Baltimore, MD 
Druid Hill Park - Legacy Share
Uploaded By: turbo  
Practice Area


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Great Course, some poor etiquette

5+    8/26/2017   8/30/2017
Review By: Flessan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course, well maintained. Some holes in the woods, others in an open field with trees. Multiple targets per hole giving more options for multiple rounds.
Cons: Most of the players here are great. Sometimes there will be a group of 6 people, playing 2 discs each on multiple cups per hole, big group and slow play. They never offered to let anyone play through and took longer per shot than you would be penalized at any event.

Also people changing the course and cutting in front of you to throw multiple discs (again poor etiquette). If you want to mash up the course, that is totally cool as long as you cut behind the people on the actual pattern.
Other Thoughts: Guys, act like you have played before. Show some etiquette and have fun. 95% of the people on this course are great, but the 5% make it feel weird. I get they have sponsored swag and expensive gear, hurray! Let faster groups play through, like everyone else.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

the original Druid Hill course

5+    8/9/2017   8/9/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 99  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - dual baskets and tees
- good variety and flow
- mix of hole lengths and shot types
Cons: - overlapping / cramped fairways, especially on the back nine
Other Thoughts: Druid Hill - Legacy is the oldest (and in my opinion the best) course at Druid hill Park, a facility that now has three 18-hole courses (and apparently there is talk about adding a fourth). I think it is an excellent park style course. There are a variety of hole lengths and types, including some big open drives (with enough OB and obstacles to require some degree of accuracy) and some tight straight shots as well. There is some elevation change, a variety of different challenges (distance, accuracy, touchy landings, shot-shaping, etc.).

The course now has dual tees and baskets on every hole, and they change the angle or shape of the holes enough that the short to long and long to short layouts play quite differently. The short to short layout is very suitable to beginners. The short to long and long to short layouts are challenging enough for advanced players. I haven't played the long to long layout yet, so I won't comment on it.

The biggest issue with the course is the overlap that occurs on the back nine. There is one area with multiple tees and fairways and basket positions on top of each other. At best it can lead to backups in play, and at worst it can be a safety hazard.

But overall I think the legacy course is very good. In my opinion it is one of the best courses in Maryland. With three courses on site, it is well worth a visit.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Disc golf park

1    8/12/2016   8/12/2016
Review By: illinoisdiscgolf
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Being from Illinois I had no idea about any courses in Baltimore so when I saw this was only 10 minutes from my hotel i couldn't be more excited. Course was great with multiple tee pads and baskets. A little confusing playing with no knowledge of the course but would have been awesome to get to know.

Follow me on instagram- @illinoisdiscgolf

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    1/10/2014   1/6/2015
Review By: B Stone
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Multiple baskets, placements, and tees for each hole. Well maintained and clean course. Pretty easy to navigate, especially if you grab a map from one of the "regulars" who sit by the first tee and offer tips and advice.
Cons: A couple of the holes are near a fairly busy road. Some of the tee pads could use some work.
Other Thoughts: Visiting from CA, I played this course with my brother. Really enjoyed the course and the round we threw. Hope to come back and throw this course a few more times.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course to Play

5+    3/23/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: dashiellx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellently maintained
Beautiful Grounds
Awesome community of players
Cons: Lots of opportunities to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I played and being less than 5 mins from my home is where I play mostly. The people there are very nice and as a beginner, I've had lots of people offer tips and advice on how to improve.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    5/26/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: sheepforwheat
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is a great well maintained course. Most holes are short.
Cons: Lots of opportunities to lose discs
Other Thoughts: When I tell non-dic golfing friends I am playing aat "druid hill" they always ask "is it safe?" I have never had a problem except for one homeless man who was sleeping on the course.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the Rough

5+    11/4/2010   4/4/2011
Review By: Jonnysweetness
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is simply amazing! Start off with the community, great DGers! They hold a "Triples" match play every thursday. Great fun, great throwers.

There are three practice baskets located at the beginning/end of the front 9. Great for when the course gets crowded.

