Yorktown, IN 
Carl Scott DGC Share
Uploaded By: chuckdisc Hole #7 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 343ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 

5+    12/29/2011   2/1/2012
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete and hand made tee pads, touch of elevation, nice park. Mature trees are used, as well as a few holes in a more wooded area. Hole 9 has an awesome green.
Cons: As others have stated, a few simple bridges would do wonders for the course. Also, the idiots who drive their vehicles between 9 and 10 really tear the grass up, but if you throw a good shot it shouldn't be an issue.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course. Nice mix of distance and technical know how. The shorter drives still require a good shot. As said before, its just fun and compliments the course in Muncie very well. Great work.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 On it's way!

5+    1/16/2012   1/16/2012
Review By: numbernine
Played: 82  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 10 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's hard to objectively review a course that you put a lot of work in to, but I feel like I can do so pretty well right now. All that said, here we go -

The setting! - The course sits at the end of a dead end road in a beautiful park. This park was essentially unused until we put the course in .

Baskets - Custom built, orange, Arachnid Disc Golf Targets on the course. There are literally no better baskets on the market. Period. These things catch better than any basket on the planet.

tee pads - Most of the pads on the course are long, wide, concrete pads that were put in meticulously to ensure they were leveled.and correct. The tee pads in the woods were hand made from cobblestone and railroad ties. These are one of the gems of the course IMHO. Mr. Odell put a lot of work into these, and it shows.

Shot variety - From long, downhill shots with roll away greens, to short, technical wooded shots that play around a creek, this course has a bit of everything.

Signage - There are clearly marked signs on each hole that show the layout and preferred route to each basket. These signs are secured to 4x4's and makes it easier to locate the next tee pad.

use of terrain/elevation - Around 14 or so of the holes use the woods, a creek, a big hill or some combination of those to create an interesting shot selection. Number 9 is the perfect example of this. You tee off from a hill, to a sweeping anhyzer shot, up a hill with a dramatic drop off behind the target to a creek.
Cons: lack of benches - thus far, we have no benches on the course. the park's department is supposed to be getting these to us soon.

lack of trashcans. - I think there is literally one in the park. Maybe two. we're supposed to be getting more soon.

mud - we really need to install a couple of foot bridges on this course. Mud is bad by the water on a few holes
Other Thoughts: As this course matures and we continue to add to it (it's only been open for about 3 months now), it really will move up to a 4.0-4.5 type of course.
As it stands, I would say that it's one of the better courses in East Central Indiana. Come out and see for yourself!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Just a Fun Course

2-4    10/31/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 219  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 25.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice mix of terrain. From flat and open to hilly and wooded. A creek also comes into play. Alen Pier Siderweb 3 targets. The basket & top are painted orange. New, level concrete tees. The wooded tees are paved bricks. Nice, New Tee signs are accurate. Maps are available at the watertower fence. Loop design.
Cons: Next to an active R.R. Track. Concrete tees could be a little short,for some. The trees that were cut,on the wooded holes,were not cut level to the ground. Since the leaves have fallen they are covered. Be careful, I stumbled a few times. Small Footbridges are needed on holes #8,10,11. #10 could use down by the target. #11 has stones,the first is not very sturdy. The left side of fairway #9 holds water. The numbers on the targets are hand written sharpie. IMHO 4'' white numbers would be highly visible.
Other Thoughts: #1 is a 260' slight up slope hyzer or anhyzer drive with the spiderweb target between two large trees. #2 a 263' flat and open hole....cross the park road for #3...a 305' hole. With the tee just before the bottom of the largest mound in the course. The fairway plays along the bottom of the curving mound,with 6 mature trees in play. #4 a 281' starts out flat then up a little slope to another flat area. The spiderweb target sits behind two large trees with one big bush making a semi blind shot. #5 is 280' that crosses over a grassy valley with about a dozen mature trees,in the valley. No underbrush or low branches. The spiderweb target is half way up other side....a little back tracking to the tee....#6 a 260' mostly open fairway with the spiderweb target between a few trees. Making a anhyzer drive. #7 the 2nd longest hole at 350' plays on top of the biggest mound. The spiderweb target is just over the back side of the mound,making a blind shot and a roll-a-way green. Its also one of the most open,wind will be a factor. #8 a 210' ridge to ridge hole. Has one large branch forcing a anhyzer drive. The green is flat enough to "park it". But a roller is still very possible, if you pull it short. #9 339' long anhyzer drive from an elevated tee. The spiderweb target is on top of a large STEEP mound. With a handful of small Diameter trees in front. Behind is a 30' drop into the creek....into the woods... #10 a 136' hole that plays along the creek and up a short and steep incline. The spiderweb target is on the edge of the incline. Making a roller into the creek possible. #11 a 187' downhill hyzer shot with trees and brush on both sides. Also,Plays over the creek. #12 205' which plays along,then over,the creek and Up a little slope. #13 a 186' "Thread the needle" hole. A anhyzer drive between two trees,about 6' apart,makes for a ace run. #14 251' "Open" wooded hole. The first 2/3 of the fairway is open. Then a line of trees blocks the spiderweb target,that's in a flat grassy area...take the gravel park road to the left for #15. A 317' upslope drive to a large flat grassy area. The spiderweb target is between one large tree and a line of trees with underbrush. #16 225' the tee area has been cut out of the THICK brush. Its open,one long branch forces a low hyzer or anhyzer drive. #17 a 267' hole which has the creek on the left and mature trees,with underbrush on the right. The fairway gets more narrow as you get to the spiderweb target. #18 is the longest hole at 427' blind shot up and over a nice sized mound between two large trees that are on top. The spiderweb target is in a flat, wide open grassy area. From I-69 it takes 10-15 minutes to get to the course. A full round of 18 will take a little over an hour. If you don't have that much time. I highly recommend playing holes #8-#18. Overall a fun course. Not overly challenging. But NOT boring either. I'm a noolde arm intermediate player and had lot of fun going for aces and birdies. My goal here is to birdie every hole. Or get my first Ace!? If your traveling I-69 take the time to check this course out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Yorktown Delight

