Houston, TX 
TC Jester Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #15 (Taken 12/2011)
4 / 452ft.   4 / 624ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Long/Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
It's long, and not all in holes

5+    8/30/2018   9/2/2018
Review By: blake833
Played: 101  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: TC Jester is 21 holes that make great use of the local space around one of Houston's bayou's. The hole designs are fairly diverse, include a good variety of lengths, with a few long and few short, but mostly in that mid 300s range. All the holes are fair, but you're going to have to have a pretty big and accurate arm if you want a good look at birdie on some of these.

TC Jester is a popular park, being right in the middle of one of houston's major residential areas, it get's a lot of traffic. There are a lot of other attractions at the park the course plays around, in addition to a walking path through most of the course.

The mix of chainstars and discatchers are all nice baskets to putt on, and have really held up well so far.

It's hard to find a pretty course in Houston, but this one has a couple nice holes around the woods in the middle of it.
Cons: It's long. It's just freakin long. There are so many long walks between holes. There's a 24 hole course near me that I play fairly often, this felt longer.

Most of that is several stretches between holes, or a walk around the bayou. Given the holes are all pretty well designed, I'm ok with it. I'd rather walk a long way for a good hole than play a sloppy one in between.

The course is flat. But if you're in Houston, you should've expected that.

Along with the long walks, navigation can be hard for a first timer. Even on my third trip, if i wasn't with one of the locals, I would have still been lost sometimes.

Tee signs are numbered posts, it would be great to have a distance on them or something.
Other Thoughts: I still think this is one of the better courses in the Houston area. If I lived near by, I would be more than happy to play this course a couple times a week, and really work out those "local lines" for each hole. It's not very technical, but it's enough to want to keep coming back.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

When we gone get those Blue TPads?

1    1/13/2018   1/13/2018
Review By: billyjacko
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained with a great group of people who represent the sport through Leagues and tournaments there. 21 holes are well layed out. A good course to go unleash the hyzer with many holes over 350'. If you're intermediate or above you can score really well and still feel good about it. Lots of OB with paths weaving throughout course.
Cons: The biggest con is that this park can be kind of seedy. There will be cars parked in the parking lot all day with the windows blocked off and running. Consistently see cars with windows smashed in in the parking lot. Often times there will be some competition for course play with Soccer players and picnic goers taking up fairways. The course feels somewhat redundant at times. Lots of RHBH hyzer lines. There's not a ton of obstacles as the course was pretty hard hit from the drought in the mid late 2000's.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and probably my most played course. Really a great group of people that show up week in and week out for Wednesday league. It's the type of course you can come out and feel ecstatic with a -7, but feel crumby about a -3. Somewhat birdy or die since they moved all the teepads closer. Can't wait for this course to get teepads on the longs.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good park golf

5+    10/26/2017   10/30/2017
Review By: webulu
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my home course and it is a pretty well-balanced park golf experience. The park is pleasant and generally well maintained - mowed and kept clear of trash.

- The bayou! The bayou also shows up in "Cons", but it adds some very welcome elevation to the course in this very, very flat city. Holes 4, 6, 13, and 14 incorporate some rises or dips. Hole 4 crossing the bayou is a really fun one.
- Variety is pretty good, with some tunnels and low ceilings, some guardian trees, water hazards, distances spanning 210 to 460. Some hyzers, some anhyzers/turnovers, some holes that favor a flex shot, some straighties.
- Almost every hole has alternate tees if you are feeling like a challenge or if you've gotten bored with the main layout.
- Word on the street is that there are some NEW holes off in the woods towards the south end of the park. Haven't gotten to check them out yet, but some more tight, technical shots would be a nice addition.
- Wind plays a role on quite a few holes, especially those adjacent to the bayou, and the different orientations of these holes really make you interact with the wind in interesting ways.
- There are generally a few different lines there are viable on each hole. I've played this course a dozen times and there are still different shots I'm experimenting with.
Cons: - This is Houston, so the course puddles up quite a bit after big rains. Make sure to consider the recent weather and gear up appropriately.
- Pedestrian safety is a big concern on this course. Heavily used walkways and bike paths run alongside about half of the holes and it is also quite possible to put a disc on either TC Jester road or 42nd street on holes 1, 2, 8, 20, and 21. Also, on nice days, you will find boot camps and family picnics just set up in the middle of fairways, so you may have to skip a hole.
- The bayou will eat your discs. On holes 6 and 7, your discs are especially at risk.
- Only one par 4. A couple more would be welcome.
- Many tee signs busted :(
- A lot of holes are very forgiving. On most holes, you have to have a HORRIBLE drive to have a difficult upshot.
Other Thoughts: - A very slight annoyance, but the course switches to Innova Disc catchers around hole 17, and it still messes with me. I swear, those big yellow bands have a magnetic pull on my discs.
- This might be a pretty easy round for an advanced player. Everything is birdie-able if you have 375 ft range or so. I usually end up around -2 or so

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I Thought A Bayou Was Like A Swamp In Louisiana!

