Glenview, IL 
Community Park West DGC Share
Uploaded By: juanbond Hole #9 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Totally fun

5+    8/8/2017   8/8/2017
Review By: KKennedy0909
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I went to college in the city and always tried to find a decent course within a reasonable drive from our campus. We tried many courses near our campus and found this little gem. The course is not very hard but plays very well for a 9-hole course. Friendly to beginners but also challenging enough for recreational players to where it is still a fun course to play.
Cons: I don't really have any cons besides the fact that is not a very difficult course and there isn't anything extraordinary about this course.
Other Thoughts: My roommate almost threw his disc onto the highway, so there's that.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not enough trees to make this interesting

5+    6/5/2016   5/5/2017
Review By: krooster
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's within walking distance of my condo. I wish there was more good to say about this course.
Cons: Mostly just wide open. Sometimes is unplayable when soccer clubs are using the fields.
Other Thoughts: They made good use of the space, but there just aren't enough trees to make this an interesting place for a course. There are some interesting holes but there are just too many completely wide open holes that have no obstacles of any kind.

Hole 2 use to be extremely unique, requiring a short flex shot through a narrow fairway. But then they cut down all the trees and shrubbery so now it's just another boring wide open hole.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant Surprise!!

1    8/8/2016   8/9/2016
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 206  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Came out not expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised!!
The usual pros: concrete tee pads, good signage, solid flow... easy to get around.
Good use of man made elevation!! A few niche holes:
#1- through a lot of younger trees- could try to go over or weave your way through- may not be so appealing a hole in 3 to 5 years when the trees get BIG though!!
#2 - somewhat blind shot to a small pad area- otherwise your looking through brush
#3- through a narrowing tunnel of trees- but flat
#4 across a ditch area to a fairly long fairway pad
#5- long throw to a basket tucked into a cut out grove area.
#7 two tees - long one on top of a berm... throwing to a basket on side of a man made hill.
#8 throwing to a basket on side of hill as well..
#9- throwing down to a basket protected by a tree or two.
Cons: Not an overly long course, but I knew that going in so not really a con.
None other than that..... played it twice for a 20 hole outing
Other Thoughts: In Chicago for work, getting in as many courses as possible. Some are picked by location depending on my time availability... Read the reviews and didn't have high expectations, but enjoyed it enough it was worth a second time through!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Easy but decent

2-4    5/31/2016   5/31/2016
Review By: shimmishim
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm visiting from TN so I'm used to lots of elevation changes and densely wooded courses.

With that in mind, I thought this course was very well laid out for the space available. It's spread out mostly along the outer edge of a couple of soccer fields and has a great view of the interstate along holes 4 and 6.

I'd definitely say that this is 100% a beginner friendly hole coming from a beginner player that has been playing for a little less than a year.

Hole 1 and 2 are not that challenging as people say as you can easily throw a slight hyzer over the trees but I do agree that once the trees come in, holes 1 and 2 will be super challenging!

#3 - I really enjoyed this one a lot. If you've got the power and accuracy this is an eagle hole for sure.

#4 - There are two trees that act as a mando but don't remember actually seeing a mando sign... but would be nearly impossible to throw a hyzer around the trees.

#5 - Open field with basket placed into rows of trees. Easy throw for now. Can't wait for trees to come in. It'll be a lot more challenging.

#6 - For a LHBH thrower, this one can be a little challenging if you miss your line. Just beyond the sidewalk is OB and I hit the OB.

#7 - Open field with two tees.

#8 - Open field with basket a little elevated.

#9 - Open field with basket a little lower.

#10 - Open field with high grass around the outer edges of basket.

Oh... and this course is well maintained. Tees are all concrete pads now.
Cons: Easy course.

As a LHBH thrower, you can definitely lose your disc or spend some time looking for it on hole #4 if you hyzer a bit.
Other Thoughts: It's hard to believe with the size of Chicago that there's such a huge void in this part of town (yes, I know it's the suburbs but you know what I mean).

Anyway... give it a try especially if you're a beginner. You'll have some fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated Chicagoland Course

5+    8/12/2015   8/13/2015
Review By: mceskri
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perfectly groomed and the course is coming in nicely from what I've read from past players who said that this course has nice potential. Well listen up guys and gals, I think this place is right on track even in 2015. The first 2 holes are tricky, as the trees are much bigger and you have to get creative in order to weave through them.

Hole 3 is narrow as hell, and without a perfect toss, you can get in some trouble with OB to the left.

Hole 4. Very intimidating, as you have to go through 2 thick trees and a small gap, plus your drive has to be far enough to get over the brush. I hit it and my girlfriend barely made it out. Fun hole.

Hole 5 is wide open and fun to go nuts after 4 tight holes., but narrow at the basket.

Hole 6 was my favorite because you're tossing off some elevation and then up a hill to hit the basket.

7,8, 9, 10 were a bit easier, but be careful on 9, as I shanked one right into the dog park and had to hop the fence.

- Only 4 other groups on the whole course while we were there, and you can play 3-10 again in a circle to make it a full 18.
Cons: - Some people walking around the park who were watching soccer, but c'mon guys, it's a park, what do you expect.

- Fairly wide open on the last holes, but to be honest, I enjoyed the mix up with the tight first 5. Not sure if this is a con. I really don't have many bad things to say.
Other Thoughts: I'll be honest, I'm just getting into Disc Golf. This was the 3rd time I have ever played, and I was very impressed with the course. After playing a beautiful hilly, wooded course in MN last weekend, this was definitely a different setting, which made me think of something: For the area this is at in Illinois, mind you, which is an EXTREMELY FLAT STATE, this is an excellent course!