2-4    10/22/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: FreddieC
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New Tee Pads, Signage at each hole, and maps available - AWESOME Spider Web3 Baskets

Great course with plenty of elevation change which challenges your distance and disc choice judgement from the tee, as well as your midrange/approach and putts through trees and other obstacles along the way.

Highlights: Hole 1-2 are mainly open for birdies, Holes 3-7 introduce some trees which require careful navigation off the tee, Hole 8 (complete with an Tee Box set in to the hill) is scenic (across the gully) to the top of the hill directly next to the parking lot. Hole 9 - Long anhyzer or righty-side arm to atop a hill (don't go long, trust me....) Holes 10-14 play along a creek and through some deceptive woods (meaning there seems to be plenty of flight paths through, but the trouble is consistently making those "gaps") Holes 15-16 are open to improve your score after some wooded enjoyment, Hole 17 plays along a creek against the woods - Hole 18 is for those with an "arm" throwing 427 up hill slightly then downhill towards the basket.
Cons: I had to think long and hard about any negatives to this course - Hole 8 gully will need a bridge or path across (due to soft terrain) and the creekbed along Holes 10-14 needs protected from local off-road motorists - both of these issues are being addressed within the next week and will be corrected.
Other Thoughts: Thanks to Stacey Odell, Marc Stone, Jerry Suiter, and Muncie Disc Golf club for another great course in Delaware County - this new gem is easily the best course in East Central Indiana and a must play for any DG'er passing by Exit 34 on I-69...

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Yorktown Lions, Tigers, and Bears

1    9/26/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: zud00
Played: 151  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2016
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Really nice baskets, powdercoated and catch well
*Concrete pads offer good grip and the holes in the woods have brick pads, a nice touch
*Variety in hole distance, right/left turning holes, open/wooded holes, uphill/downhill holes
*Elevation in the park was used well in course design
*Playground on site for children
Cons: *Navigation was a bit confusing, I may have missed a hole or two without a map. I know they will install signs (rating does not reflect the fact that there are not currently signs) which will help. May have some trouble going from basket to the next tee without a map or other navigational assistance on a few holes if it's your first time to play the course
*While there was variety, I did not find any holes to be to challenging or long. The longest holes on the course were mostly open
*Had to cross a road (park road) a few times to get to some of the holes
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course, although there was no specific hole or feature about this course that struck it is amazing. I would say my favorite hole was hole 14 in the woods which requires a left to right turning shot where you have to hit a gap between a few trees halfway to the basket.

