Marshall, WI 
Bird's Ruins DGC Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #27 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 194ft.   3 / 194ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Am Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Good course, terrible hazards!

1    6/7/2017   6/7/2017
Review By: ZombieAssaultTeam
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 47.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 28 holes and its free
Cons: the hazards.... playing in mid to late summer, good luck finding your disc if you toss it off the fairway.
Other Thoughts: For a free course its pretty damn good. the only part i really dislike is the tall grass/hazards. Playing by yourself you tend to hold back a lot on this course due to the fear of having to track down a mis-thrown disc. If I didn't live down the street I would probably never really play this course. Would much rather go and play Token Creek. But early spring, before the grass is too tall and everything is in bloom, 5 star course. Then again maybe I'm just a little bitter after losing 3 discs to this damn course due to the tall weeds.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great S. Wisconsin course

1    2/12/2017   3/1/2017
Review By: VictorB
Played: 78  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 28 well laid out holes in a pretty secluded, rural area. Well worth the drive from Madison, Milwaukee, or Janesville. Multiple tees and pin positions for almost every hole make the layout pretty widely variable in terms of difficulty. Most every shot in my bag was used on this course off the tee at one point or another.Signage is quite good, and making your way around the course is easy after you see it once.

Good use of elevation available, and some holes play on the side of the hill bordering the river (which you get to throw over on hole 28 if you want)
Cons: From what I've heard, the tall grass off the main fairways basically plays as a hazard in the warmer months. Was find to play when I did in the winter, as it was pretty well laid down, and even then if you threw off the fairway finding your disc took a little work. Personally I think it would be good incentive to try and learn better course management to play in the summer time, but other locals seem to think differently.

Didn't really notice many trash cans out there, but some spots had nice places to sit in case you didn't bring a stool.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course! During the summer, if I have my choice to drive 25 minutes to Token Creek or drive 35 minutes here, I'd like to think that I'd almost always take Bird's Ruins. Not that Token Creek is a bad course by any means, I just think I prefer the different challenges that Bird's Ruins offers. 27 (or 28 if you play it) holes obviously makes it tougher to get 2 rounds played in a day. It's not a tough hike but it's a decently long course with some well thought out use of the elevation that is available.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Birdie Ruin!

2-4    7/13/2016   8/24/2016
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 61  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 17.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Very well maintained
-Restroom!
-28 excellent holes
-Uses the elevation extremely well
-Discs are easy to find in the water (excluding hole 19/28 depending on when you went)
-Phenomenal tee boxes
-Great baskets
-Plenty of benches
-Plenty of trashcans
-Course was very very clean
Cons: -Course is long..... but hey, 28 holes.
-The rough is... rough. You will lose a disc without spotters. Take a friend or 3.
-Apparently there is a plant here that will blister skin in sun.
Other Thoughts: I had the pleasure of playing here several times for the 2016 Am Worlds. This was my favorite of the 5.

Birds was a really really fun course. Being from Texas, I had never seen fairways mowed into punishing rough. Apparently this is a WI thing and I loved it.

Hole 7 was my favorite hole. You're a good ways above the basket, but it's really a putter shot through trees, but too long, you're in the pond. It's so picturesque that you have to run it. So much fun!

Then, on the new holes. Hole 15, I believe, is a tight, 8 foot wide tree lined fairway with a massive log wall (think wooden frontier fort) angled behind it. It's a 100% run the basket. It really makes you be accurate and rewards you when you are.

If I had to go back to Madison and could only play one course, it would be Birds Ruins. The Rebel DG Club have really knocked this one out of the park.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best in South Central WI

5+    1/1/2016   1/17/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 24.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is heavily wooded, highly technical, and has a great deal of elevation change to go along with some huge long holes to challenge both the big arms and the average (it's quite a treat to par those holes alongside the pros).

Natural obstacles such as an ancient, uprooted pair of trees on hole #4 just before crossing a creek add to the challenge (not to mention that the long green is surrounded to the 10 meter distance by sumac).

Hole #13 offers an elevated pyramid as the sort of unnatural obstacle that is much preferable to arbitrary and artificial OB. Hole #14 is another magnificently protected green, sumac surrounding the long pin out to 10 meters.

