San Angelo, TX 
North Concho Park Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 North Concho

5+    4/26/2017   11/23/2017
Review By: rhutch
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good shot variety - you can use the whole bag here...turnovers, overhand, forehands, big hyzers, skip shots, rollers, their are potential lines for all of them.
The closest to playing in the woods that you will find in San Angelo
Rubber teepads
Baskets catch well
On course disc-golf themed artwork
Cons: Only 10 holes...great use of the land, I'm just greedy more holes equals more chances for fun. No real way to make this an 18 hole course though.
No bathrooms on site
I'll agree with the reviewer below, Island hole seems like an add one, and if you can throw a 250 foot hyzer, it's not a real problem how as it is wide open.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the San Angelo area, the holes create some fun shots to throw.

Hole 1 plays slightly downhill and has a mando to force a tunnel shot. A good hyzer flip or straight to fade shot are good options to get down to the cove which protects the basket.

Hole 2 is a short shot from an elevated tee pad down to a basket tucked into the rough. Discs can cut through the rough and into the river. Lost an Envy I was very fond of like that.

Hole 3 is a long shot off an elevated teepad across a small drainage ditch to a basket. The rough on the left is extremely thick and the river is right there as well. The safe play is to get the shot out right.

Hole 4 is a short slightly uphill hole with some trees right at the tee, but pretty open around the basket.

Hole 5 might be the most difficult shot on the course, if you nail the hyzer flip out to 330 down the tree tunnel it can be birded, but the hole plays right along the river and an unfortunate kick and it is easy to lose a disc.

Hole 6 is a short skip shot or flick through the trees.

Hole 7 plays along the river, but it is wide open to the right and sets up well for an RHBH hyzer

Hole 8 is an island hole, wide open, zero obstacles, I usually just mash on a Harp and move on. Basket is elevated on some rocks.

Hole 9 plays slightly uphill with the high hyzer line guarded by trees, unless you drop in just right. You can also skip in or hyzer flip something into birdie range.

Hole 10 is a short tight tunnel but there is a big hyzer route and a flick route that allow you to get around the tunnel.

As always when playing in west Texas the wind can quickly become a factor and the layout of this course makes it pretty tough as the prevailing winds in San Angelo become crosswinds on this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 best course in the area

1    4/26/2017   4/28/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 1004  Reviewed: 367  Exp: 33.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: easy to follow
good rubber tee pads
Decent baskets
nice use of land on 9 of the holes
Cons: Island hole seems to be an add on and is the worst hole on the course
No distance on the tee markers
Other Thoughts: Played 5 in San Angelo in one day, this was my first stop

Hole 2 tees off and is a GREAT longer hole with the basket in a little cove by the street. The wind made for a perfect roller for me and the wall surrounding the basket making the cove stopped my roll for a nice bird to start my day.

Hole 2, maybe the shortest hole on the course, you have open to the right, hill full of brush on the left and behind the basket. Luckily I hit a tree behind the basket and fell before my discs went into that discussing looking water.

Hole 3, from 2 basket, you have to climb up the hill and you wind up teeing across #2 fairway. Because it is elivated, it really does not effect those who may be playing hole 2. Great piece of artwork on the fairway. Longer hole with a tough tee shot, specially when the wind is howling into your face.

Hole 4 is a basic shot, skip up the left or the right.

Hole 5 and 6 shoot down the river side of the park.

Hole 7 is a pretty wide open shot to get you towards hole 8, river is on the left protected by a lot of brush.

Hole 8 is across the road, not a single tree and is played as an island hold with rocks forming the circle.

I did not see the drop zone, so I played it as a stroke penalty for missing the island. (and I was playing casual)

Hole 9 and 10 work your way back to the parking area and hole 1. 9 is a basic long, more open shot till you near the basket and 10 is a nice birdy shot though the trees.

In all, I probably enjoyed this course the best because of the variety of holes on a 10 hole course.

Would I play this course again? yes, if I am in the area, this would be one of my top choices to play again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Sold, Fun Course

1    12/21/2013   12/22/2013
Review By: ZackBrame
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good holes. Not too wooded, or crowded for that matter. The tee pads aren't dirt anymore, so that a huge plus.
-Hole 8 is fun! Nice island hole to challenge your accuracy!
Cons: -Trail from hole 2 to hole 3 is crazy steep, just walk around the tee box of hole 2 and up a smaller hill.
-Layout is a little weird if it is your first time there.
Other Thoughts: Not the best course the San Angelo has, but still a nice 30min game you can make out of it!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/20/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 193  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets were in great shape. I like the challenge of a few of the holes. There are some open holes as well as some wooded holes. I really liked hole 3's tee pad that is up the hill and you throw through the trees. Navigation is fairly easy because it is all on one plot of land except for hole 8, that is on its own little island of grass not more that 30 yards away. There was plenty of parking and this course is great for a round you want to finish in about 30 minutes.
Cons: I did not like the natural tee pads. I want concrete for proper footing. I didn't get the fun factor from this course. I know they can't help this but there were massive mounds of ants everywhere including the tee pad on holes 4 or 5.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.