The woods holes were fun, most were short, but the technicallity made up for them. If you miss your line, you may end up off the fairway and into trouble where rather than a look at birdie, you will have to scramble for par. A stream may come into play on a few of the holes in the woods and on 17.

Holes 3-6 play through some nice mature growth forcing you to shape some lines which adds to the variety factor. Your arm should be warm by the time you get to hole 18 which is over 400'; may be tough for a lefty, however, with trees on the left.

This was a fun course to play. It wasn't to dificult for the experienced player, but should be great for beginners and will bring little challenge to intermediate players.

Thanks to all the work that is being done on this course by the Muncie Disc Golf Club, they are doing a great job.

I would recommend playing this course. It can be on your way to McCulloch from 69, it would be a good course to warm up on.

**UPDATE 9/2/16**
I recently played this course for the first time in 5 years. It has many changes and the addition to 6 alternate holes.

The course has good flow with plenty of variety. I really enjoyed the 6 extra holes near the river. They provide a different style of course play than the rest of the course with new growth and underbrush off the side of the fairways which will punish errant shots.

I still agree mostly with my original review, but I am bumping my rating from a 3 to a 3.5. I enjoy the variety this course has to offer. The one thing I wish it did have is a few longer wooded holes. Most of the wooded holes seemed to be under 200'. A 350' wooded hole would be a bonus.

I would definitley suggest playing this course...24 holes of goodness.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/17/2011   9/21/2011
Review By: duckkiller73
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow. One of the most fun courses I have played.
-Tee's had great grip. They were made of concrete.
-Beautiful park. The scenery around the course was nice and very relaxing.
-Demanding shots. Throughout this course you have tough shots, whether it was a tough anny drive, a low mid, a mid or putt that had to hit a small hole and then STOP, a shot that had to sit down or roll into trouble, nearly every shot had to be placed.
-Great looking baskets. I believe Double D made the baskets. The color scheme was awesome. The baskets all really stood out. They also caught discs very well.
-Great flow to the course. No signs yet, but the course had a natural progression to it that wasn't uber difficult to follow.
-Great variety. Long drives, short drives, anny's, hyzers, uphill, downhill, wooded and open. This course asks you to shoot every type of shot in your arsenal.
Cons: Tough to give con's because I understand that it is new. I will play it again later this fall and next spring and change my review accordingly.
-Trash cans. They are needed every so often.
-Some of the holes need cleaned up a little. There was some old trash lying around on a few of them.
-Signs. I know they are coming and the arrows helped out a bunch until you get the signs in.
-Bridge. Possibly will need a bridge built on 8.
Other Thoughts: Some really sweet holes. I loved number 8 the most I think. Everything about that hole is awesome. From the dug in tee box, to the downhill/uphill drive, to the somewhat blind basket placement. A few others stuck out, but really there isn't a bad hole on this course. It plays really well. Can't wait to come back.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/11/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: astomps
Played: 67  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2012
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -another East Central Indiana course
-brand new baskets and tees
-some really cool blind shots
-good mix of elevation changes and trees
Cons: -short holes, easy to par
-substantial ditch to jump over on one of the fairways
-woods holes are short and only challenge is avoiding trees
-This course desperately needs some footbridges over the creek
-Some trees need to be cut out on woods holes; they don't add any technical value, they just chew up discs
Other Thoughts: signs are now up which was previous complaint

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Brand New Technical Course

5+    9/11/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: befrad
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Brand new course as of September 2011
-Nice use of land; utilizes light woods, heavy woods, and wide open areas.
-Very technical course.
-Course is cyclical; Holes 1,9,and 18 are right by one another.
-Not insanely difficult nor too simple.
Cons: -As of now no trash cans, restrooms, or drinking fountains.
-The course is not yet outfitted with signs, though it will be soon. (Likely in October 2011)
-May be an aggravating course for right-handers without a reliable annheiser throw.
Other Thoughts: This course contrasts greatly with its nearby course McCulloch Park in Muncie. The two parks work well together for locals to practice or for weekend visitors to try out both. Lion's Club Park has no holes that are uncomfortably long, however accuracy is key.

Don't underestimate the wooded holes. They are deceivingly tricky, and a bad bounce can crush your score. I didn't list it as a con, because if you take the right line it is probable that you will be rewarded with a birdie.

Thanks to Muncie Disc Golf Club and Ball State University Disc Golf Club for making this happen.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.