Grandville, MI 
Heritage Park Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #8 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 233ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Gorgeous Park - Short Holes - Its Fun

1    5/13/2017   5/22/2017
Review By: MisterJ
Played: 30  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 0.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic - From the time you drive on the sandy first hole bound on your left with a fishing pond, until you finish up with you drive on 9 across the water you'll be taking in all the aesthetics of this great little course. Wildlife, water, park setting, it has a lot to offer, it is a very pretty course and park.

TeePads/Baskets - I wouldn't necessarily call TeePads a Pro. They are concrete, but so short, yes, short holes, but still. I preferred using the dirt to the side of each pad. The baskets were good, easy to spot, well painted.

Signage - Signs were good; they had hole, distance some other info about the designers and what not. No issues with the signs.

Fun - Definitely a fun course. Short, quick, lots of wildlife to watch, chances for aces on most every hole, the risk versus reward with some water holes, I would say some really top notch fun here for almost everyone

Congestion - I was here on a Saturday evening in May, and it was not horrible foot traffic, fishing, wildlife, basketball, or disc golfers. I can only report on what I saw, and for me, it was all managed well and wasn't too bad. With short holes golfers move quickly, walking paths managed well and all other park amenities don't really interfere.

Locatability - Park was easy to find, signs to the first hole well marked, and the course is short with goods signs so all baskets are easy to locate as well as next tee.

Maintained/Bugs - The whole park was well maintained, and bugs were no issue. Park was clean, no trash, only concern would be excrement left by wildlife (you know, goose poo).
Cons: Challenge - The course is so short, no elevation, and the majority of the holes are dead straight. Having said that there is challenge on this course with strategically designed holes and placement of trees. For the most part getting a par is pretty straight forward for most everyone, you mess up the putt and you may get a bogie, but lots of opportunities for ace runs or birdies. It is challenging to bird every hole.

Variety - This was really close to being a PRO. It had water holes, a couple dogleg right and left, and some very technical holes with strategically placed trees. But with lack of elevation, and significant change in length I had to call it a CON.
Other Thoughts: Whats holding it back from higher rating - It's kinda limited by the space it's in, so longer holes, elevation, these are things that just can't be added. The run-up could be a bit longer but the holes are so short, almost no run-up/natural would be better. I think it is does really well with what it has. Of course I'd prefer longer holes, a bit more complex, but this is nice.

Kid Friendly - Oh definitely, it's a nice kid friendly park to begin with. But this is short, and as long as the kids aren't too zealous with the water on your left on all the holes, should be fun.

Older/Less Active Player Friendly - Yes, flat course and short, I think this would be a pretty good course for these folks. There's places to stop and enjoy the park. If I was older and still wanted to play, I'd hit this course for sure.

Rookie Friendly - Yes, these is fun here for the Rook, and some shots to work on, I think they'll enjoy themselves.

Average Player Friendly / Pro Player Friendly - The risk reward with the water holes, and some of the technical holes, I think most of your average/pro players could get some good fun here. Its short, but still who doesn't need a quickie now and a again. Just talking a 9-hole, 30 minutes course. If things get bog'd down with people (or too much wildlife or poo) then skip it. But it is a nice park, and who doesn't want to try to get sub-par on all 9 holes?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short and Simple

5+    5/15/2017   5/17/2017
Review By: KetoDude311
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees in good condition on every hole
-Baskets all in proper working order
-Park scenery
-Can be played in 30 minutes or less
-Easy to navigate
-Mowed/maintained
Cons: -All holes are short to medium in length
-Not a lot of punishment to motivate you to learn/course may be too easy for some
-Goose poop
-Lots of foot traffic
-Might have to skip a hole for goslings/ducklings depending on time of year
Other Thoughts: This course is great when you just have 30 minutes to play and you still want to get some golfing done. If I have more time available to me, I never choose to go to this course, but I'm glad that it's there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Starter Course

1    6/23/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: xrockfistx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're just wanting to start discing, this is a great starter course. None of the holes are very long and, there's quite a few short ones to build confidence. A few skill shots required and decent to practice a little control on your shot if you're more expierenced. Does include at least 1 water hole but, it is easily avoidable. Easy to push a stroller along too and not very crowded.
Cons: The pads are terrible. They are very slippery from not being swept, plus they're short. There is something not quite right about the concrete that they laid down for the pads. If you walk over to the areas where there are picnic tables, it seems like that should have been used on the pads instead of the cement that is on there.
Other Thoughts: I liked the course, we played twice to make it 18. Nice if you have some time to kill in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 quack quack

1    4/27/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: mcnugget
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: awesome for noobs like me short holes which build confidence almost birdied here

i personally liked the pads but i dont run up

loved the atmosphere

bathrooms signs are the best i have seen but wish they has some wood under the sign for ace info so people would not write on the sign
Cons: hole 2 is narrow ish for newer people and if you not on your in the lake or pricker bush

3/4 are there longer drives and they are way to close they almost always get tangled

there is duck and goose poop everywhere hand santi needed
Other Thoughts: over all i enjoyed this 9 hole wonderland i stayed clear of most of the hazards but it was nice having them around and going over the creek I will be revisiting this course soon

