Bostic, NC 
South Mountain Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: Kepdog2 Hole #10 (Taken 1/2014)
4 / 270ft.   4 / 379ft.   4 / 442ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 White Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
South's Gonna Do It Again

1    5/14/2017   5/15/2017
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 146  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three sets of tees, wide open spaces and serene surroundings. This is like a private course that you have to yourself and it has some lovely little views of a lake, prayer garden and such. It's a very open course but has solid elevation change and enough trees to keep it from feeling like field practice with baskets. Not a super long course but the whites and blues could be taxing for noodle arms. South Mtn also mixes in a couple wooded holes for good measure so it doesn't feel too one dimensional.

I played from the Whites because that's where the very nice concrete tees are, as well as the tee sign, for ease of finding. They're a fun romp through the camp that yields plenty of birdie opportunities but also lets you air out the drivers also. You can throw a variety of lines, have to hit a few gaps like a mando, and worry a little about disc placement (especially by the lake). Navigation is fairly straightforward and there is rarely much walking between holes, a very big plus considering how open the course is.

The holes for the most part require mindfulness and had some elements of risk/reward due to just enough obstacles, elevation change and fairway shape to prevent power hyzers from being the obvious line over and over. The course is so out of the way that it's seldom that you'll see another soul out there so you can really take your time and play as meticulously as you like, a luxury rarely afforded on public courses.
Cons: It's a little too open for my tastes but that's a preference thing. It's kind of irksome that the nice concrete tees are at the Whites and not the Blues since those are the longest and generally most needing of good footing. I didn't play the Blues but I noticed that quite a few of them had claustrophobic tees where they tucked them just into the woods with really tight gaps to break out of. The Blues and Yellows (I think they were yellow, the shorts anyway) aren't terribly hard to find but do require looking around for a bit. They're just painted stobs longer and shorter of the Whites for the most part. These are mostly natural (boo) but some of the Blues were at least gravel (yea). A few next tee signs would be nice also.

Biggest outright cons are that several holes play extremely close to other activities and buildings. There's a cabin on hole 2 that you pass by on the left that could easily get smashed. There's a hole where some mandos (double mando in Blue's case) are supposed to be prevent you from decapitating a server on the volleyball court, plus another building in reach. Then hole 17 literally plays completely over a small soccer field, like it is the fairway. Not a big deal if you're the only guy in the camp but I'd hate to drive all that way and find out that a handful of holes are unplayable.

Speaking of driving, dear Lord this course is out of the way, in the middle of nowhere. I'm from the sticks but this is another level of rural and on the Sunday I played it looked like the tiny towns nearest it were basically closed to observe the Lord's sabbath.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course but it's so out of the way. If you're on a course bagging road trip unfortunately I would advise to skip South Mtn. It's worth playing and the $2 fee for sure but more suited for a change of pace course if you live near the area and just want to take a break from crowded park courses and play all day at your leisure. Also has some really cool holes like hole 15 which is a mini-gauntlet over a valley. It's more fun and better than the 3 I'm giving it but there's just too much conflict that seems needless considering the camp's bigness.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid, but not among the best I've played

1    4/24/2017   4/24/2017
Review By: Mike C
Played: 122  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Beautiful property that is very quiet, secluded and out of the way. That feeling of isolation is something I value in a disc golf course, I always find those types more enjoyable. I played on a beautiful weekend day and saw one group of people on horseback across the lake, and a total of 5 other disc golfers between two groups. The views and overall atmosphere were the most memorable aspects of the course to me.

+ Three tees per hole.

+ Baskets are in good shape, the tees for the white layout are nice, and the tee signs that are there (About 14) are very informative and well executed.

+ Pretty good diversity as far as length, elevation and left or right finishes are concerned. Maybe a few too many straight shots, but they're fun holes for the most part.

+ Mix of open and wooded holes. Leans a bit too much on the open side, but at least its not all one or the other.