The holes are each exceptional, and the layout and signage is excellent, making it very easy to follow. And hey, Holly Finley calls it her home course, so if you see the Mini Cooper that she is provided by her sponsor at the dealership, you might get to say hey to the Duchess of Disc Golf (or even play a round with her).

It will soon be a 27 hole track for the World's, and the new holes look great.
Cons: It is about a 30 minute drive from Madison, but it's free and slightly superior to both Elver and Hiestand. It's the only course open in the winter in the area, and it can be muddy and slick and treacherous, so wear hiking boots with good traction.
Other Thoughts: It's secluded and quiet, near nature trails, water, and large farms. You can scarcely tell there is a small city nearby, and there are opportunities for bird and nature lovers to get their geek on about that as well as the great course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    7/8/2015   7/28/2015
Review By: brentwood_17
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has what many of my local courses don't have, elevation, water and bomber holes. Course fairways were mowed and looked to be kept up well. Some very fun short wooded holes. Course is very diverse in shot requirements. Some really enjoyable holes that are ace runable from the regular Teepads. Teepads are nice new concrete. Hole 14 had some great benches. Hole 13 has a nice pyramid basket that are becoming more popular. I enjoy these as there are plenty of flat greens on this course. From the sounds of it from our DGCR "course guide" that many holes have been widenend and they are mowing more than they used to. That is good news. Also mention of expansion.
Cons: Long walks and crossing trails that if not for a guide we might not have made. I PMed a DGCR "course guide" and he PMed me back and we were able to meet up with him and play. So glad he was along. Also even with 5 guys in our group hawking shots off the fairway we still spent much time looking for wayward drives. This would of course be better in early spring.
Other Thoughts: The course is definately going to be great. I can't rate it a 4 as the overall enjoyment was rubbed raw by constant searching when landing off the fairway. It was almost amazing how our discs would bury themselves in the prairie grass. the course guide asked us what teepads and we said am tees and he said, "good decision." Looking at some of the teepads was just amazing the tightness or the added distance required. Of course the alternate pin position on hole 14 that we didn't play thankfully was one of the craziest things I have personally seen for a pin placement on the course. Cut a 50 foot circle in the middle of some 10 foot high tree like bush like forest requiring a 60 or 70 ft carry to the circle from the closest mowed part of the fairway. You can see a picture of it when you look at the pictures of Hole 14 on the site. The guide that played with us said yeah that is the alternate pin and we said OK?. Overall for the most part a great disc golf course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best free 18-hole course in the county

1    7/26/2015   7/26/2015
Review By: RJStrasser
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Each hole on this course is pretty unique and there is a good variety of challenge throughout the course. The teepads are nice and on most of them someone has even put a post-it arrow on the current pin placement. There are small signs everywhere that show you where the next teebox is if it isn't obvious. Overall the course is well maintained and awesome!
Cons: There are four holes in the middle that have you going up and down a pretty steep hillside, so be prepared for a hiking type environment. Also, there were a good amount of flies and mosquitos when I went, so make sure to have some bug spray.
Other Thoughts: I wish this course was closer to Madison! Marshall is a cool little town, but besides the amusement park (which I've only driven by) this park is probably one of the bigger attractions. I didn't play the 19th hole since it was muggy out and I was tired, but I was prepared to if I was feeling up for it. I had a couple of beater discs in my bag at the ready. I also didn't play it because I wasn't quite sure how to get over to the basket and it seemed like a decent hassle for one extra hole.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I wish I lived in Dane County