I think that the low ratings are based on 2012-2014, but man, this is a solid course if you're in the downtown Chicago area, this is a great escape from the only other nearby course, which is on a college campus.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Appreciate anything in this area

1    11/5/2014   11/5/2014
Review By: BuzzzChief
Played: 77  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.4 Years
Pros: - Great baskets, very bright and easy to see.
- Clear signs, the ace boards are a nice touch.
- Great use of the available space
- Lots of interesting OB and mandos make an otherwise simple course into a little bit of a challenge
- Easy to find and park, can easily squeeze in 9 holes during lunch or just practice putting on the extra basket.
Cons: - Overall pretty short. I threw a max distance disc once.
- A little repetitive in the middle. Wide open windy shots back to back.
- Very busy park with lots of different activities going on. I wouldn't come here during busy hours. Too many conflicts with soccer fields and walkers.
Other Thoughts: Overall I'm pretty satisfied with this little course in an area that's generally a black hole for disc golf courses. It's nice to have a clean and convenient park to spend my lunch hour in. They really did make the best use of the space, and as the trees mature the difficulty will increase. You would have to throw a pretty terrible shot to end up on the highway, the only hole that comes close is a very straightforward overstable hyzer shot at 300 feet.

 Squeezed in by other activities

1    7/30/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well marked and maintained
-A few tough, technical shots with OB
-Decent distance
Cons: -I constantly felt squeezed in by everything else. For instance, holes 1 and 2 were very short because they were shoved in between the streets and parking lot, then hole 3 plays beside the parking lot and a soccer field, then hole 4 plays beside the soccer field and the highway.
-A number of holes are completely open without many obstacles
-Even calm winds are amplified at this open course that plays beside the highway.
Other Thoughts: I assume that this park has been there for years with all kinds of different activities. They put this course in the little nooks and crannies that were left after all other activities took up land. When there are holes that have plentiful space, they are too wide open. There is not much that can be done to improve this course. Indeed it is difficult in the suburbs to find a park that can handle a disc golf course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 10 hole fairly new course

5+    6/19/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: Zaklipsey
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Bright orange baskets
Practice hole with bricks measuring 10-50ft
Challenging compared to other courses in the area
Can really air your driver out and see how far you can drive on a few holes
Concrete pads
Wind flags on tops of baskets
Close to my house otherwise I wouldn't play here much at all
Course has potential in 3-5 years the trees can develop and grow to make more exciting as I know many were just planted 2 years ago.
Cons: Wind, wind , wind and more wind its the worst course for wind as the highway runs right alongside and creates at wind draft that will take your disc for some wild rides but mostly it's just annoying. Wind can be so bad making course unplayable.
This course needs some renovations of weeds as the rough is crazy to have to look for a disc in it.
Other Thoughts: During the fall and early spring when the weeds are not bad i rate this course a 2.7 but otherwise is barely a 2.5

 Always WIndy... ALWAYS

5+    6/9/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: chrismilano
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
Pros: I have played this course over 20+ times so I will try to list all that this course has to offer.

+The pros of holes 1 & 2 is that they require a lot of accuracy. A precise mid-range or putter shot is needed as there two holes have trees that need to be navigated. Both holes are under 250 feet.

+Number 3 is probably the hardest hole on the course. It would be challenging for any type of golfer. Requires a 375 ft. drive with lots of accuracy.

+Hole 4 there is a mandatory shot through a tree.

+Hole 5 is a huge bomber across a field into some bushes.

+Holes 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 are more of the same bombers over open terrain with virtually no trees.
Cons: -This course is always windy. There has never been a time where I have come here where in has not been gusting.

-Flat park, with no trees that backs up to a major highway.

-Geese frequent the park by the masses so there can be goose poop heavily dispersed throughout the course.

-Long walk from holes 1 and 2 to the rest of the course which is located on the other side of the dog park.

-Oh yeah, i forgot to mention that this course is a total disc eater. If you have an errant shot on holes 1 or 2, you will be searching for your disc. The story is the same on holes 4, 6, 8, and sometimes 10.



-The course is boring and really not worth checking out unless you live in the area.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course over 20+ and have come to the conclusion that this course is below average. Too much wind, goose poo, and chances of losing a disc. Not to mention the loop of 9 holes leaves you feeling totally unsatisfied.

 Another 9 (oops) chicagoland 10 holer

2-4    6/29/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 253  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some really nice bright orange baskets. Hole 3 is pretty interesting with OB left and right. It's kinda like a tunnel shot if you squint a little ;). Hole 4 has OB long and on the left which adds a little interest. The greens on 7 and 8 are somewhat interesting being slightly elevated. The practice basket right by hole 1. is very nice with bricks marking distances for practice putting.
Cons: This course is mostly short. Most of the holes are open. There are a few long tees in addition to the regular pads. The beginning and end of the course are especially boring. 1 is a short hyzer. 2's green is kinda silly, there is not really a visible line to the basket. 5 is wide open and 6 is a simple hyzer. 9 and 10 are both short and open. Even though 9 has an elevated tee, the hole is so short it does not add much interests. This course is right next to Interstate 294 which is very loud. I can also see an inexperienced player shanking one onto the highway which could be disastrous. This course has some awkward walks particularly from 2 to 3 and from 10 back to 1.
Other Thoughts: The land really does not lend itself to a good course here. I'm not sure why there are 10 instead of 9 holes. I would prefer improving 1 of the holes then having 10 mediocre holes. A course is always better than no course though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.