+ Flags on most baskets is a nice touch to help make them easier to spot.
Cons: - Only the white tees are paved, the rest are natural or gravel.

- Features too many wide open shots. With all the trees on the property I felt the shot selection could have been more diverse with a stronger design.

- #2 has you throwing at a small cabin / house, like others have noted. Wasn't an issue for me to get a flick past it, but on a griplocked drive one could accidentally break a window.

- Missing tee signs. Maybe 3 or 4 of the tee signs have been ripped down.

- Feels slightly repetitive at times. 2, 3, 4 & 5 are all pretty open, around 10-13 it feels pretty flat and plain, 16-18 has the course finishing with another set of fairly open to wide field throws etc.
Other Thoughts: Note that my review is based on a single round from the white tees. Next time I play I plan to throw the blue tees, but the ground was wet during my round so I wanted to use tee pads.

I did not find the course very challenging from the white tees. I threw a midrange or putter for half the tee shots, and the course didn't demand a great deal of accuracy in general. I'm hoping the blue layout feels a little more demanding, but I don't expect a night and day difference based on what I saw.

I think South Mountain Disc Golf is a solid course. I had a fun round, I enjoyed the scenery, and the overall atmosphere was great.

That being said, nothing about the course really stood out to me. Everything about it seemed good rather than exceptional. That's not to say it's a bad course, but to be honest the most memorable thing about it are the views. None of the holes scream signature hole to me, it's kind of mundane overall.

It is a little out of the way, but you have options in every direction as far as 18 hole courses to pair with it. I opted to head west to Jackson Park in Hendersonville at the suggestion of one of the golfers I met on the course.

This is a course I'd like taking my friends to when they visit from out of state. There's some ace runs, there's some longer rips, and you'll feel like you have your own private golf course for a few hours.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good course, but slightly overrated

1    12/13/2015   12/14/2015
Review By: jksenior
Played: 160  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice facility, quiet with beautiful views.
3 tees on each hole (two natural and on concrete). Tees were in great shape and a couple even had brooms.
Baskets in good shape
Very well maintained
Navigation was good, never too hard to find the next tee.
I liked a number of the holes, but Many (8-9) are a pretty easy putter shots (<250)
Slightly lefty biased, but not too bad.
Cons: Only the white tees (middle) had concrete teepads. This makes for a fairly open and relatively easy course. The blue (natural) tees would make it slightly more difficult, since you are often 30-50 feet back and throwing out of a tunnel.

A couple of the holes had some pretty significant design flaws:
- #2: throwing pretty much at a cabin structure, behind which the basket sits
-#4: while a very nice hole by the lake, there are some blind spots where people could be hit
- #10: throwing right beside a volleyball court. Even with the double mando it would come into play.
- #15: just a jump putt down the hill

The pars on the few par 4's and 5's are bit inflated. There are probably 2 par 4's from the whites.
Other Thoughts: I think if the blue tees were concrete, that layout would be a much stronger course, probably more of 3.5-3.75. Particularly if the roads were marked as OB.

I would definitely consider this a open course, particularly from the white tees.

I think it's very beginner friendly course in a beautiful setting. It merits a visit if you are in the area.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  2015 Spring Update

5+    3/21/2015   3/23/2015
Review By: coachspoon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Quiet, secluded course on a Christian camp
-18 freshly poured concrete tee pads as of March 2015
- Mix of short, long, open, wooded, elevated, and flat holes
- Great course for beginners and pros alike
- Beautiful course in the foothills of NC
- Course is easy to navigate and well marked
Cons: -Tee pads are only on the white layout but plans to add more are in the works

