Germantown, OH 
Twin Creek - Black Course Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 11/2011)
4 / 444ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Twincreek-Black Course

2-4    6/11/2017   6/12/2017
Review By: ad166809
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets are in good shape.
-Tee Pads are concrete, essential for this all woods course.
- Okay I know I rip the maps below, but even htough there are not any maps present this course does have good flow. Play all 27 of the Black Course, don't stop. All the holes are pretty short and you end up right back at the beginning of the course if you play all 27 anyways.

-Tons of logs laying down for a nice rest on a 27 hole course. Maybe throw a couple more trash cans onto this course. I did see a trash bin that had been flipped over with all the trash just laying on the ground. Don't bring your friends that do this to a nice course, treat the course well and maybe the trees will be kind to you that day.





Cons: -I was actually not impressed by the tee signs, maps, markers. I do like that they have the feet laid out on each post. But this is a woods course there really should be mapping. If you do find yourself confused on where to go, find the next tee signs under the basket or follow the dirt trail.

-The foliage of this course was a love hate thing for me. First of all, it was my fault but this course does have stinging needles on some holes. If you get in there your legs will burn and itch, again though my fault. I would like to see some more trimming on the really tight holes though. This does add an extra challenge to this course though and Ill tell ya what the second time I played it you better believe I did everything possible not to end up back in the needles.

Other Thoughts: -Little to no elevation at this course. I do love the one hole by the road where you get to throw down. Launched my Mamba for a bird on it.

-This course did have a few holes I will very much remember. Those being #14, the basket being on a large hill guarded by thin trees. #17 is one of my favorite woods holes I had ever played. You will want to throw your second shot high as you dog leg into the hole. If you go to low you will either hit the giant log laying down before it or smack a tree early giving you a tough 3 shot.

-No Camping
-Porta-Pottys around the front park but not in the disc golf area.

-No running water from what I saw.
-Not much variety in hole distances.
-You will use tons of technical shots at this course. That was a major bonus for me as I am not a long distance thrower.

-Not a mix of open bombs and technical holes, very tight and very wooded throughout.

-Challenging course if you are not good through the woods.
-Parking was easy and very short walk to the first hole. Go to the back of the park.

-Very beautiful course, right by a large creek in Germantown.

-This course was not very crowded surprisingly. Ran into two groups both days and they let my brother and I play through. I am still salty on 18 when I had a chance to birdie and tie my brother, but these kids going swimming walked by us and started a conversation totally throwing me off my groove, leading me to miss my birdie putt and losing by 1 stroke.

-Not sure of events at this course.
-Everyone was extremely nice that I met at this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tons of short holes that are very challenging

1    5/14/2017   5/19/2017
Review By: Nader77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It is okay. The best part about this course is the scenery. Great for dogs as the course is covered in trees.
Cons: This course is interesting. It has some serious tree coverage. You will need to be able to throw the frisbee straight. Be cautious of ticks.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/15/2016   7/17/2016
Review By: cplatt
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy navigation between holes.
- Excellent concrete tee pads.
- A number of technical short holes ought to entertain a wide range of skill sets.
- Off the beaten path so usually figures to be less busy than many other Dayton-area parks.
Cons: - This course doesn't feature a typical 18-hole set-up. You can play the Red Course, but that set-up is very, very short on many holes. And then the #18 on the Black Course is literally as far away as you can be from the #1/#27 start/finish. I enjoy the 27-hole option, but it was a slog towards the end!
- The color-coded hole posts are nice, but a little bit of mapping wouldn't hurt, say even a simple arrow on those posts.
- The "Black Loop"--holes 14 through 25--are, by and large, longer holes on which much of the fairway is thick brush. So bear that in mind as you want when playing this course by yourself and/or in the summer.
- There were few trash baskets and benches in comparison to many other area parks.
Other Thoughts: This course hadn't been reviewed in over two years so I wanted to give an update. Mrclc wrote the most recent review before mine and I feel like everything in that very solid review still holds true.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Little TLC Would Go A Long Way

2-4    4/10/2014   4/13/2014
Review By: mrclc
Played: 275  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2017
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Twin Creek Black Course is a 27 hole course whose modern wooded design provides a very good experience over half the time. Overlapping with and occasionally improving upon the on-site Red Course, the Black Course also plays by itself through a much more visually pleasing area of the woods, with a handful of holes playing directly alongside the creek. Most holes in this Black loop are longer and interesting, often requiring shot shaping and precise lines. A couple of split fairways allow for some variety of play on multiple visits.