The course is a great mix of touch shots, spike hyzers/anhyzers, bomb drives, technical tunnel shots, and all in between. The course does favor LHBH throwers or RHFH. But I like that. I don't want every basket to be in the natural hyzer path of my disc, no fun in that.

The course also incorporates 9 "X-holes" which are deep in "ungroomed" wooded areas. I do reccommend doing the X-holes but bring a course guide, because it will be next to impossible to navigate, but once you learn, they are great for advanced throwers.

The tee boxes are all concrete or asphalt which make for great accurate run ups, with no busted ankles. There are two fixed positions, the "metals" and the "woods." Woods I find to be the longer, more challenging of the two.

Every basket has multiple pin positions which are changed very often to keep the course ever changing.

A great course.
Cons: Parking. The parking is an issue, especially during competitions. Car congestion can add insult to injury on a shanked throw on basket #9.

It is in a rough part of town. They talked about "dumpin bodies in Druid" on The Wire. Just don't plan on any night time Glow Disc adventures.

There is an Animal Hospital on the right side of fairway #3. If you bomb a drive and shank right or the wind grabs your disc and it doesn't flip back, you need to call them and set up a time when you can retrieve your disc. Remember to mark all of your discs with a contact of some sorts.
Other Thoughts: There is talk of clearing out the X holes to make them a groomed, technical addition to the regular 18! I do hope this happens. Also in the works are 18 additional holes on the other side of the road from the entrance. If this happens Druid Hill will be one of the best courses on the East Coast.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cherry Spring

5+    8/6/2008   1/6/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 133  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 38.6 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and pins. Great selection of fun, demanding shots with rolling hills, mature trees, and lefty friendly. Good mix of length and variety in a beautiful setting. Great local scene on Thursday nights (TNT). The long tees are especially challenging, although blind at times.
Cons: The neighborhood is a bit sketchy, although I never had any troubles in the 3.5 years and roughly 50 times I played there.
Other Thoughts: Unforgettable in the Spring when the cherry blossoms are in full glory.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 X-Holes add versatility

5+    4/1/2012   11/14/2008
Review By: turbo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 30.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Convenient layout with parking between front and back 9s. Always a game on any given day. Several great roller holes. Great drainage-even after heavy rain. All holes have 3 or more alternating basket locations. Extra targets allow placing two targets on several (alternating) holes.
Cons: Dog walkers are on the rise. Some players bring dogs along. Most are careful to clean up after their pets.
Other Thoughts: The course is in Metro Baltimore, but the course, itself, is in an idyllic setting. A recent review cited a holdup of two disc golfers at the course. The robberies were part of a crime spree by a group of teenagers in the general area - not specifically targeting the disc golf course. The crooks were caught two days later as their spree spread through north Baltimore. This was the 1st robbery I can recall at the Druid Hill DGC.

The original 9 X-holes (wooded) are being expanded (currently 15) and add versatility to the course, allowing golfers to add some x-holes to the regular round.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety!

1    11/2/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 185  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good layout and variety for the first 18 holes. Nice concrete tees and baskets. Lots of elevation changes and trees that make it just difficult enough. Fairly hard to lose a disc here. Lots of space off the tee to air out on most holes. Fairly good hole maps on the tees.

The 9 X holes are like another course back in the woods and offer more difficulty.
Cons: The X holes are a bit confusing as the numbers are mostly wrong and the baskets and tees are not as nice. Lots of broken glass on the X holes. Hole X9 tees off from the pavement and into the woods and into the basket marked 16. The X holes are split so that after hole 4 you start X1-X6 then go back to hole 5. Then after hole 12, X7-X9 is on the right side of the woods and brings you back to hole 13.

Signs for the next tee are very small. The tees do not let you know which way to tee off from. Some paint on the tee off side would be nice. No benches. Lack of hazards and OB.
Other Thoughts: The first 18 look easier than the are. The X holes look more intimidating, but aren't that bad. I thought I would be looking for my discs for a while, but never had a problem here. I could see the sun being a problem in the summer. Druid reminds me of a smaller Codorus. This was a fun course and will be back for more!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.