Other Thoughts: SOMO is a great course to play if you are passing through the area or feel like making a day trip. The course is as good of a layout and fun to play as some of the best courses in the western half of NC.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/20/2014   12/20/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 149  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Three tees per hole and the middle tees are freshly poured concrete.
-This course really challenges you to utilize a variety of shots and hit your lines.
-South Mountain is very easily navigable. It flows very well.
-There are several holes that present good ace runs, but none that are gimmes.
-There are benches on most every hole and bathrooms located right by hole 18.
-The course is very secluded and well off the beaten path which means no waiting.
Cons: -The $2 pay-to-play may be a deterrent for some.
-South Mountain is really lacking tight wooded holes to give it another element. Most of the holes are sparsely wooded.
-The lake could be brought into play and more of a factor than it is as it only slightly comes into play on holes 4 and 7.
Other Thoughts: South Mountain is an interesting course with a couple of unique holes (Holes 2 and 15). The $2 fee to play all day is more than fair and clearly goes back into the course as evidenced by new concrete tee pads. It is worth a play if you're in the area and pairs nicely with Garner-Webb University DGC.This would be a great course to bring lunch to and make a day of playing all 3 layouts.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bombs Away in Bostic

1    7/12/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 339  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 14.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: South Mountain Disc Golf is in a very nice park in a quiet, remote location. All of the baskets are in good shape. There is an extra hole after #6 that facilitates a 9 hole loop as well. Tees all have signs and multiple boxes on most of them. The layout is fairly simple to follow. Since I already visited most of those, this review was necessary.

The first hole is a nice one, out of scattered trees opening up to a open grassy green down the hill. 2 through 6 are all wide open featuring the grassy slopes. With little or no wind, you should be able to muster several birdie opportunities. 7 is the closest basket to the lakes edge, but not high risk. Uphill with multiple trees, this was sadly the only hole I managed to convert on the putt for a 2. However, on the plus side the posted par is a ridiculously generous 67, so I still got to -7. Build up any players self esteem in that regard. 8 is an uphill throw with basket tucked in moderate tree cover. 9 is shorter and slightly downhill, also through some trees. The basket is atop a 3 foot mound. The back 9 is where the average length increases. 10 has a mando near the tee, but the trees thin out again, so it isn't too difficult. 11 is the longest hole at 567', but flat and with plenty of open air makes two solid throws and a putt very realistic. I took a 4, posted par was 5. 12 is open with sparse trees in front of the green. 13 has a double mando serving as a gate about a third of the way down the hole. The woods begin to come back into play as well, and interest rises some. 14 is shorter, and woodsy, a good chance for a 2. 15 is very short (120), and very downhill (maybe 35'). Backed by a small creek, and with moderate concentration of mature trees, anything between an ace and bogey may await. 16 ramps up the distance to 550'+ again, and has a lot of OB to the left, trees to the right. Uphill requiring some caution off the tee. I was not careful enough and my drive entered the prayer garden (OB). Penalty and bad recovery into the brush and trees across the fairway resulted in a 6 for me, but a 3 is still totally possible. 17 and 18 are both back into open grassy field.
Cons: I enjoyed the round, but this course is way off the beaten path, and surrounded by at dozens superior courses within a 90 mile radius. Maybe didn't quite live up to the 3.88 average rating, but still fun. The natural tees are well marked, but could be better. No benches, few trash cans. Cost is two dollars for all day. Pets must be on a leash. Overall a solid course, but lacking a bit in variety and serious challenge to an advanced player.
Other Thoughts: The course is located at a Christian camp, evident by signage, crosses and prayer garden, so best behavior. No smoking, no drinking, no cussing etc... Unless you are also obsessed with playing as many good courses as possible, there is nothing that stands out about South Mountain DGC. I made the detour on a road trip, and found the course to be inviting, and fully legit, but not spectacular. Had a some good holes, and some average. Scoring a 50 is not out of the question, but I took a 60 first time out. Missing too many putts, one penalty, a couple of bad drives. Since I live hours away, I am not likely to return and try my luck again. South Mountain Disc Golf is very nice, but out-classed by many courses around the Charlotte, Asheville, and upstate SC region. Reminds me of University Beach DGC with better flavor.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/8/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: mheredia65
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very fun course to play. Like it's neighboring course (Gardner-Webb), this course is designed for lefties. Thankfully, if you have a decent right hand forearm you will be fine.