1    9/22/2017   9/22/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1313  Reviewed: 1262  Exp: 40.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2017
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Down here in Houston, they call these canals bayous. And these were the water that flooded over their banks and cause so much anguish and trouble for Houstonites. TC Jester park is a large sprawling park with the canal (bayou) running through the park. The park also contains everything a park could have from two dog parks to ballfields and was filled with joggers/walkers at sunrise this morning.

The course is fairly long, flat and has some nice scattered mature trees. They are used whenever possible but often result in having out just throwing around 1-2 trees. So mostly, the course is of a shortened "grip it and rip it" variety. The new concrete tee pads are nice sized. The signs are small metal ones showing the route, distance, par and the next tee. I was lucky to tag up with local player, Chris, (dragging a 4 month old and two dogs) so I didn't need to worry too much about the navigation. I think I could've have figured it out but there are a couple of long to very long walkouts, after #9 and #13 which probably would have caused me problems.

There are longer blue tees marked with a simple pole giving the hole # but no tee pads. Mostly, they looked to just lengthen the hole by 50-100', but didn't really appear to give you a different look.

# 4 is probably the signature hole. It's a 254' throw over the bayou but probably only requires about a 200' short to clear the water. One month ago, it would require about a 12 mile throw to clear the bayou's swollen banks. Most players will throw a mid-range here while I muscled up and made it comfortably across. I also enjoyed # 3 and # 18, both of which had baskets semi-protected by trees.

Both the bayou and surrounding streets are close enough on a number of holes to at least, give you thought before throwing. I would think us recreational players should check traffic before teeing off on a couple of holes.

The park was in nice shape, especially when you consider the flooding of the last month.
Cons: Flat.

Only a few trees to navigate around.

Probably three tee signs are missing.

# 16 and # 20 are both wide open and mostly, boring holes.

Navigation issues.

Three long walkouts. A previous reviewer commented that a round here would mean walking 4 plus miles. I believe him.
Other Thoughts: This is a very solid course. It's wide open enough for beginners and rec players and probably long enough that better players can get their kicks here. Lots of pedestrians to be aware of, while scatter armed players should, at least, take a look at the oncoming traffic on TC Jester before throwing and yes, I do realize that TC Jester looks to be a very busy throughway with lots of traffic which might mean a wait. Just be aware while enjoying your round here.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

TC is Awesome

5+    8/12/2017   8/13/2017
Review By: ken1645
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Concrete pads for short tees, new Discraft Chainstar baskets and rebuilt bridge on path from 5 to 6 along with a nice bench by the bridge make for nice additions to the already amazing layout. Very close to 610 loop makes it a central course for Houston. Drains very well into the bayou with only 2 or so holes retaining water after it rains. Good mix of RHBH hyzer and a few LHBH hyzer shots as well.
Cons: Minimum of 4.7 mile walk to complete all 21 holes. The grass along the bayou seems to be never mowed as the Houston Flood Control District people like weeds. Blue long tees could use concrete pads is the only improvement I think it needs.
Other Thoughts: TC has a pool open for free during the summer from 1pm - 8pm except for on Mondays when they are closed for shock treatments.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Bless yer jester

5+    6/18/2017   6/18/2017
Review By: richspor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was in awesome shape. It has nice new tee pads and signs. The baskets are not top end but they work just fine. A great course if you want to just play a few holes repeatedly because there are three sections here. Or all 21 make for a fun round. The sign to stop trashing disc golf courses with butts was a awesome sight on the new walk from hole 5-6. Hole 12 centeral pine tree is a favorite feature in all HoustonDG for me, the amount of gauges from discs is quite remarkable.
Cons: Not much, the pedestrians, the lack of elevation change, no extremely wooded holes( it seems like there is a spot to get all of those things between 5-6 that was not used)
Other Thoughts: Have fun and be safe. No reason to hit a pedestrian or have stuff stolen from your vehicle.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun park

1    3/30/2017   4/7/2017
Review By: Bennf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of great shots for such a simple setting. Very little interference from the actual park on your shot lines. Well-paced design. Teepads are good across the whole course.
Cons: Weren't too many holes that stuck out as natural beauties. The course isn't long at all if you have good distance or form but personally&#8203; I think some holes could've been shorter by a HAIR just to make ace runs more realistic--the course design wouldn't suffer IMO.

