Pinehurst, NC 
Village of Pinehurst DGC Share
Uploaded By: chainmonkey Hole #8 (Taken 11/2011)
4 / 335ft.   4 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Village (Disc Golf) People

1    7/4/2019   7/8/2019
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 325  Reviewed: 320  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2019
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pinehurst's disc golf course is one of the region's best. For an area known for elite golf courses, this holds its own.
- Within the first couple holes, this reminded me a lot of courses in the Charlotte area. I kept getting vibes of Kilborne Park with elevation. It wasn't until after I played that I realized this was a Stan McDaniel design. That explains a lot of the layouts, looks, and challenge you'll find.
- Course is tough, but fair. Accuracy is the premium here. Even on the three longest holes - #3 at 465 feet, #7 at 505, and #11 at 610 - you're far better off throwing a mid-range disc multiple times if it means you're in the middle of the fairway. On #11, I played had an easy tap-in 4 using this strategy.
- Lots of variety throughout. You get a solid par 3 to start your round, a more challenging dogleg on #2, then your first challenge on the par 4 #3. That's followed by, in my opinion, the most fun three-hole stretch of #4 - 6. Four and six are downhillers, #5 is probably the first serious birdie chance, an uphill, 245-foot straight hole.
- Course requires you to play smart. As is the norm with many McDaniel courses, par is a good score on most holes. Don't play hero here. Be aggressive on the easiest holes - #5, 11, & 15 especially - and cautiously aggressive on others.
- Lots of great looking layouts. That's what impressed me most here. The quality of holes, many of which have undulations throughout. #8 & 10, for example, can play completely different depending on whether you're on the up or downslope and what side of the fairway you land. #8 was my favorite hole in terms of design and challenge. From a seemingly tight landing area off the tee to a downhill basket close to the water, this requires two excellent shots to be putting for a 3.
- This is exclusively a disc-golf park. I was the only vehicle in the parking lot. That said, course upkeep seemed solid.
- Excellent tee signs and ease of navigation throughout. The only slightly confusing transition was from #10 to 11. After #10, the only tee I spotted was for #12. Tee sign on #10 does point the way to #11, but I hadn't paid attention to that on any prior hole, hadn't been needed, so didn't on this one either.
- #18 is a fun closing hole. A predominantly uphill 417-foot par 4, the basket is on the edge of a drop-off. My second shot was 20 feet past the basket, which would typically lead to a great birdie chance. Here, the drop-off is only several feet behind the basket. If you miss that 20-foot putt, there's a realistic chance you're going 40-60 feet past. I took the safe putt approach and settled for a tap-in 4.
Cons: Mostly minor issues, some may be simple preferences or observations.
- My first negative vibe about a hole or layout wasn't until #7. My issue is that the initial portion of the fairway isn't much wider than a walking trail. Now, the fairway gets wider as the hole progresses. But, from the tee, there isn't much of a landing zone or margin for error. You miss your line and you could be deep in the woods 100 feet down the fairway.
- From the short tee on #11, the dogleg is sharp, extreme, and immediate. I know this after playing the short tee instead of the longs. Threw a Shark to cut that corner, and it still barely was able to turnover that fast. I think the short tee needs to be moved back another 50 - 75 feet to make it a more natural curve. Still, once you've cleared that corner, it's a challenging approach shot to the basket.
- Just as a short putt gets challenging if the basket is close to water or a drop-off, a tee shot over, or next to, a pond is more nerve-wracking when you see multiple 'beware of venomous snakes' signs posted along the shoreline. I'm talking about #17. Yes, I know there are cottonmouths and copperheads throughout the area, but having it thrown in your face made me walk faster and finish up that much faster. I also took the safe route and bypassed throwing over the water, wanting to get my par and move on.
- The park has no other amenities. Keep in mind and come prepared with snacks, drinks, and whatnot. One direction, you're less than 5 minutes from town and plenty of amenities. The other direction, you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere almost immediately.
Other Thoughts: Pinehurst grew on me as the round progressed, and even more so in the days since. Other than the amount of sand, this feels right at home next to the courses in and around Charlotte. Self-centered, I know.
- Course is littered with excellent holes. I could make an argument at least five different holes being the course's signature one: #3, 7, 8, 11, and 18. That said, #4, 6, 10, 15, 16, & 17 also have special vibes about them. That's more than half the course. Not too shabby.
- #11 is the only filler, out-of-place hole on the course. It's a straight ahead, 190-foot shot. Throw a putter or mid-range straight and you're putting for 2. Honestly, if you don't get a 2 here, it will feel like a wasted stroke. In that regard, it's a catch your breath, change of pace in between a couple of tough stretches.
- This is a golfing community. It'd be nice for disc golf to continue getting some of that golf attention.
- This is a solid course. The Sandhills are slowly building up some depth in terms of quality. In this region, it's a notch below Fox Chase in Albemarle an hour to the east. Pinehurst gets a solid 4.0 in my book.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    7/28/2018   7/28/2018
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 158  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2019
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This place is quiet. So this place might be specifically for disc golfers. Pinehurst is a pretty reserved location. So pulling in, I thought that I was in the middle of a skeet shooting field and would get shot by Merle Dixon. Cause a big field was all I saw. I saw the kiosk and found the first hole. And it's a good course!

