring a challenge
- Love the back 9, blue tees are challenging...although the course is very flat overall
- Impossible to lose a disc! I lost 1 ever there. The course has no brush except for the edges which are wooded.
- Layout -- very good use of space and the course provides the illusion that you're in a much bigger park / wooded area than you are
Cons: - Some holes are too short even from the blues (1,10,15). The blues on these holes are equal or less than 10 feet behind the white tees. But they're the shortest holes on the course, and variety is the spice of life :)
- A pro would be disappointed with the # of holes that allow straight lines for drives. I play recreationally so I'm OK with this
Other Thoughts: This course has a special place in my heart; great place to relax and play a casually challenging round!

Great for bringing along first timers! I've had a few friends fall in love with dg on this course. It's forgiving to mistakes.

Imo 11 and 14 are the toughest holes on the course (blue tees). 11 is long (450ft or so) and has a dog leg to the left. Could never manage a birdie on this one. 14 tee allows a straight drive but has a tough mando requiring a bend to the right 20-30ft before the hole.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

good course for a beginner

5+    12/28/2019   12/31/2018
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 37  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2019
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After 4 rounds, I've upped my previous rating of 2.5. I do like this course and shall continue to play it regularly.

Very pretty park setting. Flat. Big trees to deal with but not discouraging. Even though many baskets are tucked behind trees.

No underbrush in the fairways. There is such along the edges, and there is a creek to remember.

There is a subtle variety among the holes, and the confidence-building no. 18 is enough to bring one back: one can make a full-throw drive straight down the pike. I managed to par it in December 2018 (and December 2019) and birdie it July 2019.
Cons: Holes do overlap one another, so if busy (sort of was the first time I played), we can be upon one another.

Was muddy all over in December (icy ponds all over in January). Wear hiking boots or the like. There are little footbridges hither and yon. If it is wet and muddy, use them even it means walking more.

Now that I know the format well, the signage quality is no longer an issue. However, for someone new to the course, I still think a course map would be helpful.

Other Thoughts: I think my change of heart about the course has to do with playing it in spring and summer. Very pleasant place to be when it is dry and sunny. Believe me when I say I will take them, but the pars are indeed too high. It's too much credit for such short holes. The 5s should be 4s at the highest. The rest should be 3s.

The course is very conveniently located for DC and MD residents. And a nice stop on the way somewhere else for VA residents. My GPS took me to the wrong location in December 2018, but I ultimately found it. In January 2019, I also figured out that the left turn at Campus Drive (then turn right on Riverside) is a safer left turn than off Kenilworth (left onto Old Calvert). This is from traveling north on Kenilworth.

In December 2018, I brought along my rather non-athletic sisters. One actually played 5 of the holes with me. The other enjoyed the walk and took pictures. Something for everyone.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/27/2018   5/28/2018
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 158  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 10.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Calvert Road is one of only a couple courses inside the Beltway (and the only 18-hole track). Due to the scarcity of courses, it's one of the only options if you're in DC and also worth checking out. It's a trip back in time with old school pars and 18 holes crammed into a small, park-style property.

+ East navigation for newbies: tee signs with layouts, yardage, and tee/basket combinations; Next Tee signs; holes are so close together, it's pretty tough to get lost anyway

+ Big mature trees are the obstacles on every hole

+ Decent mix of lines needed: hyzer, anhyzer, flick, Dead straight

+ Good use of mandos to make the course more challenging and to attempt to help with safety (close proximity to other holes)

+ Excellent concrete tee pads

+ Pretty, park-style course and well maintained
Cons: While this is a fun time machine course and one of the precious few tracks to play in DC, it's pretty limited and would not be a standout in most cities with more options.

- Old baskets, tough to spot from the tee

- Huge drainage issues. Try not to play after rain as the mud is universal and there is standing water on much of the course.

- If you play here on a busy day, have your head on a swivel. Holes are jammed in here and errant shots can easily skip a fairway...or two...or three.

