Smithville, MO 
Paradise Pointe - Blackthorn Share
Uploaded By: oldmandowntheroad Hole #9 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Pain and Pleasure of Blackthorn

1    3/15/2017   4/5/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 324  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Blackthorn is one of 3 courses on site, and takes a strong game to stay around par. It features moderate elevation changes on many of the holes, and varies from mostly open to tightly wooded and points in between. Four par 4's add the element of distance, holes that are not unfair, but require accuracy to avoid bogeys.

The tees are concrete, there are nice blue rimmed baskets in good condition, and signs posted at each hole with a course map to help navigate. The layout is pretty easy, and not difficult to traverse.

I like that some of the holes offer good chances for birdie while having some room for error, and others require near perfect shots to get close. There can be dense brush and trees if you throw off line on several of them. I preferred the wooded holes over the open ones. Mostly on the front nine, 2-8 and 15 give you less airspace to work with because of tree trunks and branches that force some lower drives and create nice gaps, turns, and tunnels.

The open holes dominate on the back nine,l tacking on distance, and are exposed to the wind. All of the par fours are on the second half of the course. Water is in play but not a major risk in most cases. The pond on hole 10 is the only shot over water, aside from the creek on 15 if I remember it right. 16 and 17 are next to the lake shore, but unless you really shank one or lose it in the wind you should stay dry.
Cons: Park entry is $8, and I had a tough time cramming the envelope full of nickels and dimes into the pay station.
Bring cash.

Tee signs don't give detailed illustration for each hole, but the basket location is in sight on nearly every hole. 15 and 16 are the only blind drives I can think of.
Other Thoughts: I only played this one out of the 3 courses, and it was cold outside that day. But the wind was not too strong, and I had a good time none the less.

Finished with a 64, six over par. 3 birdies on holes 4, 7, and a great side arm drive on 8. Thought I had another one on 13, my putt was dead center of the chains, but a little weak and into just enough of a head wind to push it outside the bucket.

The par 4s got the better of me. Took a bogey on 12, made par on 14, and double bogeys on 15 and 16. Hole 15 is a tough one I would like another crack at. The drive has to get through a few tall skinny trees, then turn left without over shooting into heavy rough. Then the approach is pretty long and tunneled on either side by considerable trees and brush.

Overall this course is nicely outfitted and has a good design. With water, elevation, some woods great mix of fun and challenge. With a bit of skill and a bit of luck you can do pretty well.

I will return to check out the other courses here. Got a good look at the white course, seemed to be fairly easy with less distance and less trees on grassy hills. Curious what the gold is all about. I think I could do better on the blue, and once conditions improve, we will find out. Worth checking out in my opinion if you have the chance. Bring a lunch and enjoy a good day of disc golf on the lake.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough

1    7/7/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: hnosaj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: Diverse mix of holes, lot of tough shots, mix of long and short, perfectly maintained fairways, extrememly clean, beautiful setting
Cons: Chest high rough and some of the most dense undergrowth in the wooded areas I've ever seen. We spent a ton of time looking for discs.
Other Thoughts: We'll play this again in the future but probably stick with early spring, late fall or winter. It would probably be better in the summer after they cut down the rough for hay.

 Good Progress

5+    6/8/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: kcnickster
Played: 75  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is maturing quickly and is rapidly becoming one of my favorite in KC. As mentioned in other reviews 2nd hole puts you in the woods and you use your technical game. The trees end at number 8 which has some of the most narrow openings on the course, and it's starts opening up into some wide open 600 ft holes to work out some of those frustrating tree hits you had in the woods. The fairways were in the best shape I've seen and were well mowed and clean. Trash cans and signs are at almost every tee now. Of the 3 courses in the park its the one I enjoy the most.
Cons: Not a lot of elevation. About the amendity missing is some benches. Also the geese came into play near the lake, they had "left their mark" all over the tee pad of 17 and didn't seem to be phased when the disc flew right over their heads.
Other Thoughts: I love #10.. you shoot in between 2 smaller trees that could slow your disc down just enough so you don't cross the pond at about 250 ft. #15 has gone from a nightmare to very nice signiture hole.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great experience

2-4    2/19/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: joots
Played: 38  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Blackthorn, one of the three courses situated in Paradise Point, is a great example of how to make a round of golf for those with big arms and those with little arms (such as myself).
Plenty of wooded shots to help out your technical game.
Plenty of open aired shots to really unleash your inner-"beast".
The scenary of the lake in the background is very pretty, especially when the sun is coming down over the water.
The teepads are long, so you have lots of room to place your feet just right for a great drive.
The markers on the bottom of the baskets point you to the next pad.
Practice pin at top of the parking lot w/clean bathrooms for you to use.
Plenty of trees for you to use as a bathroom once the round starts.
Cons: I am going to 'con' this course with a grain of salt, seeing as how it is not finished yet.
No trash cans.
May be a bit of a stretch to navigate your first time out (guard post supposedly has maps).
Non-discers walking on path that circles the lake and cuts through the course.
Water and wind, but that is nobody's real issue, 'cuz seriously, who's gonna tell mother nature and the lake itself to back off. Not me.
During the summer months, you have to pay $5. to play, but hey, there are three courses on Paradise Point, so go early, and throw a lotta disc.
As of Feb 2012, hole 15 is not finished 100%, but by the summer, it'll be ready for you.
Other Thoughts: Hole number one starts with a 400'+ down hill drive that is open w/a small OB road on the left. Then, into the woods. From there 'til about hole 9, you are in some thick foliage. Not that you can't see the pin, it's just a matter of how you're gonna get there.
Once you get into the open on hole 10, you are met w/an approximately 350' down hill stroke that you have to toss over a small pond. It's pretty much all open from there, with long, open shots that will challenge even the biggest arms.
Hole 15, puts you back in the woods, but you're back out for holes 16-18, all with the lake on your left hand side.
The course is made to be the medium course of the 3 situated out there. Go, take a lunch, plenty of libations, and have a stellar day of disc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/10/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: Dale W
Played: 82  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent combination of techincal and open holes. View of Smithville lake (especially hole 16) is postcard perfect. The open holes are long enough (with sporadic large trees) to challenge even a "long arm" while not being over bearing for shorter arms like mine. The technical holes require precision and a little luck with some distance.
Other Thoughts: This course and Beaver Creek (right next to it) are two of my favorite courses in Kansas City area. The wind is a natural challenge added in.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center