-This course has two sets of pads on most holes. Something I don't see often is that there are tee-signs by the long pad and short pad. So there are many tee-signs. Almost thirty-six of them.

-Elevation is well used. It's not really utilized until hole 5. It's a solid uphill shot. It's really fun from the short pad. Hole 6 is back downhill and is a split tee-shot. There are some challenging pin placements that give scary putts that can roll downhill. Nothing insane, but doesn't have to be insane to be fun. There are two par 4s on the back nine that utilize the elevation well too (12 and 13). In a flat area, the elevation sure is no joke on some holes here.

-Forgiving course. Which I like. If you land in the rough, you can still shred the course. I shot +1 on the front because my upshots were awful. I shot -5 on the back. Don't let the fact that it plays around pine trees scare you.

-Some signature holes. #7 is a fun uphill par 4. It's a left turning fairway that opens up a little after about 275'. Hole is scary, but very fair. You have to throw a disc that'll go left and then one that will only go a touch left. Pretty easy par for an advanced player, but not a bad one at all. #12 is another gem of a par 4. It's the longest hole on the course. It's out in the open and gently goes right in the woods. Placement is key. If you have a cannon for an arm, you won't want to throw a high speed driver because you'll be straight ahead and in the woods. #17 is fun too. The pond is dried but looks like it can be swampy after a rainfall.

-Finishes in two nine hole loops. And #18's basket could be used as the practice basket. #18's pin is on a crest, so missing will lead to a long recovery putt. Good basket to practice on.

-Beginner friendly on the shorts. I don't care when courses aren't beginner friendly and I don't think that's an excuse to downvote. But when a course is suitable for any player, that's always a pro. A few holes only had one pad, those holes were #11, #14, and #15 if I remember correctly. I played the longs and parked those three holes.

-It's Pinehurst, so it's well known for the presence of pine trees. They are gorgeous and are a critical factor on the course.
Cons: -Most of the underbrush is low, so that's no problem. But some of it is rough and will make you scared to throw before walking the fairway. The lost disc potential isn't that high, so it's not really an issue. The main problem is the fact that there are venomous snakes. Beware. Unless you carry snake repellant, don't bother retrieve your disc if you lose it on 16 or 17.

-The nearest gas station is pretty far. Like maybe seven miles away. This is not a course for you beer drinkers to drink beer on unless you bring a lot of water. It gets very hot and humid in this area of NC. So dehydration can occur.

-Some of the tee diagrams are inaccurate. They show the fairways to be straighter than they really are.
Other Thoughts: -This is the best course in the area. I think the layout was optimized. There is a good variety of holes and the elevation was a bonus. I like how this course was demanding with it's fairways. You have to be accurate here. But it's still manageable to escape with par from the rough. Some holes allow big drives despite this being a mostly wooded course.

-My favorite hole was 6. I loved the split fairway and the steep downhill elevation change. Looking back at the tee, you see how cool this hole looks. Close favorites were 12 and 15. Sums up how fun the downhill shots are.

