Grandville, MI 
Heritage Park Share
Uploaded By: jonesydesign Hole #5 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 131ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
# 9 Was Sweet!

1    9/4/2017   9/5/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When driving up, you can see that this little park is happening place. Besides the disc golfers, there were folks fishing, walking around and several picnic/parties were in progress. The park centers around a small lake and creek in the middle. The disc golf course starts right next to the parking lot and plays around the lake counterclockwise. The wonderful metal signs were made as an Eagle Scout project by Colonel Tyler Van Eck. Tee pads are concrete and not very long. The baskets catch well enough.

The water can come into play on a few holes including 2, 8 and 9. I witnessed a young player land in the lake on # 8. Luckily, he was able to fish it out. There are some straight forward easy Ace Runs.

IMO, the signature hole here is # 9. It's just a little 164' easy throw over the creek but it has to be semi-threaded between some branches hanging over the creek, and a little anhyser touch is required. There is some skill involved and better yet, it's just a pretty little throw.
Cons: Chance of lost discs in the lake.

Interference with other park users.

Seems to be busy.

Some asswipe spray painted the # 3 sign making it unreadable.
Other Thoughts: This is just a cool little course. It's fun and has some interesting shots. The lake probably puts a little pressure on players. You can tell by the player use that this a well attended course. There is a plethora of courses in this area and this one would definitely be on the regular circuit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short and Simple

5+    5/15/2017   5/17/2017
Review By: KetoDude311
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees in good condition on every hole
-Baskets all in proper working order
-Park scenery
-Can be played in 30 minutes or less
-Easy to navigate
-Mowed/maintained
Cons: -All holes are short to medium in length
-Not a lot of punishment to motivate you to learn/course may be too easy for some
-Goose poop
-Lots of foot traffic
-Might have to skip a hole for goslings/ducklings depending on time of year
Other Thoughts: This course is great when you just have 30 minutes to play and you still want to get some golfing done. If I have more time available to me, I never choose to go to this course, but I'm glad that it's there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Open

2-4    7/22/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: jonesydesign
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice park, well kept
-Most holes are VERY short (under 300, a few under 200)
-good for beginners and working on your short game
-lots of ace and birdie possibilities
-actual bathrooms on site
Cons: -plays near lots of other park activities
-not a lot of variety, pretty straight forward shots
-VERY slippery tee pads, almost better off not using them
Other Thoughts: It was a decent little course but the tee pads are the slipperiest surface I've ever thrown from. I'd rather have dirt than those things; please add some traction! The park is pretty nice and there are a couple of holes where the water is a legit threat. A few holes are very close to each other and could easily cause players to unintentionally interact with each other. The day I was there was rather windy and since the course doesn't have a lot of trees to block that wind, it definitely affected our gameplay. It's easy to play this course in about 30 minutes so it's a good warm-up for bigger courses. Overall I'd play it again if in the area but I wouldn't go out of my way for it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Simple, crowded

5+    6/13/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clearly marked, clean, relatively new course, great for beginners as it is very easy with the exception of #2.
Cons: Very crowded, not much of a challenge, short holes, a lot of pedestrians during peak hours. The tee boxes are very slippery at times, so much so I don't use them.
Other Thoughts: very easy, good for taking kids so long as you don't mind waiting a lot. Simple layout, easy to navigate.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/25/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 89  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They have tee pad here. One some downside is they are small and kind of slick(most holes are short so you don't need much of a run up)

The signs here are some of the best. Pretty accurate and nicely displayed. They have the hole number, the size and the actual shot. This makes it super easy to find your way around.

This place is pretty small, but they used the space nicely. There are a few holes close the the trail, but not to bad.

They have baskets here.

The park itself is very nicely kept, has everything you could need in a park. Makes for a quick 30 minute round.

Cons: These baskets are kind of scary for me. Have a chance for bounce out if you are a hard putter.

The place is pretty straight forward which for beginners is really nice, but someone who has been playing a few years it's not really much.

The tee pads, although nice to have they are kind of short, and slippery.
Other Thoughts: This place is a nice small park. Good use of land, but not really a full round feeling. I used to work down the road from here and it would of been a perfect after work round. If you want to hit an ace, this is a good place to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 hrm....

1    3/8/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 305  Reviewed: 288  Exp: 7.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: tee pads--concrete, seem a little small but the holes are short
signage--nice! accurate distances
routing---easy
risk v reward--decent use of the lake, rounded counterclockwise so the lake was always on the left.
baskets--DiscNation baskets, single chains, but remarkably grabby
hole 9--LOVED IT! nice to play across a creek with a lake on the left...
the aesthetic--nice park! no garbage or overgrowth.
Cons: variety--there are some interesting pin placements but for the most part these were fairly straight forward
challenge factor--the only reason it was challenging today was the wind. other than that, it woulda been an ace run kind of day.
length--one hole is supposedly 300' all others are shorter
Other Thoughts: I think that when rosewood re-opens, these will make a good two-fer or maybe a three-fer with hughes park.
not bad for a 9hole eagle scout project.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.