Routing is largely intuitive, aided by wooden next tee arrows hung to the bottom of the Innova baskets. Baskets are clearly labeled with colored stripes, so you know whether you're playing the Red Course or the Black Course.

The concrete tee pads are adequate, and feature simple, color-coded tee posts giving distance.

27 holes are always nice, despite the overlap with the Red Course.
Cons: Most of the holes in the Black loop have a significant chuck and pray element, even if they aren't overly difficult. It's not uncommon to find a tree on your tee shot, even if it doesn't carom your disc too far off line. Despite a lot of chances to recover, it gets frustrating when every drive ends in a thud. When these shots are strung together over time it can make the round feel like a grind instead of fun. It seems that a little bit of TLC would go a long way here.

UPDATE 6/14/17 -- A great deal of work has gone into this course and its ongoing maintenance, which is enough to raise the rating a half-disc. If you've not played the course in the past 9 months or so it's worth going out there to see what a difference has been made.

While the creekside setting sounds nice, it's largely squandered by the litter, broken glass, and natural debris strewn about the course, especially on the holes shared with Red. Every round looks like it's being played after a storm, and there's a sense (whether fair or not) that the course is not particularly well-maintained. The litter is better on the Black loop, but much of the natural debris remains.

There's no map on the tee posts, and with number of blind pins throughout a first-timer will end up walking down the fairway a few times.

Although the sandy earth means the course drains and dries fairly well on the holes shared with Red, the Black loop has a bit of a drainage issue, often leaving large, muddy fairway puddles that are deep enough to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: With a bit more clearing, the Twin Creek Black Course has the potential to compete with Handyman for the best modern course in the area. Instead, the maintenance holds back both the design and aesthetics, making this a good course with squandered potential and significant opportunity to improve on its rating.

UPDATE 6/14/17 -- The course has been trimmed and cleared extremely well in the past few months. I've raised my rating from a 3.0 to a 3.5, and tee signs with diagrammed hole locations would bring Twin Creek Black up to a 4.0 in my mind.

As you enter the park, drive toward the basketball courts and park near them. Hole 1 begins just inside the tree line beyond the final court.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Hard One

2-4    1/19/2013   1/20/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 296  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a large park that features ball fields, tennis and basketball courts, a walking trail, a nature preserve, a playground, port-o-lets, and ample parking, the DG course(s) at Twin Creek use the woods adjoining a beautiful creek, so there is no overlap with other park activities. Twin Creek's Black course has been cleverly blended in as an overlap and extension of the existing (Red) course. Essentially, you start at the first tee and shoot to the second basket, then shoot from the third tee to the fourth basket. The next four holes are identical to the Red course holes with the exception of having an alternate tee for Black #5. Black # 7 bypasses one basket, finishing at Red #11, which has a blind pin position from the tee, with the creek running by only 25-30' to its right. The courses share the next six holes (and the final two) in common, but Black 14-25 are all new, and some of those have variable pin positions and alternative fairways.

Signage here is incredibly well done: simple posts are painted red and/or black (as are the 'chastity belts" on the Discatcher baskets), so you can just play by color. Distances are clearly marked. Wooden 'next tee' arrows hanging under the baskets are likewise color coded, and there are other signs when needed. Tees are concrete and well-sized for the distances. There are trash receptacles, and an occasional downed tree serves as a bench.