-I'm updating this review and giving the course a 4. I came back on August 11th and on second thought, hole 5 is a good hole from the long. It's unusual and I didn't like it at first but now I do. It's easier for lefties or for right hand sidearms. I'm a righty and throw backhands so I can through a slightly under stable mid and have it skip up the hill. Hole 16 is similar, but the green is much more dangerous. Hole 10 I didn't like either, but it's actually not a bad hole either. It's very hard, but you can try and throw a straight driver on a slight anhyzer line and let it turn a little, or throw a slow hyzer down the right side.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/11/2018   6/12/2018
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 153  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Village of Pinehurst is a very good intermediate to advanced level course in a very rural setting west of Pinehurst. (The name of the future park is West Pinehurst Community Park; right now, the Village of Pinehurst DGC is the only attraction at the park.)

+ Very challenging and fun course with excellent design elements--great variety in hole designs and shots required.

+ White (intermediate) and Blue (advanced) tees with appropriate difficulty and distances for those levels.

+ Nice concrete tee pads (both sets): wide, long, and flat.

+ Helpful tee signs at the blue tees with hole layout and yardage. Navigation is simple and intuitive.

+ Some holes have multiple lines you can take (eg. hyzer and forehand), which I think is a terrific design element.

+ Simply awesome greens with baskets situated on hills and ridges, making for some risk/reward decisions and death putts, and other baskets protected by guardian trees. Awesome challenge that requires maximum concentration at all times.

+ Awesome use of elevation. There are some sweet downhill holes and super-tough uphill holes, including #18 which ends with a basket on top of a steep and narrow ridge (death putt).

+ Another design element that signals this course was laid out by a seasoned professional: the front 9 loops back to where the course starts, so players can play 9 only or start on the back and end on the front (figure 8 course design)

+ This course has true par 4's (from both sets of tees), emphasizing placement and precision (landing zones) over pure distance. I loved the par 4's on the course.

+ Just to recap: the course is way up there on the fun scale, *and* it's challenging, *and* it's well designed, *and* it's a pretty, well-maintained property. I highly recommend. I almost gave it a 4.0, but dropped it slightly to 3.5 for a few reasons...
Cons: If you're an intermediate to advanced disc golfer, you'll love this course. But it is a little rough around the edges. Beginners, kids, or golfers who prefer a "park setting" probably won't like Village of Pinehurst as much as I did.

- This is rural disc golf. The means two things: bugs and underbrush. Did I mention BUGS? I was harassed for much of my two summer rounds there by horseflies, mosquitoes, ants, and spider webs. (I didn't run into ticks, thankfully!) Bug spray may have deterred the ticks or mosquitoes some, but not entirely. And the horseflies didn't mind it at all!

- I mentioned the underbrush too. This rough is real rough: thick brush and briars. Big incentive to stay on the fairway!

- Minor gripe: the baskets are older and tough to spot from the tee on some holes. New ones with bands would be sweet, but not necessary to thoroughly enjoy the track.
Other Thoughts: Not much can be done about the bugs and underbrush, especially in the summer, so just know what you're getting with this amazing course. It's totally worth it, in my opinion, but maybe not so much for new players who aren't ready for it yet. This is the big brother course to Reservoir Park. If you're newer to the game or want a more leisurely round, go there. But for a bigger challenge on a better (more fun) course, go to Village of Pinehurst.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very nice, secluded course.

1    3/10/2018   3/10/2018
Review By: Cap-Tan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked tee signs with par/distance.
Well defined fairways. Challenging fairways but enough room to make your shot without playing plink off a bunch of trees.
The rough isn't bad so if you go off the fairway it should be pretty easy to find your disc.
Great use of elevation. Several downhill holes as well as uphill holes and ones that go over a crest.
Pond plays on 3 holes. When I played the pond was extremely low, so it wasn't much of a hazard.
Seems well maintained and nice wood benches on MOST tees.
Cons: Some of the "Next tee" arrows had been broken or knocked off trees but found them regardless thanks to the "uDisc" app.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time at this course. Unlikely to run into anyone except other disc golfers. I would play here all the time if it were closer to my house but well worth the hour drive!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 VOP