There is a good variation of holes both long and short with different looks with each new hole. Some holes will require you to have a decent arm.

With weekly doubles, this course is great for all skills and players.
Cons: For a more seasoned player, the pars on this course seem a little off. Some Par 4's should definitely be a 3.

Other than that, this course is a solid course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Really nice

1    8/15/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: Warthog
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Neat,clean,bathrooms,open,areas as well as wooded areas and there is a pro shop on the site. This course would be my favorite if it was closer to my home. The front tees are laid out in such a way that you can just play a 9 target game by using # 17 as # 8 and # 18 as # 9 which completes a circle back to the parking area. The targets are in new or like new condition.
Cons: Cost is $2 to play all day but worth it. There are no concrete tee pads. There are no direction arrows to direct you to the next hole which can be confusing the first time you play the course.
Other Thoughts: It is hard to find anything about this course that is not nice. Staff at the office even said they would notify me if I lost any disc that had my name and # on it. Then they loaned me a marker to mark them with.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better than I expected

2-4    3/29/2013   4/3/2013
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 255  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 13.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: South Mountain Christian Camp is a very good, under-the-radar course. Perhaps due to it being out of the way, or a camp course, it's easy to overlook this course. But, it's definitely worth the drive.
- The quality of the SMCC exceeded my expectations. I've played courses at other camps/retreats (Bonclarken & Ridgecrest) that are clearly aimed at beginners/camp-goers. There are short tees here for the beginners, but the pro tees are clearly aimed at the more advanced players.
- This is a very good and challenging course, with some great hole layouts. I really enjoyed the downhill layouts for #3 & 6; #11 is a long, uphill (729 feet) hole with out of bounds running along the entire right side; #16 is a great, long dogleg right hole (I'll talk about this one more later). But, with all of that said, I think the shortest hole on the course is the most memorable. ...
- #15 is a short, nearly straight down shot. It's a 138 feet from the long tees, but basically plays as a long putt. If you don't keep your shot down or avoid the trees, you'll either have a shot sail past the basket, or be throwing from the hill. It's pretty frustrating to have a 50 foot putt on a hole this short. You feel like you should get a two, or better, on this hole every time, but it doesn't take much to end up with a three.
- Course does a wonderful job utilizing the terrain. There is a lot of good elevation throughout the course, with the parking lot on the highest level of the course. The terrain from there slopes down to the lake. Much of the front nine is pretty open, playing up and down the hills. The back nine is more wooded, and features more of the longer holes. Get your birdies on the front nine, then play smart on the back.
- There are a great variety of hole layouts throughout the course. Two thirds of the course is (mainly) open, but there's a good mix of up and down holes, doglegs, a few with mandos and the woods. Also, along those lines, the course does a decent job of offering different layouts, on some holes, playing the pro versus am tees. #8, especially gives two completely different looks from the long and short tees.
- Great nature feel. There are some spectacular views throughout the course. Stand on the tee for #3 and take in the view of the lake. You're going to get some great scenery - hills, woods, and the lake - throughout your round. In addition, because you're out in the middle of nowhere, the course is very isolated. During the summer, when there are campers here, it might be a different scenario. But, in the spring and fall, there's virtually nobody else here.
- Very good tee signs and scorecards/maps. Each tee sign includes a Bible verse, some of which were (obviously) obviously chosen for the given holes. My two favorite, for the obvious reasons were on #11, the long, uphill hole (Psalm 18:32 - the Lord gives me strength) and #16, a dogleg right (Ecclesiastes 10:2 - the heart of the wise inclines to the right, but the heart of the fool to the left). This might not be everyone's cup of tea, but still, they're pretty clever.
- On the right side of #11, there's a memorial sign dedicated to a family of four who were victims of the 1988 Pan Am Flight 103 bombing. It's a somber, but interesting, piece of history to see on a disc golf course in the middle of nowhere.