The Black course really starts to shine on hole 14, a long anny (rhbh) finishing through a dozen small guardian trees in front of a mound-raised basket. Following the trail to your left (for both), you'll find 15 to be a park-style hyzer, and 16 to be an open 300 footer that shoots into a gap in the woods. 17 in the long position could be deuced if you have a precise 440+ foot S-curve in your bag! A couple of holes with beautiful views of the swiftly flowing creek later, and you'll find the real challenge: #22 in the long position sits 393' away from the tee, across a sandy (hopefully dry) creekbed, with the basket on a ridge only a dozen feet short of that creek you just thought looked so pretty! #23 in the long position hyzers over that (not always dry) creekbed again, and #24 finishes right beyond a pit lined with tumbled-down rocks reminiscent of the miniature Stonehenge from Spinal Tap. The course map suggests flipping for which of the fairways to use on hole 25 (the one with the cool, pentagonal teepad), then you rejoin the Red course for holes 26 & 27.
Cons: The naturally sandy soil along the creek can become unexpectedly slippery underfoot when overly wet OR dry, and the relatively heavy foot traffic (on the red course, primarily) makes for some muddy paths and fairways.

The overlapping holes mean that Black course players need to be cautious about throwing on groups ahead of them, and to be mindful of throwing higher speed stuff in the woods on the tight half of the course.
Other Thoughts: Located just southeast of Germantown, OH, this course is a little bit remote, having few major roads coming over (directly) this way off of the interstate, so it might be best to print a map of the area or use a GPS to get there.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Black Course

2-4    9/1/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 71  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wooded area course, like the option of red and black course, but can loose a disc easy.
Cons: tee signs are hard to find for a few, but great variety for a 27 hole course.
Other Thoughts: Can switch from Red to Black very easily, hidden in the woods, very unique course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/11/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: Gonzo86
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of trees so it forces you to stay low and try some shots you wouldn't take many other times.
It is along a river with a great scenery all around.
Very clean course with only a few pieces of broken glass in 1 rocky spot.
Cons: Runs along a river in a few spots so it is easy to loose a disc or two.
Its a natural flood plain so if the river rises too much the course floods entirely.
Seems like a tight course and can be a little confusing here and there.
Other Thoughts: A fun course that you should play a few times. Yes it may not be a lot of spots where you can throw 400 ft in an open field, but the course does make you a better overall player.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Impressed with the design.

1    11/12/2011   11/13/2011
Review By: hipster
Played: 86  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a quaint little park, in the hamlet of Germantown, OH. A technical course that plays along side a big creek through trees big and small. The course makes use of the scarce elevation provided. Aces are possible on a few holes for most players. Even the longer, more open tee shots required a bit of thought with regards to path and placement. Some holes bring the creek into play. Variety of shots needed in order to score well. Considering the course incorporates the shorter Red Course within the newly added longer Black Course, the navigation was fairly straight forward. Next Tee signs arrows are well placed and visible throughout the course. The hole numbers on the yellow banded baskets are color coded and numbered. The concrete tee pads are in good shape, well screeded, and of sufficient length. The tees were marked by post with hole number and distance. The other activities provided in the park do not interfere with the course. Due to the out of the way nature of the course, was not crowded. Combination of the original 18 holes & the new 27 holes makes for a good day of disc golf.
Cons: Not much to con about this course, just need the pay attention and be sure to drive at the correct basket due to the red/black course blending. Should not be issue after playing course a time or two. Some players will complain about lack of descriptive tee signage, but the post are sufficient since most baskets can be seen from the pads. Distances seem to be off a bit. Course could use a few more trash cans, might encourage the slobs to use them. Disappointed the course is not closer.
Other Thoughts: I'm impressed with the design of the course. The melding of the 2 courses was well executed. I was forehanding and overhanding with abandon, even threw a fore hand roller with decent results. I suspect the designers are LHBH or RHFH throwers since the longer holes bend right and the hole with creek along the entire left side. In the fall, the course is covered with leaves making disc hard to locate. I imagine there are fewer shot lanes available when the trees have their leaves. All in all, this course is a welcome addition to the area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.