Winnsboro, SC 
All-Terrain Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #5 (Taken 9/2012)
4 / 494ft.   5 / 642ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 

1    12/11/2011   12/15/2011
Review By: medic5888
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 2 tee pads
Bright orange mach IV baskets!
Practice basket
Elevation on most of the holes, long bombs, tight wooded holes.
Restrooms on site.
Decent selection of innova discs
Tee signs that have the throwing routes and distances.
18 holes and a short 9 hole option.
Cons: As most of the people I played with the complaints of the tee pads, they were rough and got narrow towards the front of the pad, seems to be installed backwards as we are all used to them pads widening out at the front.

The course is still new so I really cant say this is a bad thing but it defiantly needs some foot traffic on it to get all the small roots and briars beat down.

Some of the distances on the tee pads seemed to be marked way wrong.

It can get really loud with all of the dirt bikes and atvs going around, and the trails do intersect with the course some, hole one you throw right over the trail from the long tee pad.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, Its a great setting and not a bad drive from Lexington where I live 25 min. I love the fact if you are cold you can go in the shop and warm up, they have decent food that is not expensive. I will defiantly play this course again and probably several times.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 worth the trip

1    12/12/2011   12/13/2011
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course just 50 mile south of charlotte. two tee pads at all holes, bright orange cages on the baskets make for good visibility. the elevation and terrain are amazing. good varietyof left to right and right to left holes.. up hill shots, down hill shots. fairways were fair and beat in well.
Cons: tee pads could have been leveled better before they poured the concrete. needs a few benches and some trashcans, although i didnt see much of any trash laying on the ground
Other Thoughts: the course is really laid out well. the last 4 holes were great, the view from#15 is worth the trip in itself. #18 is a great finish to the course. i will definitely be back again. 5 bucks to play it all day is not a bad thing at all

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 All Terrain is Off the Chain!

2-4    12/4/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All Terrain Disc Golf fully lives up to its name. The 18 hole layout has several memorable holes, featuring heavy elevation changes and woods throughout. A couple of very nice scenic vantage points toward the end of the course, and a great finishing hole. Front nine has a few easy holes but gets more woodsy, longer and more difficult beginning on hole 5. trees thin somewhat, but it doesn't let up lengthwise much through the back nine. Pro quality course, with few weak links. Every hole has two good sized, level concrete tee boxes with signs. There are also signs pointing the way between most holes. The baskets are sweet new Mach 5's with bright orange coating that is very easy to spot amongst the trees. There is a store with a small assortment of plastic, as well as food and drinks.
Cons: I would only ask for a few benches and trash cans on the course. Wind will usually be a factor on the hill tops here. Some of the rough is filled with thorns, ground is often littered with leaves and pine needles causing unstable footing on the hillsides. Keeping drives on the fairways proved difficult for me, and I scored two rounds over 70 on the long tees. My friend did shoot a 59 (-4) second round, so if you can get a little, and don't give up much a good score is possible. The green fees is $5 a day, making the nine hole layout fun but expensive. Carolina Adventure World facility hosts ATV and dirt bike riders, that may cross the trails near the course. We encountered a half a dozen riders during two rounds.
Other Thoughts: I like this course very much, and would say it is one of the best I have played in the state of South Carolina. If you are serious about disc golf, it is truly worth traveling to play this one. I really enjoyed the many chances for long drives on elevated tees, and the terrific views on hole 15. I wanted to give this course a 4.5 rating, but I can't fairly rate it better than equally good courses I have reviewed recently. It is a beauty though. I love playing this style of course, and had a lot of fun playing here. Nice facility, and surely worth a look if you live anywhere close.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/25/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 200  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Starts with the amenities. You must check-in before you play ($5/each, but to their credit they didn't charge my lady friend). There's a pro shop with drinks/concession-stand food/restrooms.
Two cement tee pads for each hole. A long and a short. This site has a helpful course map under "links."
Long open bombs, tight tunnels, elevation, lefts, rights, holes snaking up and down hills.
Bright baskets, like the baskets at Highland Hills in Wilkesboro. Easy to spot.
Scenic. Secluded (4-wheeler trails cross the course but I didn't see any and it was a beautiful day).
Close to the highway
Next-tee signs
Arranged to accommodate quick rounds - you can play the first 4 or 5, then jump over to the last 4 or 5 by design.
I like the old school signs at each hole.
14, 15, 18 - beautiful
Cons: Pay to play
Still very new. No benches or trash cans. Signs get you to next tee (though print a map for help), but there aren't established transitions. Some trail blazing on loose, rocky, hilly grounds.

Other Thoughts: I started out thinking 3.0 and then 3.5. It's a bit primitive but it's pretty perfect if you're driving between Charlotte and Columbia. I went with 4.0 rating because it's new - a lot of my cons should be fixed in time. And because it's a great stop on a beach trip. And, selfishly, because I ended with a sweet shot on 18.
Last tips - when you play 14, you see a basket that fits the pic on the sign. The basket is actually to the left (the basket you see straight ahead is 15). 14 is about 250 straight and then 200 dead left.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center