Spokane, WA 
Downriver DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg  


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Well marked with elevation changes

1    8/10/2017   8/12/2017
Review By: wallawallathrower
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well-maintained course: The lack of underbrush (apparently squelched by the city), often wood-chipped ground and helpful signage make it easy for anyone to play here. Speaking of that...
SIgnage: Detailed signage provides information on the current hole's main and secondary pin locations, plus where to tee off next. As well, on each basket's pole, someone has sharpied an arrow pointing toward the next tee box; this is incredibly helpful for first-timers.
Variety: The course wends its way from an upper bluff down an often-steep hillside to a lower, river-level plane, and back, with each hole featuring different obstacles and distances.
Cons: Could be hard to find: The location of the course is not well marked if you're heading west out of Spokane. Several sites online (including this one) provide directions, but none got me there efficiently. FYI:
On North Pettet Drive, once you go under the underpass at Fort George White Drive and past a long downslope to the "float pick up" on the Spokane RIver on the left, look for a couple off-street parking areas off the left (river) side of the road. The course starts near the largest lot, with the port-a-potty. If you come to the Y with Aubrey L. White Parkway, you've gone too far. Turn around in the housing development, then look for the more-noticeable signage on the right side of the road.
Baskets are hard to see: Almost all of the baskets are difficult to see from the tee box. The metal is a weathered gray, and thus usually blends into the natural backgrounds of trees, river and rocks. As someone who'd never played here before, this made it hard for me to calibrate my throws, as I was unsure of exactly where the pin was located. For regulars, though, I'm sure this is no problem.
Too popular?: I played from around 8:15-9:15 on a summer Thursday morning. There were half a dozen cars among the multiple parking lots when I began, but close to 20 when I departed; as a small-town hucker I am unused to that many folks playing at once. Not really a con, but just something to be aware of for other non-regulars.
Other Thoughts: Varied, interesting and extremely well maintained course. My favorite Spokane-area course I've played thus far. If I lived closer to the area I would throw here regularly.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Downriver

5+    6/13/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: General Scales
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of distance (short and booming). Technically diverse (open vs wooded). Requires all shots (overhands, backhands, sidearms and rollers). Challenging greens due to hard pack dirt. Risk vs reward on a lot of holes and approaches. Constant improvement due to a very dedicated group of locals.
Cons: VERY BUSY. It is the oldest course in the area and that shows. Vandals keep destroying current signs so it can be confusing if you don't have a guide. 1 and hole 11 play within 100 feet of each other so it's very easy to hyzer or anhyzer a shot and put another player at risk. Parking can become an issue if you get there late in the day.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in Spokane. Always nice to come out right at sunrise and see the gorgeous sky reflected in the river. Worth the stop if you are coming through Spokane. I will always miss the 21 hole layout but safety is more prevalent.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great scenery!

1    6/16/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: trswem
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery! The river was really fun to play around. Met a lot of helpful golfers, well marked signs. I was told the course is cared for by volunteers, and it looks like they are going a good job.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic and Gorgeous

1    9/9/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 155  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
A beautiful setting for a disc golf course that is located near the Spokane River. With scenic views and great terrain this course offers a really fun experience. This well-maintained course has an ok amount when it comes to the variety of shots required, but does have a good variety of hole distances which make for some challenge. Downriver has a good mix of technical and open holes throughout the course as well as good use of elevation. Rubber team pads added for good traction, but some of the pads were worn. The signs were good but tended to be a little confusing when trying to figure out the flow of the course. The first hole is situated right near the 11th hole and goes off in one direction and you zigzag though the course. Once you get to about the 5th hole you get a little better idea of navigating the course. The locals were very friendly and helped me get around the course.
Cons: The main flaw of this course was maintaining a constant flow throughout the course. It was confusing and not well laid-out. There weren't any restrooms or running water. Even though the course used a good mix of technical and open holes, the course was missing the wow factor.
Other Thoughts: Even though this course was missing a few things to make it an elite level course, it really did offer a lot. The overall challenge of the course was about a 3.5/5. The course was a really fun course to play and absolutely gorgeous views of Western Washington. The Spokane River was right to the course which added to the scenic beauty of the course. There are two parking lots and it can get a little crowded which means back-up and discs will be crossing each other. This course was a fun course to play and if you are in the Spokane area it's worth the time to go and play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Downriver DGC

5+    8/8/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: TjN001
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a nice selection of different shots, some in more tight areas, and others that allow all-out open drives. Good variety of distances and obstacles. High quality signs, and friendly locals who are happy to help if you get confused. The front nine has some more difficult shots, and the back gives more opportunities for birds. Lots of fun, an overall great disc-golf experience. Porta-potty in parking lot. You can get water across the street at the golf course (you might get some weird looks, but you gotta have water).
Cons: It once was a 21 hole course, however now there are only 18 holes. Old holes 6 and 8 were really memorable, sadly they were removed. Also removed was old 12. Their removal does make the course more safe though (no more crossing fairways). Some tees were switched around also. This leads to some confusion... Nothing too bad though, still 18 wonderful holes to play through!
Other Thoughts: Some new signs might be required, since the layout of the course has changed a bit.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Is This The Best In The State?

7/3/2008   7/12/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have to agree with Mr. JR Stengele. This is one of Washington's finest courses. It has it all, probably four big air throws to really show off your arm, technical wooded holes, great signs, the teepads are rubber and work well here. It's a very scenic course with the Spokane River visible much of the time. There's elevation to throw from, water hazards as the river comes into play on 4-5 different holes. I downloaded a map and had very little problem navigating the course. The course was busy both times I went so following some locals is pretty easy. 21 holes is a bonus.
Cons: It's rugged and it can be very hot. Bring water. On as least two of the big air throws, you have to be a little careful of the river looming right behind the basket. Takes a little of the enjoyment of those big throws when you're worried about overthrowing into the river.
Other Thoughts: I think Downriver is probably Washington's # 1 enjoyable course, as far as being a majorly challenging course for tournaments and more advanced players. I'd rate it right there with my favorite, Lakewood King County, as an overall disc golf experience. Spokane throwers are lucky to have Downriver and Hi-Bridge right here in Spokane and then Corbin just 10 miles away.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.