- No elevation to work with

- No standout holes

- This isn't really a negative, and some reviewers have even listed it as a positive, but the old school pars are kind of silly. I played a below average round and finished with 7 birdies and 4 eagles! Hahaha. This is really a par 54 course with a low 40s SSA...not a par 67 course. lol
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Worth playing if you're in DC. It's a time machine to early 1980s disc golf. It will challenge beginners to intermediate players.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

The must play in DC

1    7/16/2017   11/28/2017
Review By: pmay5
Played: 176  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 17 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2019
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, large multiple tee pads on every hole. All have 2 and most holes have 3.
Good baskets, all are labeled.
Large, old-growth trees throughout the course provide plenty of obstacles but without the undergrowth that hides your discs. Mandos are also used to create challenge and for safety.
Not much chance of losing a disc here, maybe on the backside and right of #18.
Several par 4s and a couple of par 5s on this rather small property.
Both nines start and end at the parking lot, so you could start on either, if crowded.
The locals seemed very friendly and active in course upkeep.
Cons: If this course is crowded, I could see it being an issue. Relatively small piece of property with several parallel fairways.
Didn't see any water or drinks at the start, restrooms appeared to be nearby.
Other Thoughts: No real signature hole on the course, but they found a way to lay out a couple of long holes, #7 and especially #18 are fun to play.
This was my first course in MD and the oldest course in the state. I've had it on my wishlist for a couple of years, since a previous trip to DC when I didn't get to play it.
Very nice to play a course this old that is kept in good shape and still plenty of challenge. You can tell the local Parks dept and/or locals keep the course up.
The locals were taking a break the day I was there, so I played with a guy from the Czech Republic. He was in town visiting relatives and always plays Calvert on his visits there. Kind of fitting that I run into a European player while playing in DC! He was interesting to talk to, hearing about the Euro courses, tournaments he's attended and FINALLY finding out to pronounce - "Kono-piss-tea"!
I had this course in mind when planning the family vacation this year, this was #97 on my final four countdown to 100 courses played!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course

5+    4/14/2017   4/23/2017
Review By: bubba0077
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Flat and shortish. A decent number of trees, but nothing dense and no underbrush except along the periphery. Course makes okay use of what trees there are. Little risk of losing a disc.

Concrete tee pads and well-kept grass. Officially three tee positions, but many of the white/blue are shared. Also three pin positions, but I haven't played it regularly enough yet to know how often they are switched.
Cons: Many of the arrows marking manditories are faded and difficult to see from the tee, which leads you to look out from the tee questioning whether that discoloration is a faded arrow or just a shadow.

Flat area near creeks, so drainage is poor, leaving some areas muddy or with standing water. Not too bad, but can be a nuisance on several holes.

Lack of real trouble means good players will not find it challenging.

Density of course and lack of substantial tree demarcation means holes sometimes interfere with each other.
Other Thoughts: Short, relatively open old-school course great for beginners and other low-level rec players. As the only 18-hole course inside the beltway, it still is interesting enough for a more experienced player to get in a quick round, even if it won't blow anyone away.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice small course

2-4    9/1/2015   9/1/2015
Review By: GreenFieldsDC
Played: 137  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 20 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great, tight course with excellent markers for layout. Tee boxes are clean, course is very well maintained. Nice mix of trees and open alleys. You could play this course with three discs if you wanted.
Cons: Course is flat, and might get crowded on Sunday double days. Some crossover between holes with fairways.
Other Thoughts: I played 27 holes on a sunny Saturday afternoon and nearly had the course to myself. I live in DC and this is easily the best course nearest to the city. Metro accessible from CP station, too.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I'll be back

1    8/30/2015   8/30/2015
Review By: deadheadmon
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets are all in great shape on this course, as are the signs and directional aids. You can tell the designers tried to make the most of the space alloted to them.
Cons: As others have mentioned, the course is basically flat and the holes are pretty short. It's not going to blow anyone's mind and isn't super challenging, but the shots still need to be thrown and puts need to be made.
Other Thoughts: I recently moved to the area and this is the closest course to where I live. Despite the issues this is a fun little course that I will be happy to play as often as I can. A "meh" disc golf course is better than lots of other ways to spend your time!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.