1    4/10/2017   4/10/2017
Review By: ColonelOrange
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Stan McDaniel designed 18 holes, long/short concrete pads pads on most holes. The course is in great shape, well defined fairways, signs at blue pad locations detail each hole for distance. The only thing really going on out at this park is disc golf (and the occasional moron riding a horse), so you don't have to play around a picnic or worry about someone walking a trail nearby getting hit with a disc. The course is mostly litter free also because the locals keep it picked up.
Cons: Course is maintained in cooperation with the Village of Pinehurst Parks and Rec, but still a little rough around the edges with debris. During the warmer months, as with all forests, ticks are out in force and should be minded. Some poison ivy in places, but should be knocked with spray on the regular by the town.
Other Thoughts: Moore county in general offers several opportunities to play disc golf, this is worth the trip if you're coming fro out of town.

 Excellent DG in the Golf Capitol!

1    5/11/2016   5/13/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 159  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 16.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice tee signs at all the blue tees, layout of hole, intended path, distance and par for both blue and white tees.
Good sized concrete tee pads on every hole, except the two shortest, #11 and #15. Nice, hand-made wooden benches on nearly every tee.
Even though this is a wooded course, the fairways are fair, enough room to make your throw. Plus, the greens were ample, large in size and cleared all the way around.
Nice variety of holes, left turning, right turning, uphill and downhill (surprising for the Sandhills), four Par 4s, and even a few open holes. Different types of vegetation also, mostly pine trees but also some hardwoods and even a "fern" hole.
You even get to tee from the pond dam on two holes and putt to a basket on the dam, watch that dam putt!
Cons: Very few things here, but the worst thing about this course? The map on this website! Great tee signs and a good map at the start, can't someone get a better course map on this site?
The park has a port-a-john, the course has a message board, and that's it. It looks like there might be other activities in the big, open field, don't understand why the Village of Pinehurst can't put up at least a picnic shelter and tables.
The back nine could use a little more mowing.
Other Thoughts: Can you tell I liked this course? I saw the solid rating (3.68), and knew it was in the Golf Capitol of NC, (and the East Coast?) but wasn't sure about it judging from the online map, and the lack of facilities when I arrived. But I really enjoyed it from the first hole all the way through.
As I mentioned above, the fairways are fair and the greens are cleared, lets you really go for your shots.
One of the tightest fairways is on #6, so if one is too tight, go the other way, its has dual fairways. #7 is a nice long uphill Par 4 followed by an up then down Par 4 #8, with the pond lurking just behind the basket.
Several holes open up on the back nine by using the powerline ROW.
#16 is a fun, short, tight hole, leading up to the basket on the dam. Then the Blue tee for #17 is right there, requiring a left to right tee shot over the pond. #18 finishes with a unique basket position.
Lots of challenges on this course, a good workout walking up and down the few hills that are available in this part of the state. Not as pristine as Pinehurst #2, but an Excellent course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Noice

1    7/21/2015   7/22/2015
Review By: Frolfer907
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Course layout is great. Tight fairways and elevation change throughout. The hole variety keeps you on your toes.
Tee pads and baskets in exceptional condition, as well as signage. I would recommend putting railroad ties or something of the sort behind tee boxes with negative slope to block sand gathering from erosion (it rained in the morning and many of the teepads were mostly covered in sand).
Cons: Bugs!! There are a few holes around a swampy pond (very nice holes, but the bugs like them too). No trashcans in course, so there was a slight amount of FOD. Grass on some fairways was long, not sure how often they maintain.
Other Thoughts: BUG SPRAY IS A MUST!! A few holes we were rushing out of there. Some players may want to use pants do to thick woodline.

 Wow!

1    5/2/2015   5/4/2015
Review By: hoppedup
Played: 96  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has great signage. The flow is also very intuitive and easy. Signs show basket location and distance.

Each hole has two nice concrete tee pads that are wide and long. The course is mostly wooded with a few open holes. This is a good course for beginner and advanced alike. I took my niece for her first disc golf experience and she loved it.