2-4    5/23/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: Mocheez
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Located in a scenic county park
- Easy to find with ample parking near holes 1 and 18
- Wide Variety... short wooded holes, wide open distance, water hazards, elevation, and more
- Fun and challenging for a wide variety of skill levels
- Dual concrete teepads and pins
- High quality of upkeep and care... trash and recycling bins throughout the course
- Accurate and detailed teesigns
- Benches, logs, stumps, or plastic chairs located at each teepad
Cons: - I could definitely see how the rough could ruin a solo round, especially during the summer. It wasn't long enough this time of year (mid-spring) to be a problem while playing in a group of 4. We never spent more than 2 minutes looking for a disc over the course of 2 rounds.
- In the current pin positions, there were three short, downhill, doglegs that became a little monotonous.
Other Thoughts: I was really impressed with this course. The quality of the design is top notch. There were several holes that made me think about risk vs. reward and most presented two or more line options. Some people complained that hole #9 (in the horseshoe position) is way too difficult to birdie... I like that design because it rewards good course management. A controlled shot will set you up for a manageable par while those that go for the unlikely birdie will find themselves in jail and scrambling for a bogey. The care and upkeep were closer to what you would find at a high quality pay-to-pay course. The natural beauty of the land was remarkable. I heard the calls of cranes (I was told they were whooping cranes) on a nearby lake/pond throughout the day. I am definitely looking forward to playing hear again.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 bird's ruins-good

2-4    5/23/2015   5/24/2015
Review By: tmcoyote
Played: 91  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Very good mix and balance of shots, left to right/right to left, short/long, forehand/backhand. -Scenic views paste the backdrop on this course. -The layout of the course was well designed on the land of this park. -Two sets of concrete tee pads and two basket placements for every hole gives this course a lot of options.
Cons: -If you are not playing this course before june the rough is tall, thick, and nasty. -Wind can be brutal, play in the fairway and out of the tall thick rough. -Spotters are necessary on most holes especially from long pads to long pins.
Other Thoughts: Was pleasantly surprised when i decided to go out to birds and give it a try despite hearing a lot of negative comments about the blandness of this course, style of golf, and very thick rough. Take a nice spring day off and check this course out because it's worth the play(especially inside an hours drive). -Very solid fun course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging course

5+    10/13/2014   11/16/2014
Review By: Vince W
Played: 91  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very well done course along a river. Has variety of elevations and flat holes.
Cons: In the summer it can be hard finding your disc with all the tall grass.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely play this course, it is challenging but also very beautiful.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite near Madison

2-4    9/18/2014   9/20/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 269  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 13.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in the small, quiet town of Marshall a small drive outside of Madison. There are two sets of tee pads on nearly every hole. The tees are large level and grip nicely. The difference from longs to shorts drastically changes distances and shot shaping on quite a few holes as well. The baskets are chainstars that are in very nice shape and catch great. There is a solid mix of right, left and more straight on shots here. The challenges range from wind on the more open holes, water on a number, elevation and plenty of trees. This is really just a well rounded course in this regard and makes for a very fun round. The park is in a very secluded area and is never too busy especially compared to the in town courses. The tee signs are very nice and informative. The have a basic hole layout map with distances, pars and the different pin positions. They even had stickers showing which pin was currently in play which is nice. There are also many signs showing directions to the next tee making navigation a breeze. Speaking of that almost every hole has multiple pin placements. This adds even more fun factor to the course. The variation of different distances is pretty awesome. There are shorter wooded and many varying prairie distances. Bird's ruins is also free to play (although there is a donation tube by hole 1) and there is a nice restroom and drinking fountain by the parking lot. The course is also permanent apparently, although I've never been there in winter. This is a big plus to me and this would seem to be a nice course to play a snow round at. Hole 19 is a very cool probably 250 foot shot over a pretty wide river to a pin on the other shore. This is really just a bonus hole but a really cool bonus hole at that. there are also tons of trash cans and benches all throughout the course to make your round a little easier in spots and help it stay clean.
Cons: The rough on a few of the holes can be pretty nasty. Not the worst I've seen but watch closely where you throw. Not really a con but just to take note. Holes 1-4 are on the opposite (south) side of the road. Holes 5-18 then wrap through the rest of the park. Hole 19's water carry hole is located right by the parking lot. As has been mentioned before the bugs can get bad but it is WI and that's true pretty much everywhere around here. Beware of people walking dogs and just walking on the trails throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: I've played all the courses in Madison and this is my personal favorite (though it's not actually in Madison). It's free to play unlike the four major courses in Madtown which is always nice but the golf is just plain fun too. You can couple this with many other nearby courses to make for an awesome day of disc golf.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.