Cons: There's only one major problem I had with the course, which ended up playing a factor in my rating for this course.
- The natural tee pads were a major issue on some holes. On short holes, you can make do. On longer ones, having to do a run up on a small dirt patch, grass or wood chips aren't ideal. The biggest issue was on the long tee for #12. It's a 408 foot, straight hole, but there's a slope right behind the tee markers, so you're either doing a shorter run-up in the dirt tee area (to stay behind the markers), or you're throwing from a grassy area. With such small dirt tee areas, I felt like they didn't want to ruin the grass.
- In a couple spots, the longer hole layouts overlap onto other holes. The most obvious example is the confluence of the tees for #3, 6 &17, which are all within 25 feet of each other. On #3, I nearly teed off from the tee for #17. #10 & 11 also share a common fairway area.
- I didn't notice many benches or trash cans throughout the course. It'd be nice to have more, especially with as much walking as one does on this course. Also, I didn't notice any restrooms or drinking fountains, so you might have to check with the building where you sign in and pay. If not there, make sure you stop in one of the nearby towns before arriving.
- At least one of the mandos was somewhat poor. On #13, there's a mando left of a tree for the longer two tees. It's a sharp, almost unnatural, curve around the tree, which eliminates a lot of possible distance you could get throwing from the tee. This one seems very forced, and doesn't serve a purpose. Some people might not like the double mando on #10. From the long tees, you have to throw between a 15 foot wide gap between two trees, approximately 160 feet from the tee. If people don't like the double mando on #14 at Nevin Charlotte, wait until you play this hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall, South Mountain is a very, very good course. Don't let the fact it's a camp course fool you. This would be a top course wherever it was located. Let's just say, you can tell it was built by disc golfers, and is aimed for disc golfers.
- That said, SMCC does a wonderful job of reaching out, and appealing, disc golfers. It's a small gesture, but it's cool they have a loyalty card for repeat players. Play here nine times, get your card punched, and the 10th visit is free. Granted, you're only saving $2; but, it's a real sign they want disc golfers coming here to play.
- That said again, because it's a Christian camp, people should be considerate of that fact when playing here. I'd hate to see them sour on disc golf because of things such as littering or drinking (or other DG stereotypes).
- It also bears mentioning that because it is a Christian camp, there are lots of Christian references throughout the course. I already mentioned the Bible verses on every tee sign. There are also crosses throughout the property and a prayer garden alongside #16. FYI, there is a mando around said prayer garden. Some people might not like all of this, but you do know that going into your visit here.
- #16 was my favorite hole. It's a 602 foot hole, dogleg right around the prayer garden. A good tee shot will be just short, or to the right, of the gardens, leaving a long, slightly uphill second shot. It's a relatively easy four, but it does require good shot placement to get your four, or be in position for a three.
- I was teetering between a 3.5 and 4 for this course's rating. The poor tee area quality was the deciding factor for a 3.5. It would only take a little work to make the tee situation better by clearing out, and leveling, larger dirt areas for tees. Concrete would be ideal, but I wouldn't expect that.
- This is an isolated course, meaning if you're making a drive here to play (from Charlotte/Greenville/Asheville, etc.), you're probably making a long drive solely for this course. Coming from Charlotte/US74 or I-40, the closest courses are all nine-holers. This is worth the drive for anyone within an hour or so of the course. Play a couple of rounds to make the trip worthwhile.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/2/2012   11/2/2012
Review By: wyatt_hamrick
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2014
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Helps with very different shots. use of elevation well and can be a challenge if u play blues. If u play white can be confidence booster usually go 2 or 3 under at other courses in the area and I go 6 or 8 under here
Cons: paying to play. natural tees make it tough to play after rain they have tried to help with that by putting sand down
Other Thoughts: great tourneys with great ppl and staff a good course to play to enjoy a sunday afternoon

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.