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Open

2-4    7/22/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: jonesydesign
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice park, well kept
-Most holes are VERY short (under 300, a few under 200)
-good for beginners and working on your short game
-lots of ace and birdie possibilities
-actual bathrooms on site
Cons: -plays near lots of other park activities
-not a lot of variety, pretty straight forward shots
-VERY slippery tee pads, almost better off not using them
Other Thoughts: It was a decent little course but the tee pads are the slipperiest surface I've ever thrown from. I'd rather have dirt than those things; please add some traction! The park is pretty nice and there are a couple of holes where the water is a legit threat. A few holes are very close to each other and could easily cause players to unintentionally interact with each other. The day I was there was rather windy and since the course doesn't have a lot of trees to block that wind, it definitely affected our gameplay. It's easy to play this course in about 30 minutes so it's a good warm-up for bigger courses. Overall I'd play it again if in the area but I wouldn't go out of my way for it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Simple, crowded

5+    6/13/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clearly marked, clean, relatively new course, great for beginners as it is very easy with the exception of #2.
Cons: Very crowded, not much of a challenge, short holes, a lot of pedestrians during peak hours. The tee boxes are very slippery at times, so much so I don't use them.
Other Thoughts: very easy, good for taking kids so long as you don't mind waiting a lot. Simple layout, easy to navigate.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/25/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 88  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They have tee pad here. One some downside is they are small and kind of slick(most holes are short so you don't need much of a run up)

The signs here are some of the best. Pretty accurate and nicely displayed. They have the hole number, the size and the actual shot. This makes it super easy to find your way around.

This place is pretty small, but they used the space nicely. There are a few holes close the the trail, but not to bad.

They have baskets here.

The park itself is very nicely kept, has everything you could need in a park. Makes for a quick 30 minute round.

Cons: These baskets are kind of scary for me. Have a chance for bounce out if you are a hard putter.

The place is pretty straight forward which for beginners is really nice, but someone who has been playing a few years it's not really much.

The tee pads, although nice to have they are kind of short, and slippery.
Other Thoughts: This place is a nice small park. Good use of land, but not really a full round feeling. I used to work down the road from here and it would of been a perfect after work round. If you want to hit an ace, this is a good place to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Safety issues

1    3/10/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small, well kept neighborhood park. The grass is mowed and there was no trash or vandalism when I played. The baskets seemed pretty new, and the signage was basic but in great shape and totally adequate to navigate the course. The concrete pads were small, but the holes are short so that's not a big deal. A few holes bring some water hazards into play on an errant shot, a few more have enough trees to make you think about how to approach your shot.
Cons: There are a lot of safety issues here. The course plays right next to pavilions, a volleyball court and a basketball court. The walking path is in play on several holes, including one shot where walkers can come around a blind corner in the middle of the fairway. The course is very short and open, a simple hyzer is sufficient on 8 of the 9 holes with little punishment for errant shots.
Other Thoughts: Beginners can have fun here, with shorter holes and not a lot of chances to lose discs other than a single hole where the water is actually in play. More experienced players won't find much challenge here, even playing a putter only round, there just isn't enough room or enough obstacles to really test different disc golf skills. It always makes me nervous to see beginner oriented courses with serious safety issues. Less accurate players magnify the potential for conflict with other park users and that kind of problem can jeopardize installation of future courses.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 hrm....

1    3/8/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 297  Reviewed: 287  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: tee pads--concrete, seem a little small but the holes are short
signage--nice! accurate distances
routing---easy
risk v reward--decent use of the lake, rounded counterclockwise so the lake was always on the left.
baskets--DiscNation baskets, single chains, but remarkably grabby
hole 9--LOVED IT! nice to play across a creek with a lake on the left...
the aesthetic--nice park! no garbage or overgrowth.
Cons: variety--there are some interesting pin placements but for the most part these were fairly straight forward
challenge factor--the only reason it was challenging today was the wind. other than that, it woulda been an ace run kind of day.
length--one hole is supposedly 300' all others are shorter
Other Thoughts: I think that when rosewood re-opens, these will make a good two-fer or maybe a three-fer with hughes park.
not bad for a 9hole eagle scout project.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mid Range Course

1    3/6/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: jarnson
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Simple design around the park
- 9 holes; good mid-range distances
- The concrete pads are new and the cages are new also. (New conditions of course)
- Signs are simple, showing the hole number, distance and a quick view of how the course is set up
- Holes do not move around like some courses; a simple follow around counterclockwise direction.
- Bathrooms nearby the first hole
- Right by 44th street, not to hard to find
- Water hazard on hole 9 and hole 2 (discs can make it over 9's and hole 2 is only a problem if you have a wicked curve to the left)
Cons: - Holes are simple one shot, straight deals. Ace on a couple of the holes
- Ducks and geese are a problem
- Last half of course is near play ground and vollyball court. Watch out for players
- Hole 4 is missing its sign.
Other Thoughts: - This park does not allow alcohol
- A very good course, simple design, close to home for some, and right by the highway.
- Hole 1 starts right by the old school house, past the bathrooms. It ends by the parking lot and the basketball court.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.