One or two "next tee" signs are missing which can lead to some confusion.

The layout could've had a bit less backtracking but it wasn't anything bad.
Other Thoughts: Amazing for where it is. Definitely a good course for practicing ripping out longer drives--I'm on the east coast and our tight wooded courses are definitely not usually so open. Had great upkeep on the grass. The live oaks scattered throughout are beautiful and really make a few holes pop. Would be a really fun course for a roller-heavy player.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A solid course that can be replayed many times

2-4    11/23/2016   1/23/2017
Review By: jamminbales
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Has a practice basket
-A good difficulty for all but the top skill level
-Hole 4 is definitely a signature hole
Cons: -Dirt teepads
-No tee signs
-Could be difficult to navigate if you don't know where you're going
Other Thoughts: Difficulty (3/5): A good mix of distance and obstacles. I played this course as a very new player and never got to a hole where I thought "I can't do this." I think this course will provide a good challenge for a wide array of ability levels.

Equipment (2/5): No tee signs and dirt patches for tee boxes. They get muddy after a rain. The baskets were fine though.

Variability (3/5): The majority of shots off of the tee I'd say were ripping a fairway driver in a way to try and avoid the smattering of trees. And if there was only one type of hole allowed on a course, that'd be my pick. There is a tunnel shot, a low ceiling shot, and a forced hyzer/anhyzer or two, but it's not the most diverse course I've played.

Flow/Experience (4/5): I played the round with someone who had played before so I was always lead to the next teebox. But for someone who wasn't being lead around, I could see it being tough to navigate. There aren't any tee signs, just short posts (some of which are missing) and there are a number of spots on the course where you can't see the next teebox from the previous basket so you'd have no idea where to go. I imagine a lot of first time players at this course play it out of order or miss a few holes. The course does start and end right by the parking lot though. In terms of experience, Hole 4 raised my rating by an entire point. A driveable shot over the flowing bayou was extremely memorable, and my biggest takeaway from this course!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Skinny, busy, city park.

2-4    12/25/2016   12/25/2016
Review By: MarkCrawdaddy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy access, an activity center in the inner city. Lots of space strung out along a concrete bayou. Lots of the soccer playing type, so dirty diapers and trash in the woods. Bienvenido to Houston.
Cons: An activity center in the inner city. OK I played on Christmas day but there was a lot of activity. Electric vehicles, kite flyers, so many dog walkers, joggers, bicycles. Some people just plant themselves in a fairway, looking at you to dare to throw at them, I did, sailing over there heads.
The course trys to be technical by putting a large tree on the right of lot of holes, just diminishes the fun. I played on a windy day so course was challenging just to keep discs in play.
Other Thoughts: I would have to play on a calm deserted day with someone who knows the course. The signage is poor, bring a map. Numbers on baskets would be good, and arrows pointing to next tee. People scratched their initials in fresh concrete tees, why didn't someone put an arrow with number?

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  wide open, not too technical

5+    6/25/2015   6/25/2015
Review By: patrickdrinksbeer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: fun course to play. as a somewhat new player, super technical courses through woods arent that fun for me. on jester, there is really only 1 hole where i cant throw a driver. there are trees on the course that come into play, but really no holes where you just hope to get lucky and miss a tree. 2/3 of the holes are birdie-able for a decent player. probably all birdie-able for a good player. playing solo, i can finish 21 holes in about 75 minutes. plenty of parking and easy to navigate once you figure out holes 5-9 are across the bayou.
course is much more difficult when the wind is whipping.
Cons: long walks between 9 and 10, and 16 and 17. course holds a lot of water after a good rain. no concrete pads. could use some trash cans. on weekends, picnickers can campout on a few of the holes between 15 and 21.
Other Thoughts: this course is about 4 blocks from my house so its super convenient to play. typically well maintained and although its probably considered fairly easy, every hole is fair and there are lots of birdie opportunities.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.