The fairways are often tight, but the sandhills terrain here means they are pretty forgiving. We found all errant throws with little effort. The lack of dense undergrowth in the rough was a welcome change from the Triad courses.

We played a day after some heavy rain and the course was in fine condition. There is plenty of elevation change and it is used well here. There are a couple of downhill bomb shots available, 15 being a memorable one.

There is water in play on 8, 16, and 17 but it is easily avoidable, particularly at 17 where the short tee does not throw over the pond at all. A spotter at 16's basket is a good idea as an overthrown putt is likely a blind roller into the water.

The park here appears to be mostly dedicated to disc golf. The course does not interfere with any other activities at all. Coming in from the west, this place seems like it is in the middle of nowhere.
Cons: There were several beer bottles on the course. This is disappointing as they are most likely from disc golfers. This is a beautiful course and should be kept clean. I'll bring a trash bag when I return. This is a minor ding on an otherwise great course.
Other Thoughts: Coming in from the west, this place seems like it is in the middle of nowhere. Headed east from the park, you come to Pinehurst pretty quick.

This course was a great combo with Reservoir Park in Southern Pines the same day. I would love to have this course closer to home.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Rewarding challenge

1    8/17/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: ElevatedBill
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging but rewarding course
Pro/Am boxes
Isolated
Signs point to next hole
Cons: Tough undergrowth
Very very wooded
Lost a good disc (bad throw)
Needs more action to keep vegetation down
Other Thoughts: Hole one is found to the right of holes 9 and 10. One of my favorite courses that I've played. Will definitely return.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Splendid Isolation

1    10/30/2013   10/31/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course in the middle of a long drive in which I'd carefully budgeted time for three stops along the 52-15-501 corridor. After realizing just how far away from the main road this was, I began checking my watch and wondering if I made the wrong choice.

The last remnants of that doubt had faded by the third hole(12 for me). It was then then that I realized just how much I was going to like this layout. That the isolation that the course provided was worth the drive. That time constraints be damned, I had this whole amazing course to myself.

Pinehurst has that rare quality in which it is challenging without being frustrating for new players. I don't see who this course would not appeal to. Beginners will score abysmally on some holes, but I do think they will still enjoy it. The fairways can be tight, but going off them will likely only hurt the scorecard, and not cause extensive disc searches. Additionally, there's quite a few short holes mixed in to break up what could be soul-breaking stretch of par 4s.

At the same time, the experienced player will love the long tees. He will find real par 4s and ace runs. And he'll be tested to score well on both types.

Though I knew by the third hole that I was a fan, it the stretch from 15 to 17 that made me a believer. I walked up to the embankment and saw the two parallel pads facing opposite directions and I couldn't help but exhale sharply. 15 shoots away from the lake, down a steep decline and through a straight but narrow fairway. 15 is a throw back up to the ledge, where the basket sits adjacent to two teepads. The second teepad is 17 and "carries" over a dry lake. I don't mind that there is very little actual water. It's still not an area I would want to retrieve a disc from so play it as if it was water. It's one of the best runs of short holes that I've experienced.

It's also a great example of how Pinehurst flows. Hole-to-hole here is awesome. Despite not being able to often see a hole from another, the tees are remarkably close to the previous baskets. From tee to fairway to basket to tee, this is just a superlative experience.

Cons: As others have said, this course could use some traffic. There are a few rough edges. There are some patches of long grass in the fairways, as well as a few walking hazards.

There are also a few too many short holes. I like a nice balance, but this teeter-totter is weighted just a bit too much in the direction of short porches.

There is one exception to the great flow and that is between 7 and 8. What would fix this is blocking off the path that leads back to the third tee.

The one addition I would like to see is a sign in the parking lot pointing towards hole 1. It's logical to walk towards 10 and I played the back nine first. Not a big deal, but I prefer to play courses in the proper order.
Other Thoughts: I like a course with identity and this one has it. The forest is pretty unique for someone with my experience, and I quickly learned why the towns in the area have names like Southern Pines and Pinehurst. It's an awesome area and I think more use, a little cleanup and maybe some water in the lake would up this course to a 4.5. The layout for that is there.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.